2013 All Australian Team Announcement

Hodge wasnt within a bulls roar of making the squad as a midfielder...and played the biggest seagull role of any half back throughout the enitre year. Little rebound, nowhere in metres gained out of defence and the rest of his game was just mediocre too. As always he attracted attention from a big game every now and then rather than any consistently great season being etched out. In fact as many acknowledged, Hodge was a surprise inclusion just making the squad...its actually hard to find a reason he was selected in the 40 let alone 22.
Mackie definitely earnt a spot in the 40, and every yr there are 1 or 2 surprises that squeeze into the 22...but thats fine. Thats in stark contrast to Hodge who had the most overrated season of all the 40 man squad and only got in to pad out the top 4 quota they had running.
You forgot to add IMO.

not sure why majority of people and the media are crying over Fyfe missing out. Very, very good player and on the rise to better things but he's quite honestly a poor user of the footy and has been since the start of his career, like Trent Cotchin, exceptional clearance gatherer but not as effective offensively as some of the other mids picked this year.
Pendlebury, Selwood, Dangerfield, Swan, Ablett, Watson, Boak, they all kicked a goal per game but also contributed by assisting many as well so who you going to take out for his spot?

mate he finished top 10 in the coaches award while missing 3 games so fair to say people who know more than you rate him quite highly. Has been more influential than Boak, Watson and Swan but you don't necessarily have to take any of them out to find a place for him in the side, just drop Mackie :)oops:) and put Fyfe in his place.

Hibberd wasn't far superior, his stats have him marginally better. Walker although more talented isn't a defender's arseh*le neither is Simpson. You could argue for Hodge, how much of his season did he play as a pure defender though.
Simpson and Walker have played half back all year. Simpson played 90% of the season back there, was second at the club for rebound 50s while Walker was number 2 for rebound 50s in the entire competition. Both on numerous occasions were on the last line and while they both ran forward, they scarcely played up the ground.

Shows how little you've seen on Carlton's season. It'd have been a disgrace for them to be named anywhere and Simpson in particular is incredibly stiff not to be in the team. Mcveigh aside, he's probably polled more Coaches votes then anybody else in consideration for a defensive spot.

Just for something a bit different, these are the leading votegetters in the AFLCA award over the past four years, with number of AA selections in the same period. Work out for yourselves who the unlucky players are:

Player|Votes|Squad|Team
\Ablett junior, Gary|337|4|4
\Swan, Dane|337|4|4
\Pendlebury, Scott|312|4|4
\Selwood, Joel|300|4|2
\Cotchin, Trent|253|1|1
\Thompson, Scott|252|2|1
\Boyd, Matthew|242|2|1
\Mitchell, Sam|233|3|2
\Watson, Jobe|228|3|2
\Judd, Chris|226|2|2
\Griffen, Ryan|225|1|1
\Jack, Kieren|208|2|1
\Hodge, Luke|206|2|1
\Swallow, Andrew|201|3|
\Murphy, Marc|198|1|1
\Montagna, Leigh|193|1|1
\Dangerfield, Patrick|191|2|2
\Harvey, Brent|189|1|
\Wells, Daniel|185|2|
\Johnson, Steve|176|2|1
\O'Keefe, Ryan|175||
\Deledio, Brett|173|3|1
\Kennedy, Josh P.|173|2|1
\McVeigh, Jarrad|168|1|1
\Franklin, Lance|166|4|3
\Fyfe, Nathan|166|2|
\Mundy, David|163|2|
\Goddard, Brendon|157|1|1
\Goodes, Adam|152|2|1
\Pavlich, Matthew|150|2|
\Priddis, Matt|150|1|
\Boak, Travis|147|1|1
\Hannebery, Daniel|143|1|1
\Cloke, Travis|142|2|2
\Chapman, Paul|141|1|1
\Beams, Dayne|140|1|1
\Dal Santo, Nick|140|2|1
\Cox, Dean|139|2|2
\Martin, Dustin|139||
\Rioli, Cyril|139|1|1
\Sandilands, Aaron|136|1|1
\Kelly, James|135|2|1
\Hayes, Lenny|134|2|
\Simpson, Kade|134||
\Gibbs, Bryce|129||
\Sloane, Rory|129||
\Riewoldt, Nick|121|2|
\Gibson, Josh|119|2|
\Cooney, Adam|117|1|
\Moloney, Brent|115||
\Bartel, Jimmy|114||
\Birchall, Grant|114|2|1
\Naitanui, Nic|114|1|1
\Petrie, Drew|114|2|1
\Rockliff, Tom|111||
\Shuey, Luke|111||
\Thomas, Dale|111|1|1
\Lewis, Jordan|110||
\Stanton, Brent|110||
\Sewell, Brad|109||
\Enright, Corey|108|4|3
\Black, Simon|103||
\Selwood, Scott|102||
\Roughead, Jarryd|101|1|1
\Scotland, Heath|100|1|

