A Section 2011

Panthers roll Xavs. Led all day winning by 3 goals.

Panthers back on track....awesome today and proverd one thing...you have to play 4 good quarters to win the game.

Just had to let you know Rah Rah as early as possible........how can you not rate the Panthers mate???
This is going to be a classic competetion that you just have to make the 4 then anything can happen come September on neutral ground.

Panthers back on track....awesome today and proverd one thing...you have to play 4 good quarters to win the game.

Just had to let you know Rah Rah as early as possible........how can you not rate the Panthers mate???
This is going to be a classic competetion that you just have to make the 4 then anything can happen come September on neutral ground.
well, congrats to the panthers. thought the slide had begun, but a win at toorak park is a damn good win. all credit to the club.

Blech!! My tipping has gone to doggie doos but who cares...... Panthers one, Xavs zip! :D

Just about makes up for all those years - Junior School 1st XVIII to Senior School 1st XVIII - being thumped by Xavs year in year out. I was tempted more than once in the old days to sneak into their rooms before the game and sabotage the prayer session but chickened out at the death each time. Must have been the fear of God or something.......!! :eek:

Couldn't get there yesterday (*sniff*) but was delighted with a certain forum member's quarter by quarter scores..... thanks, you know who you are! ;)

Years ago we would all head off to Falls, Buller, etc. next wekend but I think this time it might be a few tawnys in front of the fire with some replays of the 2007 and 2009 Cats.

Tried to get to Brahton for a skinny decaf today, Rah Rah but only made it as far as the Monash Hotel in Clayton. Poor form, not good enough and all that stuff, I know.........

Enjoy the QB break, all..... take care. :)

SBMT vs Coll - tough one, will go SBMT at home
OS vs UBL - blues on a roll
OT vs OM - again evenly matched, OMs in a coin toss
OX vs OCar - zomg
OH vs DLS - can De La fail here? Hope not

See y'all at the Wick tomorrow

Well as l said last Sunday anyone who picks five this week deserves a prize. Only ones l can see (remembering l am still in celebration mode and may have missed some through my one eye open) is Clarke & Dawes and Marc Shmurf 3 who get the chocolates or should l say latte with Rah Rah at his favorite coffee dispensery in Brahton. You both know where to get in contact with Rah Rah to claim your prize who by the way admitted.....yes admitted the Panthers win against OX was a good one. Yes yes l am in shock too. Still the great man only managed 3 in the tipping and falls further behind the field who have known Old Carey is a team to take note of. No slide here Rah Rah, we are in it for the long haul my friend.
Watching my other team on the telly here now and l have to say the footy l watch every Saturday afternoon excites me than the telly stuff. The standard is fantastic in A Premier, Collegians the best so far but overall the games have been of an extremly high standard.
Well lads don't go silent just cause there is a bvye this week....someone get stuck into someone else and make it entertaining for the rest of us!!!! Happy Birthday Liz.

Went to watch De la yesterday, choked on my wick burger for the second week in a row.

The week off could not come at a better time for the boys from Dairy Bell, OH to their credit played a really good brand of footy but could not quite get the choccies.

Have we had a more even start to a season in the past 20 years?? Happy to hear some thoughts on this.

Thanks for the props C11...alas, I missed the panthers over the claret & stout (a good win for a club coming up). Another great week of footy. From all reports a gallant OH at HQ yesterday. Almost at the halfway point...

- I'm still baffled by OM's and the inability to influence Premier footy. They're a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma.
- The Purple-people-eaters have dropped a couple after an impressive start to the season. Are the losses a sign of things to come or a minor blip? Maybe the break has come at a good time for them.
- The side that would be disappointed by the the break would have to be Uni. After meeting the top sides early and being taught a footballing lesson they have responded with 4 win a row. It it goes to show that it really is hard to kill a Cockroach!
- Trinity have overperformed in my book. They're getting the most out of the list and caused a couple of upsets.
- The Panthers came up to the comp with big wraps and I think few would begrudge their performances to date - particularly their win on the weekend.
- Xav's are clearly underperforming and still sit in the four. There must be a sense of relief at Toorak Park as we near the halfway mark. The worry for the other teams is that Xav's will be there abouts in September and aren't ones to (violet)crumble in the heat of finals.
- De La have been ravaged by injury and find themselves mid-table. Their ability to foster from within means you can't give them an inch each week and I expect they'll be in the four come September.
- I'm not sure what to say of the Camberwellian's. It's a tired old story that sees them in no mans land again. They're not in contention for the silverware but always doing enough to escape the fall in September.
- OH won't be spilling any blood in September and they have a serious task ahead of themselves if they're to escape the drop zone.
- Last by comment but first in performance are the Boys from Brindisi Street. They play the strangely oriented ground well and are a strong Club. For me, they're the club that I expected to be mid-table this year and have clearly exceeded expectations. Will be interesting to see if they can go on with it.

Should have probably written this in the form of a Clarke & Dawe interview but with the likes of Rah Rah, it would be foolish to try and match the wit!

CARLTON2011 – more than happy to!!!

