2011 Stupid Season thread.

Linc playing 8-10 games at Garfield this year....

Out of all our games last year i only recall Garfield being the only team giving us stick after the game for "cheating" and "ruining" local footy for "flying in" players...

Pot...Kettle...Black...

What are everyones predictions for this year?

I think the top 6 will be very strong and even this year....

(In no order)

Dusties,NNS,CL,NNG,Nyora & Garf.

Fingers crossed for a dryer winter than last year!! :thumbsu:

I dont reckon flying in players is much of a problem, providing they are good footballers and can add something to the league.

There is no doubt the foresight of some clubs in the EDFL to look outside the square and outside their immediate areas has improved the league immensely.

Surkin, I've got a bridge for sale if you want it. Has flying pigs most of the year.

The extra $300 a week wouldn't want to be worth it to fly in a player. One of the problems i'd have with it is that they probably only fly them in for 6 or so games so they qualify for finals then bring them all in for the finals. Could be rorted quite easily. Finish 6th with 6 Darwinians flown in at various times during the year, then have them all here for finals time.

Haven't really heard enough to know if many teams will move up or down the ladder a great deal.

True Saint. It is open to rorting when you say it like that, however Im not sure too many clubs would be prepared to risk upsetting the playing group by working that tactic. Maybe there are but probably not.

I also havent heard much abut the clubs but then im not involved at Darnum anymore so hard to pick up any vibes as far as that goes. All I have heard is that they have between 8-10 at training at the moment. Might pick up when Mal starts to turn up, hopefully for them.

Is that fair dinkum about Withers back at Garfield?

Yes true Tumble.... (Told from Linc)

I am told a few Garfeild boys not approving of it either. Dont like the idea of a 37 y.o possibly keeping out a promising junior.

(only repeating what i was told)

I don't have a problem clubs flying guys in or looking outside the "box" in terms of recruiting. It can only improve the competition..

How are we all looking with recruits? Teams would almost be wrapped up with the season around the corner.Big names? Who? Lost many,picked up many?

We all eventually play eachother anyway so no secrets... haha

In the words of Bobby Davis, that's fair dinkum unbelievable OTB. It astounds me that Garfield would even entertain the idea of getting Withers back to the club again, let alone actually follow through with it. Anyway, each to their own.

OTB, the Goon have obviously lost Dore, Wade and Oldmeadow. But apparently they have recruited a key forward, a ruckman and an onballer, who's names escape me at the moment... In saying that Dore and Wade in particular aren't really replacable.

How are the Cobras shaping up?

Garfield are my early tip for the flag.Linc don't come down to see how the weather is. Not sure how many grannys he has played in but, it be more than 5 so on lincs form im with the stars .Also add Frye to the list of new player's at the stars.

In the words of Bobby Davis, that's fair dinkum unbelievable OTB. It astounds me that Garfield would even entertain the idea of getting Withers back to the club again, let alone actually follow through with it. Anyway, each to their own.

OTB, the Goon have obviously lost Dore, Wade and Oldmeadow. But apparently they have recruited a key forward, a ruckman and an onballer, who's names escape me at the moment... In saying that Dore and Wade in particular aren't really replacable.

How are the Cobras shaping up?

Yeh we are looking ok Tumble.

Will be alot more younger than last year with better depth.

Garf have added a few and you guys will have a few home growns step up and play good senior footy, so we are just trying to keep up with the game.

I see another signing for Wonthaggi in former NSW/ACT Rams ruckman Earl Shaw, is this another deal with a Desal sweetener? Rumour has it Phil Solohub is also playing out there?

The Salties have landed a few recruits when you consider Leigh McDonald, Dean Jenkins(Churchill) and Solohub from Yarragon. Anyone heard of any other recruits out there who work at the Desal???

there's about another ten who are working out there that have signed at Wonthaggi this year. Uncanny the percentage of good footballers that are getting jobs out there. the stories i've heard so far make me sick as a footy fan and f#$@en angry as a tax payer if true.

I see another signing for Wonthaggi in former NSW/ACT Rams ruckman Earl Shaw, is this another deal with a Desal sweetener? Rumour has it Phil Solohub is also playing out there?

The Salties have landed a few recruits when you consider Leigh McDonald, Dean Jenkins(Churchill) and Solohub from Yarragon. Anyone heard of any other recruits out there who work at the Desal???

I'm surprised Solohub is playing footy this year. From what I heard he was taking up long distance swimming.

I'm surprised at how much talk about next season has already started, but looks like the EDFL will be much stronger if any of the following recruits are true. Daniel Barrand (Drouin) to Ellinbank, Troy Kneebone (Drouin) to Dusties, Corey Lenders (Pakenham) to Garfield. Has anyone else heard of anything happening already?

Barrand has spoken to a few clubs i believe. Kneebone will go somewhere so Dusties rumour probably true but very early days. Correct about Lenders.

Now footys over for 2011, clubs will have a crack so hopefully more talk will come thru soon

Barrand has spoken to a few clubs i believe. Kneebone will go somewhere so Dusties rumour probably true but very early days. Correct about Lenders.

Now footys over for 2011, clubs will have a crack so hopefully more talk will come thru soon
clubs better get in quick if they want any of drouin's players,big movements if all the rumours are true.

From what I heard on the weekend, Brad Walker has stood down as assistant coach at Bunyip and Nath Lieshout has signed on. Could be just what Bunyip requires to become a real contender for 2012!

I heard that Chris Adams may have found a new club for next year, goon would be pissed off if he doe's go.Have Koo Wee Rup got a coach yet?did hear they wanted Goldsack to coach 40k and still didn't take it.Are they the only club with out a coach?

I have no idea whether or not Kooweerup have a coach yet but I can assure you that Chris Adams isn't playing anywhere other than NNG.

2011 Stupid Season thread.