2009 Team

Fascinating how people are putting players yet to play a senior game into the side without even seeing any practice match form.

I am all for Grima to make it, but lets not forget the guy is coming off a knee reco, not having played a senior AFL match ever!

I get what you mean but the club was hell bent on getting Grima on to the rookie list again and it was achieved. They then did another analysis of the team, and they elevated him thinking they have something here.

For me, Grima straight in. He played that position all last year and being named SANFL FB of the year and i have faith he will fill it up.

I wouldn't just automatically pencil Ziebell into a midfield role.

His endurance is one of his downfalls at the minute, and will need to work hard on it over the summer.

His upside being, he is the absolute definition of Utility.

Like Ricciuto, Hamill and Voss (and anyone else he's compared to) he can play almost any position on the ground, he played CHB for the Vic Country u/16's and kicked some bags as a marking forward for the Bushrangers this year.

He's got such elite footskills, and is very strong overhead (and at 6"2), he could very well push Aaron Edwards out of a HFF spot.

Is this the team for first round or best team of the season?, i'll pick for first game of premiership points, btw looking at some of those posted already, the football department don't have much to worry about from bigfooty.

Backs_________Urqhart Pratt Firrito
Half Back_______Lower Petrie Wells
Centres_______Hansen Ziebell Simpson
Half Forward__Jones MacIntosh Edwards
Full Forward_____Cambpell Hale Ross
Rucks_________Goldstein Rawlings Harvey
Inter_________Watt Thomas Jesse Smith Power

Is this the team for first round or best team of the season?, i'll pick for first game of premiership points, btw looking at some of those posted already, the football department don't have much to worry about from bigfooty.

Backs_________Urqhart Pratt Firrito
Half Back_______Lower Petrie Wells
Centres_______Hansen Ziebell Simpson
Half Forward__Jones MacIntosh Edwards
Full Forward_____Cambpell Hale Ross
Rucks_________Goldstein Rawlings Harvey
Inter_________Watt Thomas Jesse Smith Riggio
Ziebell will have to train like Rioli pre-season. Would like R Tarrant in there somewhere too :thumbsu:

Apparently Ziebells a cross between Buckley, Voss and Hird, will win multiple Brownlows, might as well get him started.

B: Pratt Gibson Firrito
HB: Urquhart Petrie McMahon
C: Wells Harris JW Smith
HF: Edwards Hansen Jones
FF: Campbell Hale Thomas
R: MacIntosh Rawlings Harvey

Int: Simpson, Ziebell, (most in form of Watt/Grima/Thompson), (most in form of Riggio/Ross/Lower)

I agree totally mate..But Grima will be lucky to get 10 games under his belt next year i would lov to see him play 5 + but playin down back on a key defender is a big task but i hope they do play him so we can set firrito free i would love seeing him dashin of the back flank:thumbsu:

And cheers honk kong roo:thumbsu:

Glad we could sort out that confusion. I don't think any of these teams will play through the whole 22. Unlike Geelong who have a very settled mature core we have a heap of up and comers who should play between 5-15 games each, especially the potential midfielder/flankers and the FB possie. Thompson, Watt, Gibson and Grima will probably all play there next year at different stages, possibly Spud and Tarrant too.

Int: Simpson, Ziebell, (most in form of Watt/Grima/Thompson), (most in form of Riggio/Ross/Lower)

That seems a realistic line-up to start. I still think we need another real ruck option but that's just me - overall this looks ok for balance of sizes and levels of experience. Would love to see competition for spots over the preseason, and Jesse ready to play out a game in the middle.

Not sure about the whole team set up but i hope that Jesse Smith, Lachlan Hanson and Jack Ziebell all feature a fair bit.

My team for Rnd 1:

B: Pratt Firrito Gibson
HB: Urquart Hansen Harding
C: Wells Harris Rawlings
HF: Jones Petrie Thomas
F: Campbell Hale McMahon
R: McIntosh Simpson Harvey
IC: JWS, Ross, Power, Watt

I'd start Jesse on the bench, as don't know how his ankle/hamstrings will hold up after pre-season training, prefer to ease him into the season gently. I can't see too many changes for the first game, but no doubt it will be a different side to the one at the end of the season.

