2014 QFA Southern Conference

Footy 1st - fair post but corresponding round of seqafl last year returned results of a 60,115,140,130 and 80
point win so not sure whether u
think last year was more even
then this year, but stats don't
support it.
True last year's comp saw some hefty margins but I just had a quick look at the first half a dozen rounds and there were many results that indicated a tighter comp...the consistent exceptions were Robina's big scores & Wynnum's scoreboard struggle.
True it's only early in the comp's life & don't get me wrong (Swoopa) but I though the divisional format was a great...I still, & have said before, the travel issue should've been addressed at a lower level: the top 5 sides from North & South could be a strong comp - travel at a good standard is part of the commitment level these club regulary produce while the lower teams from each comp merged with the QAFA (A) & split North & South would produce great footy, less travel at a "less professional" level. It's not gonna change and good to see most clubs getting on with it...I really look forward to some closer results

All very good points footy.

Fwiw feedback from our boys is that the standard and intensity is a lot better then last year. I think the results actually show that - u drop off for 5-10 minutes here and u get put to the sword. As I said after the coomera game it definitely didn't seem like a 100 point win watching general play.

I still think you will finish with a pretty competitive top 5 - pumas, Burleigh, kenmore, yeronga and hopefully us if we don't drop to many more.

I've never played in a "super comp" where all teams were even - every comp regardless of how many teams has been lopsided to some degree.

I think we just need to accept the reality that clubs go through highs and lows and u will never have a truly even comp.

Afl has 18 teams and realistically the gap between those in the 8 and those outside is as vast as it's ever been.

Glad to hear the standard is so good & I reckon ur spot on about the team lapses proving costly, 4 or 5 goals in a patch can make a good win a great win!
You lost me with Super Comps & comparisons with the AFL though mate

Haha point being I think the quest for a comp where all teams are relatively even is a fantasy and will never be a reality - particularly in an amatuer environment when it can't be perfected in a professional one such as the afl.

Interesting league this one, Kenmore recruited very well from their neighbours to be a competitive outfit - would have been left for dead with their side form last year in this comp.

Yeronga again stars on paper, but never produce anything when it counts unfortunately. They should be better than they are, given who they have running around for them.

Can't understand why Springwood are in this league after finishing top of the table in Div 1 last year. Giving a strong Robina side a hiding on the weekend points to a fairly dominant outfit, given Robina are arguably even stronger than last year.

Coorparoo are the strange one. Might be like other seasons when they take a while to get going with a bit of a premiership hangover? The 100 point win in the GF last year as a huge boilover, I was at that game and Robina were pathetic after going in as favourites. Just 100% non competitive.

Alex Hills in the wrong division it seems, but can't be helped. Noticed a few of their boys are running around in QAFA B for Wynnum and Woodsmen.

Interesting post qafl fan.

Have u been to many games this year out of curiosity?

Lenny correct me if I'm wrong but springwood didn't apply for the higher league due to league costs and opted to consolidate there position after what's been a pretty tough 5/6 year period for them.

The kings have won 3 in a row - u might just find that was enough for some likes to put the cue in the rack (that's what the other teams are hoping!)

Who in particular do u feel is underperforming at yeronga - I think the opposite that given the outs from last years team they are building nicely.

We have played average football the last month and results show.

Still a lot if footy left in this comp and wouldn't think aflq had springwoods name engraved on either cups just yet!

this probably summarises it best - it's on our website so in the public domain

The club submitted an application for this competition which included audited financial statements, budgets, strategic club development plan and a response to specific questions addressing areas of club governance, finance, brand/culture, performance, facilities and strategic plan.

On Tuesday of this week we were interviewed by a panel convened by AFLQ. During this interview we were able to put questions to the panel and they were forthright in their answers including areas where decisions had not yet been reached.
During this process it became apparent that we did not have the required information to determine what financial impact entering the QAFL would have on our club. As a result our application was withdrawn.

Whilst we acknowledge that some will see this as a back ward step the Board makes no apologies for withdrawing this application as our first responsibility is to provide sound governance and to ensure the longevity of our club.

The Springwood Australian Football Club has prided itself for many years now that it is one club, no single team or player more important than any other and this decision has been made with the welfare of the entire club in mind.

long way to go in both grades, they don't give out finals spots let alone cups in may

Interesting post qafl fan.

Have u been to many games this year out of curiosity?

Lenny correct me if I'm wrong but springwood didn't apply for the higher league due to league costs and opted to consolidate there position after what's been a pretty tough 5/6 year period for them.

The kings have won 3 in a row - u might just find that was enough for some likes to put the cue in the rack (that's what the other teams are hoping!)

Who in particular do u feel is underperforming at yeronga - I think the opposite that given the outs from last years team they are building nicely.

We have played average football the last month and results show.

Still a lot if footy left in this comp and wouldn't think aflq had springwoods name engraved on either cups just yet!

Hi mate.

Didn't realise Yeronga has heaps of blokes who left from last year. My assumption was that the side they had on paper last season should have been as good as Robina and Coorparoo and if they maintained that side, they should improve this year.

Only been to a few games in this league so far. Springwood look a good side, and Kenmore will keep improving.

Thought Robina would go closer to Springwood on the weekend, as I felt they would be the best challenger.

Agree its only May!

All good mate just interested in your opinion.

Yeah yeronga without notting, duke and mugsy is a fair experience void to fill and I'm sure there are others not there as well.

Our aim this year is to make finals and have a healthy list - possibly last year we put to much on the line to finish top and well we all know how that played out!!

Lenny - thanks for that. So reading between the lines aflq asked clubs to commit to something 100% that at the time they themselves didn't have 100% of the info on.... Hmmmm imagine that lol

OH wow, had no idea Mugavin, Possum AND Duke had all left. I was working on the assumption that all 3 are playing for Yeronga, hence my post!

Thats 3 huge outs, potentially making the Devils a 5-6 goal lesser side at least.

They are fielding a strong thirds side and have a good club up there, doubt it is worrying them too much
I attended a night game with Sandgate 3rds playing: agree totally re: strong side & if the club $$ are linked to footy $$ (not player payments, but for lights & gear etc) then I see them able to develop nicely. 1st year up, competitive would be a great result. Senior Coach is a hard task master (pronounced like Tony Greig) but if the players buy in, then I would expect a good fit (Northside) in their comp.

This restructure has been well executed & perfectly planned! 3 results under 5 goals & 1 by under 7 majors...maybe Springwood is the exception...

I would like to thank the umpires from the Robina v comera
You almost evened the game up rocket time to retire mate
Just because they are the wooden spooners
Does not mean you have to cheat and try to even
The game up
Last quarter
Comera 14 free kicks
Robina 3

2014 QFA Southern Conference