• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

good win by you boys swoopa only 1 off the surfers boys played he went really well. 1 pulled out thurs nite and thev other saturday morning but thats life. was a really hard fought contest got done by 4goals in the end was close all game blew our chances in the 2nd. but well done too logan :thumbsu:
not all doom and gloom alot of positives.

Yeah the boys played really well, with 3 or 4 regulars out this week. We've had a bad run in that regards but the Ressies have topped the seniors up well. Hopefully we back it up against Logan next week. Hopefully get the "Torphy Trophy" back this year.

Gonna be an interesting second half of the year I'd say.

I guess it's a fine line between creating a competitive internal culture and upsetting your regulars in lower grades. It would be a tough call for coaches I'm sure. I know how hard it is with only 2 sides, let alone what your panel must go through.

Have you had any backlash from players? Or have they taken it in their stride?

I'm disappointed obviously that the other clubs are so bitter or disappointed in it, because it really only effected at most 2 games this season, both of them against Logan. My personal opinion would be that clubs would welcome some players coming into the thirds to provide a more solid and tougher game of footy, rather than the UQ side that was almost a guaranteed percentage booster. But that is my opinion, which lets face it, is highly biased.

I can tell you from a personal perspective that I was concerned that it might make a few players bitter and walk out, and I believe there might be a couple that have left because of it, but generally the guys still enjoy being around each other, especially now that we have arranged games with the Div 4 teams, that gives players the opportunity to have a game still. Obviously, our first and seconds are the clubs more succcessful units, but many of the guys in the thirds and fourths play because they love the club before footy thats for sure.

That said, it looks like they had a good time at the yearly lock in last night :D

I'm disappointed obviously that the other clubs are so bitter or disappointed in it, because it really only effected at most 2 games this season, both of them against Logan. My personal opinion would be that clubs would welcome some players coming into the thirds to provide a more solid and tougher game of footy, rather than the UQ side that was almost a guaranteed percentage booster. But that is my opinion, which lets face it, is highly biased.

I can tell you from a personal perspective that I was concerned that it might make a few players bitter and walk out, and I believe there might be a couple that have left because of it, but generally the guys still enjoy being around each other, especially now that we have arranged games with the Div 4 teams, that gives players the opportunity to have a game still. Obviously, our first and seconds are the clubs more succcessful units, but many of the guys in the thirds and fourths play because they love the club before footy thats for sure.

That said, it looks like they had a good time at the yearly lock in last night :D

I agree with you on that. Great to have a very competitive competition throughout. There's not as many certainties this year. Good to hear the club spirits are high, and I guess some clubs/players maybe just get a bit jealous of the depth your club has.

I'm all for a healthy competitive Division myself! I don't believe for a second that any club would jeopardise their higher sides to win in a lower division or grade (eg stacking the reserves). I guess it's just footy, sometimes you catch a team which has had to make changes up or down for whatever reason (form, work, injury). Swings and round abouts.

I guess if we're going to have an equal playing field for all teams there shouldn't be any match payments in an amatuer competition.

Well we do our part. No one at our club gets paid for anything, playing or otherwise. Even the committee pay for shirts etc like everyone else.

We could never compete with the $$$ at Southport etc anyway.

Well from what mighty posted that should make a very interesting game. And weather should b perfect too.... Anybody know if flowers kicked any last week or who played well for Logan????? Excited to have a beer after u play mate will u be staying around ???

10 or 11 from all sms reports.

oh dear! did cheech play yesterday? :thumbsu:

Paddlepop apart from the first half of the first quarter and the start of the last I would hardly say you were the better team on the day. But credit to U.Q they came at us hard in the last quarter and nearly stole it. The roosters show fight I haven't seen in some time and were determined not to let it slip away and if we had of kicked straight in the dying minutes the game would of been ours. But that's footy. I think a draw was a fair result.

Dug, it seems that the roosters are finally lifting from the bottom, but are a long way to go to be in the mix. I know the roosters have won at least two GFs, is there a club in the comp who hasnt won any in this div.

IPW you are right about us not being up with the top half of this comp but we are heading in the right direction, there will be ups and downs this season, still trying to get consistancy but it will come. Don't know the answer to your other question but I am honored to say I played in one of those two premiership. Let's hope we can get back to those winning ways, sooner rather than later

Yep, fair analysis. I guess it swung both ways, hence the result! As a one-eyed fan it's always disappointing to get so close to a rare win.

