Prediction 2025 - Best 23 + Emergencies - Rolling

Yep, not often early draft picks get locked into negative defensive roles like this but with us this has happened. We haven't really ever used him in an offensive role.

The trick is from our coaching group, is to make his role an aggressive and offensive one, which is clearly his natural game.

We tried him forward. He lead up well, he marked well, he kicked goals and this was as a key forward not a third tall which he will be more suited to. He also won ground ball and used his pace to chase and tackle. In a weaker Carlton side.

I think Kemp and Moir forward with McKay and Curnow is really going to make us threatening, open the forward line up and improve our ball movement quite a lot. Brisbane just won a flag with a very strong overhead forward line so I am hoping we can do the same.
I am totally with you g man, on Kempy. He has proven to not be a natural defender and I hope to not see him in defence

ever again. However he is versatile and will most likely be used at both ends at different times. Up forward though is where

I see him flourishing. Needs to keep out of H and Charlies road for sure and with the permanent inclusion of Moir, hopefully.

Will make for a very strong marking forward line, just add Zac for speed and hopefully a fit and in form Motlop and the

balance looks ok to me. Reckon oppo teams will have nightmares thinking about how to nullify that six.

Blakey is given the ball as he is a superb user by foot. I don't think kemp has the foot skill or footy brain to play a Blakey-type role. Kemps best position is probably third forward but not confident he will make it there either, but fingers crossed.
I don't think Blakey is a "smart player "either. He runs into trouble and can look a bit like a headless chook at times. Also his kicking can be a little hit and miss IMO. But his run and carry along with his great pace opens up defenses and breaks through zones opening up the field making him very damaging and great to watch.( He really does resemble a frill neck up on its back legs :D )

I think Kemp could do similar.

Soapy is one of the few recent posters I have seen who has chosen Weitering at CHB rather than FB.

For those picking Weitering at full back, is it just because you are finding it hard to identify a second key position defender, and can imagine Gov or Haynes fitting better at CHB rather than deeper in defence?
Does it matter? Terms like FB, CHB, Back Pocket etc. are relatively meaningless these days. You have a back six - some are tall, some aren't.

Yep, not often early draft picks get locked into negative defensive roles like this but with us this has happened. We haven't really ever used him in an offensive role.

The trick is from our coaching group, is to make his role an aggressive and offensive one, which is clearly his natural game.

We tried him forward. He lead up well, he marked well, he kicked goals and this was as a key forward not a third tall which he will be more suited to. He also won ground ball and used his pace to chase and tackle. In a weaker Carlton side.

I think Kemp and Moir forward with McKay and Curnow is really going to make us threatening, open the forward line up and improve our ball movement quite a lot. Brisbane just won a flag with a very strong overhead forward line so I am hoping we can do the same.
I agree but all 4 of them would have to be super mobile. We can't get stuck with the kick long down the line, all key forwards bunched up. They would need separation from one another to make them a more dangerous trial threat. I'd like to see Charlie play more up the ground. He is getting stuck as the deepest forward wanting to engage in a wrestling contest with his opponent. His strength is his mobility and running power. We need him running up and back and getting behind the defence. Harry should play as the deepest forward. Moir and Kemp rotating between hit up role on the wing and floating around the 50 arc.

Does it matter? Terms like FB, CHB, Back Pocket etc. are relatively meaningless these days. You have a back six - some are tall, some aren't.
I guess people still use the exercise to say where they think a person is best suited in a traditional lineup, and many around here are allocating Weitering to FB rather than CHB. So it does interest me that people have him playing closer to goal in their ideal setup.

For sure, I still use the traditional team sheet layout. But I honestly couldn't tell you which spot I put Weitering in, and if it was the FB spot, it wasn't because I thought he would play closer to goal.

Would be nice if we could figure out a way to represent different team structures like round ball does.

