2012 SEQAFL Division 2 2012

BOC - yeah was a great game the to watch, good to see the boys had a bit more support this week crowd was very vocal, good to see burgess kick 9 aswell (even with 1 arm held behind his back all day) interesting to see a couple of AFLQ officals (umpire related i would like to think) sit and watch the game maybe morro can elaberate??

As for the 2s i didnt get there ealry enough to catch the game from the word around the club was that a late 50 cost us the game. bit harsh i know but ii guess a game that close both teams deserve to win.

Badger since your doing the research can you name those 7 players maybe i can help explain why, i standby what i have said and that is alex hills afc would never drop players back to win flags, defeats the whole purpose of have a seniors and reserves team, and do the maths if the seniors won last week v vikings they still would have made finals so i think its a bit rich to saying we dropped blokes back 5 weeks ago, might aswell say we are taking for a draft pick.

Stanley – I don’t want to upset badger by being involved with the forum by the looks of his last post about me I would hate to ruin his week days ….. but I will anyway. Yes there were people observing the umpires at Alex on Saturday. I believe the umps at Coorparoo were also observed. Getting so close to finals umpires need to be in form too if they are going to be picked so they need to be watched and given feedback about performance. Would love to hear your opinion of them

Finally Badger hope your OK but as usual you should concentrate on playing footy and not worry about umpires…… even bad ones like me J

Stanley - detailed response there - and look you dont have to justify anything to anyone - was just an observation that was made by a couple of blokes with obviously to much time on our hands!!

Badger - which club are u associated with?

RUL - dont tell me you've gone into your shell pre finals!!!

Moro - quick question how long does an umpire have to actually make a decision and then realise they have made the wrong decision and call the play back and ball it up? reason i ask is a free kick was awarded against us on the weekend for our runner being in the way of the play. Only problem we have with this decision is that the bloke clearly had "ASPLEY HORNETS RUNNER" written in bold capital black letters on the back of his shirt. The non controlling umpire said the umpire couldnt call it back - surely there is a common sense approach in these instances?

Stanley - detailed response there - and look you dont have to justify anything to anyone - was just an observation that was made by a couple of blokes with obviously to much time on our hands!!

Moro - quick question how long does an umpire have to actually make a decision and then realise they have made the wrong decision and call the play back and ball it up? reason i ask is a free kick was awarded against us on the weekend for our runner being in the way of the play. Only problem we have with this decision is that the bloke clearly had "ASPLEY HORNETS RUNNER" written in bold capital black letters on the back of his shirt. The non controlling umpire said the umpire couldnt call it back - surely there is a common sense approach in these instances?

BOC – You’re one of the only blokes who don’t mind me being involved on here. Thanks for that

Now your question about Saturday. Hmm If I was umpiring I would have called time and had a chat with the ump that paid the free and let him know about the possible incorrect decision. If Aspley were smart and played on immediately it is difficult to take it back. It becomes an umpire mistake or “unwarranted” free kick if he/she were being observed. Just like any wrong decision we have a split second to pay it and then the game moves on. Unfortunately it sounds like you got a shocker of a decision and I hate to say it but it falls into the “bad luck” category. I know this type of decision would have you pissed off and I understand why. You would know the problem with common sense is that it’s not that common (especially when I umpire … ask badger)

I assume this happened in the 2’s …. Was it the tall grey haired dude or the other guy??

Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful and good luck in finals

Hehe, sorry BOC. Bronchitis has left me with little energy to serve the interwebs

Hello.

BOC - I was involved with Caloundra.

Moro - I would prefer if you weren't on this forum, but that is obviously up to you. Although I find your umpiring repugnant, I'm sure you are a reasonable bloke.

Steam Engine - You don't have to explain anything. I would probably do the same thing if I was in the same position.

Badger- are still invovled with the panthers? surly AFLQ has already carved your name on the div 4 north premiership cup?

