2011 Rd. 1 Lineup

He may explode, I don't think he has anywhere near the fitness required for a high intensity, round one game at Subi.

No chance.

Believe me, I watched him at training a week ago and fitness is not an issue. Especially considering he would probably only get a run for 5 minutes a quarter.

Majak has been putting space on some of the midfielders when he has the footy in his hands.

His footy smarts and kicking are the things that he needs to work on.

He'll take Petrie. (Well, if he doesn't Petrie will run riot)

Thompson will take Wilson.

The Schofield/McKenzie - Hansen and Kennedy - Tarrant(?) duels are the ones to watch.

wilson v thompson will be a good duel.

think mitch Brown will take Hansen .

Kennedy will take some stopping whoever you play on him.

wilson v thompson will be a good duel.

Yep, two good hard at it players. I rate Wilson and he picked up 4 goals in our last meeting.

think mitch Brown will take Hansen .

Can Brown keep up with Hansen?

Kennedy will take some stopping whoever you play on him.

Agree. His output is crucial to our chances. The loss of Grima hurts us badly, as he shut down Kennedy last time. The second tall defender role is the one glaring hole in our list. I think Robbie Tarrant will get the job on Kennedy.

I think if Scott McMahon can repeat his effort on Le Cras from round 21 last season and we can keep Kennedy under 3 goals, then we will be hard to beat.

The latest report is that H-Mac will be ready for round 1, according to a radio interview I heard with Danial Pratt.

However, if he doesn't then it might cause issues.

The temptation would be to give Petrie a 5 minute run per quarter, but the whisper out of Arden Street is that he will stay permanently forward.

Majak Daw might even get a run.

I think it's more likely the North midfielders will zone off NicNat and Cox anyway. I think we will try to lock down the Eagles mids to negate any ruck advantage.

I think if Petrie is back-up for 5 minutes, then Goldstein will die trying to ruck for 25 minutes a quarter. Also, Petrie will be pretty tired and will need some time on the pine, which would mean a pretty big hole in the attack. Most forwards/rucks like Leigh Brown are third talls, not first/second talls (I think? happy to stand corrected on this point).

If Daw is back-up, then he will be dominated.

North has many advantages over West Coast (including being a better overall team), but this could prove to be a real issue.

The latest report is that H-Mac will be ready for round 1, according to a radio interview I heard with Danial Pratt.

However, if he doesn't then it might cause issues.

The temptation would be to give Petrie a 5 minute run per quarter, but the whisper out of Arden Street is that he will stay permanently forward.

Majak Daw might even get a run.

I think it's more likely the North midfielders will zone off NicNat and Cox anyway. I think we will try to lock down the Eagles mids to negate any ruck advantage.

I'd love HMac to play round 1 because no way would he have a decent fitness base, he won't be running for a few weeks yet and it would be a big ask for him to be close to full fit by round 1.

Majak is another option but again would be happy for him to play as he is just so raw.

Norths have 4 guys on LTI already and 3 of them are best 22.

Eagles should be desperate come round 1, they need to start the season off at home with a win, nothing less is acceptable.

He may explode, I don't think he has anywhere near the fitness required for a high intensity, round one game at Subi.

No chance.

If Daw is back-up, then he will be dominated.

This report from a Collingwood supporter:

Daw and Goldstein rucking against each other. Majak is so damn big. I noticed when he came out at the start of the session. His arms/shoulders are massive. He is winning a decent number of taps against Todd as well. He will be one to watch in the next few years (or so we hope)!

http://pissiaflblog.blogspot.com/2011/01/north-melbourne-training-january-19th.html

Majak could be more than competitive for 5-10 minutes a quarter. He could jump with Natanui and he would also keep pace with him.

I'm also starting to come around to the idea of Hansen going to CHB on Kennedy and Edwards/McKinley/Warren playing the smaller more mobile CHF role.

Isn't Daw only 196cm? He's not going to keep up with Naitanui.

