2015 QAFA (B) Central

Zillmere to get the chocolates Friday night i reckon.
Good ol woodies running out of puff when it counts.
Goodluck to both.
You really, really have something against that Woodsmen side don't you. You constantly tipped against them last year and they didn't lose a game. Where does the grudge stem from ??

I would suggest it will come from the following names:

Burton
Mihaloplous
Fitzgibbon
Morrison
Curtis
Guise

If I was a betting man, I'd probably lean to Fitzgibbon - but there was a surprise last year, and there could be again.

I'd say Watson too, but he just never gets any votes despite consistently being in the best handful in the comp every year.

You really, really have something against that Woodsmen side don't you. You constantly tipped against them last year and they didn't lose a game. Where does the grudge stem from ??
Nah not at all mate, I know a few of the older heads well and they are a great bunch of blokes. I just know its a matter of time before their run comes to an end. Its pretty hard to cop their injuries this year and have the firepower to replace. Kudos so far. I hope most of them stick around and keep playing.

Nothing wrong with the surface at Kedron. Lights, well it's done now and they aint cheap. Maybe AFLQ can throw $$$ Kedron's way to assist with an upgrade
Coorparoo or Yeronga would have been the better options but not sure if they were available. Maybe Sandgate?

Really hope it drys out as playing wet weather footy in the dark ain't a lot of fun.

I hate to jump in this late in the season but as an outsider to all the clubs in this comp I must say you blokes are very passionate and dear god you can throw some banter!

Having been down to Kedron on Friday night I have to say there is nothing wrong with the lights. I watched a couple of youth games there under lights, as well as the game on Friday and the lighting is more than good enough to play footy under. And despite what QAFL_Fan might spout they are considerably better than the lights on offer at Mayne, which are useless at lighting up the ground on the far wing where you could park a bright yellow car and lose it, not much hope for a footy.

Beyond that this is a really interesting comp and I hope AFLQ can get there house in order because as was discussed earlier in this thread some of the teams in this comp are well and truly at a QAFA (A) standard and from what I've seen that's as good as if not better than a few of the QFA North reserves. You blokes shouldn't be left till last because you want to play on a Friday night and AFLQ would do well to remember its about the footy not them..

That little rant aside I'm backing the Woodsmen to get up tomorrow night, they might have been caught out by Kedron's run last week but I'm backing those old heads to steer past Zilllmere in a close one. And Burton for the B&F.

There's no doubt it will be wet and slippey tonite. This can bring both teams back to an even level.
Will the key forwards get the delivery they need.
Both woodsman and zillmere have big targets up front who play well in the air.
Woodsman midfield is strong and I think that's were zillmere will have to stand up.
Woodsman are a big strong side with excellent skills to match. Will the heavy conditions suit their style of play.
Zillmere have plenty of young lads and wet footy should suit them. Plenty of the pill will be contested in tight and thier style of play definitely suits the conditions.
They belt the footy forward and roll the dice.
Can zillmere win enough of the hard ball against much bigger bodies.
This in my opinion is where the game will be decided.
Will be a hard night for both teams which makes every goal crucial.
Well just open for a bit of banter but I'm tipping woodsman to be in front at the end.

There's no doubt it will be wet and slippey tonite. This can bring both teams back to an even level.
Will the key forwards get the delivery they need.
Both woodsman and zillmere have big targets up front who play well in the air.
Woodsman midfield is strong and I think that's were zillmere will have to stand up.
Woodsman are a big strong side with excellent skills to match. Will the heavy conditions suit their style of play.
Zillmere have plenty of young lads and wet footy should suit them. Plenty of the pill will be contested in tight and thier style of play definitely suits the conditions.
They belt the footy forward and roll the dice.
Can zillmere win enough of the hard ball against much bigger bodies.
This in my opinion is where the game will be decided.
Will be a hard night for both teams which makes every goal crucial.
Well just open for a bit of banter but I'm tipping woodsman to be in front at the end.

So from reading the above.. - Just to summarise lol Zillmere need to step up against the bigger bodies... esp in the midfield

Too right mate if they don't its all over rose put on your clothes.
You know you've been in a game when you play woodsman. Plenty of lads are sore after that game.

Love a wet night. The Thommo train will be leaving the station early and may sneak into the middle :)
Have you convinced the coach on that yet. Good luck and kick straight mate.
Where are all the other experts opinions on this game.
This thread should be going off its head.

Is all this wet weather talk a ploy?? It hasn't rained much and the weather forecast on my app says clear skies ahead for this afternoon/evening. I would suggest that tall players with good hands will go alright...

Have you convinced the coach on that yet. Good luck and kick straight mate.
Where are all the other experts opinions on this game.
This thread should be going off its head.

Sorry just talking to Gerrad Daffy on the latest market odds for the game. ;)

Too hard to split for mine. Don't think the weather will come into it, might be a bit of dew but it won't be raining tonight. And hasn't rainined enough to bog the ground up.

I'm obviously going for the Woodsmen, just........

The Thommo train.....? Now there's an interesting concept........

Is all this wet weather talk a ploy?? It hasn't rained much and the weather forecast on my app says clear skies ahead for this afternoon/evening. I would suggest that tall players with good hands will go alright...
Might be clear skys but it will be wet ground and heavy in patches.

get the super sopper out champ, you want to host a final - you need to present a good surface!

ErnieD, no tall players with good hands on either team that I'm aware of... ha

get the super sopper out champ, you want to host a final - you need to present a good surface!

ErnieD, no tall players with good hands on either team that I'm aware of... ha
Was not our call to host this game mate. I don't do ground maintenance just work with what I have.

Good news lads I have done a ground inspection.
Managed to get the sheep rounded up and back into a new paddock.
Apart from the sinkhole on the wing and the cracked and leaking drain pipe.
All will be good to go.
The supporters on the hill will be asked to put thier lights on. Should solve that problem.
Just have to make sure we have jumper leads for those with shit batteries.
The beer will be cold and the BBQ after the game will serving up one of the unlucky beasts.
So head on down and enjoy your footy.

Sounds like the ground must have been watered if it is wet and heavy in patches. From the commentary given in the posts, it would make more sense to water during the dry spell!!! My pick for tonight Woodsmen.

It was discussed last week how good(bad) the drainage is at Kedron. Combined with the game that was played last week with rain around and Kedron no doubt training on it this week with a few days of rain, the ground is going to be far from perfect. Will need a wet weather footy approach I would reckon !!

2015 QAFA (B) Central