Last I saw, Cheech was in a bin :D

Highlight of the evening. He always seems to pull out his best at the lock-in.

Yep, fair analysis. I guess it swung both ways, hence the result! As a one-eyed fan it's always disappointing to get so close to a rare win.

Highlight of the evening. He always seems to pull out his best at the lock-in.

Know how you feel paddlepop

What is everyones beliefs on rotations at this level? Is it important?

I know the AFL averages 150 odd, obviously at this level you dont need that.

Is it best to rotate mids on ground or on and off bench?

We have played around with both at Caboolture and I'm not sure of the best answer. I do believe you can get away with less rotations than the higher leagues because the pace is much slower. But then again blokes are under done on a lot of occassions?

What is everyones beliefs on rotations at this level? Is it important?

I know the AFL averages 150 odd, obviously at this level you dont need that.

Is it best to rotate mids on ground or on and off bench?

We have played around with both at Caboolture and I'm not sure of the best answer. I do believe you can get away with less rotations than the higher leagues because the pace is much slower. But then again blokes are under done on a lot of occassions?

I reckon it depends on your depth.

In my experience at this level, the drop off can be pretty significant from your starting 18 to your bench with alot of teams.

Personally I would prefer to have a tired gun resting in a pocket than a fresh but average footballer taking his spot.

Again its all about depth isnt it. Nambour for example probably dont lose much if anything when rotating blokes off the bench.

I reckon it depends on your depth.

In my experience at this level, the drop off can be pretty significant from your starting 18 to your bench with alot of teams.

Personally I would prefer to have a tired gun resting in a pocket than a fresh but average footballer taking his spot.

Again its all about depth isnt it. Nambour for example probably dont lose much if anything when rotating blokes off the bench.

Yeh Morro I tend to agree with you mate. Rest your guns deep forward. Do Nambour have the depth to rotate heavily? Any Redcliffe people out there that would know from the weekend. I suppose you need a few coaching staff as well to do it properly. Cant wait to play Nambour in 2 weeks time:)

I posted this on the Div 2 board and i am interested in the thoughts of the Div 3 board as well:

I see the Country Stockmen squad has been announced ... I don't think I see anyone from Div 2 or below which I think is a bit disappointing ... surely there is at one player in this competition who would be good enough to play in this rep side??

3 Questions
1: Is there anyone in Div 3 who you think could play this level of rep footy
2: Wouldn't it be a good idea to have a rep team from each division eg Div 2 play a game against a similar country league, Div 3 play as well against similar standard country league (Div 4 northern Rivers played Darling Downs 2 weeks ago)
3: Who would win a rep game if Div 2 played Div 3?? I personally think the top 22 in Div 3 would come very close

I posted this on the Div 2 board and i am interested in the thoughts of the Div 3 board as well:

I see the Country Stockmen squad has been announced ... I don't think I see anyone from Div 2 or below which I think is a bit disappointing ... surely there is at one player in this competition who would be good enough to play in this rep side??

3 Questions
1: Is there anyone in Div 3 who you think could play this level of rep footy
2: Wouldn't it be a good idea to have a rep team from each division eg Div 2 play a game against a similar country league, Div 3 play as well against similar standard country league (Div 4 northern Rivers played Darling Downs 2 weeks ago)
3: Who would win a rep game if Div 2 played Div 3?? I personally think the top 22 in Div 3 would come very close

I think our league lacks quality big men. There are some really good midfeilders out there but big men I dont think so? Div 2 and div 1 do have those quality talls in most teams. I think a div 2 v div 3 would be good

This is spot on.

We could put an awesome running side together in our div, but wouldnt have a very strong spine compared to the leagues above.

As a standout, Milligan from Logan is wasting his time in this div and would still be recognised as a gun onballer at PHC level.

This is spot on.

We could put an awesome running side together in our div, but wouldnt have a very strong spine compared to the leagues above.

As a standout, Milligan from Logan is wasting his time in this div and would still be recognised as a gun onballer at PHC level.

He is a quality player but not sure if he would be a gun?
His disposal would let him down at that level.

He is a quality player but not sure if he would be a gun?
His disposal would let him down at that level.

I've seen lesser players make it at that level with half the dedication he has and his disposal is generally pretty good I think.

His ability to keep running is second to none.

Very true, quality ruck stocks would be div 3's Achilles heel but no point having an Aaron sandillands if the taps don't go to advantage. I thought most competitions had rep footy every couple of years?