2 questions I have for the Roos faithful.

1. Where are your 30, 000 members ?
2. Where are the "White Knights" that Eddies Puppet promised ?

Hahahaha... very clever. And subtle too. I bet most people won't even get that you are satirising the cliched Sydney supporter.

The worst part of the crowd was there was surprisingly a lot of Freo fans..........

Everyone always says we get no fans to Melbourne games - but I can always hear our support pretty clearly on the telecast.

So either our fans are exceptionally loud or we have more fans in Melbourne than people like to give us credit for. I think it's a bit of both.

Don't know if it's crowd related but I was there and there was someone who kept repeating everything I said, right down to the tone and everything.

Was weird.

Roos posters can bleat on about other clubs but fair dinkum - you fought to keep the club in Melbourne with financial consequences and you now aren't turning up and supporting the team.

People were having a dig at Hawthorn supporters when only 33k turned up to the Port game in Melbourne in round 4.

Roos posters can bleat on about other clubs but fair dinkum - you fought to keep the club in Melbourne with financial consequences and you now aren't turning up and supporting the team.

People were having a dig at Hawthorn supporters when only 33k turned up to the Port game in Melbourne in round 4.

Hawthorn fought to keep your club from mergin in 96 and in 2004 you only got 11k to a game against an interstate side.

Swings and roundabouts mate.

Hawthorn fought to keep your club from mergin in 96 and in 2004 you only got 11k to a game against an interstate side.

Hawthorn like Richmond and Carlton got into problems due to mismanagement.

North have major structural issues those three clubs do not.

How will North go if they finish at the bottom of the ladder rather than being in or close to the 8?

But he makes a fair point.

The Roos made the decision to stay in Melbourne and good on them for doing so. But surely as part of making that work, the supporters have to start turning up to games in Melbourne?

It doesn't matter who the games are against, whether they are "home" or "away" or what sort of form North are in. The future of the club in Melbourne could possibly be on the line - shouldn't that be enough incentive for as many as possible North supporters to get along to games?

Consistently good crowds in Melbourne eliminates one of the negatives which could potentially be used against the club by the powers that be, surely?

The Roos made the decision to stay in Melbourne and good on them for doing so. But surely as part of making that work, the supporters have to start turning up to games in Melbourne?

It doesn't matter who the games are against, whether they are "home" or "away" or what sort of form North are in. The future of the club in Melbourne could possibly be on the line - shouldn't that be enough incentive for as many as possible North supporters to get along to games?

Consistently good crowds in Melbourne eliminates one of the negatives which could potentially be used against the club by the powers that be, surely?

I agree with most of what's posted here.

But, with a membership of 30,000 odd Australia wide and playing an interstate team with very few Melbourne based or hardcore travelling members, how many would you realistically expect to attend?

Not taking into account the poor form of both clubs?

I agree with most of what's posted here.

But, with a membership of 30,000 odd Australia wide and playing an interstate team with very few Melbourne based or hardcore travelling members, how many would you realistically expect to attend?

Not taking into account the poor form of both clubs?
I have no idea how many North supporters there are in Melbourne. (Bear in mind I didn't mention the 30,000 members figure, rather I am talking about Melbourne-based supporters).

Surely there are enough committed/semi-committed North supporters in Melbourne to see better crowds than we did today?

If the club is fighting for its survival in Melbourne, I would have thought it is a priority to get to games irrespective of form.

I am not having a dig at the club nor its supporters. I just don't understand why the crowds aren't bigger.

I have no idea how many North supporters there are in Melbourne. (Bear in mind I didn't mention the 30,000 members figure, rather I am talking about Melbourne-based supporters).

Surely there are enough committed/semi-committed North supporters in Melbourne to see better crowds than we did today?

If the club is fighting for its survival in Melbourne, I would have thought it is a priority to get to games irrespective of form.

I am not having a dig at the club nor its supporters. I just don't understand why the crowds aren't bigger.

No worries mate, i don't think you are having a dig.

I'm just thinking that most of the hardcore Melbourne based members are getting to the games at the moment.

Our biggest problem as a club is to get the fickle "bandwagon' type members to go to the games regardless of form or opposition.

That's the greatest challenge.

