2014 QFA Southern Conference

Maybe he wasn't stacking up in his AFL development role and they didn't continue with him after the garce period?? The thing is his life hasn't been about 1 big mistake - its been a number of incidents which sort of lends to the fact that he will find it difficult to change. First step (that could go for many blokes imo) is to give up the drink.

Is anyone close enough to know if he was going to or had moved up to qld? Personally think it would unsettle a group a bloke just turning up on a sat morning from Vic.

Smy - appreciate robina have come up a number of grades the last 4 years but think the idea of a bloke or collectively a team getting off the drink for a month or a season or ever is about as far fetched as u could possible get - not personally saying i don't agree - but I know we recieve "gentle encouragement" to keep the fridge stock turning over at home games with regular frequency!!

So anyone brave enough to make a wild prediction for the year outside the mighty Vikings taking out the central div.... I'm going to say wise will be the best player in the comp, coomera and cooli to really struggle and I'm going for the revenge teams to play off the granny springwood vs robina

Now now Shaq no need to write us off early! Don't forget every home game we get to have the other team distracted by the screams from the Tower of Terror. Not the best when you're lining up for a shot! ;)

The only reason I made that prediction is historical teams that go up a div have a tough first year.... Even the great nambour side which all mates were talking up found it a bit harder then they thought last season.

I agree- we certainly aren't under any disillusion that the level will be the same. All the boys are ready to step up and challenge themselves.

As a group we are pumped to get the season started, and begin blooding the future of the club.

So anyone brave enough to make a wild prediction for the year outside the mighty Vikings taking out the central div.... I'm going to say wise will be the best player in the comp, coomera and cooli to really struggle and I'm going for the revenge teams to play off the granny springwood vs robina

Last year Coolangatta was backed to lose the first game on here against Burleigh by 100 points and we came out and beat them by 86 points.
This prediction you have made about Cooly really struggling is proof you have no idea of our list and our pre season. We will prove this round 1 against Robina.

I wouldn't take too much notice of predictions from a bloke from wynnum. Can't help but see the irony in him saying sides will struggle haha

Borto we are definitely looking forward to it - looking forward to the number of local clashes this year with burleigh and cooly.

Knowing dougie I'm sure he's put a quality list together.

I wouldn't take too much notice of predictions from a bloke from wynnum. Can't help but see the irony in him saying sides will struggle haha

Borto we are definitely looking forward to it - looking forward to the number of local clashes this year with burleigh and cooly.

Knowing dougie I'm sure he's put a quality list together.
Don't forget lonely ol' Coomera up here. We are still part of the Gold Coast (we really like to make that distinction from Logan!).

Not sure how many of my old Cooli team mates are running around still, but looking forward to playing on Len Peak Oval again.

Don't forget lonely ol' Coomera up here. We are still part of the Gold Coast (we really like to make that distinction from Logan!).

Not sure how many of my old Cooli team mates are running around still, but looking forward to playing on Len Peak Oval again.
Haha swoopa I think certain comments made by ur full forward will ensure no one at robina forgets about coomera!!

You mean Coomera next to Upper Kiwi? and Coomera is technically Lower Kiwi lol

Last year Coolangatta was backed to lose the first game on here against Burleigh by 100 points and we came out and beat them by 86 points.
This prediction you have made about Cooly really struggling is proof you have no idea of our list and our pre season. We will prove this round 1 against Robina.
So Borto you have recruited well and are going to finish in the top two this year and play off in a grand final? But in all seriousnesss how has pre-season been for you lads? Getting some good numbers down at Cooly? Did you have a few from Palm Beach come across so they didnt have to play in the top league? Everyone's list changes so much you dont really know until after June 30 with the cut off etc.

We have a core group of players that have stuck around and good young kids we have faith in. We will be right to go round 1 and looking forward to it.

Swoopa I heard a rumour u boys actually do the haka before each game hahaha

Mate will potentially be plenty of hugging in that game - most likely of certain team mates also known as restraining haha.
One of the pleasures of playing in the magoos is offering friendly advice over the fence in such situations. I'm sure the bar will get quite a work out that week. Some say the crowd will be bigger at Dales Oval than at the Titans game that week!

Just hoping we can find a nice place to dig a hangi and enjoy a few cold Tui's near the fence.

2014 Ladder predictions

1. Burleigh
2. Springwood
3 Cooparoo
4. Coolangatta
5. Robina
6. yeronga
7. coomera
8. Alex Hills
9. Kenmore

Will be a very even comp ! On paper Burleigh and springwood are the clear stand outs , it is hard trying to do at ladder when you don't know the ins and outs at each club , it would be good to have one poster from each club , I reckon if your reading this thread and no one has posted from your club then then join up !!

Stanley - Alex
BOC - Robina

Who else is on here

No love for your beloved alex hills?

Just on Alex Hills, any new players? Not sure on the calibre of the individuals, but with a dozen guys going to Logan their depth may be tested?

Footy 1st in regards to your comment I will say no , because all the blokes that left wouldn't have played senior footy anyway , age , skill level and a few attitude problems in that bunch , depth wise I think we are nearly on Par with our 2009 Group , after picking up 6-10'players from redlands mainly young players as well , that for into a young group already , our list is in great shape , can't complain no doubt , not writing my team/club off , however , i do think with the new comp , games are ganna be harder to win, you look at the draw , there's not one week where you can say you have an easy 4 points , my ladder prediction could be a fair way from correct come September, but based on what facts I know , that's what I am going with. Still wouldn't be surprised if kings go 4 in a row , they don't get their full side on the track until round 12 anyway .

On Alex hills as a club with the restructuring new coach Andrew woods has done some great things with the group over the last 16 weeks. Lots of extras and different tasks set for the blokes to aim high and raise the bar!

We have structures set in place, good game plan , great captains & leadership group , and the fact that players are buying in to a set of values and goals is a great sign , hopefuly our club can be competitive on the field in 2014!

Stanley pretty honest assessment there and completely agree about the comp - looks very even.

Personally I know we have always found Alex a tough trip - be it the ground, the putrid wind that blows or the way Burgo has absolutely ripped us apart a cpl of times haha

We went through something similar between 2012 to 2013 with a few blokes moving on and a new coach and it's improved the culture incredibly and as a result blokes want to come to the club to play - amazing what blokes enjoying training together and having a beer afterwards can do for ur recruitment / retention.

Really looking forward to seeing how springwood, cooly and burleigh go as well as how coomera handle the step up.

Kenmore sound like they have a new crew in there with corrie, yeronga will be filthy how last year played out and kings will be going for back to back to back to back ( f*ck that chant still haunts me)!!

2014 QFA Southern Conference