Probably too hard

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

I don't think Blakey is a "smart player "either. He runs into trouble and can look a bit like a headless chook at times. Also his kicking can be a little hit and miss IMO. But his run and carry along with his great pace opens up defenses and breaks through zones opening up the field making him very damaging and great to watch.( He really does resemble a frill neck up on its back legs :D )

I think Kemp could do similar.
I have watched a couple of replays today, sorry but it’s a horrible comparison.

And more often than not we are in a system defence where one on one matchups and ground positioning are less of a priority

I’d like to see Weitering freed up from locking down the monsters and more marshalling and intercepting, especially with his ball use ability

Feel like Phillips would help in that regard

Tell you what, I tried to do my best 23 today plus emergencies and I found it really difficult to fit everyone in!! I feel this is a great thing and the deepest we have been in a very long time.

This is what I settled on and I’m probably completely off but here it is, I want more youth in our side next year -

B: Boyd Weiters Cowan

HB: Saad Gov Newy

C: Ollie Crippa Acres

HF: SOS Harry Elijah

F: Moir Charlie Zaccy

R: TDK Walshy Cez

I/C: Jagga, Lord, Doc, Motlop SUB: Fog

EMERG: Hayes, Binns, Ben Campo, Kemp/Cinc

Assuming Acres is fit for round 1.

FB Newman Weitering Kemp
HB Boyd McGovern OHollands
C Docherty Cripps Acres
HF EHollands Curnow JSOS
FF Motlop Mckay Fogarty
Foll TDK Walsh Cerra
IC Hewett Williams Saad Haynes

Emergency
Lord Durdin Young Pitto

Geez we have depth.
Next 4
Cotters, Cowan, Cincotta, Fantasia,

That's 30 players I could easily see play round 1.

Not including potential SSP recruits or any of the younger guys who can make an impact in Smith, Campos x 2, Moir, Binns.

Still think Young has it in him to be genuine best 23 if he wants it enough. I'd imagine Weiters and him would know for the sake of the team they need to find a way to make things work.

He's by far the best fit athletically for a pairing with Weiters. Certainly more so than JSOS or Kempy. Looking forward to seeing how that unfolds over the pre season, though I'm not holding out a heap of hope. We all know how hot and cold he can be unfortunately.
Needs to play with real anger.

Still think Young has it in him to be genuine best 23 if he wants it enough. I'd imagine Weiters and him would know for the sake of the team they need to find a way to make things work.

He's by far the best fit athletically for a pairing with Weiters. Certainly more so than JSOS or Kempy. Looking forward to seeing how that unfolds over the pre season, though I'm not holding out a heap of hope. We all know how hot and cold he can be unfortunately.
Hopefully the MC are not too stubborn to select him having told him his opportunities would be limited

Riley Beveridge has done a top 23 for next year. There are NO excuses for not finishing top 4 with that side.

None.

Not a bad effort but doubt we play both Fog and Cotts alongside Motlop and Williams. Need a Moir or Kemp as a 3rd marking option. Hard to argue with the rest.

Big question mark for us is how many of those guys can we keep on the park.

Hopefully the MC are not too stubborn to select him having told him his opportunities would be limited
I don't think the issue would be stubbornness but trust. Everyone knows Young can play a great game, but he is equally likely to play really poorly. At this point you can't trust him and it's going to be hard (not impossible) for him to win that back. For that reason alone, I give him very little chance of starting the season in the 23.

Seems to me that the mc will go with Weiters, Haynes, McGov, Saady, Cow and Newy. Probably a seventh defender on the

bench, maybe Ollie Hollands or Boyd against smaller forward lines. When matching up against taller forward lines then

Young should be considered. Going to be very interesting to see if JSOS can cement a position in defence when given the

opportunity. Looks like he has bulked up a bit, I expect he will find his feet in defence fairly quickly.

And more often than not we are in a system defence where one on one matchups and ground positioning are less of a priority

I’d like to see Weitering freed up from locking down the monsters and more marshalling and intercepting, especially with his ball use ability

Feel like Phillips would help in that regard
Especially when opposition sides are now sending a forward to hold Weitering down and away from the contest.