The fact that North has 30,000 members.
The fact that North plays at a ground where 'fans' are guaranteed to get a ticket rather that being shout out by the members if they choose to not be one.
The fact that you were playing Fremantle which you should always beat as opposed to a Geelong.
Only game in Melbourne today
Your Club is SCREAMING out for fans to show up
Your Club desperately needs supporters to attend, the entire world knows - you bitch about the stadium deal that often.
You played at a decent Stadium, even tho' you don't like that deal.
You had a great upset win in your last home game against a top 4 team.

Adelaide lost their last 5 home games and have been playing terribly and still managed to get 41,500 to their game, so to think that 15K isn't anything but a slap in the face to the NMFC by their fans and telling them they want them to die or move then you are kidding yourself.

I agree, but what frustrates me is this notion that every time North get a poor crowd is the end of the world.

Hawthorn took 12 years after their near death experience to win a flag and be super sustainable.

We're expected to do the same 18 months later?

Its a work in progress and the trend is positive for us.

The fact that North has 30,000 members.
The fact that North plays at a ground where 'fans' are guaranteed to get a ticket rather that being shout out by the members if they choose to not be one.
The fact that you were playing Fremantle which you should always beat as opposed to a Geelong.
Only game in Melbourne today
Your Club is SCREAMING out for fans to show up
Your Club desperately needs supporters to attend, the entire world knows - you bitch about the stadium deal that often.
You played at a decent Stadium, even tho' you don't like that deal.
You had a great upset win in your last home game against a top 4 team.

Adelaide lost their last 5 home games and have been playing terribly and still managed to get 41,500 to their game, so to think that 15K isn't anything but a slap in the face to the NMFC by their fans and telling them they want them to die or move then you are kidding yourself.

So you think all North's members live in Melbourne and will go to the footy every week?

You're delusional if that's what you believe.

Just as an interesting aside, Carlton in R17 2006 pulled 17000 at the Docklands when they were struggling, but really, who cares. They're still here and so are we.

Not sure what Adelaide has go to do with the OP. Look forward to the explanation here.

Your post is screaming of bitterness matey.

I agree, but what frustrates me is this notion that every time North get a poor crowd is the end of the world.

Hawthorn took 12 years after their near death experience to win a flag and be super sustainable.

Bingo.

So you think all North's members live in Melbourne and will go to the footy every week?

You're delusional if that's what you believe.

Just as an interesting aside, Carlton in R17 2006 pulled 17000 at the Docklands when they were struggling, but really, who cares. They're still here and so are we.

Not sure what Adelaide has go to do with the OP. Look forward to the explanation here.

Your post is screaming of bitterness matey.

The issue, is that not all your fans are members, you don't need to be - where are they? All our members are attending members who have season tickets, now, I know that isn't the case with NMFC members who are dotted around the place but still. I reckon JB agrees with my figure more than what you think would be a reasonable crowd.

No bitterness, no skin off my nose, just sick of MMFC fans whining but to lazy to get out of their own way and to games. If 15,000 members attend, you should get at least another 10,000 NMFC fans who are not members attend as well. If you can get 31000 to a final at the G against Port, you can drag out more than 15,000 against Freo.

As an side - you aint and never will be Carlton. You'll never attract their level of financial security so a) you can't compare their crowds with pride nor b) be that blase about it.

You asked a question, I answered, when you asked to give rationale, I gave it again. Your answer is 'well why would North fans go every week'.

I'm just thinking that most of the hardcore Melbourne based members are getting to the games at the moment.

Our biggest problem as a club is to get the fickle "bandwagon' type members to go to the
games regardless of form or opposition.

As a comparator to this statement made by you.

Times change mate you don't have the timeframe of 12 years to turn it around either, your current Business model will not be sustainable for the next 5 years at this current rate.

We are in 2009, with the climate inherent at this time.

Why not bring up a crowd figure from 1948 whilst you are at it.

Ok, so now taking into account your last post along with this quoted one, what you're comparing North Melbourne's crowd figures with is to those of a two team town. :rolleyes:

Not to mention the ridiculous highlighted quote above.

No doubt our crowds recently have been poor and i'll be the first to admit that, but seriously what you've just posted is bullshit.