Player Watch #17: Daniel Rioli - Traded to GC, picks 6&23.

He’s been such a disappointment since 2017. He’s become vanilla.

Him and George suck.

Both are 3 time premiership players, I reckon you suck

Him and George suck.
George is just intergral to the system and basically undroppable. I must admit i was calling for his head this year but i understand why he kept on playing. Rioli was the one im a bit disppointed with. Just didnt seem to have the spark that we know he has: e.g 17Prelim

I suspect Daniel struggled big time this season on a personal level with the lack of family contact during the hub.

A player with his speed.....he was mtrs behind. cant crumb, fumbles, falls over.
Yes he did a small amount of something.....Even I could do something in a 11/2 of footy for f sake. played ok for 1 yr out of 4 .
If we going to challenge next year he has to go.
This is why the Richmond selection committee have 3 flags in 4 years, and you're taking potshots at a player online.

If you don't know why Rioli's important, you don't know much about how we play.

the GF highlights how stats alone dont tell the story
Rioli 6 disposals , not injured , plenty of game time

and Rioli wasn't the only low stat player for us

Dan was involved in 2 scoring chains ? but was busy and played his part of the whole team pressure

Prestia only 14 disposals for a mid , down on what he can get but seem to make them count

Grimmes 4 disposals , two very important defensive spoils in the last qtr thou and did a complete blot out on Rohan

Broad 8 disposals , often he can be the outlet from defense , but people were singing his praises

our pressure was greater the Geelong and it was a whole ground thing

when we were putting our stamp on the 3rd qtr Dusty only had 1 touch in the first 7 mins

in this game Edwards , Short & Bolton were the bigger possession getters
every game is a little different and we adapted better and dont rely on a small core of players

Him and George suck.
I recall an interview with Dimma where he was questioned about Dan - he said Dan's role in the team is essential in running decoy's, marking players and creating layers and not so much possession & disposals himself and picking the crumbs up - BUT preventing the oppo players from possession and disposals and being part of the pressure tactics - another club may use him differently - but for our club he - in Dimma's words - does a great job at it. - and when Dimma speaks - I listen .....

This is why the Richmond selection committee have 3 flags in 4 years, and you're taking potshots at a player online.

If you don't know why Rioli's important, you don't know much about how we play.
Really?
Rioli won us three flags...because of Riolis genius, surely it was nothing else right?
he had probably one good season in 6.
BTW, l know our system, BTW l made some calls during and before the GF, like using Balta in the middle, like using Bolton in the centre. It’s just l expect more from Rioli than chase and tackle. i expect him to be able to crumb , not fall over on every turn he tries to make, use the ball quickly instead of taking his time on the wing, he has speed to burn, he should use it.

Averaged 13 touches, 4 tackles and a goal a game in the 3 finals leading up to the GF. Im not one to judge form on stats but they aren’t bad numbers in shortened games.

Had a brain fade with that 50mtr penalty but also had some great moments where he showed the spark that has been missing for much of this season.

I’d been pushing for Aarts to be in the side through entire back half of the season but there’s no doubt in my mind that Rioli played his part in the lead up to the GF and deserved his spot.

My money is on him returning to some pretty strong form as conditions return to near normal in 2021 and a family member joins the club.

Averaged 13 touches, 4 tackles and a goal a game in the 3 finals leading up to the GF. Im not one to judge form on stats but they aren’t bad numbers in shortened games.

Had a brain fade with that 50mtr penalty but also had some great moments where he showed the spark that has been missing for much of this season.

I’d been pushing for Aarts to be in the side through entire back half of the season but there’s no doubt in my mind that Rioli played his part in the lead up to the GF and deserved his spot.

My money is on him returning to some pretty strong form as conditions return to near normal in 2021 and a family member joins the club.
I don't think we're ever gonna get a consistent 35-50 goal a year forward out of Daniel, but he will be important to us for many years to come with everything else he brings us.

Couldn't agree more with your post and I reckon he'll take a step up next year with footy (hopefully) back to normal.

Really?
Rioli won us three flags...because of Riolis genius, surely it was nothing else right?
BTW, l know our system, BTW l made some calls during and before the GF, like using Balta in the middle, like using Bolton in the centre. It’s just l expect more from Rioli than chase and tackle. i expect him to be able to crumb , not fall over on every turn he tries to make, use the ball quickly instead of taking his time on the wing, he has speed to burn, he should use it.
He plays his role which is chasing, tackling and pressuring, and that role is integral in our side's system.

As a footballer, he's below average. That's probably the fairest assessment.

I’ve got a ton of respect for Rioli.

There were times in 2017 when he looked like he was on the verge or breaking out and becoming a real star.

Broke his foot in an absolutely heroic effort in 2017 GF.

- It makes me so angry hearing Tigers supporters criticise him after that - :mad:.

Had big expectations on him after 2017 and has clearly struggled to get back to his absolute best.

Who knows maybe that broken foot may to some extent cruel his career.

But he broke that foot playing for us - brilliantly - in the amazing brake through 2017 premiership, and he is a triple premiership hero.

If I here someone saying some of the crap I’ve read on here when I’m at the footy, you’ll probably see me being pinned down by about a dozen security guards five mins later and then getting chucked out of the ground.

Disgraceful.

Him and George suck.

With the greatest respect, I can't agree with this and they don't deserve to become whipping boys.

RFC are the best team in AFL for the past four years.
They play as a champion team.
They are individually all highly skilled, well drilled and follow team rules that wins finals, and will continue to win finals.
If they were a band, they aren't a 70's easy listening FM soft rock with masturbatory guitar soloists
They are more like classical musicians playing classic Rage Against The Machine

So when a Butler or Ellis goes off to another team, its hardly surprising , given the freedom & lack of accountability, that they look like virtuoso champions instead of role players.
Let's celebrate the team for what it is

I’ve had a whinge about some of his skyball kicks but I got a hunch part of the reason clubs cant copy us is because they cant get enough players to stick to our sortve game plan and be up and about consistently at their best without the goals and those sortve moments that gave them confidence in juniors.
I dont understand his role but he must be doing it right most of the time, I remember when Higgins was playing his spot and everybody thought he was flat and outve sorts.

I’ve had a whinge about some of his skyball kicks but I got a hunch part of the reason clubs cant copy us is because they cant get enough players to stick to our sortve game plan and be up and about consistently at their best without the goals and those sortve moments that gave them confidence in juniors.
I dont understand his role but he must be doing it right most of the time, I remember when Higgins was playing his spot and everybody thought he was flat and outve sorts.

Teams can't copy us as they don't have the players to do so. Im sick of both our own fans and opposition fans not giving the players the credit they deserve and buying into the belief that the game plan makes the players look good when in actual fact it is the other way around. Our game plan essentially removes the accumulation of disposals and working the ball forward in the cleanest manner possible to limiting disposals and getting the ball forward as quickly as possible. This requires players to be fast by mind and hand/foot, which in a fast pace game with pressure coming from all angles it's the hardest thing to execute. Yet we have players like Martin, Bolton and Edwards who will break a game open when they have no right to, we have players like Short, Baker, Cotchin and Vlastuin who under heaps of pressure will fire out a quick handball or run around their opponent and clear the area when others would cough the ball up. Like any good defensive unit our guys are capable of supporting one another but in 1v1 situations we have some of the best players in the league at beating their opponents while up forward we have two of the best targets to aim for. This is less about game plan and more about having seriously talented players and the way to beat it is by finding something to counter it which is near on impossible without significant rule changes (requires Cox 2018 performance) or matching us for talent.

Higgins problem wasn't he was out of sorts it was a case of too many cooks in the kitchen. Minus our two losses to Port and GWS where we had half our side with 50 games or less playing, our other poor performances (losses) come when we tried playing too many guys with the same skillset and forced guys into positions where they are less effective. We were trying to play a combination of Bolton, Higgins, Castagna and Rioli for the first 5 weeks and then Edwards went out of the side pushing Bolton into the middle who was replaced with Aarts. It was once Higgins went out of the side and we have better balanced line up we found our groove that was until the Brisbane game where the same thing happened with Edwards returning and then having Bolton, Rioli, Aarts and Castagna up forward again throwing out the balance and forcing guys into positions that they aren't suited too and don't impact the game from. It was less to do with Higgins and more to do with too many players offering the same thing for the team and getting into each others way.

I’ve got a ton of respect for Rioli.

There were times in 2017 when he looked like he was on the verge or breaking out and becoming a real star.

Broke his foot in an absolutely heroic effort in 2017 GF.

- It makes me so angry hearing Tigers supporters criticise him after that - :mad:.

Had big expectations on him after 2017 and has clearly struggled to get back to his absolute best.

Who knows maybe that broken foot may to some extent cruel his career.

But he broke that foot playing for us - brilliantly - in the amazing brake through 2017 premiership, and he is a triple premiership hero.

If I here someone saying some of the crap I’ve read on here when I’m at the footy, you’ll probably see me being pinned down by about a dozen security guards five mins later and then getting chucked out of the ground.

Disgraceful.

Amen

The role of the small fwd/fwd pocket has just changed dramatically in the last decade or so. They're not there to kick 2 or 3 flashy goals or the occasional bag of 5/6. They essentially roll around thru the fwd flanks and wings and apply rolling pressure which forces turn overs from play or stoppages and then creates the panic ball situation we thrive on.

Rioli and Castagna both excel at this. Goals kicked would be a low priority in how they are assessed each game.

young blokes need to get laid often,tough year for all the young roosters

Really?
if we're gonna bring up falling over at every turn we gotta look at houli's 13 games,yes,all 13,first action when ball in vicinity,fall over,
not having a crack,but no one in the team falls over at the drop of a hat more than Bachar :p

Player Watch #17: Daniel Rioli - Traded to GC, picks 6&23.