Invariably, another forward drifts across the front/back/side of the pack for a relatively easy mark.

On SM-F946B using BigFooty.com mobile app

The other winger will be interesting. Some suggesting Hollands goes to half back. Some naming Smith there. Some naming Docherty. One of them will be wing and one or two of those other names will be part time.

Defence is a tricky one. We have depth there. Can't name all the defenders I like. Weithering and McGovern are locks. Silvagni or Haynes will take a key defensive spot. Then there is Newman, Hollands, Docherty, Saad, Cowan, Wilson, Cincotta, Boyd and Charleson.

The way I see it, Weitering, McGovern and Saad are locks. The rest will be filled from the above names. I can see Docherty going back to where he became an AA player in defence. Hollands Continuing on from there. But it's hard to leave Boyd and Cowan out and I expect Wilson to be putting a strong case forward.

There are a few young players I can't see missing out. Lord is one of them. Think he has a lot to offer and we need to get AFL games into him. Moir is another. He's very talented and has had a reasonable run since being here plus we lack genuine forwards. Smith is another. Just too high level to play VFL. If we think he is the best player in a strong draft he will be there.

I'm really looking forward to us being a far stronger aerial side in our forward half next season. We really had nothing far too often going forward. We are an offensive side who had nowhere to go too often last year. It was too much about two players. Having 4 players who are strong in the air changes everything. All those small and medium forwards should be good options to go to when one on one or they have space and that has not been the case but should be next season.

We had a good list clean out and we have taken the list forward IMO.

Thought it would be fun to start building a depth chart

Small Forwards

Zac Williams
Jesse Motlop
Corey Durdin
Orazio Fantasia

Mid-Forwards

Elijah Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Matt Cottrell
Ashton Moir
Rob Monahan

Key Forwards

Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay
Brodie Kemp
Harry Lemmey

Midfielders

Patrick Cripps
Sam Walsh
Adam Cerra
George Hewett
Cooper Lord
Jagga Smith
Ben Camporeale

Wing

Blake Acres
Ollie Hollands
Sam Docherty
Jaxon Binns
Lucas Camporeale

Ruck

Tom De Koning
Marc Pittonet
Hudson O'Keefe

Small Defenders

Adam Saad
Nic Newman
Lachie Cowan
Jordan Boyd
Alex Cincotta
Billy Wilson
Harry Charleson

Key Defenders

Jacob Weitering
Nick Haynes
Mitch McGovern
Lewis Young
Harry O'Farrell
Matt Duffy

Reckon that Key Forward depth is a problem. Key defender is more a style fit problem as they need to compliment Weitering.

Lacking a clear small forward choice outside of recently converted defender Williams.

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Riley Beveridge has done a top 23 for next year.There are NO excuses for not finishing top 4 with that side.

None.

RB’s team FYI;
B: Lachie Cowan, Jacob Weitering, Mitch McGovern
HB: Nic Newman, Nick Haynes, Adam Saad
C: Blake Acres, Adam Cerra, Sam Docherty
HF:
Lachie Fogarty, Harry McKay, Elijah Hollands
F: Jesse Motlop, Charlie Curnow, Zac Williams
FOLL: Tom De Koning, Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh
I/C: Ollie Hollands, Jagga Smith, George Hewett, Matt Cottrell

Emerg: Jack Silvagni, Brodie Kemp, Marc Pittonet, Jordan Boyd

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1260580

Small sample size but Young looked quite good in those last two games with Weitering. Holding out hope that there is something there still - as long as he keeps it very simple with his disposal and makes faster decisions with ball in hand (i.e., handball it to a runner) I think he can be a serviceable partner for Weitering. Obviously Haynes coming in will make it an interesting MC decision
This was what I saw as well. Young takes to much time to move the ball on but that is my main complaint on him. Otherwise, it looked like the penny had dropped for him in those last couple of games and that both he and Weitering were working as a team.

Prediction 2025 - Best 23 + Emergencies - Rolling