1987 Preliminary Final-Hawthorn vs Melbourne-The worst kick in AFL/VFL finals FootySH

Jul 7, 2003
Swansea, Wizards
This made me laugh so hard last night on the Friday Night Finals on Seven. The first one. Hawthorn vs Melbourne. Melbourne led by 8 points A long kick came into the foward line. Eishold(Melbourne) took a mark about 3 mters out on a bit of a angle.

He came in and he like turned to kick it into the points. It was so funny! Did anyone else see it? And people blame Stynes for that match.

It must have been the worst kick for goal in VFL/AFL football!

Edit: the SH on the end of footy

Gee that is great television. Still gets my old man spitting chips as well.

At least Stynes went on and did something with his career - what the hell did Simon Eishold do?

Certainly the worst shot for goal I've seen.

I was disappointed they cut away almost as soon as Buckenara kicked the goal - didn't get to see those old ducks crying. :p

Simon Eishold. Oh dear, he'll be remembered for that kick. A minute or so later Tony Campbell blazed away with a shot when he could have run in closer.
Watching that game, even so many years later and knowing what happened, it's still so dramatic. And how the crowd was just screaming through the last quarter, but when Bucky had the ball, the siren went and the 15m penalty; around the ground, even on telly, there's just a tense silence and you could hear a pin drop.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
I was disappointed they cut away almost as soon as Buckenara kicked the goal - didn't get to see those old ducks crying. :p [/B]

hehehe - classic image - although i must admit after the 99 prelim i shed a few tears myself:(

Originally posted by DonFan
hehehe - classic image - although i must admit after the 99 prelim i shed a few tears myself:(
You and me both DonFan. '99 hurt a lot more than '96 did.:(
But there's been some classic prelim finals in recent memory. As well as the ones we've mentioned, there's some other beauties. North keeping Gary Ablett quiet all day until after the final siren, only for Ablett to kick the Cats into the grand final after the siren in '94. Adelaide's comeback in '97, Essendon's comeback in '93. If Trent Croad hadn't hit the post in 2001, that one could have gone to the wire as well.
The prelims are usually better games than the grand finals. And with heaps better atmosphere, with the real fans being there.

First time I'd seen the 87 PF replayed save for the final, fatal kick. Everything happened so quickly, right down to Stynes' blunder and the camera cut away from it right away.

How did Melbourne lose it? Hawthorn just kind of matter of factly came back while the Dees kept going forward over and over without scoring majors.

The final from 83 with Fitzroy was fun to watch. Quinlan was a one man show in that quarter.

1996 - sucks watching that. I don't recall being two goals up that late. There was one push forward after Symons goaled that probably would have sealed it had we gotten anything out of it.

Dimma looked like Joel Reynolds or something.

How good was Misiti's look, all bulked up and head shaven? :)

Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Dimma looked like Joel Reynolds or something.

How good was Misiti's look, all bulked up and head shaven? :)

And how about Hirdy's short shorts :D

The skills of those pre 1990's games look so poor compared to the current ones.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

At least Stynes went on and did something with his career - what the hell did Simon Eishold do?

He went on to have a quality 5-game career with Richmond.

The final from 83 with Fitzroy was fun to watch. Quinlan was a one man show in that quarter.

1996 - sucks watching that. I don't recall being two goals up that late. There was one push forward after Symons goaled that probably would have sealed it had we gotten anything out of it.

The 1983 last quarter was a ripper to watch - Fitzroy always looked likely to run over the top and win the match but Hawthorn's ability to take advantage of the Roys' sloppy mistakes (Hinchen's poor kickout, Nettlefold brain-fade, Pert's reckless push in the back) was the difference in the end.

As for 1996, I noticed that bit of play when the Dons had it down in their forward line after being two goals up - I recall Wallis attemtping to lay a bump when he should've tackled. But the real killer was the loose Swans players in the midfield.

6 pathetic misses from Melbourne players.

Don't forget the Paul Dear disasters in the last quarter too.

The amazing thing about the Hawthorn Melbourne prelim is that with 50secs to go Hawthorn is 9 points down with the ball in dispute on the wing.

Yet in those final seconds, bucky kicks two goals and campbell misses another for the Dees.

Pity about the commentary. The ABC had the rights in 1987 and the commentary they had during that last quarter was excellent.

Channel 7s is woeful in comparison.

Yeah, the commentary I have on tape is the ABC one and it's much better.

One good thing was the little window showing the coach or injured player rather than cutting away from the play - why can't they do that now?

Fact: There was 9 seconds on the clock when Hawthorn kicked out from full-back!

The 1983 Qualifying Final is a ripper. Quinlan putting on a one man show, with Knights dominating up the other end. That Nettlefold deliberate had grown over time to a shocking decision in the dying seconds that cost the Roys the game. In fact 3 goals were kicked after it, and it was a clear deliberate compared to some of the junk that is paid today.

Chris Mew - if only we had a key defender like that now. :(

Gee that is great television. Still gets my old man spitting chips as well.

Certainly the worst shot for goal I've seen.

I was disappointed they cut away almost as soon as Buckenara kicked the goal - didn't get to see those old ducks crying. :p

I used to call him Simon Eyesclosed:)

Really if anyone can "see it but I don't believe it" it's this.

I remember the day well, was not at the game though was sitting in a parked car listening to the game, cracking the shits left right & centre.

Unfortunately it all amounted to nothing as the week after we weren't up to it.

Whoever won was just fodder for Carlton

Summer Day for Grand Final was tailor made for the team that had the week rest which is the way it should be.

Have to give it to Northey though, gets the best out of a list but in todays football that would be detrimental.

Shame.

Whoever won was just fodder for Carlton

Summer Day for Grand Final was tailor made for the team that had the week rest which is the way it should be.

Have to give it to Northey though, gets the best out of a list but in today’s football that would be detrimental.

Shame.
It was a very bad kick, no doubt. Eishold could have snapped easily enough if he had any skill, and sealed the result.

It is in a sense fortunate that Hawthorn won – had Melbourne won I imagine Carlton’s tough defence would have held the Demons to a score akin to what West Coast did in the first round of 1991 or Port Adelaide did to North Adelaide in the 1989 SANFL Grand Final. The Demons would have taken the field without Robert Flower and they showed in 1988 and 1989 that their attack was anything but premiership material without him – and the way Carlton were playing it would have taken an amazing effort to beat them. The “Summer Day” favoured the Blues’ tough man-on-man style and I cannot imagine Northey having anything up his sleeve to fight them even as well as Hawthorn did. In April of 1988 Carlton were just as magnificent as in late 1987, and the way they played when near full-strength suggested at the end of that month that a 24-and-0 season record was not out of the question. It was the break-up of the weather in May 1988 that ended the Blues’ invincibility, little differently from what happened to West Coast in 1991, whilst the greatest wet-weather football team in history took over.

Recall that day watching on tv vividly. For me the reaction was pure relief before any rolling of eyes or laughing would have occurred, and in any case when Buckenara kicked the winner, I was more concerned with the head injury I sustained when I jumped up in joy and collected a low hanging light...!