Rd 1

B: Pratt Gibson Spud
HB: Anthony Hansen Harding
C: Urquart Harris JWS
HFF:Jones Petrie Thomas
F: Campbell Hale Lower
R: McIntosh Harvey Wells
IC: Rawlings, Goldstein, Power,Simmo

E:Ziebell,Josh Smith,Ross

I think its really important we play Ziebell round one, and for as many games as he is fit to play. Maybe off the half back line in the first few weeks?, anyway 20+ games for him next year would be a brilliant platform for 1010 and beyond

B: Pratt Petrie HARDing
HB: Smith Hansen McMahon
C: Wells Firitto Urquhart
HF: Jones Hale Harvey
F: Campbell Smith Edwards
R: McIntosh Harris Ross
IC: Thomas, Lower, Rawlings, Simpson

Em: Riggio, Ziebel, Gibson

I simply refuse to contenance a Round 1 side without the great man, Mr Ed Lower, in it.
Anything else would be an absolute outrage, if not an abomination against the game itself.

I've tried making a team. But it's too bloody hard. If any players are gonna go out of the 22 it be out of Sam Power, Brady Rawlings, Josh Gibson, Shannon Watt, Lindsay Thomas, Aaron Edwards. There good, but there not THAT good.

B: Pratt Grima Harding
HB: Firrito Petrie JW Smith
C: Urquhart Simpson Wells
HF: Lower Hansen Jones
FF: Campbell Hale McMahon
R: McIntosh Harris Harvey
I: Goldstein Ross Rawlings Gibson

Thereabouts: Anthony, Power, Swallow, Watt, Thomas, Edwards, Ziebell, Riggio.
I reckon we need to back Ross in, he could be a real find. Ed is non-negotiable. I could deal with Thomas being made to earn his stripes.
And Tonto should be given backup ruck duties, allowing Petrie and Hale to concentrate on one position.
Grima to be thrown a massive challenge, if he struggles on to plan B.
Anthony a real chance to play straight up.
All in all, I reckon there's going to be some blokes unlucky each week.
Haven't mentioned the likes of S Thompson, Watt, Adams, Greenwood, Tarrant, plenty of depth to play with. We just need that extra ingredient - the emergence of 2-3 genuine stars. Hale, Urquhart, JWS, Wells, McIntosh, Ross and Hansen the ones I'm looking for in 2009, and hopefully even Scotty McMahon.

B:pratt,Thompson,Gibson
HB:Uruquart, Hansen, Petrie
C:Firrito, Harris, Simmo
HF:Lower, Edwards, Jones
F:Campell, Jo. Smith,Thomas
R:McIntosh,Harvey,Wells

Int:Hale,Ross,Je.Smith, McMahon

Emg:Ziebell,Greenwood, Goldstein, Rawlings

Couldn't find room for swallow, harding, power and riggio. Swallow to play if harris is out of the side or is inconsistant. Hard choice between simmo and harding as to who plays on the wing. Don't know where power or riggio will fit into this side.

BACKS: Full back to be rotated between either Grima or Thompson.Whoever is in form. Watt to play at either North Ballarat and Werribee Two's. Either that or give him a spell at his local club. I'd rather Grima when we plays teams that have players like Barry Hall in their forward line, simply because he is well known for his one on one capabilities. Pratt takes small forward whilst Gibson acts as a quarter back with his booming left foot. Lower to play back pocket if pratt is struggling.

HALF BACKS: Urquart to provide all the 'dash' out of defence. Him and Jesse Smith to fight for this position along with them both having stints in the midfield. Hansen to play on the big centre half forwards, simply because he needs to learn and i don't like the idea of him being a forward. Petrie to play a "TOM HARLEY ROLE". He takes third tall and is always the man up. Fills the hole and takes a lot of contested marks. Will definately switch forward from time to time.

CENTRES: Spud and Harro to provide the contest in the centre. Spud to play forward of the ball and kick some goals. I like him up the ground a bit more because of his physical presence. Simpson to play outside. HANDBALL AT ALL COST! I don't want to see him have any inside 50's all next year. Leigh harding to fight for Simmo's spot.