Morro, for the record i dont mind you being on here, gives everyone a different view in my opinon and gives plays/spectators/coaching staff in this forum a chance to ask questions about decsions which you cant do on the weekend. as for the 2 blokes who umpired the game, there was 1 bloke i would say the older of the 2 who didnt seem to do that bad, other bloke has really really short dark hair and we seem to have had him a number of times across the last 2 seasons, not sure of his name? but i know a lot of players seem to throw there heads back when he rocks up to the ground, now i know the word umpire and the word cheat should never be used in the same sentence, but he is the closed thing to one. Very harsh but i cant find any other way of explaining it. even hearing coaching staff from my own club abusing him from the box, i could see why. once again i would like to remind everyone that this isnt a one of occurence either.

question morro, is there any lengths a club can to request not to have certain umpires?
and does that old fella with the last name grigg still umpire?

RUL- Congrates on the 2nd minor premiership, you should remember it doesnt mean alot unless you win a flag but ;)

BOC - cant wait to travel down the M1 on saturday morning should be a cracker game in both grades, 2's fighting for 3rd spot and i would assume your seniors would have been given some licence to have some fun now that its a dead rubber?

Owch Steamer! Thanks for reminding of the heartbreak :'(

Seriously though, the boys know the minor premiership counts for nothing if we don't convert it in finals, and there are good and capable teams up and about heading into August. Aspley is definately a dark horse I feel, but I think it will be UQ VS Kings again.

Not sure if I'm going to recover in time to catch Saturday's game against King Me's boys. Hope I can as I'm sure it will be a cracker

Badger- are still invovled with the panthers? surly AFLQ has already carved your name on the div 4 north premiership cup?

Morro, for the record i dont mind you being on here, gives everyone a different view in my opinon and gives plays/spectators/coaching staff in this forum a chance to ask questions about decsions which you cant do on the weekend. as for the 2 blokes who umpired the game, there was 1 bloke i would say the older of the 2 who didnt seem to do that bad, other bloke has really really short dark hair and we seem to have had him a number of times across the last 2 seasons, not sure of his name? but i know a lot of players seem to throw there heads back when he rocks up to the ground, now i know the word umpire and the word cheat should never be used in the same sentence, but he is the closed thing to one. Very harsh but i cant find any other way of explaining it. even hearing coaching staff from my own club abusing him from the box, i could see why. once again i would like to remind everyone that this isnt a one of occurence either.

question morro, is there any lengths a club can to request not to have certain umpires?
and does that old fella with the last name grigg still umpire?

RUL- Congrates on the 2nd minor premiership, you should remember it doesnt mean alot unless you win a flag but ;)

BOC - cant wait to travel down the M1 on saturday morning should be a cracker game in both grades, 2's fighting for 3rd spot and i would assume your seniors would have been given some licence to have some fun now that its a dead rubber?

Stanley: thanks for the kind words mate. Yes I’m an umpire and yes that means I don’t make any friends on the field but I do love my local footy. I have been involved in senior community footy for 24 years and just enjoy being involved running around with mates (other maggots of course) and having a beer and dart after the game which is why I got involved on here this year. I know the umpires well who umpired the seniors on the week end and can say they are both decent blokes and even though your opinion of one of them is not the best I can say he is absolutely not a cheat but hey as we’ve said every one has their own opinions. Umpire Griggs …… one of the best umps this comp has seen and a bloody good bloke too unfortunately “retired” this year due to family commitments amongst other reasons I won’t go into here. I think he did 7 Senior grand finals in a row and is missed by us the umps and I’m sure by some players clubs etc.

Can you request to not have umpires? ….. well no I haven’t heard of anyone being able to do that, which is good because if you could Moro would never get a gameJ I would be banned from most clubs!!!! as you would see from Badgers response.

And finally thanks for being so honest Badger. I’ve upset people in my time as an umpire you obviously being one of them. Your opinion of me is your opinion, you’re entitled to that and I know I will never change that. I know it doesn’t mean much but I would love for everyone to “love” me as an umpire but I’m a realist and know this isn’t ever going to happen. No matter what anyone thinks of me I just try my best to have fun and do the best job I can.

