• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2016 QAFA B Central

So the needs of one club, is greater than the fairness of an entire comp? Woodsmen didn't have lights one year, same as UQ I believe. They organised to have every home game played at moorooka to ensure they stayed a Friday night club. In a Friday night comp. they did this until lights were upgraded and they could play at home. Don't think either were "financially crippled".

It sounds like have their lights upgraded now almost any way. So won't be an issue next year.

I actually think they will go close to winning the comp, and good luck to them.
Don't fully agree with the Saturday games, however when Woodsmen and UQ had no lights they had no choice but to find a different ground as their higher division teams already play on their ground on the Saturday. Redbacks don't have a higher team so it fits in, just like Kedron last year.

So the needs of one club, is greater than the fairness of an entire comp? Woodsmen didn't have lights one year, same as UQ I believe. They organised to have every home game played at moorooka to ensure they stayed a Friday night club. In a Friday night comp. they did this until lights were upgraded and they could play at home. Don't think either were "financially crippled".

It sounds like have their lights upgraded now almost any way. So won't be an issue next year.

I actually think they will go close to winning the comp, and good luck to them.
You're talking about teams that have 2-4 teams above their "fifths" thus that doesn't actually effect their revenue in the slightest.

Jimboomba have played Saturday's at home ever since I've known it, so until you convince someone to pay to have the lights upgraded why should it change?

Financially restricting a club is certainly the unfair option.

It seems the Redbacks get the job done under lights so I highly doubt this is an underhanded strategy.

If there lights were to standard your argument is just.

Thanks major! We have been working hard on our structures since frase has been coach. Our young fellas really stood up last night which we hope they keep doing in the finals. How is the ankle going mate? Still plenty to work on but we are happy with our first round of finals. And congrats to colly park for making finals. First time in a while is my understanding. So well done!

Ankle is okay abit ginger coaches didn't want me going back out but the captain goes down with his ship. If you blokes keep those structures in place you'll be very hard to beat. Cheers mate good luck with the rest of your campaign.

These 'structures' must really be something. Perhaps having 5 coaches in a season is the right idea? Gives the best chance to create 'structures' isn weekend warrior footy!

The repeated digs about the coaching is getting abit old, some new material perhaps...?

Get down and watch one of their games you might just be impressed.

I think you missed my point big man.

Jimboomba didn't beat you (or anyone else for that matter) on the back of any mythical 'structure'

They beat you because they have a much better side, with 5 or 6 elite standard players for this competition and plenty of good mid range players.

If you have an on-ball division of Rooks, Dillon, Guise, Watson - the structure is pretty irrelevant. Throw Martin and Tomlinson on top of those 4 and you have 6 of the best players in the comp in the one team. Structure smuckture.

I've seen them a few times this year. They seem to have a pretty solid game-plan, one of the few sides in the comp that has a discernible 'style'. Most teams are just chaos theory, including their opponents this week. Anarchy vs Structure!

They like to switch play in defence, but unlike other teams who switch - they don't then transition down the opposite wing - their midfielders seem to play the square well and after they switch - they look bring it back into the corridor. They have tall mids and good skills, so they are happy to pull the trigger with the kick into the corridor as Watto, Dillon and Rooks in particular will mark most kicks to their advantage and Guise is good overhead for his size.

To me, they are definitely a flag chance - I think whoever wins Friday will play Zillmere in the GF, but I'd probably back Zillmere purely because they will be fresh - whereas Woodies and Reddies will be playing 4 weeks of straight finals footy. While I gave him a wrap above, Martin is pretty one dimensional and will struggle against a good opponent. They need goals from their mids, because I doubt they will get the luxury of playing Tomlinson forward with the Woodies having 2 or 3 good tall forward options in Moore, Garland and Thommo. So one of Martin or Tomlinson will need to play back. Oh and if you're a midfielder and miss Martin on the lead, make sure you bring some earmuffs!

I have no idea what Zillmere's best side is, who is actually qualified and available. But they have had some serious quality go through their team this year, I'm just not across which ones were 'guest appearances' and which ones will be playing finals.

Jimboomba didn't beat you (or anyone else for that matter) on the back of any mythical 'structure'

They beat you because they have a much better side, with 5 or 6 elite standard players for this competition and plenty of good mid range players.

If you have an on-ball division of Rooks, Dillon, Guise, Watson - the structure is pretty irrelevant. Throw Martin and Tomlinson on top of those 4 and you have 6 of the best players in the comp in the one team. Structure smuckture.