HALF FORWARD: Lower to play negating roles in the forward line. make his player accountable and also chip in the some goals. Would like to see him take Rawlings spot. Both Edwards and Jones to play Mobile forwards. Lots of movement and keep the forward line on their feet. Will have no hesitation to bring in Tarrant, Greenwood or Anthony if these two don't perform on a regular basis. Both Edwards and Jones to have huge Pre-seasons to justify their position in the team.

FORWARDS: Campbell and Thomas to rotate through the midfield. Must continue to apply forward-line pressure. If thomas gets lazy his spot will be taken by Ziebell or Greenwood. Josh Smith to get the Full forward gig. I know Hale has done well at FF but i personally don't like him there. Would rather him rotate more through the ruck duties and the forward line. Josh Smith to step up after his good form in the Two's. Tarrant to also rotate through the forward line throughout the year. One of them to make that position 'their's' by the end of the year.

RUCKS: McIntosh back to full strength is a sight i can't wait to see. Will bring the Dean Cox factor into the roos line up. Harvey to keep on keeping on!!! Wells to step and average 25 possesions a game! 10 of them contested. Time for him to get confident and really take that next step. Wether he does or not is another thing. Ross, Lower, Campell, Riggio, Greenwood, Urquart, Jesse Smith and Ziebell all to get a bit of midfield time. Simmo, Rawlings and Power to play second string to all the younger fella's. Development in this section is the key to our success.

INT:Hale to rotate through ruck and the forward line. Will expect step up in the ruck contests. Ross to play both midfield and forward. He and McMahon provide X-FACTOR off the bench. Je. Smith to come good and take another step towards becoming and premier midfielder.

EMG: where to start? so much competition. Greenwood, Ziebell and Anthony to press for senior selection. Goldstein continues excellent development. Adams, Swallow and Riggio all to make major strides in 09. Will put alot of pressure on older guys. Harding, Power, Rawlings and Watt not too sure what to do with them. I hope harding gets a gig, but I don't want to sacrifice one of the younger guys.

There ya go. Hopefully that wasn't a painful read!!!:cool: Hopefully this will keep this thread going strong!!!!:thumbsu:

What I dont get is people saying that they dont mind Thomas being made to earn his stripes. I reckon he has earnt them, even though I love Ed, he has alot more credits. Thomas in round 1 is a definite.

Me to, Thomas kicked the same amount of goals as Matty.

Matty offers alot more in the way of defensive pressure, however Lindsay is always more likely to kick more bags, the older he gets, the more consistancy he is going to find.

They complement each other perfectly imo, Matty the quick crumber, Thomas the higher marking goal sneek.

He had 5 games of 3 or more goals in his second season. Thats an excellent return, and its only going to grow more and more with each game of experience.

Ed is a good player, but he doesn't have a thing on Thomas as a small forward imo.

What I dont get is people saying that they dont mind Thomas being made to earn his stripes. I reckon he has earnt them, even though I love Ed, he has alot more credits. Thomas in round 1 is a definite.

People would like Thomas more if he did what most 2nd year footballers do and play ok once a month in the VFL instead of playing every game, kicking a bunch of goals and winning AFL games for the footy club.

Agreed. He's as close to a lock for Rnd 1 as possible. Unless he came back in terrible shape.

In saying that, the club has the depth now that continued lack of form shouldn't be tolerated, im not accusing Lindsay of that, but just because he has the runs on the board for round 1, shouldn't ensure his spot for the entire season.

Agreed. He's as close to a lock for Rnd 1 as possible. Unless he came back in terrible shape.

In saying that, the club has the depth now that continued lack of form shouldn't be tolerated, im not accusing Lindsay of that, but just because he has the runs on the board for round 1, shouldn't ensure his spot for the entire season.

Agree with all that, but I don't get the shit he cops at all. Doesn't make much sense to me. Collingwood, Port, Hawthorn games. 4 goals in the last to kill Hawthorn and dominating Collingwood in the last to sink them is just about enough for life membership for mine, and the sneaky prick hasn't turned 21 yet.

I think people would be surprised by how much work other clubs put into stopping him having an impact. Between he and Campbell, they directly contributed to almost 100 goals off their own boot or through direct assists. If I had to put the house on one of them making it as a genuine mid, I would bet on Lindsay. He has flaws, but he is a massive talent.

2009 Team