• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2015 QAFL

Unreal, my Broady have inflicted Labradors first defeat this season....... unreal effort by the boys right from the opening bounce. Talk about intensity at the pill and unreal tackling pressure.

Comp has evened out this year again. Anyone can win on their day. I think the race is open for the flag. Going to be a ripper of a finals series whatever the final shape of the 5 will be

Going to be a cracking game today, sure our boys will bounce back after last week. Agree Dezario anyone in top 4 can win it, although Labrador at Full strength will be hard to stop, which obviously they weren't yesterday.

Gee a few of u blokes have changed your tune from start of year. It was always going to even out, the panthers were not going to be dominant as time went on bc the best young blokes stay with their own qafl club or playing NEAFL now. Not a lot of patience on this forum! The qafl is a very good comp, albeit for a couple of sides struggling along.

Going to be a cracking game today, sure our boys will bounce back after last week. Agree Dezario anyone in top 4 can win it, although Labrador at Full strength will be hard to stop, which obviously they weren't yesterday.

Bungles, yes Labrador were not at full strength, no Fraser, Lappin and apparently two or three others. But, so were Broady, with one good regular player out, and we did not have any of our players that usually play for Southport. ( Shreeve, Mckenzie, Burton, Hancock, and Brennan.) For most games this season we have had one or two of these guys in our team.
We have our ressies in the top five, with some good youngsters there, and our Colts are in the top 3, with some great young kids.....; All is looking good with the club concentrating on the local boys and not paying out big bucks in match payments for recruits, ( which we cant afford to anyway.)

Gee a few of u blokes have changed your tune from start of year. It was always going to even out, the panthers were not going to be dominant as time went on bc the best young blokes stay with their own qafl club or playing NEAFL now. Not a lot of patience on this forum! The qafl is a very good comp, albeit for a couple of sides struggling along.

Smy, haha, very true. I feel the comps at all levels from QAFL down have evened out a lot more. This was the blueprint plan for Michael Conlan and AFLQ. I therefore give credit to Conlan and his team. Must say, Ive been at many games at both NEAFL and QAFL this season, and on so many of these weekends Ive seen Conlan there as well. Ive spoken to him in depth on a number of occasions and I tell you, the guy knows whats required to grow Aussie rules footy in QLD.!!!( Also the impact of women playing Aussie rules is huge, something I was negative to )

Tipping Round 12

QAFL_Fan (3) 47
Lifes a Beach1 (2) 44
Stuyd1 (3) 44
swamp13 (4) 44
Live Baiting (3) 43
Chikka Ferguson (2) 42
Dezario (2) 42
Magpieboy (2) 42
Footymaad (3) 40
Thunderdoc (*2) 36
Spooner21 (3) 35

Best this round was swamp13 with 4 and a pretty ordinary round otherwise,*Thunderdoc got away teams for a no show. interesting part of the season where sides are at different levels of motivation depending where they are in respect of finals and the grind of the season takes effect.More upsets and blowouts coming I suspect.Have a great week everyone.

, the guy knows whats required to grow Aussie rules footy in QLD

Can he let the QAFL organisation know his thoughts then , as despite a continued rise in Juniors numbers, the number of Youth players and then also Seniors is not growing in the same way. Retention of the little Auskickers right through to seniors needs to be the goal, and as of yet I haven't seen any plans for making this happen.

Unreal, my Broady have inflicted Labradors first defeat this season....... unreal effort by the boys right from the opening bounce. Talk about intensity at the pill and unreal tackling pressure.
Study1 I also went along and watched this game full credit to broadbeach played with real intent must say though I have not seen Labrador kick that bad all year Baxter was well held by Mathew Dillon perry-bolt let himself down with his shots on goal by thought his marking and leading was great Matt Daniel was quiet but Broady run and carry out of the back line was good Brett Andrews would have been happy after the game

I was there and they where great, hard at the footy and our skill work was the best I've seen all year. Pantic was best on ground im my eyes, and yes I know Labrador had a lot out, I counted 7, but we all get injuries and you can only play with what you put out there.

Fraser and Lappin apparently won't play another H&A game this year due to scheduling conflicts, so the return bouts with Gorillas and Panthers in particular should be interesting.

Pies must be happy they've seen them twice already and Fraser kicked a lazy 10 on them!

Smy, haha, very true. I feel the comps at all levels from QAFL down have evened out a lot more. This was the blueprint plan for Michael Conlan and AFLQ. I therefore give credit to Conlan and his team. Must say, Ive been at many games at both NEAFL and QAFL this season, and on so many of these weekends Ive seen Conlan there as well. Ive spoken to him in depth on a number of occasions and I tell you, the guy knows whats required to grow Aussie rules footy in QLD.!!!( Also the impact of women playing Aussie rules is huge, something I was negative to )

Well at least you are big enough to admit an initial incorrect assessment Stuy - not sure a few others will be as gracious. I agree as well - he was at last years GF's, also the year prior the PHC GF where he was setting stuff up - quite happy to get hands dirty.

