Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team

Chill out trolldoll it's January FFS, I'm just messing around for the **** of it. I'm sure Swanny will average 160 this year if you start with him. :thumbsu:

In Greene & Gibson's case their pre-season fitness is worth noting. Neither had a pre-season last year yet came home strong after getting a few km's in their legs during the season. Greene averaging 110 in his last 8 and Gibson 110 in his last 6. With full pre-seasons under their belts both could continue where they left off.

Easy tiger, those mood swings will be the death of you.

If you don't respect Swanny he will repay you in kind.

Easy tiger, those mood swings will be the death of you.

If you don't respect Swanny he will repay you in kind.

I love Swanny as much as the next DTmer, but I'm not paying for a 134 average, at least not initially. If he can keep that up before the first price change or two then I will stand corrected and pay whatever he's going at. Hopefully whichever rookie, mid-pricer or semi-premo I choose will have made a bit of money and Swanny loses the same amount to make 80-100k or so before I bring him in sooner or later. I just can't justify the extra 100k to begin with.

Another poster on here did the exact same thing last year and then Swanny produced 171 on Anzac Day when everyone that had him used the VC loophole. He was spitting chips.

Are you related to him by any chance? I have seen the term 'DTmer' before.

Another poster on here did the exact same thing last year and then Swanny produced 171 on Anzac Day when everyone that had him used the VC loophole. He was spitting chips.

haha

well he's obviously not new, just been trying to work out who he actually is

Wasn't me, I had Scott Thompson's 138 as Captain that round in Alett's absence, so didn't miss out on too many points, thankfully.

DTmer has always been common term on the DT websites, what are you crapping on about now?

haha

well he's obviously not new, just been trying to work out who he actually is

I've been on BF for 10 years. This is my 3rd account in that time. Mostly post on Bay13 hence the need for a new account every few years. ;)

Wasn't me, I had Scott Thompson's 138 as Captain that round so didn't miss out on too many points.

DTmer has always been common term on the DT websites, what are you crapping on about now?

Not many people went without Swan at the start of last year.

It makes perfect sense since you change your avatar as much as your account name :). I don't know why you bother creating additional accounts, embrace yourself RT and stop hiding.

Not many people went without Swan at the start of last year.

It makes perfect sense since you change your avatar as much as your account name :). I don't know why you bother creating additional accounts, embrace yourself RT and stop hiding.

Plenty of people started without Swan last year. It was either him or Ablett for me, I chose Ablett because he was better value.

What drugs are you on? I just said I've had 3 accounts in 10 years. :rolleyes: Only reason I made a new account is because I got a new computer and lost my old ISP email and bugger if I could remember my old password.

RT is Keystone Agony, you know that so stop being a twat.

People on Bay13 know what my old username was. You're just some nobody from the DT board, so you really don't matter.

PS you really could use a new avatar. A decent set of **** on your current one would be a good start. :thumbsu:

I'm here to discuss DT, if you want to get into a trollfest with me take it to Bay13 I'd be happpy to pwn you for the lulz. DT is srs bzns though so knock off the trolling or I'll report your feral arse.

I am not Gingy and Gingy is not me. I have thought it may be James though? where did that bloke go? From memory he had been around for some time on BF.

Dont let the bias get in the way of you Pillager. This the year to pick value and not just the most expensive players from each line and fill the rest with rookies. No more GWS or GC to hang your hat on anymore.

Team currently looks like this:

DEF: Goddard, Gibbs, Hartlett, Bock, Goodes, Stevenson (Clurrey, Clisby)

MID: Ablett, Swan, Pendlebury, Cotchin, Ball, Embley, Mitchell, Couch (O'meara, Barry)

RUCKS: Goldstein, Leuenberger (Currie, Rowe)

FWDS: Franklin, Johnson, Rockliff, Martin, Cloke, Kennedy (Lee, Dwyer)

Wait, people haven't figured out who Gingy is yet? footylulz

Looking forward to locking horns again in the Bay13 League, gp. :thumbsu:

We've played each other about 5 times now...from memory we'd be pretty close head to head?

Team currently looks like this:

DEF: Goddard, Gibbs, Hartlett, Bock, Goodes, Stevenson (Clurrey, Clisby)

MID: Ablett, Swan, Pendlebury, Cotchin, Ball, Embley, Mitchell, Couch (O'meara, Barry)

RUCKS: Goldstein, Leuenberger (Currie, Rowe)

FWDS: Franklin, Johnson, Rockliff, Martin, Cloke, Kennedy (Lee, Dwyer)

Interesting choice of rooks there. Couple of 89k's in the backs & forwards doesn't free up all that much cash. Barry on the mids bench @ 108k can't say I've heard of him...is he likely to get games?

Starting 22 looks a strong team though.

Surely you have to start with Swan, if he stuffs up those first few weeks you take a bit of a hit - along with probably 60% of the comp and then choose to drop him before first price change.
Big risk to hope he stuff ups early, given his lowest score last year was...95??

If he stuff ups, swap him for a performing mid-pricer and pick up Swanny for a lot cheaper in a couple weeks.

Obviously any plans around Swan can be stuffed up very quickly as Swanny is the only one (along with GAJ) who could have a BE of 200 and end up going up in price :)

Surely you have to start with Swan, if he stuffs up those first few weeks you take a bit of a hit - along with probably 60% of the comp and then choose to drop him before first price change.
Big risk to hope he stuff ups early, given his lowest score last year was...95??

If he stuff ups, swap him for a performing mid-pricer and pick up Swanny for a lot cheaper in a couple weeks.

Obviously any plans around Swan can be stuffed up very quickly as Swanny is the only one (along with GAJ) who could have a BE of 200 and end up going up in price :)

I wouldn't expect him to "stuff up", more hoping that he is averaging 120-125 in the first 3 rounds instead of the 134 he is priced at. Not sure how much of a price drop of 10-15 points per game over 3 games is worth but surely it would be significant?

For me it's a choice of starting with one of Swan or Ablett. At this point I'm going with Ablett purely because he's starting with a 124 average and think he has a better chance of holding his starting price.

Starting with both really does restrict the amount of premiums you can start the season with, IMHO.

Yeah fair enough.

TBH last year I had Swan, Pendles, Boyd and Ablett starting.
Produced a good side elsewhere and just had to have 1 more starting rookie, 3 rookie rucks did make that more feasible though.

I see your point I guess just remembering last year people said he'd drop in price with an avg of around 120ish, instead he went UP in price!! haha

I don't care about the training reports regarding Swanny, if he could do what he did last year with a lot of bad rumours swirling maybe a good pre-season is cause for concern? haha.

For me Ablett and Swan are just absolute must haves, no one in the league scores like them and I guess you'd have to really nail your replacement - eg. Stanton last year, or a mid-pricer who goes bang from the get go...

Each to their own.

Brendon Goddard, Bryce Gibbs, Hamish Hartlett, Brian Lake, Jayden Pitt, Sam Docherty
Lewis Stevenson, Dean Terlich

Gary Ablett jnr, Trent Cotchin, Scott Pendlebury, Jack Redden, Kieren Jack, Brad Crouch, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Meara
Jack Viney, Sam Dwyer

Matthew Leuenberger, Todd Goldstein
Sam Naismith, Daniel Currie

Taylor Walker, Tom Rockliff, Lance Franklin, Dustin Martin, Mark LeCras, Chris Knights
Sam Kerridge, Josh Simpson

Really Mods???

A little bit of banter is deleted?

Is this Bigfooty or is this a forum for the politically correct?

Anyway, I will get back on topic...

Only injury could possibly stop Swan from repeating last years efforts. With Pendles & Beams attracting a lot of opposition attention Swan is often let off the leash. He is the most trustworthy captain selection with the next best option being Ablett. Based on last years averages there is a 200 point difference when selecting Swan as captain vs Ablett over the course of the year. There is daylight between Swan and then next best after Ablett and that is Dayne Beams (380 points over the course of the year).

Really Mods???

A little bit of banter is deleted?

Is this Bigfooty or is this a forum for the politically correct?

Anyway, I will get back on topic...

Only injury could possibly stop Swan from repeating last years efforts. With Pendles & Beams attracting a lot of opposition attention Swan is often let off the leash. He is the most trustworthy captain selection with the next best option being Ablett. Based on last years averages there is a 200 point difference when selecting Swan as captain vs Ablett over the course of the year. There is daylight between Swan and then next best after Ablett and that is Dayne Beams (380 points over the course of the year).

Zero tolerance from trolls allowed

No doubt Swan is a required player i just feel he could be one player that might go backwards a bit. Hes one of those players that will drop off one year massively IMO and than call his retirment at the end of that year. Hes already stated he doesnt want to play footy for much longer and i reckon if the pies really drop out of serious contention than Swan might drop off seriously aswell as he seems like someone that needs motivation to play this game. Hes just too risky at that price and someone probably better to try and bring in IMO.

Certainly when you put it that hes gaining you 200 extra points for only 50k for the entire year, than he looks like great value. Ill probably end up picking Ablett but if not it will really depend on how good i feel Cotchin can get, IMO cant see why he doesnt avg 120-125 next year.

