16k at etihad tonight

Clubs do not relocate. That is a fiction. What happens is the old club dies and a new one is opened somewhereelse. That is what happened EG with the Swans who are not South.

North should resist all and every effort to relocate them since that means the end of their club. North outside melbourne would be meaningless. Relocation is euphemistic AFL speak for death.

Keep the faith Northies. You stay in Melbourne or you die.

Keep been a tosser sunshine. Your club was one of the ones that ambushed us and left no choice. Good on North for staying put their fans got to make a decision to stay and fight. Not all of us did get the chance by the time South new they were moving it was given no choice and were not letting you taker our club of us no matter what you may think

Must have made a huge loss on this game. Think they back up in two weeks time for another interstate match... reckon Time to push the panic button. And A'rocca wonder why he got overlooked for the collingwood job.

pretty sure we have 5-6 in a row at etihad.

Keep been a tosser sunshine. Your club was one of the ones that ambushed us and left no choice. Good on North for staying put their fans got to make a decision to stay and fight. Not all of us did get the chance by the time South new they were moving it was given no choice and were not letting you taker our club of us no matter what you may think

I' not having a go at people who used to be South fans. I'm just telling it like it is. If for instance Richmond were forced t move to say Tassie I for won woud no longer be a fan since Richmond would be no more. I simply happen to think that relocation is just a nice sweet smelling fiction the AFL use to disguise the death of one club and the birth of another.

You're supposed to be happy because 'Collingwood' lets you have a home game on the Queen's Birthday.

Look a little deeper and you'll see why 'Collingwood' allow this - it guarantees another of their 'away' games is shceduled in Melbourne helping to ensure they never travel more 4 times in one year.

I use Collingwood in this example because I am obsessed, I hardly sleep because of the permanent presence of Collingwood in my frontal lobe. I spend most my time in Collingwood threads but occasionally hop on to threads that have nothing to do with Collingwood and mention them anyway. I am one sad loser.

Loser!

Not sure I'd pay too much attention to membership numbers and other club driven hyperbole but it's clear Melbourne have improved their position.

However, you're still playing catchup so it wouldn't take a lot to go wrong for things to go pear-shaped pretty quickly. You're not alone though, there's a few clubs in that position.

I pretty much agree with everything in your post, but i'd definitely include the Saints as one of those clubs. Your membership was only marginally higher than us last year, and only rised this year on the back of a grand final appearance and the presumption of similar achievements this year.

I pretty much agree with everything in your post, but i'd definitely include the Saints as one of those clubs.

Don't disagree at all.

Other than the so-called big 4 and possibly Geelong, any other Melbourne based club could be the one in the weakest position when it's time to wield the axe.

North Ballarat should be investigated as an option for North to play a couple of games a year there against interstate sides. Or perhaps Werribee.

So Etihad bears the loss or NMFC? If it's now the stadium, what incentive is there for supporters to turn up when traditionally they don't anyway? Why should the stadium / AFL / other 15 clubs be propping them up? Now if North were attracting 25k and bearly breaking even I wouldn't have so much of a problem, but 16k is just disgusting (looked more like under 10k on tv too)!

North Ballarat should be investigated as an option for North to play a couple of games a year there against interstate sides. Or perhaps Werribee.

So Etihad bears the loss or NMFC? If it's now the stadium, what incentive is there for supporters to turn up when traditionally they don't anyway? Why should the stadium / AFL / other 15 clubs be propping them up? Now if North were attracting 25k and bearly breaking even I wouldn't have so much of a problem, but 16k is just disgusting (looked more like under 10k on tv too)!

Already being looked at by North.

I don't mind copping crap for the crowd, what pisses me off is other clubs don't cop this same crap for their craptastic crowds. Melbourne does a good job giving away free tickets to all their shit games which glosses over the fact they probably have even fewer people paying to get into the games, but we cop an unfair level of criticism because we are an easy target.

saturday night football is the worst time to schedule a game !

another factor: everyone was out in pubs getting drunk in preparation for fa cup final!
Sunday twilight is worse. FA Cup wouldn't have had much impact.
No excuses. That's a very poor crowd by AFL standards. There will always be a team which is last in drawing power, we happen to be that team for now.
But we are not that far behind some others. The way people go on about crowds on BF, anyone would think we were in the sad situation Fitzroy found themselves where membership was 40% lower than the next worst side.
(And that is not a dig at Fitzroy. They should never have been cut from the comp. The way they were targetted and culled was even worse than what was attempted against us.)

Saturday night, vital match against Adelaide (who always get a few travelling supporters) and only 16,000 show up??? Inexcusable. Get behind your club North fans... they'll need you now more than ever.

North fans would argue that's a great turn-out. :D :eek:

Will be intersting to see what sort of crowd turns up for their home game against the Doggies.

Neither team are particularly high drawing, but its Saturday afternoon and should be perfect for good footy.

Everyone should turn up - less than 35K would be terrible.

The problem is our games are almost always live on Foxtel and over the years it has been the only way to see the team play, a lot of people have just been conditioned to just watching the game on pay-tv.

but isnt that more of a reason to go to the game :D

why are people conditioned to watch it on tv?

freo and the eagles often always have their games on foxtel as well as free to air and always have decent crowds at games.

I don't mind copping crap for the crowd, what pisses me off is other clubs don't cop this same crap for their craptastic crowds. Melbourne does a good job giving away free tickets to all their shit games which glosses over the fact they probably have even fewer people paying to get into the games, but we cop an unfair level of criticism because we are an easy target.
Look at your membership levels. They are miles behind any other club.

lulz, we got crap from one of your own Tas about our so-called poor crowd of 28k against the Eagles a couple of weeks ago. Where is Brad Roo when you need him? :eek:

oh yea and this...

Port Adelaides average attendance after 3 home games - 22,622

North Mebournes average attendance after 3 home games - 22,934

no wonder there arent many port supporters posting in here :eek:

But Melbourne have have been drawing around DOUBLE what North drew yesterday. They're playing well this year and if 16k turned up yesterday they would rightfully receive criticism, but that isn't happening. No idea what these "free tickets" are that you're referring to.

no its becuase you guys draw the least amount of crowds for a melbourne based team...

melbourne vs wce had around 30,000 odd people...

I'm not aware of any ticket promotions for our game against West Coast yesterday, unless you'd like to enlighten me?

Correct me if i'm wrong, but i'd assume that you'd expect a similar away turnout from Adelaide and West Coast supporters in Melbourne.

Don't try to deflect your problems on us

16k at etihad tonight