Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

I agree that the stench is still about. Whatever is broken still feels broken. We arguably had a less talented list in 2019 and things didn't feel broken then. Not sure at this point what it will take for the club to drag itself off the canvas into the group of normally functioning football clubs.

It feels like we've crammed midfielders into the team to stop the boat leaking but still don't have someone fully covering up the direct source of the leak. It feels like we're very undermanned for key forwards. It feels like we don't have any pedigree small forwards. (RHJ the classiest of the three? Pretty dire stuff). It feels like no one believes they can run out a game and win it, Sheezel included (maybe this will be what Parker offers, before I question his current football capabilities in the next paragraph).

The risks taken during the draft period is a start. But I'm quite despondent at the moment. I don't particularly rate the new signings. Maybe Daniel will do some good, but I'm not very bullish on the other two. That whole airy-fairy bad cosmic feeling just hasn't budged since 2021. There was a very brief glimpse of goodness at the start of 2023, then the light was extinguished and we were back in darkness. I know it's just a game but it feels akin to a nightmare, not feeling anything shift when the club seems to be throwing quite a dearth of resources in an attempt to get out of this hole. You know that Richmond would be doing bits with this list, but we just... seem unable to
We were last decent in 2012, it was a short period of time where we actually played different Footy, but the fact remains we haven't 'recovered fully' since the shellacking Essendon gave us in the Qualifying Final in 2000. It's been a long time since we were a chance of winning it all, a long long time.

Where were you in 2014 and 2015?

I flew back for Finals... attended them (cost me a shitload which is fine) the Essendon game was to me a Highlight of supporting this club, other than the Flags.

But the post remains as (my) fact, even 4 goals up in the Prelim without Wells and a fit Tarrant, we really had no chance of winning, Gaso.

DuckYeah just look at what your typo has caused 😂

firestarter GIF
Do Toyota offer an option of indicators on the newer models of the Hilux?

You'd think that the tradies that buy the models with all of the add on stuff like bull bars, side steps, high intensity laser driving lights, 20+ inch wheels, gun racks and bonnet scoops would stump up for indicators as well, even if only because it gives them a few extra flashing lights when they lock the oversized truck, placed haphazardly in the tight shopping centre carpark.

Do Toyota offer an option of indicators on the newer models of the Hilux?

You'd think that the tradies that buy the models with all of the add on stuff like bull bars, side steps, high intensity laser driving lights, 20+ inch wheels, gun racks and bonnet scoops would stump up for indicators as well, even if only because it gives them a few extra flashing lights when they lock the oversized truck, placed haphazardly in the tight shopping centre carpark.
you can spot a work ute a mile off. They doing 1 kmh under the speed limit as the vehicle is monitored. Doesnt help their parking though

Yet here we are after another season finishing bottom 2. The losing culture still present. Your argument is flawed. :stern look
It's not flawed, I think that it's just going over your head.

You can't say that it didn't have a positive impact on the culture because you have no idea where the culture would be if we went the other way.

Yeah went down for the early morning session today.

Stayed for the full 1 3/4 hours.

The most intense/interesting part of the session was the 20 mins or so on working on clearing the ball after a point or a mark/free in the back half. Powell, Fisher, Bergman and FOS were trialled as the primary kick in players - McKercher was then used as the primary player to receive after the kick in found a target - this allowed McKercher to be the key player to kick into forward 50 area.

The only player that seemed not to be training/running laps was CCJ.

Duursma, George, Comben and Corr running laps.

Other tidbits were Goad has good footskills, Teakle and Zurhaar both look fit and ready to go. Urquardt's footskills weren't the worst I have seen - granted no pressure out there today though. Finnbar's goal kicking was being worked on - and it is still a work in progress.

Boys seemed up and about - but a very light session overall.
FOS doing kickouts... maybe following the Sheezel pipeline.

And Powell down back, as well. I don't mind that.

It's not flawed, I think that it's just going over your head.

You can't say that it didn't have a positive impact on the culture because you have no idea where the culture would be if we went the other way.
Bottom 2 again! The win made no difference to “The Culture”. Just like if we had lost it wouldn’t have made a difference to “The Culture”. Because as time has shown, we finished bottom 2 again! Your argument is flawed! :stern look

Adrian Cole, Saints NGA at NMFC training today

View attachment 2183281
Interesting move. Even though he was Saints NGA, I believe we could list him as a Category B rookie - paging The Nostradamus

I recall reading an article that he might go as high as 30s, but he’s obviously gone undrafted and the Saints didn’t even want him on their own Category B list (not that that necessarily means anything - see us re Mansell).

roos_fanatic08 The Talent Scout What are your thoughts on Cole?

Interesting move. Even though he was Saints NGA, I believe we could list him as a Category B rookie - paging The Nostradamus

I recall reading an article that he might go as high as 30s, but he’s obviously gone undrafted and the Saints didn’t even want him on their own Category B list (not that that necessarily means anything - see us re Mansell).

Adrian Cole has some okay qualities as a player, he can shut down forwards, his athletic abilities are quite good, when given the chance, he can run off defenders and take the game on. Adrian's ball drop is quite interesting and I feel it can be improved on, his short passes can sometimes lead to turnovers but that can be easily fixed through coaching.

A reason he probably didn't get picked up is he has no point of difference, a nice player with some upside but with clubs lists ever valuable, I feel most {not all} players either need that point of difference or that they have huge potential but will be a late developer. If picked up by a club and he works hard, Adrian can be a damaging defender with the right development and attitude and be that player who wants to succeed and get the best out of himself.

We should sticky an alternate training report for those that prefer...

"Club's ****ed, players are ****ed, everything's ****ed, always has been, always will be, why are we even bothering..."

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Reads like one of your posts when we're 0-7.

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven