The thing that most people including North supporters and certainly including the "Scum" on this website don’t get is none of this crap on Big Footy matters.
Is "scum" your new tag for people who dont agree with you.
Having Doctor Jolly or some other goose on a Football Forum say you club has to go means nothing. These people are not a representation of the broader Football Public; they are merely people with too much spare time that like to fight keyboard battles.
I'm glad you're not call me a goose, but the others may object.
Bigfooty is uniquely, the "national" debating channel for AFL footy. It presents a national view, with each club represented fairly evenly as is in the real world.

Do you think Andrew D or James Brayshaw or anyone who actually matters would take this crap seriously?
While Bigfooty has a very low S/N ratio, No doubt they listen to public opinion. Brayshaw backflipped on the jumper issue because of public opinion. A topic hotly debated on here. ARoca comes on bigfooty regularly...and even posts.

Their opinion means nothing, I saw one Swan supporter Grayham I think his name was trying to recruit a Carlton supporter into barracking for Norths demise by saying your club is too powerful you don't need to be associated with North. It’s all a bit sad.
The same Carlton that tried to take you over 20 years ago ?

So North supporters please don't let these keyboard experts annoy you. For all you know you could be debating with a 17 year old kid who is doing an Economics assignment and is now suddenly an expert in the harsh realities of running a Football Club.

Or a Swan supporter who is so desperate to feel more apart of the AFL that they think by getting rid of North they will be taken more seriously.

The reality is 99% of the Football community in Victoria would hate to see North disappear. 99% of the Football Public in Victoria couldn’t really give 2 shits about the finances of Clubs or the AFL expansion.
Doubt it. All footy presidents voted for expansion. All voted for the GC offer put to you. All voted for Souths and Fitzroys relocations/mergers.

They like to watch Footy; they love the rivalry of Vic Footy and genuinely don't wish bad on any other team’s supporters. They know what it's like to love your club and don't take enjoyment in the idea of a club folding.
The dont like to watch North games. Trying to rope yourself in with the Essendons and Pies is silly.
What you have on this site are rather crap stirrers that like getting a rise or Schadenfreudes who may have some major insecurities about themselves.

Please don't label all interstate supporters with the same brush, the vast majority appreciate clubs like North and its mainly those who are jealous of the Vic football rivalries that wish ill of clubs like North.
Isnt it the Vic clubs who want to get rid of rivalries like Essendon v Pies on Anzac day. I've never seen any non-vic person object to it yet ?

Another matter to tread cautiously with is Sydney Supporters. There are a number of these knobs out there who like to cheer the demise of North and I know it's irritating. The majority are like nerdy kids at school trying to get into the cool club desperately baying for blood so they can get closer to the cool circle.
North arent in the cool circle.

I see the analogy as of the non-vic clubs, plus big vic clubs have all graduated to a prestigeous university, and their old mates who are doing a TAFE course in carpendry want to keep hanging around.

However there are a number of great ex South Supporters who must be insulted by these morons who have been through the heartache of having there club relocated. If they have been able to find a connection with Sydney good on them, its the least they deserve. We must be careful not to paint all Sydney people with the same brush and sink to the level of these desperate types.

All that matters is we get these Stadium deals right so profits can be made over the full 22 weeks of Football. We might lose a bit by getting 17,000 to a Port match but make plenty by getting 30,000 to a Saints match

Worst case scenario we will start playing a a smaller Vic stadium like PP and make money. All that is holding us back is that.

You've tried that and it failed. North shouldnt be allowed to keep making the same costly mistakes over and over again.
30,000 memberships are good and sponsorship is great. We have a 10 million dollar base being built at Arden Street and a good young list.

Remember only a fool enters a fools argument.

14,000 members who go to games. Mazda looking for any excuse to get out, and an overated list.

That's the sort of crowd that gives you no bargaining power and forces you to have the AFL negotiate for you and therefore be subject to their objectives rather than you own. Eugine gets it.

Spot on.

FTA TV Executives must also factor this is when having a say on who plays Friday Night Football etc and which games get shoved to Foxtel.

Port at the dome has always produced shocking crowd numbers for us.

We seem to attract more at the "G".

I was at the game, so I can't comment on what it looked like on TV, but in the past i remember the stadium letting people upgrade to Level 1 seating for nothing to make the crowd look better. I noticed this year that this didn't happen as there were quite a few people on Level 3 on the wing.

Good on you for being at the game :thumbsu:

It looked terrible on TV.

Re: 13,342

there was about 8 thousand there.. noway was there 14plus., and i was chatting to a north fan and when and he is so over his team , and saying they should had moved to goldcoast.. he is even changing teams to support goldcoast..

Were you even there?

I forgot its much easier to predict crowds from a TV screen than actually being there :rolleyes:

And for Doctor Jolly and Grayham you do know that know one really gives a **** about Sydney don't you?

Been kept afloat by AFL funding only because of it's need for a National presence.

I'm guessing you will see how insignificant your club is when you start hitting rock bottom, which won't be too far away. I think you will be lucky to get a couple of stray dogs and a cat to your games when the Sydney theatre goers suddenly realise that its not cool to be seen at Sydney games.

But therein lies the rub. Sydney will always be bailed due to the need for a team in Sydney. The AFL despite what it thinks, only has so much cash, it is splurging big time on GC (agree with it), Western Sydney (no cigar) and at the same time revenue is falling.

It can only support so many ventures and the key is to make sure your club is not overly reliant upon them if they are forced to make a choice. I reckon the Vic clubs have 3 to 5 years to get their houses in order. Soon their will be 8 interstate clubs to 10 Vic, the balance is evening out.

What was everyone expecting the crowd to be?

Most Melbourne based clubs struggle to get crowds against Port.
Except for Collingwood.

I reckon theres bigger crowds at EJ Whitten Legends games!

QUOTE=Doctor Jolly;14467054]Is "scum" your new tag for people who dont agree with you.

I was referring to another’s posters reference to people like you as Scum. I prefer the term Schadenfreude

I'm glad you're not call me a goose, but the others may object.
Bigfooty is uniquely, the "national" debating channel for AFL footy. It presents a national view, with each club represented fairly evenly as is in the real world.

No it's not, it the extreme end of fans it doesn't represent your average fan. The vast majority of Football supporters would not post on a forum. It is full of teenagers and trolls.

While Bigfooty has a very low S/N ratio, No doubt they listen to public opinion. Brayshaw backflipped on the jumper issue because of public opinion. A topic hotly debated on here. ARoca comes on bigfooty regularly...and even posts.

Do you think Brayshaw "back flipped because of Big Footy, you poor thing!

Rocca posts in the North Melbourne area to keep fans up to date of changes in the club. Not on the main board debating with teenagers.

Doubt it. All footy presidents voted for expansion. All voted for the GC offer put to you. All voted for Souths and Fitzroys relocations/mergers.

Not one President ever voted for us to move to the Gold Coast? Where do you get this, stop making things up.

The dont like to watch North games. Trying to rope yourself in with the Essendons and Pies is silly.

Um, you are saying no one in Victoria watches North games? And you saying that from all you experience in Sydney? You know nothing of suburban rivalries and workplace rivalries, mates who go to games together Hawks v Roos, Saints v Collingwood, Essendon v North. Its the best and what makes Vic footie so great!

North arent in the cool circle.

I see the analogy as of the non-vic clubs, plus big vic clubs have all graduated to a prestigeous university, and their old mates who are doing a TAFE course in carpendry want to keep hanging around.

Mate football supporters don't cheer there teams accountants.

14,000 members who go to games. Mazda looking for any excuse to get out, and an overated list.
Your getting desperate!!

see above

Not enough people turned up to the game, crap turnout, end of story.

The argument of Victorians being spoilt for stadiums is irrelevant to the real issue. I am so sick of hearing, come watch footy at Subi, blah blah blah. I've been there, it's a ground, you watch footy at it. I had a good time, it was fine. Vic stadiums are good, it's probably got something to do with the fact that there are so many teams using them over here. BUT, I'd be just as happy to go and sit at the old VFL park, Skilled Stadium is good, I'd go to Princess Park, and I've always enjoyed Aami. Going to the footy has very little to do with how comfortable your seat is, or how much you enjoy the stadium, or how hard it is to get to.

The fact is that the 14000 that turned up, would have turned up to any stadium in Melbourne, regardless of quality of stadium. The number is not good, I'll not argue against that, it is just not good enough. But the point is that perhaps Melbourne needs to be using a stadium without all the bells and whistles to cater for games exactly like this. 22,000 at docklands loses nearly 100K. Down at Skilled Stadium Geelong make over 500K with the same crowd. In Sydney, ANZ stadium (which is state of the art also) will pay 100K for the Rugby clubs to play there, and we all know what their crowds are like. Something stinks with the deals in Melbourne, it is undeniable.

Please learn to quote properly.

Anyway, You'd be suprised at the average age of bigfooty people. It isnt teenages, especially during school time. Most are quite mature, and been around footy a long time.

I got to start taking my own advice. See below

The thing that most people including North supporters and certainly including the "Scum" on this website don’t get is none of this crap on Big Footy matters.

Having Doctor Jolly or some other goose on a Football Forum say you club has to go means nothing. These people are not a representation of the broader Football Public; they are merely people with too much spare time that like to fight keyboard battles.

Do you think Andrew D or James Brayshaw or anyone who actually matters would take this crap seriously?

Their opinion means nothing, I saw one Swan supporter Grayham I think his name was trying to recruit a Carlton supporter into barracking for Norths demise by saying your club is too powerful you don't need to be associated with North. It’s all a bit sad.

So North supporters please don't let these keyboard experts annoy you. For all you know you could be debating with a 17 year old kid who is doing an Economics assignment and is now suddenly an expert in the harsh realities of running a Football Club.

Or a Swan supporter who is so desperate to feel more apart of the AFL that they think by getting rid of North they will be taken more seriously.

The reality is 99% of the Football community in Victoria would hate to see North disappear. 99% of the Football Public in Victoria couldn’t really give 2 shits about the finances of Clubs or the AFL expansion.

They like to watch Footy; they love the rivalry of Vic Footy and genuinely don't wish bad on any other team’s supporters. They know what it's like to love your club and don't take enjoyment in the idea of a club folding.

What you have on this site are rather crap stirrers that like getting a rise or Schadenfreudes who may have some major insecurities about themselves.

Please don't label all interstate supporters with the same brush, the vast majority appreciate clubs like North and its mainly those who are jealous of the Vic football rivalries that wish ill of clubs like North.

Another matter to tread cautiously with is Sydney Supporters. There are a number of these knobs out there who like to cheer the demise of North and I know it's irritating. The majority are like nerdy kids at school trying to get into the cool club desperately baying for blood so they can get closer to the cool circle.

However there are a number of great ex South Supporters who must be insulted by these morons who have been through the heartache of having there club relocated. If they have been able to find a connection with Sydney good on them, its the least they deserve. We must be careful not to paint all Sydney people with the same brush and sink to the level of these desperate types.

All that matters is we get these Stadium deals right so profits can be made over the full 22 weeks of Football. We might lose a bit by getting 17,000 to a Port match but make plenty by getting 30,000 to a Saints match

Worst case scenario we will start playing a a smaller Vic stadium like PP and make money. All that is holding us back is that.

30,000 memberships are good and sponsorship is great. We have a 10 million dollar base being built at Arden Street and a good young list.

Remember only a fool enters a fools argument.

Battle, prepare thyself to be on the receiving end of some name calling. "scum", "goose", "fool".

He is not scum or a goose, everyone is welcome to their opinion. Try to understand that when people cheer on the failure or demise of something that is a person loves and cherishes then they tend to get a little upset.

There is nothing wrong with what that bloke has said, he was at the game and is entitled to his opinion.

I was there and thought the crowd looked closer to 18,000. I was further confident in that prediction when I heard the noise that was being made. I was very surprised when the official figure came up on the score board, so I approached one of the ticket guys who told me the scanner on Gate 3 went down just before the game, so people were coming in but their tickets were not getting counted. He didn't know how many would not have been counted as it depends when most were arriving, but he suspected about 1,000 - possibly up to 2,000.

i have emailed the club about this, so I am sure they will follow up - not that it will save us much money.

hey i was there with my gf who supports north,, and i gotta say maybe 8 to 10 thousand were there,, :eek:

Did you go around and count everyone?

I also want to know how you know how you can tell the difference between 10K and 14K?

This is the thing that really shits me to be honest there were 14K there, which is a pathetic crowd, but then you have people coming on here and saying that there were only 8-10K.

Well battle maybe the AFL should scrap the gates and just have you turn up and tell them the crowd figure:rolleyes:

I'd be just as happy to go and sit at the old VFL park, Skilled Stadium is good, I'd go to Princess Park, and I've always enjoyed Aami. Going to the footy has very little to do with how comfortable your seat is, or how much you enjoy the stadium, or how hard it is to get to.

That is very well said for the hardcore fans that will turn up ho matter where or when the game is played. But there is also a group that will ONLY turn up if they can drive, park easily and eat finger food behind glass in heated comfort. They are the ones that probably didn't turn up on Saturday night for some reason, perhaps because the fixture was not appealing enough?

The fact is that the 14000 that turned up, would have turned up to any stadium in Melbourne, regardless of quality of stadium. The number is not good, I'll not argue against that, it is just not good enough. But the point is that perhaps Melbourne needs to be using a stadium without all the bells and whistles to cater for games exactly like this.

Melbourne needs a 25k stadium somewhere that can cater for these games. There will be many more of them when GC and West Syd enter the league.
The last i heard the AFL were talking about a 45k stadium near docklands. ARE THEY ON DRUGS? 45k is still too BIG and having it so close to the DUMP is asking for transport trouble! Needs to be Visy or out West or East on a train line and hold 25k:thumbsu:

I was there and thought the crowd looked closer to 18,000. I was further confident in that prediction when I heard the noise that was being made. I was very surprised when the official figure came up on the score board, so I approached one of the ticket guys who told me the scanner on Gate 3 went down just before the game, so people were coming in but their tickets were not getting counted. He didn't know how many would not have been counted as it depends when most were arriving, but he suspected about 1,000 - possibly up to 2,000.

i have emailed the club about this, so I am sure they will follow up - not that it will save us much money.

Are you SERIOUSLY trying to tell us that you saw the crowd on the scoreboard (at 3/4 time usually!) and were so concerned that the figure was incorrect that you left your seat to investigate what could have gone wrong?:rolleyes: Then you actually managed to find a gate attendant who briefed you on the technical malfunction which you have promply reported to the club????????????????????????????????????

OMFG:eek::eek:

How does a team with with 30,000 paid up members only have half of them attend a game :confused:

And it would have even been worse if it was on Sunday, being Mothers day

North Melbourne & the impact of youth support

Hey all,

I just want to put a hypothesis to the BigFooty public if you will, as this is something i've often wondered about but have difficulty putting into words. Alas, I will attempt;

Is it fair to say that we can expect NMFC's membership/support to increase significantly over the next few years due to the youth support of the club?

I'll explain;

Many young kids (in the 5-10 years of age bracket) would have started barracking for North Melbourne back in the 90's and the era of Carey. I know that I did, although i'm older than that (25 this year). Most kids who aren't lucky enough to have football supporting parents wouldn't be in a position where they were financially able to buy themselves a membership until they were 18 years of age, or older. If they go to university, this age could be as high as 22 or 23.

I strongly believe that in the next 2 to 5 years, we'll see the 'next generation' of NMFC supporters becoming financially independant, and start signing up as members and attending more games.

As an example, here's a scenario for you;

Jimmy Kidroo was born in 1990.

At the age of 9, he watched North Melbourne win the 1999 premiership, and decided to start following them.

Fast forward 10 years, and in 2009 Jimmy is 19, and really wants to become a NMFC member, but he's going to university now, and money is tight.

Fast forward 2 years, and Jimmy has graduated and is now employed, and becomes a NMFC member.

Now obviously, this is a hypothetical situation, but I strongly believe this is one of the main reasons Hawthorn is enjoying such strong support at the moment. All the kids who were born in the early 80's who witnessed the Hawks dominance in the late 80's are now a part of the next generation of Hawks supporters, and you need only to look at their membership totals this year for evidence of that.

What do you guys think?

(In before : "LOL north has no fans!!1 Go to the Gold Coast lulz)

Are you SERIOUSLY trying to tell us that you saw the crowd on the scoreboard (at 3/4 time usually!) and were so concerned that the figure was incorrect that you left your seat to investigate what could have gone wrong?:rolleyes: Then you actually managed to find a gate attendant who briefed you on the technical malfunction which you have promply reported to the club????????????????????????????????????

OMFG:eek::eek:

Well i am a stickler for this kind of thing because I know people will be making things up about the crowd being a few thousand lower than reported.

Luckily, I was sitting right near gate 3 and I was on my way to have a cigarette (I don't smoke, but I needed one after watching Wellsy tear through the Power in the 3rd quarter).

Anyway, you can all move along becasuse the crowd was actually 16,000+, which is more than half our membership and about 5,000 more than the Hawks got a couple of years ago against the same opponent.

Eugene has confirmed he has received my email, so hopefully a telstra Dome correction will appear in the papers over the next couple of days.

Re: North Melbourne & the impact of youth support

agreed i believe we will see the impact of the 90's with increase in membership, ala Hawthorn right now. BUT i believe we will need to be a bit more successful, and definite a more attracting brand of footy.

Well i am a stickler for this kind of thing because I know people will be making things up about the crowd being a few thousand lower than reported.

Luckily, I was sitting right near gate 3 and I was on my way to have a cigarette (I don't smoke, but I needed one after watching Wellsy tear through the Power in the 3rd quarter).

Anyway, you can all move along becasuse the crowd was actually 16,000+, which is more than half our membership and about 5,000 more than the Hawks got a couple of years ago against the same opponent.

Eugene has confirmed he has received my email, so hopefully a telstra Dome correction will appear in the papers over the next couple of days.

Very interesting

face up north supporters, there were 8 to 10 thousand there, noway 14. it was weird being there, it felt like i was watching williamstown vs coburg or something.. no atmosphere.. a few car horns went off after a goal..thats what it felt like..