Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain

Again too many are overly judgemental of him. Will light it up exponentially in a better side. Good on him. Carries himself well.
Again I was just trying to illustrate how much he improved.

Actually your perception of how 'bad' he was is the problem here. And your oft-repeated posts about it.
Mate I probably did repeat it a lot at the time and I will absolutely own that, but as I said getting caught up in the poor on-field performance of the te as a whole was part of it but I was majorly concerned, some of the errors were so alarming for the type of player he is and we needed him to be. At the time it stuck out to me and I guess once it did I probably was hyper critical going forward, but I wasn’t hating I was genuinely concerned that he was regressing.

However, post noble I still believe his standard of play was far higher than the pre noble time, whether you disagree as to what level he was playing at prior to the coaching change I think you’d agree he was far better after.

To my mind it was that second part of the season that was the standard I was comparing him to in the first part.

Fighting a losing battle here I think but

I still maintain his first half of the season was pretty poor, the errors were pretty bad. Post noble he improved immeasurably and reminded me that he is a good player.
Agreed. Im very weary of the uplift in form when a coach resigns.
Not confined to Jy but to all players.

Let’s see how he goes in the first 6 weeks under Clarko next season.

Agreed. Im very weary of the uplift in form when a coach resigns.
Not confined to Jy but to all players.

Let’s see how he goes in the first 6 weeks under Clarko next season.
I disagree a bit.

I think he returned to the form prior to “the slump” for want of a better term.

Maybe the first part of the season he was trying to do to much with no real help.

At anyrate happy he’s playing good footy now and hope it continues for the guy

Again too many are overly judgemental of him. Will light it up exponentially in a better side. Good on him. Carries himself well.
He was immense against the Tigers which, unsurprisingly was the best game the team had played probably all year. It can get easily forgotten that most players are going to play better as those around them improve.

When LDU exploded in the back of the year, it was easy to miss that Jy's game went to a new level as well. He was exceptional & consistent once the shackles were released.
Exactly this.

If you look back through the history of some of the best midfielders, they generally always had a running mate. In recent times

Petracca and Oliver
Dusty and Cotchin
Ablett and Bartel
Cousins, Kerr and Judd
Voss, Aker and Black
Stevens and Bell

This is just to name a few over the last 25 years. When you are the one doing all the heavy lifting, it weighs a player down. Having a good running mate frees a player up, whether that's from tags, extra attention around stoppages, blocks etc.

Certainly no coincidence that when LDU went back to full time mid that Jy's form ( while not terrible early in the season ) went back more towards the 2021 levels when he had Cunners + LDU in there.

He admitted her couldn't hit the side of a barn this year, and that's certainly acknowledged on this board, but the way he applies himself, the hard work he puts in and that extra support around him, I feel Jy still has some improvement in front of him. Especially when players like Powell, Phillips, TT, JHF take their games up a few more levels and start finding consistency.

From memory it was early 2020, in the first 5 or so rounds where he was stacking up against the best mid / forwards in the comp, this is when Petracca came on and was blowing everyone's minds.

While I don't think he will every be a truly elite player in the competition he certainly wont die wondering.

Our future captain will have one hell of a career in our team and its a ride we get to enjoy for the next 8 or so years.

Would probably be in the top 5 if the 2016 draft was revisited:

1. Stewart
2. Bolton
3. McCluggage
4. Simpkin
5. Hayward

Pretty ordinary draft but we got Simpkin and Larkey so we did okay. Not going to talk about our other two picks.

Would probably be in the top 5 if the 2016 draft was revisited:

1. Stewart
2. Bolton
3. McCluggage
4. Simpkin
5. Hayward

Pretty ordinary draft but we got Simpkin and Larkey so we did okay. Not going to talk about our other two picks.
I've got these ahead of him

Ryan
Tarranto
Ridley
Berry
Scrimshaw
Florent
Darcy
English
Daicos
McGrath

Ryan
Tarranto
Ridley
Berry
Scrimshaw
Florent
Darcy
English
Daicos
McGrath

That is remarkably harsh.

Ryan potentially but hes also 2 years older.

Taranto probably on par, but Jy would have ripped it up on a good GWS team too.

Ridley, Berry, Scrimshaw are no where near Jys level. Not even close

Florent would be top 10.

Darcy and English probably higher ceilings but nto there yet, especially English.

Daicos no, and Mcgrath wouldnt even be top 10 now.

Florent would be top 10.

Darcy and English probably higher ceilings but nto there yet, especially English.

I'd take Darcy every day of the week. would solve all our rucking problems for the next 10 years.

Florent would be top 10.

I'd trade him in an instant for any one of them.

Ryan
Tarranto
Ridley
Berry
Scrimshaw
Florent
Darcy
English
Daicos
McGrath

I'd say most of those are good players but you are massively underselling Jy here.

Ryan: Yep a gun, possibly have a case there
Taranto: Gee if you think Jy is a ball butcher...
Ridley: Had one good season so far being allowed to play as a loose intercept defender
Berry: Yeah nah
Scrimshaw: Solid dependable ball user but not a world beater
Florent: To be honest I totally forgot he existed but... Nah
Darcy: Surprisingly nimble big man with decent enough skills but is made of crepe paper
English: Yeah maybe. Starting to come into his own now
Daicos: Nah
McGrath: Double nah

IMO

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain