Kennedy_17
There was a cabbie arrested here in perth not long ago for luring drunk teenage men into his cab and touching them.... maybe he mis-judged how drunk hurley was.... poor michael.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
the cabbie politely asked for the full fare of the cab ride.
Believe that if you want...
I'm not saying it's the cabbie's fault, however, I hardly believe that he just stood there and said "Can I please have my fare". I think it's odds on that the cabbie has at the very least touched him on the shoulder to get his attention.
who gives a shit how he asked him, it was money owed to him. Was the cabbie supposed to just turst another drunk young bloke at that hour? was he supposed to beg for his money? FFS Hurley has fked up, he'll have his day in court, cop his fine and let's move on. there is a Grand Final on tomorrow......
Storm in a teacup type of stuff. People love it when an Essendon player gets into trouble with the law. Only happens once every ten years..unlike other clubs.
At least it shows he has some mongrel in him.
Looking forward to M.H dish out some hits -above the waist- to opponents next season.
Storm in a teacup type of stuff. People love it when an Essendon player gets into trouble with the law. Only happens once every ten years..unlike other clubs.
Knowing Essendon, they'll probably give him a raise. It's the sort of behavior they love to promote on the footy field.
We can take it to Bay 13 and carry on as if they are.
who gives a shit how he asked him, it was money owed to him. Was the cabbie supposed to just turst another drunk young bloke at that hour? was he supposed to beg for his money?
I will ask this question - do posters know of someone who has been assaulted by a cabbie? .
As for the filthy scum comment. Well culture starts at the top, and Clarko isn't the sort of role model I would want my players following.
The current generation of young men coming through our society are a bunch of ****s.
Whether it was Hurley or somebody Hurley was with is besides the point; it is utterly unacceptable behaviour and the person should be punished appropriately.
There is this mentality surrounding current youth who just seem to have this blatant disrespect for anybody and act as such. This isn't just a football issue, but a social issue.
The fact that recent attacks have been of a racist nature is even worse. Whilst I don't think this has anything to do with racism, the fact is that given the current climate it could not have been more poorly timed.
Add to that, there is no excuse for an unprovoked attack on somebody and kicking is also the lowest form of dog act going around.
I don't buy the whole 'he is a 19 y/o who was drunk argument'. I've been 19, been drunk and never seen a person assaulted like that simply for the sake of it (and I grew up in Noble Park). I've also caught heaps of cabs and been forced to pay up extra because the dodgy driver 'had no change'. Yeah I was pissed off and told him so, but I didn't assault him.
It's a disgrace and I hope that due to the high profile nature of this story that those ****wits start paying attention and changing their approach and attitude to life.
This is just one person,probably pissed,not a gang.Of course it was going to either be an Indian or Sri Lankan cabbie,as that's where most cabbies in Melbourne are from.
So I guess it's lucky John Brumby is in India at the moment trying to smooth things over.Just add one more to the list John.
Yes. Mate got smacked in the face with a water bottle by a cabbie outside Crown.
Also i've personally been kicked out of a taxi & threatened by the driver
BTW - This in no way shape or form is meant to try to defend Hurley or make light of the allegations. Just responding to the question.
Seriously, Neville, the goings-on of BigFooty have no bearing on the apparent guilt of Hurley.Seriously, you're just making Hurley look guiltier by trying crap deflections like that.
The first bolded point is simply not true, I don't know what world your living in but abusing cabbies doesn't just sit in with watching the grand, grand final bbq's and lamingtons, as an ''australian thing''.
And to say that ''we'' should ''just forgive'' a bloke who kicks and punches someone who is doing their job and ''move on'' the most biased, stupid thing I have ever heard.
When your son becomes a cab driver and is kicked and punched at 5 in the morning I wonder just how forgiving and willing to move on you will be.
Stupidity personified.
I'm friends with a couple of players who were drafted in the same year as Hurley, and whilst I don't know him personally, a number of different people (players, parents and coaches) have often commented on how he's a terrific bloke, always seems to have his head screwed on, etc and this whole ordeal is a real shock and goes against everything that people have said about him so far. I've go no idea as to what actually happened, but sometimes decent people make some pretty big mistakes (particularly when alcohol is involved) and whilst I'm embarrassed for him and pissed off that one of our players has been involved in a situation like this, I think it'd be wise not to make too many assumptions and completely rip into the kid.
You could be absolutely right mate, I don't know Hurley personally at all, but it's probably unfair to judge someone entirely on one mistake (albeit a big one), in which the details are yet to be properly provided. I'm probably just a little more sceptical than others on here seeing as I know quite a number of people who know him (and no, they're not EFC supporters) who have often commented on his character, which is why this has all come as a big shock to me, and why I'm reserving judgement until I know more about the incident.The guy's obviously an A Grade tool. Let's not pretend otherwise Nickers.
Normal, even semi-intelligent people, don't go around assaulting taxi drivers.
Renouf jumping on cars was an unacceptable and very poor thing to do. Hurley's actions were disgraceful.
Normal people do all sorts of stupid things when they are too intoxicated to make proper choices.The guy's obviously an A Grade tool. Let's not pretend otherwise Nickers.
Normal, even semi-intelligent people, don't go around assaulting taxi drivers.
Renouf jumping on cars was an unacceptable and very poor thing to do. Hurley's actions were disgraceful.