2013 SEQAFL Division 2 2013

I hope this helps..........

Ruck: Player who engages in the initial contest of the Football following
a bounce, throw up or boundary throw in.

15.4.5 Prohibited Contact and Payment of Free Kick
(f) pushes, bumps, holds or blocks an opposition Player
who is contesting a bounce or throw by a field Umpire
or boundary throw in;

o) contesting the football as the Ruck at any bounce,
throw up or boundary throw in, makes contact with the
opposition Ruck prior to the Football leaving the field
or boundary Umpire’s hand. For the avoidance of doubt,
where there is uncertainty over who is the designated
Ruck, the Ruck for each team will be the person
nominated to the Umpire.

15.2.3 Holding the Football – Prior Opportunity/No
Prior Opportunity
Where the field Umpire is satisfied that a Player in possession
of the football:
(a) has had a prior opportunity to dispose of the football, the
field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against that Player
if the Player does not Kick or Handball the football
immediately when they are Correctly Tackled; or

(b) has not had a prior opportunity to dispose of the football, the
field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against that Player if,
upon being Correctly Tackled, the Player does not Correctly
Dispose or attempt to Correctly Dispose of the football after
being given a reasonable opportunity to do so.

(c) Except in the instance of a poor bounce or throw, a Player
who takes possession of the football while contesting a
bounce or throw by a field Umpire or a boundary throw in,
shall be regarded as having had prior opportunity.

So if you are a Ruck, and you dispose of the ball correctly,"play on" applies.
If you are a Ruck, and you do not dispose of the ball correctly,"Holding the ball" applies.

See the following links.....

I also have a question for Moro, the ruck rule, if a player takes the ball out of the ruck and is dispossessed I understand that its a free kick for holding the ball however, if a player takes a ball out of the ruck and isn't held shouldn't this be play on? I wont disclose which team this happened to but the umpire in charge said if ruckman takes ball and is simply touched it is holding the ball, im talking literally touched and almost in the clear and gets pinged for holding the footy. The ruckman im referring to has a great knowledge of football and was astounded at the decision wink wink (also got told to know the rules b4 making comment). Help Moro cause im certain the umpire got this wrong. Seems it was a few elder statesmen getting the job done for roos late against Coorparoo in the ressies. Looks as though top 5 will be battle between about 7 teams.

Had said ruckman of just hit it to the cheat spot that had been nominated by the chunk brothers as instructed we wouldnt be having this conversation :)

Chunk#5 was impressed with the umpire early to werent u pal!!

yeah aint that the truth - im sure 6 weeks in there are lots of sore bodies getting around!

Line up for the physio on a tuesday is almost as many on track!

Hey Moro - I had one of your colleagues provide me with the suggestion I re read the rule book on Saturday - will you please advise him of who i am and not to be so disrepectful next time :)
BOC - on behalf of all umpires in Australia can i apologise for what happened, the umpire in question obviously didn't realise you have trouble reading .... you are a forward after all:). I'm sure it won't happen again

I also have a question for Moro, the ruck rule, if a player takes the ball out of the ruck and is dispossessed I understand that its a free kick for holding the ball however, if a player takes a ball out of the ruck and isn't held shouldn't this be play on? I wont disclose which team this happened to but the umpire in charge said if ruckman takes ball and is simply touched it is holding the ball, im talking literally touched and almost in the clear and gets pinged for holding the footy. The ruckman im referring to has a great knowledge of football and was astounded at the decision wink wink (also got told to know the rules b4 making comment). Help Moro cause im certain the umpire got this wrong. Seems it was a few elder statesmen getting the job done for roos late against Coorparoo in the ressies. Looks as though top 5 will be battle between about 7 teams.

I can only assume you're talking about the 2s game as the senior umpires were .... well senior or should i say experienced.:D 1st thing is in the 2s there was only 1 official umpire and the other a club umpire doing this hard job and helping out his club for which he should be respected IMO. As you have explained it, it would seem the umpire may have made a mistake but hey who doesn't. As has been discussed if a player takes the ball out of the ruck they need to be tackled legally for a free kick to be paid. In saying that it only has to be a grab as the person taking the ball out of the ruck is deemed to have had "prior opportunity" so it will be more "red hot" than a normal holding the ball. But in the end no tackle = no free kick

Thanks for clearing that up. It was in the 2s game and it was definitely the experienced umpire, im not trying to pot the umpire at all as it is a tough gig but I was trying to make sure I knew the rule for future contests. I did recognise one of the umpires from the senior game, hell of a nice guy and seems to umpire ok too, Darren might be his name but I may be wrong.

While we're on the topic of umpires... Moro do you know anything about the female umpire at Alex Hills on the weekend? Has she umpired at a higher level or is she straight out of the academy so to speak??? Her and the bloke who tucks his hair into his shirt (surely a haircut is in order) were the best combo we've had all year...

Mustard is that a backhand to Moro? I have had you boys a couple of times and thought i was ok?;)

Yes from what i am told she is a very good umpire who was umpiring in Darwin and is quite experienced, but i don't know the other bloke as he is a gold coast ump. It is good to hear positive feedback for our group.

Thanks for clearing that up. It was in the 2s game and it was definitely the experienced umpire, im not trying to pot the umpire at all as it is a tough gig but I was trying to make sure I knew the rule for future contests. I did recognise one of the umpires from the senior game, hell of a nice guy and seems to umpire ok too, Darren might be his name but I may be wrong.

I don't know what to say. Yes Darren's a nice guy and all that but i would never admit that to him.

I do know he reckons you're"definitaly on the money and a great judge of character":D

Mustard is that a backhand to Moro? I have had you boys a couple of times and thought i was ok?;)

Yes from what i am told she is a very good umpire who was umpiring in Darwin and is quite experienced, but i don't know the other bloke as he is a gold coast ump. It is good to hear positive feedback for our group.

Moro - I said combo for a reason, I have no complaints personally about you but there's always another umpire on the field... Anyway, I'm not here to bag anyone... What are everyone's tips for the weekend?

Caboolture v Coorparoo 10 Goals
Kenmore v Alex Hills 5 Goals
Redcliffe v Aspley 3 Points
Robina v Kedron 10 Goals
Wynnum v Nambour 7 Goals
Yeronga v Caloundra 10 Goals

In a side note - I noticed that Aker played for Bribie on the weekend in Div 4... Surely he knows someone who plays there?

BOC - on behalf of all umpires in Australia can i apologise for what happened, the umpire in question obviously didn't realise you have trouble reading .... you are a forward after all:). I'm sure it won't happen again

Finally - now we are on the same page moro!

roopen - every time a team plays robina they are now going to be watching for the ruckman to grab the ball out of the stoppage forward of centre - nice work hahaha you've got no choice but to hit to the cheat spot now!!

Mustard - reckon u blokes were unlucky on the weekend from all reports (if u play for Alex) - big game for you blokes in the seniors this week!

For mine kings by plenty, Alex in a close one, Aspley ina close one, Nambour by lots, yeronga by enough, and robina to get the job done in a game marked as very much a danger.

same results in the 2's.

That umpire against Coorparoo was absolutely pathetic tell him to hang up the wissle if i have to put up with him again i will loose it.

is it true you actually wore a green armband on both arms on saturday chunk as you wanted to show extra appreciation for the umpires?

Points.

Devil gone real quiet - your 2's got well and truely dusted on saturday.

big second half from our 1's - 13 goal 3rd quarter broke the game open.

Chunk show in full effect on Saturday - Chunk#5 with a lazy 5 in the first half and i chipped in with 5 in the second half to keep him at bay. @roopen we are coming for you!!!

is it true you actually wore a green armband on both arms on saturday chunk as you wanted to show extra appreciation for the umpires?

Points.

Chunk show in full effect on Saturday - Chunk#5 with a lazy 5 in the first half and i chipped in with 5 in the second half to keep him at bay. @roopen we are coming for you!!!
na mate must have been someone else, i think mine got ripped off in a tackle in the first minute!;)

Yeah Yeronga 2's what happened there?

na mate must have been someone else, i think mine got ripped off in a tackle in the first minute!;)

Alex hills, only beat Kenmore by over a goal and i think we have them in a couple of weeks. I wonder if they start to realise when the 1's cant make the finals that the 2's will get stacked has happened before watch this space BOC?

As every club is or has been , we are hurting big time with injuries missing 8-10 genuine seniors through injuries at the moment we are very happy to have the depth to keep winning at senior level but just unfortunately means our 2's are suffering are fair bit from it . Don't u chunk brothers worry about the devils we will be all guns blazing come the business end of the season .

GO DEVILS

chunk our good friend Stanley will be all over that - definately would have prefered them to beat Kenmore in the ones - think that this week against Nambour will be very important for them.

Devil - next 3 or 4 weeks will be big in both grades shaping the 5 - cab, kings, robina and kedron are a tough run for your boys - would want to win 2/3 of them to stay in the hunt.

mugsy skips away to a handy lead with fults not playing - with 9 plus finals to go both on track to crack the 100 - dont think any comp in QLD would have have 2 goal kickers over 100 in the same year for a long time / ever.

Points.

Haha the chunk show was in full swing, I thought we agreed it would be the chunk and cho show! Couple more bags and chunks might find themselves with a little more midfield time. Ultimately team success is what we are after so if I have to play 3rd string on the damp days so be it. Number 3 seems to better suited in away games. Think there are few spots in the top 5 up for grabs in both grades now!

chunk our good friend Stanley will be all over that - definately would have prefered them to beat Kenmore in the ones - think that this week against Nambour will be very important for them.

Devil - next 3 or 4 weeks will be big in both grades shaping the 5 - cab, kings, robina and kedron are a tough run for your boys - would want to win 2/3 of them to stay in the hunt.

mugsy skips away to a handy lead with fults not playing - with 9 plus finals to go both on track to crack the 100 - dont think any comp in QLD would have have 2 goal kickers over 100 in the same year for a long time / ever.

Damn right i will be all over it !!! hahaha

Mate our seconds are kicking along alright, nothing to right home about the last 3 weeks they have somehow got the 4 points , defs got out of jail agaisnt yeronga 2 weeks back , i wouldnt like to think we are stacking the seconds though, if any proof comes to light i would like to hear it ???? i know for a fact that the seconds coach only just found 22 players on saturday so thats a mighty effort in itself.

its no secret the 1's are very dissappointed being 2-5 , they have losted a few close games and won some aswell , probley should have got over the line on saturday kicking 4.8 in the last to 3.1 or something simlar just alot of wasted shots IMO. and the week before we put in a real solid effort against Yeronga so that was pleasing , we did have one player go to hospital still unsure how he is but i would think that this is ganna weaken our seconds more again .

IMO i think we have the playing group to make the finals and i think the players themsleves still believe we can still do it , as i have previously stated we have a young side compared to alot of other clubs maybe only 2-3 players over the age of 25 , so i think the important thing is to stick together and keep improving we havea good core group of players that have got 2,3,4 seasons of senior footy under belt and we hope as a club we will see the rewards in the futrue.

Tough trip up to nambour this week, fingers crossed the boys can get up for a season defing game IMO!

Damn right i will be all over it !!! hahaha

Mate our seconds are kicking along alright, nothing to right home about the last 3 weeks they have somehow got the 4 points , defs got out of jail agaisnt yeronga 2 weeks back , i wouldnt like to think we are stacking the seconds though, if any proof comes to light i would like to hear it ???? i know for a fact that the seconds coach only just found 22 players on saturday so thats a mighty effort in itself.

its no secret the 1's are very dissappointed being 2-5 , they have losted a few close games and won some aswell , probley should have got over the line on saturday kicking 4.8 in the last to 3.1 or something simlar just alot of wasted shots IMO. and the week before we put in a real solid effort against Yeronga so that was pleasing , we did have one player go to hospital still unsure how he is but i would think that this is ganna weaken our seconds more again .

IMO i think we have the playing group to make the finals and i think the players themsleves still believe we can still do it , as i have previously stated we have a young side compared to alot of other clubs maybe only 2-3 players over the age of 25 , so i think the important thing is to stick together and keep improving we havea good core group of players that have got 2,3,4 seasons of senior footy under belt and we hope as a club we will see the rewards in the futrue.

Tough trip up to nambour this week, fingers crossed the boys can get up for a season defing game IMO!

Definately no suggestion of anything going on yet stanley but its always the envitable question when a 1s team is sturggling and the 2's are going well. Goes to show in this league you can be in games for a long time but missed shots or 5 minute lapses really cost you - thats the biggest thing we have learnt from over the last cpl of years - just cant afford it!

real important one for your boys this week - burgo still managing to get on the end of a few is a real fair effort as well!

Congrats to ur boys Stanley - keeping the season alive!

Devil u still with us? Nice mid year recruit getting angel's brother from noosa - if word on the street is correct a cpl of season ending injuries for ur boys which is pretty nasty.

Kings look to be warming up - big game kings v devils.

Caloundra 2's look to have emerged from the pack as well.

Congrats to ur boys Stanley - keeping the season alive!

Devil u still with us? Nice mid year recruit getting angel's brother from noosa - if word on the street is correct a cpl of season ending injuries for ur boys which is pretty nasty.

Kings look to be warming up - big game kings v devils.

Caloundra 2's look to have emerged from the pack as well.
Flowers gonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneeeeee i heard

2013 SEQAFL Division 2 2013