Zero tolerance from trolls allowed

No doubt Swan is a required player i just feel he could be one player that might go backwards a bit. Hes one of those players that will drop off one year massively IMO and than call his retirment at the end of that year. Hes already stated he doesnt want to play footy for much longer and i reckon if the pies really drop out of serious contention than Swan might drop off seriously aswell as he seems like someone that needs motivation to play this game. Hes just too risky at that price and someone probably better to try and bring in IMO.

Certainly when you put it that hes gaining you 200 extra points for only 50k for the entire year, than he looks like great value. Ill probably end up picking Ablett but if not it will really depend on how good i feel Cotchin can get, IMO cant see why he doesnt avg 120-125 next year.

My avatar might suggest that I am a troll but don't judge a book by it's cover, I simply love a bit of banter. People are so precious these days particularly on the internet.

Swan has not averaged less than 119 for the past 4 years. He turns 29 this year which might have a small impact on his scoring but I would rather bet on him replicating last years efforts than not. Collingwood are at their prime right now and I am sure that they feel embarassed about their performance over the past two years.

I remember having a debate with you about Adelaide's list and their potential in 2011. I was probably one year ahead in my estimation of their rise. It happened in 2012 when they finished third after they let a lot of their deadwood go in 2010. I am tipping an Adelaide/Collingwood Grand Final this year. Collingwood will not fall out of serious contention for at least three years and they are one of the best DT teams in the comp.

You went without Swan at the start of last year and this was probably influenced by some group think with that other mob you are affiliated with. Don't let his price tag deter you, he is the most solid and reliable captain choice in Dream Team until the next freak comes along.

My avatar might suggest that I am a troll but don't judge a book by it's cover, I simply love a bit of banter. People are so precious these days particularly on the internet.

Swan has not averaged less than 119 for the past 4 years. He turns 29 this year which might have a small impact on his scoring but I would rather bet on him replicating last years efforts than not. Collingwood are at their prime right now and I am sure that they feel embarassed about their performance over the past two years.

I remember having a debate with you about Adelaide's list and their potential in 2011. I was probably one year ahead in my estimation of their rise. It happened in 2012 when they finished third after they let a lot of their deadwood go in 2010. I am tipping an Adelaide/Collingwood Grand Final this year. Collingwood will not fall out of serious contention for at least three years and they are one of the best DT teams in the comp.

You went without Swan at the start of last year and this was probably influenced by some group think with that other mob you are affiliated with. Don't let his price tag deter you, he is the most solid and reliable captain choice in Dream Team until the next freak comes along.

I love banter mate and i agree with the precious comment thus i was continuing the banter.

See i guess thats where our opinions differ i would rather bet that Swan doesnt avg as much or higher than his 2012 year. I also see Collingwood declining and im not thinking Adelaide will play in the grandfinal. I cant remember our debate about them a few years back so i cant really comment on that or what i said. A weeks a long time in footy a year and a half is a lot longer.

You and i know, that i am not involved in any group think you also know i pick very unique players and teams. Not many ran around with Watson, Stanton and Griffen in their starting side if any.

I think the next freak has come along, i just have a different way of picking players eg: i dont pick max priced players if i see no more upside in them. Im predicting Swan to drop by around 5 on his avg 128~. I think Ablett, Pendles, Cotchin can all improve and increase their avg and be a captain. BTW picking Swan was group think, dont think otherwise.

I love banter mate and i agree with the precious comment thus i was continuing the banter.

See i guess thats where our opinions differ i would rather bet that Swan doesnt avg as much or higher than his 2012 year. I also see Collingwood declining and im not thinking Adelaide will play in the grandfinal. I cant remember our debate about them a few years back so i cant really comment on that or what i said. A weeks a long time in footy a year and a half is a lot longer.

You and i know, that i am not involved in any group think you also know i pick very unique players and teams. Not many ran around with Watson, Stanton and Griffen in their starting side if any.

I think the next freak has come along, i just have a different way of picking players eg: i dont pick max priced players if i see no more upside in them. Im predicting Swan to drop by around 5 on his avg 128~. I think Ablett, Pendles, Cotchin can all improve and increase their avg and be a captain. BTW picking Swan was group think, dont think otherwise.

Swan picks himself.

Don't get me wrong, you certainly made some gutsy selections last year.

If we were able to read the future and Swan went onto avg 128 and play similar amount of games as he has the past 2 years ect would you still pick him from the start?

Yes.

The points differential due to captain selection makes it worth it.

Unless of course another player in the competition comes close to that level of scoring, which I would not rule out but it is very unlikely. Ablett will be close but his starting price is close to Swan's anyway.

Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team