Moro - understand things are going to happen in games and dont expect people to be perfect - was just curious as to whether there was a time period you could call it back... your right though the aspley boys played on as quick as they could!!

RUL - good to hear your alive! would be doing everything i could to get to the kings this week as will be a cracker... couldnt orchestrate an all in in the two's for us could you??? hahaha

Badger - Can you please ask your club to seek elevation again next year - we greatly missed out sunny coast weekend this year!!

Stanley - should both be good games - we have to find a way to stop Burgess! Don't know how much of a license has been given but the boys are definately keen to finish the year on a good note and 6th would be a good progression for them 2nd year up. As for the 2's it should be a cracker - Alex are the only team we havent beaten this year and are keen to continue the good form we showed last week and im sure there are blokes on both teams looking to consolidate there spots for next week.

Haha funny you should say that BOC. There is a bit of past animosity between the Kings and Red Lions in reserve grade, not sure of the full story as it was well before I became involved full time with the squad. I wouldn't rule it out, especially with one of our Premiership players from last year having crossed over to the Kings. But that said, a disciplined mind will count on the day.

Just wanted the weigh in on the umpires thing with my personal opinion (Not affilianted with UQAFC or anything) but I cannot say a bad thing abut any umpire so far in the league so far, but have seen my share of poor behaviour towards the umpires by players and club officials this year alone which I find disappointing, only because that is something I could do. I don't think I could ever abuse or threaten or try intimidate blokes that exist so everyone can actually play the game of footy.

There is one guy (won't name his name here) who is a dead set legend. Yes, he misses a few head high tackles, yes he pulls out the red card quickly, but after the game is always up for a chat and laugh and is generally always in a good mood.

RUL - we have begun to build a decent rivalry with the UQ 2's as well which I think is born from healthy competition - you guys have been the benchmark for a number of years - yes some of us think your boys are arrogant and no doubt your blokes think we are a bunch of uneducated knobs so it works well!!

are there any other really strong rivalries in the comp?

RUL - we have begun to build a decent rivalry with the UQ 2's as well which I think is born from healthy competition - you guys have been the benchmark for a number of years - yes some of us think your boys are arrogant and no doubt your blokes think we are a bunch of uneducated knobs so it works well!!

are there any other really strong rivalries in the comp?

I don't like buying into the whole class warfare card game to be honest. It all comes down to negative steroytyping, which I understand, largely makes up football banter these days (E.g. Collingwood supporters don't have teeth, Carlton supporters all live in jail, etc.) I judge footy clubs, their players and their officials on how they conduct themselves and how they play, not by the team or club their associated with.

Our traditional rivalry is with Yeronga. Its the cross river derby. From day 1 I was involved with the Red Lions I was taught one thing. WE HATE YERONGA. That said, from personal experience I haven't seen any negative personal vendetta's on or off the field, I personally think Yeronga is a very well run and a very professional club.

Outside the comp, the most intense one I've seen is Beenleigh and Logan. That is just scary right there

Well thats just the world we live in - if you dont know enough to make an informed opinion on someone then we default back to the uninformed sterotype mentality!

Robina have had a few in my time - initially Morooka and Ipswich and then Beenleigh & Kedron...

but yeah the beenleigh v logan royal rumble of 2011 at the presentation dinner probably takes the cake!

Well thats just the world we live in - if you dont know enough to make an informed opinion on someone then we default back to the uninformed sterotype mentality!

Robina have had a few in my time - initially Morooka and Ipswich and then Beenleigh & Kedron...

but yeah the beenleigh v logan royal rumble of 2011 at the presentation dinner probably takes the cake!

Well said BOC. Sadly I think the latter is the reason why trash is thrown around quite easily, especially here on BF.

