2006 GF Day: Where were you?

Watched the first quarter in the airport, listened to the next 3 quarters on the plane via radio. Effin' tense.

only 15 at the time watching it at a mates place in MT Lawley drinking lemonade. was absolutely freaking out in the last quarter. remember walking down Alexander drive in our eagles gear getting beeps from eagles supporters

I was there. I had my head in my hands barely watching because I thought there was five minutes to go and knew the Swans had the legs. Was one of the slowest to react when the siren went. Easily, the most amazing feeling I've ever experienced. I drove to Melbourne in 2015 hoping to rediscover the same feeling. Whoops.

I happened to be in Adelaide the weekend before in 2006 so lucked out and watched us snatch a prelim from the Crows despite trailing for most of it.

Ahh the memories hey. I was at my mates place in greenwood with about 20 of us. I was hiding just outside the front door for the last few minutes. Then I heard the siren and the boys go crazy!! I just took off yelling down the street! I had one of those musical stubby holders that played the Eagles song, me and my mate were running through greenwood shops pissed as crickets playing the song. My mate just yelling "press it again!!!" It was also the year we all turned 21, had a 21st that night, was a massive few days. No chance I could go that hard these days!! Of course some of cuzzys favourite stuff helped us all through it ;)

Can't believe the number of people that didnt watch the game live. Was there in 2005. Had tickets for 2006 (top tier to left of MCC members) but had to go to China last minute for work. We found a pub in Beijing (probably the only one) that had it live. Spent a couple of hours after the game playing kick to kick a side street. The Tsing Tao was flowing.

*** Long post warning ***

The week after the 2005 GF, a group of workmates (Eagles supporters and neutrals) and I were out for coffee talking about the game. We were all saying how amazing it would be to go to a GF, regardless of who was playing.

So we set up a bank account with each bloke setting up a direct debit for some money to go in each pay. We booked the accomodation in October 2005 and the flights on the day they were released (9 months prior to the game from memory). So we were set, the only missing piece of the puzzle were of course tickets to the big game.

As the year went on, West Coast were looking stronger and stronger to make the GF. We realised we could get tickets through our memberships, and scrounge up membership IDs for the neutral supporters.

Only catch is, West Coast had to be in the GF. It all came down to the Prelim at Football Park against the Crows. I remember feeling sick in the stomach at half time, being 4 goals down playing away, I thought our chances of getting tickets were toast.

Of course the second half was amazing as we all know and the Eagles were off to the big dance. I remember calling in sick from work that Monday, and sat at my computer hitting refresh over and over at 9am WST when the Eagles GF tickets were released. After a few tense minutes - BOOM! They were ours.

The trip itself was amazing. The flight over on Wednesday was FULL of West Coast supporters. The cabin crew played the team song as we descended into Melbourne. We all went to the Footy Show at Rod Laver on Thursday night, then enjoyed the parade on Friday morning in beautiful weather.

Grand Final day itself was magical. All of us Eagles supporters were nervous as hell and I don't remember any of us eating breakfast. The sun was out, so we walked from our accomodation in Batman Hill along the Yarra to the G. We actually passed Dennis Commetti at one point and had a quick chat with him, top fella.

We got to the ground at the end of the TAC GF (I think Calder Cannons won from memory?) and soaked up the atmosphere. I remember Darryl Braithewaite performing.

The game itself was amazing to watch. We were at the Ponsford Stand end just behind the goals so we were at the end where we got the jump. I vividly remember Judd's goal in the goalsquare off the ground, we were right in front of it.

Anyways - the rest is history as we are all aware of. We kicked on to many, many, many pubs/bars/ and ended up at the casino. We saw some of the eagles milling about. I remember having a drunken conversation with Steven Armstrong at some point.

The trip and game itself was amazing. I still cannot believe our good fortune in being able to witness it live. It remains the best sporting memory I have with daylight to second.

Five rows back from goal square where the smother, handball, shepherd took place. Hunter running right towards us to kick the goal is a vision indelibly burnt into my brain. The last couple of minutes took an eternity.
Back to the Lord Nelson after the game to celebrate. Remember vividly a bunch a guys wearing "The Lynch Mob" tee shirts. A girl with a Hunter haircut dressed in full football gear (jumper, shorts, socks and boots) running rampant through the pub. The (ex?) premier Carpenter was there wearing an Eagles scarf but I fairly certain he is a Lavenders supporter. Almost as good as '92....!!

At the G. Managed to scrounge a couple of tix for myself and my mate, but we were in different spots so we did a bit of a walk around and ended up below one of the large scoreboards at the smother/handball/shepard/goal end.... can never remember which end it is. Don't really care. There's a platform under the scoreboard that a whole bunch of fans watched from (don't allow it anymore). The whole area was mostly Eagles supporters so we became pretty pally with plenty of wise cracks and one-eyed supporting that got the crowd around us going.

Those last two minutes I thought I was going to pass out my heart was beating so fast. And when the siren went it was so much relief I slumped to the floor and just had my head in between my legs while all around me was pandemonium. A girl sitting in front of all our shenanigans and who'd had a few laughs turned around and grabbed me by the back of the jumper and told me to get up and lap it up. Was such a sweet thing to do in all that bedlam. That took all of 5 seconds after the siren. I was up and F*** me dead was I at it after that! Hugging strangers, group hugs and just jumping up and down in unison, high fiving, chest bumping, singing that god-awful song like my life depended on it...over and over and over and over again. I'd already lost my voice but I was off again and didn't stop until Monday.

From the G to Punt Road Oval to Young & Jackson's.... and then its all a blur.

It was all the more sweeter because I'd been there in '05.

I was at home in regional WA. Even as a 10 year old I remember feeling deflated after the year before, so when we held on by a point I did laps around the house and was bounding around with energy. Walked into town not long after and every street had eagles coloured streamers, flags and balloons out in force. Was the same year the poor cow statue in nearby Brunswick began getting a make over every grand final day. Someone painted a wings jumper on it, which stayed for a week or so.

I was at home, it was the year I got married in fact. I'd gone to a friend's house to watch the 2005 game and that was devastating. I always had a superstition that whenever I watched an Eagles game with friends, they would always lose, too. :/ So I couldn't jinx them again after that.

So by myself, the wife hid the bedroom and it was the longest two hours ever. Final quarter seemed like forever. Wife came running out to hug me after the siren went, she was watching on TV in the bedroom. I rung my mum, who can never watch the games live on TV (she used to go to games at the time, though). My dad answered (he's a dirty feral Dockers supporter, ****ing turncoat, too) and I said "put mum on the phone" and he's like "why?". Wanted to slap him. He woke her up and gave her the phone and I'm screaming "WE WON BY A POINT!!" She must have thought she was dreaming!

My wife predicted we'd win by 1 as well. After the 2005 finals results and the 2006 QF (I've posted before on this site about how I threw my phone at the wall in a fit of rage after that game).

Sidenote - what are people's memories of 1992 and 1994? Obviously a lot aren't gonna have that experience but there's still plenty of us who would. 1992 was a whole family event (my dad was an Eagles supporter at the time, too). My mum did watch on TV back in those days but would yell and scream at it and piss him off. Probably the main reason he turncoated and supported the purples - to spite her. Anyway, he told her to go outside, she was ruining the game. After a shakey start it was just a massive sense of this is happening. Mum told me she knew the Eagles hit the front at one point because she heard the entire neighbourhood just roar. Magic day. 1994 was a bit more of a "we got, we're too good" day and I had a mate over and we had a great time, especially the last quarter after missing a shitload of shots throughout the game. But that was back in the day where a 4 goal lead was pretty massive and the floodgates were gonna rip open.

Another sidenote - memories of the 2013 Grand Final? LOL. It's the only grand final where I decided to take advantage of going to the Royal Show. :p The kids were around 5 and 2. I honestly didn't think it would be as busy as it actually was. Turns out not too many people gave a shit about Fremantle being in the GF. Even plenty of Fremantle supporters actually there! I was like WTF?? There was a big screen there so was fun to watch the end of the game.