Interesting list, Ron. Well done.

Interesting to see only one key defender on the list. And he still hasn't made an all australian team.

Do you know who the next highest votegetting key defender is after Josh Gibson?

No need to get personal Escobar, I certainly do not know as much as the coaches or players but either do you so your response to my post would be void as well, correct?

Influential can be misleading because he plays in a side which is dominated by quality midfielders, Boak is very much the main man who is constantly tagged (Fyfe does not get the hard tag) so for Boak to consistently put up those numbers while having a bloke hold his jump most of a game is quite fitting of his spot in the team.
No disrespect to Port Adelaide either by the way but I certainly wouldn't rate their midfield at the same level of Fremantle's or any of the other top 3 sides this year.

As for Dane Swan, you are well aware he won the brownlow medal a couple of years ago and is a 5 x AA and 3 x B&F winner?
He averaged 31 disposals this year, kicked 21.21 and contributed another 18 goals while also gathering a lazy 5 clearances and same amount of tackles per game as Nathan Fyfe.

You are well aware Fyfe plays midfield correct and not in the back half?

Judging by your attack of my post, I'm fairly certain you also know of Fyfe's poor disposal and defensive work rate so back it up by attacking the man as opposed to playing the ball.
Well played sir :)

Exactly, Fyfe does play in a much stronger midfield yet he quite frequently gets the hard tag ahead of the others, I wonder why? Surely the opposition coaches would rather limit the influence of the likes of Mundy and hill no? Yet they often don't and send a man to Fyfe instead, I will let you figure out why. Btw Fyfe and Boak + dangerfield and Swan have DE below 64%, means **** all.

"As for Dane Swan, you are well aware he won the brownlow medal a couple of years ago and is a 5 x AA and 3 x B&F winner?"

so? We are not comparing their careers so what if he averages more disposals he is called the league's biggest chipscab for a reason just 30% of his possessions are contested which is pretty woefull for a so-called inside midfielder.

"You are well aware Fyfe plays midfield correct and not in the back half?"

Fyfe over Mackie because there is nothing Mackie can do that Fyfe can't do better. simple really. I am sure Fyfe would relish the opportunity of playing the lose man in defense and would be much stronger in one on one contests compared to fairy mackie, not to mention his far superior contested marking would be pretty handy down back.

not sure why majority of people and the media are crying over Fyfe missing out. Very, very good player and on the rise to better things but he's quite honestly a poor user of the footy and has been since the start of his career, like Trent Cotchin, exceptional clearance gatherer but not as effective offensively as some of the other mids picked this year.
Pendlebury, Selwood, Dangerfield, Swan, Ablett, Watson, Boak, they all kicked a goal per game but also contributed by assisting many as well so who you going to take out for his spot?

I'm actually shocked this hasn't been mentioned before now, I suspect some of the selectors have been lurking in the "Is Fyfe the worst kick in the afl?" thread for too long.