When I was in the 4ths, I think we psyched ourselves up the most when playing Moorooka, because that was the closest thing those boys get to a local derby. Very proud of my old 4ths boys and what they have done this season

Who knows BOC, if Nambour gets to jump up a division in the near future, you mightn't need the Panthers back in the Division for a Sunny coast trip :D

Just wanted the weigh in on the umpires thing with my personal opinion (Not affilianted with UQAFC or anything) but I cannot say a bad thing abut any umpire so far in the league so far, but have seen my share of poor behaviour towards the umpires by players and club officials this year alone which I find disappointing, only because that is something I could do. I don't think I could ever abuse or threaten or try intimidate blokes that exist so everyone can actually play the game of footy.

There is one guy (won't name his name here) who is a dead set legend. Yes, he misses a few head high tackles, yes he pulls out the red card quickly, but after the game is always up for a chat and laugh and is generally always in a good mood.

Well said and good to hear RUL. Thankfully by the sounds of it there is 1 decent bloke in the umpiring ranks:)

Beenleigh/Logan - they kept it up last week end by the sounds of it. Would love to see an elim final between these 2

Well said and good to hear RUL. Thankfully by the sounds of it there is 1 decent bloke in the umpiring ranks:)

Haven't met one I haven't gotten along with so far. A lot of the time I get to have a good chat with a few of them before and after their games. They all love the footy and want to be part of it, and lets face it, without them, there wouldn't be any footy to be played.

Chances are you've probarbly bumped into me and some stage Moro. Make sure you say hello :p

Haven't met one I haven't gotten along with so far. A lot of the time I get to have a good chat with a few of them before and after their games. They all love the footy and want to be part of it, and lets face it, without them, there wouldn't be any footy to be played.

Chances are you've probarbly bumped into me and some stage Moro. Make sure you say hello :p
Yes RUL i know i have and i will if i see you during the rest of the season. but enough umpire cheering back to bagging us maggots please :)

Stanley: thanks for the kind words mate. Yes I’m an umpire and yes that means I don’t make any friends on the field but I do love my local footy. I have been involved in senior community footy for 24 years and just enjoy being involved running around with mates (other maggots of course) and having a beer and dart after the game which is why I got involved on here this year. I know the umpires well who umpired the seniors on the week end and can say they are both decent blokes and even though your opinion of one of them is not the best I can say he is absolutely not a cheat but hey as we’ve said every one has their own opinions. Umpire Griggs …… one of the best umps this comp has seen and a bloody good bloke too unfortunately “retired” this year due to family commitments amongst other reasons I won’t go into here. I think he did 7 Senior grand finals in a row and is missed by us the umps and I’m sure by some players clubs etc.

Can you request to not have umpires? ….. well no I haven’t heard of anyone being able to do that, which is good because if you could Moro would never get a gameJ I would be banned from most clubs!!!! as you would see from Badgers response.

And finally thanks for being so honest Badger. I’ve upset people in my time as an umpire you obviously being one of them. Your opinion of me is your opinion, you’re entitled to that and I know I will never change that. I know it doesn’t mean much but I would love for everyone to “love” me as an umpire but I’m a realist and know this isn’t ever going to happen. No matter what anyone thinks of me I just try my best to have fun and do the best job I can.

Cheerss for the reply morro i am sure 95% of umpires are great blokes of the field. just like 95% of players are aswell doesnt mean you want to smash them when the game is being played. hahhaha

As for Griggs , sad to see him not out there anymore , was a quality umpire must have been around a while aswell, best thing about was his ability to put he whistle in back pocket and let the game go.

Morro - i did see you give a couple of cards this season at the alex games, to both sides has aflq enforced you boys to crack down this year?

Boc- yeah burgess is on fire pitty he wont be playing finals but to kick 60 goals in a team that has only won 5 games is a decent effort no matter how you look at it. i take you play seconds by the sounds of it? i might try get down early see if i can pick you out hahah ;) lol

in relation to rivalry Alex hills and Wynumm have a big one, stemming way back including a narrow lost in the 09 GF, in the last couple of years i can remember watching the boys knock off wynumm twice with the last kick of the game. always a game we look forward to. on the other end we have a been on a few hidings this year.

Moro - understand things are going to happen in games and dont expect people to be perfect - was just curious as to whether there was a time period you could call it back... your right though the aspley boys played on as quick as they could!!

