• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2013 SEQAFL Division 3

very very true swoopa - buffs makes a good point it is often the 2's boys who do it in the 1's - be interested in know at how many clubs the 1's are running water for the 2's or helping out - been a "challenge" we have faced for a while.

we probably find it harder at home games then away games tbh.

We are hopeful the numbers stick around and the boys in the 4th div team get involved earlier - be some quality water running for those games at 5 pm on a saturday given the 2's have usually started the minute the siren goes!!
Asking Ressies boys to do a job after a hard game can be like pulling teeth, and Senior boys have their own game to get ready for. Honestly it is these sort of things that just burn good people out and make it hard for a club.

I used to have flowing brunette locks and now look what the stress has done to me!

Is far better to encourage some club juniors I reckon Swoopa - pay with a pie and coke. I agree - you have to be careful how often you ask the same people to do the same jobs.

Yes this is true, however most roles require over 16years and when we are playing far from where they are logistics are a nightmare!

Swoopa,
Do you have a club accredited ref for ressies game mate? Says that if we dont we have to forfiet!!
How you travelling finding an umpire mate? I wasn't aware until after the fact that away teams need to provide one too.

Mad if you ask me but I guess you've gotta do what you've gotta do!

It's only if you are informed that one is required isn't it? Don't have to have one each week unless AFLQ contact you to let you know you need one??? Or did I miss something?

Hmmm it seems confusion is high! Perhaps someone can clarify?

Mighty thanks again for your efforts in trying to get us on last Saturday. I've checked my mailbox every day and am yet to find my WFLB!? o_O

Talk to you Secretary mate, Simon Devine sends a weekly review and umpire schedule. This week every reserve grade game requires a home and away club umpire, who must be accredited. In the document it lists clubs that have no umpires accredited and in our division they are Calamvale, Beenleigh and Coomera. Might need to get on the phone and do some sweet talking or WFLB bribery.
on closer reading it also says that Logan havent sent anyone to the course either just registered them, so looking at the draw, only one reserves game can officially go ahead this weekend, Ipy versus Roosters if the league is true to its word which I doubt.

Talk to you Secretary mate, Simon Devine sends a weekly review and umpire schedule. This week every reserve grade game requires a home and away club umpire, who must be accredited. In the document it lists clubs that have no umpires accredited and in our division they are Calamvale, Beenleigh and Coomera. Might need to get on the phone and do some sweet talking or WFLB bribery.
on closer reading it also says that Logan havent sent anyone to the course either just registered them, so looking at the draw, only one reserves game can officially go ahead this weekend, Ipy versus Roosters if the league is true to its word which I doubt.
I am of the opinion that we do have registered umpires that we use but they are not registered through our club. I may be confused but we have local people who are registered umpires that have said they will be available to us throughout the year.

Away games however may be a stretch.

Rd 3
Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ
Ipswich v Griffith
Logan v Calamvale

Seniors:
Pine Rivers by 40
Coomera
Ipswich by 20
Logan by 30

Reserves:
Pine Rivers by 30
Coomera
Ipswich by 10
Logan by 30

Yes it seems that info was sent to my old work address which I requested to have changed numerous times... So yeah have only found out today we don't have an official person qualified and as both clubs need to supply one this weekend we should forfeit???? Not sure that's fair as I sure we can find someone to do the game given I have gotten 3 days notice!!

I am of the opinion that we do have registered umpires that we use but they are not registered through our club. I may be confused but we have local people who are registered umpires that have said they will be available to us throughout the year.

Away games however may be a stretch.

My understanding is then Swoopa that you just need to register these guys with headquarters to say that they are your club umpires. Does seem harsh but what else can be done?? All clubs find TM, trainers, i/change stewards etc - its just another job I suppose albeit a thankless one at times. Can be great though for a game played in far better spirit - less blokes likely to go off there brain at a guy they appreciate is doing his best without being an official umpire week in week out. TBH, they can't be worse than some of the umpires you occasionally get. My thoughts on umpiring are pay less free kicks rather than more - reckon the players like it too.

Yes it seems that info was sent to my old work address which I requested to have changed numerous times... So yeah have only found out today we don't have an official person qualified and as both clubs need to supply one this weekend we should forfeit???? Not sure that's fair as I sure we can find someone to do the game given I have gotten 3 days notice!!

League might argue Leopard that you have been given 3 months notice I reckon...

Be interesting to see how hard the league go on this - will be watching quite closely.

Moro - female umpires are good to see - like SMY's post above from my experience some of the players seem less likely to "provide assistance" to the female umpires.

Not sure what all the fuss about making an annoucement about GAJ was - surely for 342524623452 million a year as captain with a team looking to build membership in an identified growing region from AFL that community ambassador for both junior and senior footy was already part of his role?

Just spoke to Simon Divine at AFLQ re: Umpires. Very, very helpful.

If anyone has any concerns PM me and I'll walk you through what I was told. I believe an email will be sent out soon.

Was it along the lines of "just find anyone who has a half decent knowledge of the rules (and only half will be necessary) and can run out a full game" This usually seems to be the basic prerequisites. :)

Rd 3
Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ
Ipswich v Griffith
Logan v Calamvale

Seniors:
Pine Rivers by 40
Coomera
Ipswich by 20
Logan by 30

Reserves:
Pine Rivers by 30
Coomera
Ipswich by 10
Logan by 30

Beenleigh by 30
Coomera by 100
Logan by 20
Moorooka by 15
Carrara to carry on there winning ways

Carrara undefeated by the end of Rd 3!

How's the ground looking lads? Can confirm that ANZAC DAY is a no go Ron.

Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ
Ipswich v Griffith
Logan v Calamvale

Buffs in a tight one (obvious bias)
Coomera by 142 points
Roosters by 30 points
Calamvale by 7 points in a nail biter
Carrara to still be annoying

Beenleigh v Pine Rivers - Swans by 10points
Coomera v UQ - Coomera by 75 points
Ipswich v Griffith - Ipswich by 30 points
Logan v Calamvale - Logan by 20 points

Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ
Ipswich v Griffith
Logan v Calamvale
1s
Buffs
Coomera
Ippy
Logan

2s
Buffs
UQ
Ippy
Logan

Seniors
Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ Red Lions
Ipswich v Griffith Moorooka
Logan v Calamvale

Reserves
Beenleigh v Pine Rivers
Coomera v UQ Red Lions
Ipswich v Griffith Moorooka
Logan v Calamvale

Carrara undefeated by the end of Rd 3!

How's the ground looking lads? Can confirm that ANZAC DAY is a no go Ron.
Ground is in perfect condition and 16s playing on it tonight. So much for the council closing it for the whole week!!

Good news! We look forward to gracing it for the first time next week!

Make sure you visit our canteen while you're having a look tomorrow mate ;)

2013 SEQAFL Division 3