Not sure why people gloss over guys like Swan and Dangerfield who whilst exceptional players fluff just as many if not more kicks and pick on Fyfe all the time. His inside work and his marking are insanely good, I'm more than happy with how he's played this year even if he was snubbed. It'll look a bit silly though after he finishes top 10 in the Chaz.

Simpson and Walker have played half back all year. Simpson played 90% of the season back there, was second at the club for rebound 50s while Walker was number 2 for rebound 50s in the entire competition. Both on numerous occasions were on the last line and while they both ran forward, they scarcely played up the ground.

Shows how little you've seen on Carlton's season. It'd have been a disgrace for them to be named anywhere and Simpson in particular is incredibly stiff not to be in the team. Mcveigh aside, he's probably polled more Coaches votes then anybody else in consideration for a defensive spot.

I've seen a fair few Carlton games this year because I actually reckon Simpson and in particular Walker are ripping players. Walker is a shit defender, there's no two ways about it. He is still an exhilarating footballer, that's why I like watching him. If you have a look in the polls board, you'll actually see that I picked him over Deledio about 6 weeks ago and made similar comments about him in there.

Interesting list, Ron. Well done.

Interesting to see only one key defender on the list. And he still hasn't made an all australian team.

Do you know who the next highest votegetting key defender is after Josh Gibson?

Here's the next lot, down to 50 votes:

Player|Votes|Squad|Team
\Taylor, Harry|98|4|2
\Barlow, Michael|97||
\Riewoldt, Jack|97|2|1
\Hanley, Pearce|96||
\Kennedy, Josh J.|96|2|
\Sidebottom, Steele|95||
\Ballantyne, Hayden|94||
\Cornes, Kane|92||
\Hill, Stephen|92||
\Kerr, Daniel|91||
\Bolton, Jude|90||
\Westhoff, Justin|90||
\McPharlin, Luke|89|2|1
\Brown, Jonathan|87||
\Hawkins, Tom J.|86|1|1
\Ball, Luke|85||
\Cross, Daniel|85||
\Steven, Jack|84|1|
\Zaharakis, David|83||
\Ebert, Brad|82||
\Malceski, Nick|82|2|
\Sylvia, Colin|82||
\Carrazzo, Andrew|81||
\Tippett, Kurt|81||
\Ziebell, Jack|81||
\Milne, Stephen|80|2|2
\Liberatore, Tom|77||
\Frawley, James|76|1|1
\Walker, Andrew|76||
\Darling, Jack|75||
\Jones, Nathan|75||
\Mumford, Shane|74|1|
\Tuck, Shane|74||
\Thompson, Scott D.|73|1|1
\Douglas, Richard|72|1|
\Rischitelli, Michael|71||
\Burgoyne, Shaun|70||
\Goldstein, Todd|70|2|
\McLean, Brock|70||
\Shaw, Heath|70||
\Murphy, Robert|69|1|1
\van Berlo, Nathan|69||
\Fletcher, Dustin|68|1|
\Hartlett, Hamish|68||
\Redden, Jack|68||
\Betts, Eddie|67|2|
\Bastinac, Ryan|66||
\Hurley, Michael|66||
\Garlett, Jeff|65||
\Heppell, Dyson|65||
\Corey, Joel|64||
\Lake, Brian|62|1|1
\Robinson, Mitch|61||
\LeCras, Mark|60|1|1
\Schulz, Jay|60||
\Vince, Bernie|60||
\Green, Brad|59|1|
\Stokes, Mathew|59||
\Johncock, Graham|58||
\Podsiadly, James|58||
\Waite, Jarrad|58||
\Chaplin, Troy|57||
\Didak, Alan|57|1|1
\Embley, Andrew|57|1|
\O'Brien, Harry|57|1|1
\Ward, Callan|57||
\Armitage, David|56||
\Giansiracusa, Daniel|56||
\Houli, Bachar|55||
\Kreuzer, Matthew|55||
\Wingard, Chad|55|1|1
\Motlop, Steven|54|1|
\Adams, Leigh|53||
\Jackson, Daniel|53||
\Jacobs, Sam|53|1|
\Walker, Taylor|53|1|
\Adcock, Jed|52||
\Bennell, Harley|52||
\Prestia, Dion|52||
\Christensen, Allen|51||
\Maric, Ivan|50|1|
Other tall defenders:

Player|Votes|Squad|Team
\Rance, Alex|49||
\Reid, Ben|48|1|1
\Richards, Ted|47|1|1
\Fisher, Sam|40|1|
\Merrett, Daniel|37||
\Hansen, Lachlan|36||
\Johnson, Michael|34|1|1
\Scarlett, Matthew|30|1|1
\Henderson, Lachie|29||
\Bock, Nathan|28||
\Patfull, Joel|27||
\Firrito, Michael|25||
\Hooker, Cale|25||
\Lonergan, Tom|24|1|
\Glass, Darren|23|2|2

Work out for yourselves who the unlucky players are

AA generally favours players from the successful teams in borderline calls, not really surprising.

Plus the top 20 are all mids, so you could be a consistently high finisher in the votes but be the 8-10th best mid or whatever for every season and miss AA, which say would be a fair appraisal of someone like Swallow.

I've seen a fair few Carlton games this year because I actually reckon Simpson and in particular Walker are ripping players. Walker is a shit defender, there's no two ways about it. He is still an exhilarating footballer, that's why I like watching him. If you have a look in the polls board, you'll actually see that I picked him over Deledio about 6 weeks ago and made similar comments about him in there.
Walker might be poor defensively (Simmo certainly isn't) but that's not his role. He's a rebounding defender and he does it better than most. Not sure why a rebounding defender can't be included in the back 6. He certainly hasn't played in the midfield this season.

Cameron was a political decision

L20(spkg.215x294).GIF

Just had a look, they do read similar but Hibberd is winning all of the key ones.

I am happy that mackie got a gig - Been under-rated for a number of years - And he can play as a third tall ( with reasonable success ) which the other's can't.

If Freo and the Hawks make the GF, only 3 players were good enough to make the AA team from the 2 best (best defensive & best attacking) teams this year. Bewildering really

What Freo defenders would you have had in and what Hawk forwards would you have had in?

If you look at stats, Hodge had a bad year. 55th in average championdata points per game.

If you look at football matches and see who has an effect on winning games, then Hodge had a very good year.

Two examples:
Round 12 - 15 posessions 1 goal, 2 tackle, 91 super coach points
Average game statistically but voted best on ground by Ch 7, equal best on ground by The Age, and also in the coaches votes.

Round 22 - 21 posessions (17 uncontested) 0 goals, 3 tackles, 87 super coach points
Average game statistically but voted best on ground by BOTH coaches.

Those that watch games have adjudged him to have a very good season. 9th in the Age Footballer of the year award, 14th in the Herald Sun Player of the Year, 12th in the AFL coaches association award. 8th in the Brownlow. McVeigh was the only defender above him in any of the awards.

Its a pity that the AA selectors are advised by championdata because for players like luke hodge, their influence on the game is not quantified by current statistics.

Coaches Votes
Hodge 62 (10 games polled)
Mackie 14 (3 games polled)

Abso****inglutely.

Reiwoldt (of the Nick variety) should have got a gig at CHF. Would prefer him over Cloke any day.

TEAM. To be No1 in those fields require a lot more than 6 players.

Yep, but this team isn't playing in the finals. What Hawthorn forwards and what Freo defenders would you have included in the side that aren't already in there and who would they replace?

Just not seeing how Wingard could be selected over the likes of Motlop, Fyfe and even players like Rockliff and Josh Kennedy. Too much hype in that decision.

Mitchell as half back is rediculous. Should be in the team but taking the place of others actual half backs as mentioned by many other posters.

2013 All Australian Team Announcement