RUL - good to hear your alive! would be doing everything i could to get to the kings this week as will be a cracker... couldnt orchestrate an all in in the two's for us could you??? hahaha

Badger - Can you please ask your club to seek elevation again next year - we greatly missed out sunny coast weekend this year!!

Stanley - should both be good games - we have to find a way to stop Burgess! Don't know how much of a license has been given but the boys are definately keen to finish the year on a good note and 6th would be a good progression for them 2nd year up. As for the 2's it should be a cracker - Alex are the only team we havent beaten this year and are keen to continue the good form we showed last week and im sure there are blokes on both teams looking to consolidate there spots for next week.

It might be to Palmwoods next year instead BOC...

yes Im sure the local sunny coast economy would be hoping for an elevation - surely we werent the only team to stay the weekend and enjoy a quiet drink at the wharf!

yeah stanley i'll be out there in the early game - to think Muzz and Burgo have kicked 110 between them for 10 wins is a bloody good effort.

Good luck to all teams in this final round.

Seniors

Aspley will be too strong against Yeronga
Red Lions to win in a nail biter against a very tough Kings team
Robina to beat Alex Hills because of the Venue
Bears have been outstanding this season and I think will prevail against the Vikings

Reserves

Red Lions in a tough battle against the rivals
Just to cause some controversy, I'm tipping Alex Hills to beat Robina. Only because I don't like the Roos ;)
Aspley over the Devils
Bears ofer the Vikings

Good luck to all teams in this final round.

Seniors

Aspley will be too strong against Yeronga
Red Lions to win in a nail biter against a very tough Kings team
Robina to beat Alex Hills because of the Venue
Bears have been outstanding this season and I think will prevail against the Vikings

Reserves

Red Lions in a tough battle against the rivals
Just to cause some controversy, I'm tipping Alex Hills to beat Robina. Only because I don't like the Roos ;)
Aspley over the Devils
Bears ofer the Vikings

aspley to win well against yeronga to take 3rd.
uni and kings to keep a few cards close to their chest for upcoming finals battles... Uni just.
Robina hopefully to win and finish the year on a positive
Bears to endure a discipline test if they get up early against the cheap shotting vikings.

Uni to continue their arrogance with a win against kings :) - just dont let Hahn kick a bag!!
Im confident we will get the job done against Alex
Aspley and Kenmore to win easily.

aspley to win well against yeronga to take 3rd.
uni and kings to keep a few cards close to their chest for upcoming finals battles... Uni just.
Robina hopefully to win and finish the year on a positive
Bears to endure a discipline test if they get up early against the cheap shotting vikings.

Uni to continue their arrogance with a win against kings :) - just dont let Hahn kick a bag!!
Im confident we will get the job done against Alex
Aspley and Kenmore to win easily.

What happened BOC? nearly had the 2nds game in the bag? only for alex to close it out with a couple of late goals.

Well done to robina seniors, was a good game to watch very attacking and free flowing.
Shame about the red and yellow cards awarded. thought i was watching touch footy for a second there lol.

yeah burgo and Murray have done well. cant really speak for murray, but i know burgo doesnt have much support up there in forward 50! and he attracts a crowd often competing against 3 backmen.

Well seasons over and MAD MONDAY tomorrow for the senior boys i would have thought.

Now to watch the reserves hopefuly they will do the club proud. after watching the reserve game on the weekend (BADGER will love this) i can honestly admit i think the coaching staff had dropped 3-4 players back for finals, the first time i couldnt justify certain players playing in the seconds or firsts. never the less it is done around the country, but goes against everything i believe in.

I will jump in early and say that i still reckon the kings will take the flag, RUL you wont like this but the kings on song have the abilty to beat uni the conditions might play apart (game to played at zilmere?) normally very windy although the big ground may suit uni running players!

Havent watched alot of 2s footy but uni look to be clear favourites only losing once all year, which is a compliment to the strength of their squad of 50 odd players across the season, could either play Robina , Kings or Alex in the GF.