2016 Pre-Season (All news, press conferences, training reports, Photos)

So I popped along today for what was the last training session for the boys before the Christmas break. I thought I'd share a few quick observations that I've noticed either today alone, or as a whole over the half a dozen or so sessions that I've been along to. These are primarily about the newer/fringe players:

Mathieson: Just a natural footballer and uses it pretty well on both feet
Claye Beams: I really hope he gets a good crack at it, he's probably close to our best user of the footy by foot, and that's an area we need to improve
Cutler: Looks incredibly fit
Schache: I wandered over to the back oval today and saw this guy on the far side of the oval really striding out and looking like a fantastic runner, when he came around I bit closer, I realised it was Josh. A really natural, graceful runner, which can only be good for covering the ground
Hammelmann: Has filled out nicely. Still has some work to do in that regard, but looks like he could at least compete with men now.
Paine: was out of the moonboot and was running laps freely on the back oval today
Dawson: Didn't see him running, but was walking with a slight limp and appeared to hold his groin. May have been nothing.
Jansen: noticed this a few times and again today - when he gets a hold of someone, there's no brushing him off, they are gone. A really strong boy and a good tackler
Archie: No longer looks like a fish out of water when out there. Skills have improved, but more importantly looks a lot more comfortable and natural out there. Still a long way to go, but I think he's at least some chance now. Fitness still needs a lot of work.

And just from today in general, there was a heap of voice out on the track and a really positive "team" feel about the whole session with lots of cheering and yelling when one of the boys kicked a goal or did something well. And as hoped/expected the skills have improved HEAPS from some of the earlier sessions.

Anyway, that's about it off the top of my head, Merry Christmas all

So I popped along today for what was the last training session for the boys before the Christmas break. I thought I'd share a few quick observations that I've noticed either today alone, or as a whole over the half a dozen or so sessions that I've been along to. These are primarily about the newer/fringe players:

Mathieson: Just a natural footballer and uses it pretty well on both feet
Claye Beams: I really hope he gets a good crack at it, he's probably close to our best user of the footy by foot, and that's an area we need to improve
Cutler: Looks incredibly fit
Schache: I wandered over to the back oval today and saw this guy on the far side of the oval really striding out and looking like a fantastic runner, when he came around I bit closer, I realised it was Josh. A really natural, graceful runner, which can only be good for covering the ground
Hammelmann: Has filled out nicely. Still has some work to do in that regard, but looks like he could at least compete with men now.
Paine: was out of the moonboot and was running laps freely on the back oval today
Dawson: Didn't see him running, but was walking with a slight limp and appeared to hold his groin. May have been nothing.
Jansen: noticed this a few times and again today - when he gets a hold of someone, there's no brushing him off, they are gone. A really strong boy and a good tackler
Archie: No longer looks like a fish out of water when out there. Skills have improved, but more importantly looks a lot more comfortable and natural out there. Still a long way to go, but I think he's at least some chance now. Fitness still needs a lot of work.

And just from today in general, there was a heap of voice out on the track and a really positive "team" feel about the whole session with lots of cheering and yelling when one of the boys kicked a goal or did something well. And as hoped/expected the skills have improved HEAPS from some of the earlier sessions.

Anyway, that's about it off the top of my head, Merry Christmas all
Great observations Dizz...thanks ,please keep up the good work.

Just curious, a lot of you seem to be happy that Burton is gone and that he is the cause of all your injury woes in years gone by but if he was so bad, how did he manage to get a job at Adelaide so quickly? clearly the playing link is there but you would think that Adelaide (a much larger club) would go nowhere near him if he is as bad as some of you make out.

I'm not going to laugh at any of the stupid jokes you attempt when we cross to WA after your performance on this board.

You bring up a point that was discussed here when Burton landed that job at Adelaide:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/non-lions-footy-discussion.1062472/page-402#post-41188992

Yours is the only troll account based upon a semi-famous moron where the endless stream of attempted provocation and 'humour' makes me feel sorry for the semi-famous moron.

When you're making me feel sorry for Basil Zempilas you know you're doing a great many things wrong.

Congrats.

Find some numbers that show that he's good at his job. Injuries, running times, last quarters won, whatever. I know luck has some bearing on things, but Brisbane lost something like 240 games to injury this year when the league average is 90.

That's 90 AVERAGE! - so that presumably means there were clubs that only lost 60-70 games to injury. Even allowing for young bodies and bad luck, that is waaaaaay worse than GWS or the Dogs with comparable age profiles.

Also it's been clear that blokes arriving from other clubs programs - Bell, Bastinac, Robinson etc - have all been at the front of the running from day 1. The other good runners are the kids that arrived at the club as great runners. Nick Robertson and Paparone were winning the running the day they arrived as 18yos.

Adelaide's fitness guy got poached by Rugby union so they needed someone. He's a favourite son at Adelaide and good luck to him, but I challenge you to point out where he's demonstrated he knows WTF he's doing.

Great set of photos Rip.

Gee, Rog looks as fit and cut as I've ever seen him. Not bad for an old bloke!
yes. been to training a few times, to me a lot of them look leaner and more defined (damian austin?). austin said they are running more this off season, anywhere between 8 to 13 k's per session.

Great pics Rip, very excited about Allen Christensen being fit and training hard. He is an absolute elite talent and had little to no pre season last year and he was one of our best. He is my early favourite for the B and F in 2016.

I reckon the boys are doing great this offseason, putting on a bit of muscle and increasin fitness. We looked so small compared to teams like Fremantle, Geelong, Sydney and Hawthorn. But geez, Harris Andrews still looks like a pile of sticks

Scratch that last post. Checked those photos again and in this photo:
image.jpg
Just in the background looks like he's packed quite a bit of muscle

2016 Pre-Season (All news, press conferences, training reports, Photos)