Player Watch #10: Colby McKercher - R9 AFL RS nom - goes bang w/ 37d on his return vs GCS

Put him in cotton wool till end of season. Makes him eligable for rising star next year. Sheezel wardlaw mckercher hatrick of rising stars.
I reckon he should be playing a defensive half forward. He’s quick, he isn’t scared, with his team mate coming in.. I believe he can do more damage as a high defensive half forward than he can as a half back. He’s not as small as I initially thought. He is quite broad in the chest and shoulders, he is built to tackle.

I’d personally play Tucker on half back instead of the wing. He played rather well there last week. He is definitely a spud however, plays that position quite well.

Bring Kerch into the forward line

I reckon he should be playing a defensive half forward. He’s quick, he isn’t scared, with his team mate coming in.. I believe he can do more damage as a high defensive half forward than he can as a half back. He’s not as small as I initially thought. He is quite broad in the chest and shoulders, he is built to tackle.

I’d personally play Tucker on half back instead of the wing. He played rather well there last week. He is definitely a spud however, plays that position quite well.

Bring Kerch into the forward line
I reckon we got Payne for that role, if he's up to it. We also have Simpkin.

I'd put McKercher on the wing or in the middle, or rotating between.

We're a funny mob wanting to hide kids.

McKercher's got a decent rig on him for such a young player and there is no sensible reason why he shouldn't be getting some midfield minutes.

Reminds me of Clarko's comments about playing Horne Francis off the half back flank in his second year before he decamped.

First bounce in 2023 - yep Horne Francis attends a CBA for Port and then gets 16 Brownlow votes for the year.

McKercher's got a decent rig on him for such a young player and there is no sensible reason why he shouldn't be getting some midfield minutes.

Reminds me of Clarko's comments about playing Horne Francis off the half back flank in his second year before he decamped.

First bounce in 2023 - yep Horne Francis attends a CBA for Port and then gets 16 Brownlow votes for the year.
How many Brownlow votes did he get in his first year playing in our midfield?

Maybe he's trying to add extra strings to their weaponry.

He did so successfully with Burgyone, Hodge, Lewis etc. who all could play multiple positions.

I think it's one of our biggest weaknesses (and there are many to choose from) that we have a large chunk of decent players who appear to be completely useless if they aren't playing inside mid. (Powell, LDU, Wardlaw, Phillips, Lazzaro, Simpkin etc).

He has had some midfield minutes, particularly immediately before he got his ribs crunched because he's a twig.

It’s not the type of injury that can be rehabbed to recover quicker. Unless he tried to train and exacerbated it extending recovery times. But there’s no mention of that. They’re giving it time to avoid that scenario.

Yep, I'm desperate to see him out on the park again on game day but am more than happy to wait a bit until he's A-OK. He is a weapon.

Look, by 2028, you’d kinda hope North are starting to push up the ladder and showing something. He might not fancy leaving a team on the verge to go to a start up. Dunno. Maybe he’ll love it at North.

We’ve got 4 years to make this the kind of club that Colby, amongst others, wants to spend his career.
ownership is the key, make it His club along with Sheez and wardlaw and why would he ever want to leave??

Colby McKercher (foot) and Griffin Logue (knee) are both closing in on returns and should be back on the park in one week.

"Last week was an important week for Colby in getting progressive loading on-field, pulling up well and transitioning from runners to football boots across the weekend," White said.

"He had a strong footy conditioning session on Tuesday and will look to join in training Friday, plus another strong loading day on Sunday.

Player Watch #10: Colby McKercher - R9 AFL RS nom - goes bang w/ 37d on his return vs GCS