I've seen them a few times this year. They seem to have a pretty solid game-plan, one of the few sides in the comp that has a discernible 'style'. Most teams are just chaos theory, including their opponents this week. Anarchy vs Structure!

They like to switch play in defence, but unlike other teams who switch - they don't then transition down the opposite wing - their midfielders seem to play the square well and after they switch - they look bring it back into the corridor. They have tall mids and good skills, so they are happy to pull the trigger with the kick into the corridor as Watto, Dillon and Rooks in particular will mark most kicks to their advantage and Guise is good overhead for his size.

To me, they are definitely a flag chance - I think whoever wins Friday will play Zillmere in the GF, but I'd probably back Zillmere purely because they will be fresh - whereas Woodies and Reddies will be playing 4 weeks of straight finals footy. While I gave him a wrap above, Martin is pretty one dimensional and will struggle against a good opponent. They need goals from their mids, because I doubt they will get the luxury of playing Tomlinson forward with the Woodies having 2 or 3 good tall forward options in Moore, Garland and Thommo. So one of Martin or Tomlinson will need to play back. Oh and if you're a midfielder and miss Martin on the lead, make sure you bring some earmuffs!

I have no idea what Zillmere's best side is, who is actually qualified and available. But they have had some serious quality go through their team this year, I'm just not across which ones were 'guest appearances' and which ones will be playing finals.

No doubt at all they were the better side with far more quality all over the ground. By 'structure' I'm also talking about their game play. How they switch and move the footy utilising their best players. The full field zone they play against a side like us was impregnable. When the ball did make it through and their backline playing two loose at times infront of me rebounded extremely well and chopped us to pieces through the middle.

I do agree if they make the GF they might not be as 'fresh' but still have it in them to get the job done.

I'm surprised nobody gives the side who finished second and who beat every other team a chance in the finals. They must have something going for them surely.

You're talking about teams that have 2-4 teams above their "fifths" thus that doesn't actually effect their revenue in the slightest.

Jimboomba have played Saturday's at home ever since I've known it, so until you convince someone to pay to have the lights upgraded why should it change?

Financially restricting a club is certainly the unfair option.

It seems the Redbacks get the job done under lights so I highly doubt this is an underhanded strategy.

If there lights were to standard your argument is just.

we can only play when were told by the powers at be. so saturdays it is with the lights. but we can play anyone anytime n still be strong. only warming up last weekend!

good to see ur on board with us now! weve been putting in a lot of hard work so hopefully it pays off now!

I'm surprised nobody gives the side who finished second and who beat every other team a chance in the finals. They must have something going for them surely.

They are a decent side and will work until the final whistle as they are very fit. I mentioned a few pages back that UQ didn't have much of a plan and banged it down the line more often than not...which probably won't work against a side such as Jimboomba who set up well behind the ball. That's just what I've seen though on the few times I've watched them, mostly on dewy nights as well where a wet weathered style is preferred over finesse. The question is do UQ have the skill to switch play and bring it back through the middle on a bigger deck?

Nothing that hasn't been done before! Looking foward to the game against woodies tho. It's been a long rivalry between the 2 clubs and should be another cracking game on Friday. Even though we won the game convincingly last week there are still a few boys who are quite sore still! Colly park cracked In all night which is a credit to them.
Did you end up watching the game at Redbank Qafl fan?

Someone want to fill me in on these structures?

Could be useful
Yes mate they drop a couple behind the play. I reckon that's as complicated as it gets. Just kick long and hit your talls. I heard your looking to better last week's goal tally that should do the trick.

I don't think they will be as easy as what your making them out to be. I think where it's won against uq is in the middle. Whoever gets first use of the footy will win. They set up behind the footy quite well. When we played them they used the wind very well and shut down our short targets and forced us long. Finals is a different game so I'm sure they will be ready to prove themselves

Whoever gets first use of the footy will win the game......

Gee MASSIVE prediction there. I guess who ever kicks the higher score will win also... ??

How many times have you watched them this year?

At least 2 full games, plus a half game as well.

Just don't have the topline players the other sides have, and experience and quality at the business end will be crucial.

Their 22nd player might be better than anyone elses, but their Top 3 or 4 wouldn't be anywhere near the Top 3 or 4 at Zillmere, Jimboomba and Woodsmen. At this level, those good players have more influence in my view.

2016 QAFA B Central