I have been reading the A section thread (aka Premier A) for a number of years and I don’t think I can remember a team that has a more severe case of little man syndrome than OC. Well done you made it to A section after years and years of kicking the dew in the lower sections but all of these “No slide here Rah Rah, we are in it for the long haul my friend” comments just make you sound like spoilt little brats. We are not even ½ way through the year and you are 5 and 3 which is a good start, well done and yes it looks like you will avoid the drop in 2011 but FFS relax with the pumping of your own tyres.

Old Essendon, Whitefriars, St Kevin’s, St Bernard’s, MHSOB, Marcellin, Old Ivanhoe, Uni Blacks, Old Brighton have all spent seasons in A section over the past 5-10 years, some of them even did very well when they fist came up but remaining in A section for more than 5 years like OX, OS, UB, DLS & Coll have done is no easy task. My advice is just try and keep a little bit of a lid on things down there at Bulleen and let your footy do the talking. If you are still floating around in A section in 2-3 years everyone will show you the respect it appears you are craving.

I have been reading the A section thread (aka Premier A) for a number of years and I don’t think I can remember a team that has a more severe case of little man syndrome than OC. Well done you made it to A section after years and years of kicking the dew in the lower sections but all of these “No slide here Rah Rah, we are in it for the long haul my friend” comments just make you sound like spoilt little brats. We are not even ½ way through the year and you are 5 and 3 which is a good start, well done and yes it looks like you will avoid the drop in 2011 but FFS relax with the pumping of your own tyres.

Old Essendon, Whitefriars, St Kevin’s, St Bernard’s, MHSOB, Marcellin, Old Ivanhoe, Uni Blacks, Old Brighton have all spent seasons in A section over the past 5-10 years, some of them even did very well when they fist came up but remaining in A section for more than 5 years like OX, OS, UB, DLS & Coll have done is no easy task. My advice is just try and keep a little bit of a lid on things down there at Bulleen and let your footy do the talking. If you are still floating around in A section in 2-3 years everyone will show you the respect it appears you are craving.

The writings of 1 or 2 anonomous supporters leads you to wriiting this??99% of Old Carey wouldnt even know what Bigfooty is? I think it may be you who needs to relax.

Just thought I would pop into the Premier board to say 'hi', you will be seeing a lot of me and my beloved Caulfield Grammarians next year, mark my words.....Hoo Roo.

Hubris is a dangerous attribute for a footy club to have, especially with the heritage your club has and especially given it's round 8.

I would hate to see the 'Fields choke three years in a row.

Octopus you Muppet, he asked for someone to get stuck into somone else so I did

PLUS I can't see OC being in A Section any longer than 2 years max.

anyway moving along, I have very little interest in OC and any other grade other than Premier right now...

Thinks are starting to turn somewhat, particulalry at the bottom end of the table.

People predicted Old Scotch may be a chance to go down this year, early days it looked unlikely but with the improvement of OM's and I reckon OT may win a fee more games the old side from Camberwell may want to find some form ot it could well find itself in a fight for survival

anyway moving along, I have very little interest in OC and any other grade other than Premier right now...

Thinks are starting to turn somewhat, particulalry at the bottom end of the table.

People predicted Old Scotch may be a chance to go down this year, early days it looked unlikely but with the improvement of OM's and I reckon OT may win a fee more games the old side from Camberwell may want to find some form ot it could well find itself in a fight for survival

Fair observation that - are small stress fractures starting to appear again underneath the tartan? Hmm, I wonder? Can't see them improving as the season goes on whereas I agree with Alinta about OT's - very hard to beat at Marles and OM's appear to be rising from their pre season hangover with apparently more fit (and new) bodies to hit Aughtie Drive in the next few weeks.

MMM I reckon the OS lads will be alright, they did topple OC 2 weeks ago and this week they got beaten by a UB side thats on a role!

I think the following 4 sides will finish top 4 (in no order) SBMT, Coll, OX and UB with DLS just missing out

MMM I reckon the OS lads will be alright, they did topple OC 2 weeks ago and this week they got beaten by a UB side thats on a role!

I think the following 4 sides will finish top 4 (in no order) SBMT, Coll, OX and UB with DLS just missing out

I think DLS are done . Despite their great win against Coll they have otherwise been uninspiring. I agree with your others though with your loved OC the other challengers. OT and OM to go down with OT surviving in the final round when ramsden announces his fifth consecutive retirement. A similar announcement from Seccull fails at OH.

Mate. l am just a happy supporter, l am not the captain or the coach or coming from within the Club.....just a very happy supporter. Some people take things way too seriously........ Thats why this forum is here, a bit of fun for those that want to contribute. Take a chill pill mate.

I’m as chill as they come mate, you asked for someone to have a crack at someone else for entertainment so I did….. I just selected you as my preferred target ha-ha!

Mission accomplished though huh!

the current odds on www.sportsbet.com.au thoughts? anyone willing to have a punt?
Old Xavs 3.30
St Bedes/Mentone Tigers 3.50
Collegians 3.50
De La Salle 4.00
Old Carey 10.00
Uni Blues 31.00
Old Scotch 67.00
Old Trinity 67.00
Old Melburnians 67.00
Old Haileybury 2,501.00

a1108.gif