Raz - I'm not sure of retention numbers vs other states vs other codes but would suggest AFL in this state is going okay...
Just bc you have an uner 12's side does not mean you will have a Colts side in 7 years time and nor should it - crap coaches in between, teenagers finding various other things to life, school, PT work just to name a few obstacles. Considering we need to get 36 players minimum to rock up to a game to get it done vs say 22 for soccer or 26 for RL then i think we go okay with the number of Colts teams in this corner of SEQ. Considering there are comps in Melb that are struggling to stay afloat at this age group then i think there must be something going at least alright...

It was a ripper game - even without some of there better players I thought we were long odds. Mconnochie and Pantic are shining at the moment - great win. Finals still a slim chance.

Not sure I agree with the evening out bit - Still think it will be absolutely miles between the top two and rest of comp. Major injuries would be the only sticking point. Pretty even after that until the bottom 2.

Nice to hear some positive talk about AFLQ and in particular the CEO. Thought most clubland people and even most employees apparently don't share the same warmth.

Well at least you are big enough to admit an initial incorrect assessment Stuy - not sure a few others will be as gracious. I agree as well - he was at last years GF's, also the year prior the PHC GF where he was setting stuff up - quite happy to get hands dirty.

Raz - I'm not sure of retention numbers vs other states vs other codes but would suggest AFL in this state is going okay...
Just bc you have an uner 12's side does not mean you will have a Colts side in 7 years time and nor should it - crap coaches in between, teenagers finding various other things to life, school, PT work just to name a few obstacles. Considering we need to get 36 players minimum to rock up to a game to get it done vs say 22 for soccer or 26 for RL then i think we go okay with the number of Colts teams in this corner of SEQ. Considering there are comps in Melb that are struggling to stay afloat at this age group then i think there must be something going at least alright...
What are these comps in Melbourne you speak of ? And whilst on the topic, I was at a Nepean fl u16 match yesterday, played in atrocious conditions, 2 inches of water across vast patches of the ground ( as it was the wettest July day since 1990 in Melbourne ) and when I commented that it would have been cancelled in qld, I was laughed at by all within earshot. There is no comparison between footy up there and footy down here at any level.

Yep your right one U12 team will rarely lead to a Colts team and hence a Senior team, it is the pyramid you need to build. Many Under 8s feeding into U9s, to U10s, right through to multiple teams in U12 to U16s.

The crap coaches is an issue AFLQ needs to deal with by providing training, mentoring and guidance. Each club needs to get in place a Coaches Coordinator and set in place training to at least Level 2 for all coaches.

Coaches should be assessed regularly by AFLQ to establish a minimum level and then offer further training for them. Having coached Junior football for over 15 years I would have loved to have an AFLQ person come up to after a match and give feed back . I know they cant be everywhere, but in that time would have been nice to get some feedback.

It is a long path to get Aussie Rules into a dominant position in this state, but starts at grass roots. Building the junior clubs, encouraging clubs to be feeder clubs to older age groups. Keeping the kids and their families interested.

Fraser and Lappin apparently won't play another H&A game this year due to scheduling conflicts, so the return bouts with Gorillas and Panthers in particular should be interesting.

Pies must be happy they've seen them twice already and Fraser kicked a lazy 10 on them!

QAFL I was told on Saturday Fraser and Lappin will play Sunday against surfers and then last game of the year.Ryan Davey Tom Daniel Brett Davis and Turner will all be back after the bye. I heard a rumour clarke has done his knee and may not be back at all...

Comp - Labrador then daylight ! Grange and Magpies have no depth, Fraser and Davey will be there for the big games, which will be Major semi at home and GF. Mind you I am running last in the tipping competition !!

What are these comps in Melbourne you speak of ? And whilst on the topic, I was at a Nepean fl u16 match yesterday, played in atrocious conditions, 2 inches of water across vast patches of the ground ( as it was the wettest July day since 1990 in Melbourne ) and when I commented that it would have been cancelled in qld, I was laughed at by all within earshot. There is no comparison between footy up there and footy down here at any level.

Haven't you heard mate, Melbourne don't get enough rain down there for it to ever be a problem !!!

People in Queensland really don't get it !!!

Haven't you heard mate, Melbourne don't get enough rain down there for it to ever be a problem !!!

People in Queensland really don't get it !!!

Feel free to go back down to Melbourne anytime Peanut... I'm sure most on big footy would be happy to not hear your opinions so regularly on these forums!

Your one the other day about QAFA 'B' central teams beating qafl reserves took the cake for me!

Feel free to go back down to Melbourne anytime Peanut... I'm sure most on big footy would be happy to not hear your opinions so regularly on these forums!

Your one the other day about QAFA 'B' central teams beating qafl reserves took the cake for me!
excited-baby.gif

Even in Melbourne he can still post on these forums, and a good thing, good to see diverse opinions and causing discussion, we don't need to all agree.

2015 QAFL