And final sidenote - I've actually only ever been to two finals and both were wins against Hawthorn. Maybe I should have brought this up in 2015 and one of you campaigners would have footed the bill to send me to the 2015 GF. Good luck omen - can't be a coincidence?

Love it Jorel. Good read, except for your Dad:)
If memory serves me, we were one kick off being out of 94 v Collingwood at the WACA. One of Woosha's regrets re taunting Mick Mcguane after final siren. True story, my brother ran into Woosha week after 93 GF outside Rumours, Pinnochios nightclubs, or some such, and asked JW what he thought about the next next season. Woosha replied, 'we are going to win it'. On the back of that, got a trip organised around Oz 1994 finals visiting mates in Fitzroy Crossing, Broome, Darwin. Fishing all way round and watching footy finals along the way. Best game was North v Cats prelim. Had 2 North mates & one hopeful Cats mate that ended in tears at the GF. Glory days.
Met some nice girls from Manjimup night before GF, Brisbane Bears dinner, who happened to be next to us at MCG.
Celebrated by going to whatever the big nightclub on King's Street was with golden pass from Mouse, (might be another name, but he was quite well known), to get straight in past the line. Thanks Mouse. Few of the boys in the nightclub, Jobby wearing his medallion, which was a bone of contention for a few but all good with me. Left later, standing near a very young Nathan Buckley on the street, who offered up a coupla of his nice hot chips, (was a nice bloke that night), after smacking a taxi that passed him by.
Sorry, too long post, great memories though.
Tony Evans...yeh:thumbsu:

Edit way off topic...stream of alcohol induced drivel

In a pool hall in Los Angeles (one of only a few places playing the game).
When the final siren went a Sydney supporter tried picking a fight with us, but we just ignored him.

Sidenote - what are people's memories of 1992 and 1994?

Great overall post. Missed 94 being overseas, 92 was in Adelaide watching on telly.

I remember being so pissed off at half-time with the commentary and the thought that Geelong was going to win, I couldn't watch (in retrospect, watching the replay you could see the momentum was with us but at the time the red mist has descended).

My girlfriend switched on Triple J with Roy and HG's Festival of the Boot and I listened to their commentary for the rest of the afternoon, which was not only more bearable but from that point on, we seemed to switch on and kick for home.

1994 was my 9th birthday and you better believe I got my first WCE guernsey to strut around in! My kids won't have to wait that long for theirs.. Whenever my mates have babies I buy them a WCE jacket, most of them are not into footy at all haha.

As for 2013, I was at Dwellingup pub. We were camping. It pissed down with rain afterwards and took me 2 hrs to light a fire as my mate insists on doing it the survivalist way!

I was in a tiny apartment in East Vic Park with some other mates. We were young blokes with jobs but not the sort of jobs that let you scramble the money for a last minute GF ticket at the time.

A group of about six of us - we're still close, but we live in different places/have kids/all that stuff now - watched every eagles game in that same apartment for about five years. When the siren blew, we just did a massive stacks-on for about 10 minutes. Possible dry-humping ensued.

I had been in a new job for about a week, in a very small office. My boss was a feral Pies supporter and had been winding me up all week. I left him an abusive voicemail that afternoon. Like, really abusive.

I then vaguely worried about being sacked on Monday, but really didn't care. Got to work Monday morning to find a photo of Embley when he was mid-carry on on the presentation dais with a hand-written caption of "Norm Smith medalist Andrew Embley carrying on like a ****ing campaigner."

I watched 92 in Broome with my sister and her husband sinking beers.

Remember thinking when Brownless was having a shot on a tight angle in the pocket during the second quarter we were toast if he kicked it. He missed, we got a goal not long after and the restful history

Honestly can't remember where I watched '94 other than I was in Broome at the time.

I was 16 watching it in the parents living room, Mum was watching it with me until 3qtr time she went to do some gardening as she couldn't handle it, when the siren went I went outside hugged and lifted my mum in joy.

I'm just watching it now :)

That Sam Butler guy looked pretty handy
There were two very exciting young players out there that day for us - Butler and Waters

Real talents who we never got to see reach their full potential due to persistent injuries even though they both managed to carve out solid AFL careers

2006 GF Day: Where were you?