This pic shows Majak jumping on Todd Goldsteins head.

IMG_2819_Large.JPG

Unfortunately, my earlier post doesn't take in to account that Majak is a rookie, and someone would have to go on the long term injury list for him to be promoted. McIntosh yesterday stated that he will be running in 4-5 weeks and expects to play in round 1.

And I lol'd at McKinley being mobile.

By all reports he's very fit and has improved his fitness. However, he's up against Warren, who is known for his gut running and Aaron Edwards who has been the real head turner at North training this year. Reports are that he has dropped 5 kgs since last season.

I think it is more NN's wingspan than height/leap that Majak would struggle against.

I have no doubt that NN is currently a much more instinctive ruckman.

Would be fantastic to see the two competing at a center bounce though!

It would be brilliant watching these 2 soar over each other.

In fact, I'd predict it would be the greatest exhibition of high leaping ruck work that the game has ever seen.

It may not happen this season, but it will happen.

I have no doubt that NN is currently a much more instinctive ruckman.

It would be brilliant watching these 2 soar over each other.

In fact, I'd predict it would be the greatest exhibition of high leaping ruck work that the game has ever seen.

It may not happen this season, but it will happen.

Yup would be worth the price of admission just to see I reckon, lets hope we get such a match up in the near future.

FB: Smith - Glass - Waters
HB: Hurn - Brown - Butler
C: Rosa - Priddis - Sheppard
HF: Strijk - Kennedy - Ebert
FF: Hams - Wilson - LeCras

R: Naitanui - Shuey - S.Selwood
I: Mackenzie - Masten - Cox
S: Swift

Ideally, I think this would be what I would want to see. Assuming Kerr is unavailable for Hamsy to come in.

Alot of classy ball users from that lot. Shuey, Butler, Hurn, Smith, Hams, Strijk and Le Cras. Nice makings of a team I think.

FB: Smith - Glass - Waters
HB: Hurn - Brown - Butler
C: Rosa - Priddis - Sheppard
HF: Strijk - Kennedy - Ebert
FF: Hams - Wilson - LeCras

R: Naitanui - Shuey - S.Selwood
I: Mackenzie - Masten - Cox
S: Swift

Ideally, I think this would be what I would want to see. Assuming Kerr is unavailable for Hamsy to come in.

Alot of classy ball users from that lot. Shuey, Butler, Hurn, Smith, Hams, Strijk and Le Cras. Nice makings of a team I think.

Just watching training today I would say Sheppard will be in a back pocket.

Also JoJo looks to be ahead of Smith currently, nothing I've heard just the way JoJo looked at training.

I would love to see HB line of JoJo, Brown, Hurn

Smith looked ahead of JoJo in all AFL games last year

Also, it feels a bit of a waste to have Sheppard in the bac pocket. He's got pace and decent run and carry. Won't get much chance to use that from the pocket(or at least be as damaging with it)

Just watching training today I would say Sheppard will be in a back pocket.

Also JoJo looks to be ahead of Smith currently, nothing I've heard just the way JoJo looked at training.

I would love to see HB line of JoJo, Brown, Hurn

By watching training how did you come to the conclusion that Shepherd would start in a back pocket?

Of all our young players this is one guy who should be an outside mid or half forward. Quite silky with his skills and would be a wasted player in a back pocket, especially after showing us so much last year on a wing and half back.

I am not saying you are wrong but for me it would be mind boggling to even have his name thrown up as a back pocket.

By watching training how did you come to the conclusion that Shepherd would start in a back pocket?

Of all our young players this is one guy who should be an outside mid or half forward. Quite silky with his skills and would be a wasted player in a back pocket, especially after showing us so much last year on a wing and half back.

I am not saying you are wrong but for me it would be mind boggling to even have his name thrown up as a back pocket.

Yeah agree. Need to get him dashing on the outside a la Dale Thomas.

Sheppard played a combination of HBF and wing last year, can't see any reason why they'd deviate from that formula other than possibly to give him more time in the middle.

