VelvetSledge
- May 24, 2007
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Liverpool FC, Melbourne Storm
Last edited by a moderator:
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
That should not matter. Even Weideman dropping a mark in the clear is a better option. It is ingrained dumb footy.Probably because Wright is still a better option with 3 hanging off him.
I'm happy to try either of these options. Agree Bryan option sounds best but honestly I'd be happy to have a look at Voss too at this stage.On top of that sending to the VFL causes other issues. With the injuries we have limited choices.
Play Bryan in the ruck with Flipper but they have to share the forward load as well which is probably the best option but has its issues.
Play Voss but then Wright has to play second ruck and we end up with 3 medium forwards who lack a bit of pace and are not massive contested marking options.
Play another small forward but then we still have to rely on Wright rucking or playing a second ruck.
Nah. He drops it in the clear and port swoop in seconds. At least Wright might get (and should have got) holding frees. The players clearly know Weed is a shell.That should not matter. Even Weideman dropping a mark in the clear is a better option. It is ingrained dumb footy.
As fans we are. As a couch trying to teach a side a certain structure it is different. I know it sounds like rubbish but Scott needs to have them all playing a set structure to start with. You can not really go forward by chopping and changing. He would not be playing if we had another CHF or Bryan or Phillips had the ability to play CHF.I'm happy to try either of these options. Agree Bryan option sounds best but honestly I'd be happy to have a look at Voss too at this stage.
How many games have we had with this structure now? And has the execution improved?As fans we are. As a couch trying to teach a side a certain structure it is different. I know it sounds like rubbish but Scott needs to have them all playing a set structure to start with. You can not really go forward by chopping and changing. He would not be playing if we had another CHF or Bryan or Phillips had the ability to play CHF.
As I say sound like rubbish but it is what happens when a new coach is starting from scratch. Truck got burnt by trying to go in a different direction too soon.
It has not really improved but the reason is not having the like for like personal.How many games have we had with this structure now? And has the execution improved?
He's had a very tough run the last few weeks. Difficult game for a tall forward yesterday in the torrential rain and the sun was in his eyes all night to boot. I'm backing him in to turn it around next weekNuggs Bunny where are you when your boy needs you?
Not on last night's evidence. He took 5 marks. Langfird was the forward who took most with 7. If they're finding Weid free by foot i50 last night, he's probably taking the mark. I'm not gonna crucify him for 1 missed kick at goal. Daniher sprayed heaps but we'd love him in tandem with Wright.Nah. He drops it in the clear and port swoop in seconds. At least Wright might get (and should have got) holding frees. The players clearly know Weed is a shell.
naw but I mean, what is the structure supposed to be do you reckon? Wright is only 3 games back and we didn't really have that 1-ruck structure before that (excluding 4th quarters here and there when the second ruck was subbed, before Jones went down with injury?)It has not really improved but the reason is not having the like for like personal.
daniher at his best got on his bike and clunked them everywhere with laser-like field kicking, which made up for the spraysNot on last night's evidence. He took 5 marks. Langfird was the forward who took most with 7. If they're finding Weid free by foot i50 last night, he's probably taking the mark. I'm not gonna crucify him for 1 missed kick at goal. Daniher sprayed heaps but we'd love him in tandem with Wright.
Last night the two talls were both long and short options straight down the line. Usually with Wright the long option. Often the kick to Weideman was on. Then you create space for the other marking options (Langford, Durham, Stinker if he got off his arse etc.) It was very basic, and it probably doesn't work if Langford was forced to play one of those posts, eg Aliir is not going to push up to Langford.naw but I mean, what is the structure supposed to be do you reckon? Wright is only 3 games back and we didn't really have that 1-ruck structure before that (excluding 4th quarters here and there when the second ruck was subbed, before Jones went down with injury?)
I think we had like 1 game against the Aints when we only named one ruck and didn't bring one in as the sub back in like Round 3 and otherwise wouldn't have had a chance to try it until the last 3 games, in and around the bye.
So what you’re saying is we needed at least as many talls as we had, not less, to stretch Port’s defence?Last night the two talls were both long and short options straight down the line. Usually with Wright the long option. Often the kick to Weideman was on. Then you create space for the other marking options (Langford, Durham, Stinker if he got off his arse etc.) It was very basic, and it probably doesn't work if Langford was forced to play one of those posts, eg Aliir is not going to push up to Langford.
We'd have had to push the ruckman ahead of the footy more if we swapped a true tall out for the sub.
Let's refer to eth-dog for this oneWeid is a bust and any game time he’s given is just a waste. He simply is not up to it and he never will be.
I see Chol languishing in GC VFL side again. Could he be 2MP MkII? Would love us to make a play for Chol, he’s an immediate upgrade on Weid and we could slide him straight in along side the cheese eater while we chase a key forward in the draft.
Chol was shithouse today. Soft, only interested in cheapies out the back.Weid is a bust and any game time he’s given is just a waste. He simply is not up to it and he never will be.
I see Chol languishing in GC VFL side again. Could he be 2MP MkII? Would love us to make a play for Chol, he’s an immediate upgrade on Weid and we could slide him straight in along side the cheese eater while we chase a key forward in the draft.
Sums up your footy careerChol was shithouse today. Soft, only interested in cheapies out the back.
Pretty muchSums up your footy career
sums up your posting tooSums up your footy career
Think in an ideal world they want 2 KPF and 2 rucks. Despite only running 1 real ruck Phillips played more in front of the ball and pushed forward a lot. Even with just Flipper he would have played 75% ruck so we generally had 2 x KPF.naw but I mean, what is the structure supposed to be do you reckon? Wright is only 3 games back and we didn't really have that 1-ruck structure before that (excluding 4th quarters here and there when the second ruck was subbed, before Jones went down with injury?)
I think we had like 1 game against the Aints when we only named one ruck and didn't bring one in as the sub back in like Round 3 and otherwise wouldn't have had a chance to try it until the last 3 games, in and around the bye.
Weid is a bust and any game time he’s given is just a waste. He simply is not up to it and he never will be.
I can concur . Chol was not great today and has not been great in the VFL. He is a bit of a plodder.Chol was shithouse today. Soft, only interested in cheapies out the back.
Glad I'm memorablesums up your posting too