Nowadays the distinction between BP and HBF isn't great, it's more about who you try and free up to run and carry or kick and who you give the more negating roles.

Young first round draft picks who show speed and good skills don't get wasted playing back pocket. They may finish there as they get older but unless he is underdone I couldn't understand this.

Then again Smith and Sheppard rotating out of a back pocket and wing might work.:rolleyes:

Young first round draft picks who show speed and good skills don't get wasted playing back pocket. They may finish there as they get older but unless he is underdone I couldn't understand this.

Then again Smith and Sheppard rotating out of a back pocket and wing might work.:rolleyes:

I would play Sheppard in the back pocket, and then switch him on the wing later is required.
The Eagles need someone like him to get the ball cleverly out of defence like Wirrpunda, or else we will have the 2010 10 handballs in a row then lose it scenarios.

If Swift finds his form and speed then the wings are taken, I think.
I'm probrably wrong though.

Because everytime the team seperated into positional groups he went to a defensive group that included Butler, Brown and JoJo.

With the way the game is played now days, elite disposal out of the backline is probably more important that elite disposal into the fwd line.

Having people with elite kicking like Hurn, Shep and Butler with the ball in hand in the backline will only improve our game. Add to that Stevenson who seems to have stepped up a notch and we should be looking good.

That said if JoJo and Smith come on strong then I can Shep being the first one moved up to the wing or even a HFF role.

Because everytime the team seperated into positional groups he went to a defensive group that included Butler, Brown and JoJo.

With the way the game is played now days, elite disposal out of the backline is probably more important that elite disposal into the fwd line.

Having people with elite kicking like Hurn, Shep and Butler with the ball in hand in the backline will only improve our game. Add to that Stevenson who seems to have stepped up a notch and we should be looking good.

That said if JoJo and Smith come on strong then I can Shep being the first one moved up to the wing or even a HFF role.

Sorry mate, not to be disrespectful at all to your view but if Shepherd is played back pocket by woosha then we seriously have some real issues at our club that need to be addressed by our management, the first being the coaching staff.

In late 2009 we started looking good, because we discovered Butler could play RHB and the movement from the right defence all of a sudden became smooth and logical like with Hurn on the left.

We also had Wirrpunda down there if things went bad.

THE PROBLEM WE HAD IN 2010 is we lost Wirrpanda.
We then lost Butler, We also lost Hurn through suspension,
then Glass went down.
We lost the players who could get the ball out of defence in a precise and logical way.

Worsfold cant do to much about this.

We then started having the 10 handballs in a row scenario on the right half back area, then someone would get caught.

Facts.
game 1 our movement up to 3 quater time from defence was good, we lost the game through lack of fitness. Both Hurn and Butler playing.

game 2 We should have beaten Port.
We fuc-ed up when Butler went down with the face injury.
ALL OF a sudden we looked in trouble and unsure in the backline.

No co-incidence when the McKenzie misskick came about with no medium sized player with confidence providing with a handpass outlet, on the right.

game 3 vs North Melbourne
No Hurn, no Bulter. We could not get the ball out of defence.

Remember the Embley, Spangher clangers in the RHB area in some of those early games.

Our best games vs Geelong. Both Butler and Hurn playing as well as Stevenson was playing. Nice kicks all round.

Worst performances
vs Dockers, - NO HURN, BUTLER
We were simply stuck in the backline fumbling all over the place.

If you aint got the players, you cant do too much.

Sheppard was picked up because of the impact Hurn had in 2009.

No disrespect taken :D

Just a thought, if Rosa keeps improving (and has had a very good P/S), Gaff gets games, Stevenson keeps improving or JON steps up then we have plenty of very good wingers.

Yes don't get me wrong, Shep has one of the best kicks in the team but right now I don't think he has the raw pace or tank to play wing for extended periods of time.

That definately doesn't mean I don't think he'll move up the ground permantly in the future.