2019 Membership changes

I have 3121 and AFL membership. The changes don't really impact me too badly as I now sit with mates in the rooms behind the 3121 seating. And I'm pretty sure it's not the room we lost...

That is true and let me tell you where a few of them are going now , MCC and AFL members , it won’t happen overnight , but it will happen

Another reason why the AFL members should be closed down.

Making hay while the sun shines I think....mate told me Hawks did the same...
Not happy.I gather you like me would be more than happy too give up our seat if we can't attend.Far easier way than shafting members who have been through crap for years but still put their money behind the club despite the lack of on field success.
I have no doubt that the survey they mentioned was just a platform too what they were going to do anyway.
This disappoints me no end.

The issue of utilisation of our reserved areas has been an ongoing one for years, this is just the first time you have been personally effected
No stop trotting out the marketing lines trying to seek affirmation and influence Big Footy's subconscious.

It's happened to a MINOR degree in the past at various levels, but this is the big one - a game of musical chairs stripping thousands of long-time, loyal supporters of membership benefits.

Don't try to paint it as anything else.

No stop trotting out the marketing lines trying to seek affirmation and influence Big Footy's subconscious.

It's happened to a MINOR degree in the past at various levels, but this is the big one - a game of musical chairs stripping thousands of long-time, loyal supporters of membership benefits.

Don't try to paint it as anything else.

Lol at your selfishness

Changes to other people, minor

Changes to you, world is ending

I am 3121 member it doesn't really change much for me. Very small 2.6% rise is fine. It also allows more to join 3121 which I highly recommend. It should also open up more reserved seating options in Olympic stand as RE is moved. Members with reserved seating N1 to N9 seem to be affected the most. I am sure most will be disappointed. Any club with 100000 members is never going to keep everyone happy.

Called the club last night and spoke to them and was told that in that N1-N6 section it will be capped at the amount of seats in those bays, which is approximately 1000-1100. They reckon that people that take that option will be able to sit in the pretty much the same seats each week as they don't get 100% attendance in games where they expect a big crowd, you'll be able to reserve a seat in those bays. The other thing is that you'll be able to buy guest passes for lower drawing games which should hopefully mean more Tigers fans up there making it a better atmosphere.

So based on the letter I got, which I have just read, it appears I have copped an incremental price rise of $75 per year but retain my reserved seat. Nothing was mentioned in the letter regarding the loss of my reserved seat.

prodigy in 2019 and 2020 will be okay with this. 2021 prodigy might need to be more frugal with his money.

Not happy.I gather you like me would be more than happy too give up our seat if we can't attend.Far easier way than shafting members who have been through crap for years but still put their money behind the club despite the lack of on field success.
I have no doubt that the survey they mentioned was just a platform too what they were going to do anyway.
This disappoints me no end.
I've received no letter yet.
I normally give my membership to a mate if I can't go, like tonight....

If campaigners were happy to resell at no benefit to the original seat holder we’d be better off. Greedy bastards.

If I’m not there I don’t care about making a profit - I’m happy for someone to use the seat. Hell I’ve had a couch surfer use a spare membership before for free.

You buy the membership, that’s a commitment to the club. Can’t make the game? Fair enough - have a system where you can state you’re not coming and alllow the club to filll the seat and boost atmosphere and profits

I've received no letter yet.
I normally give my membership to a mate if I can't go, like tonight....
Can't see why this day and age you can't notify the club by an app if your not going.Club then can on sell your seat for that match.(Richmond supporters only)

The whole section on level 2 we’re chanting “save our seats” at quarter time, we all signed a petition too... for what it’s worth.

Lol, they were not. It was two bays before they got confused about what they were doing.

The "protest" is pointless unless you quickly figure out your leverage against the club. You want to keep your seats, fine, but "or what"?

If you cancel your memberships, that will be forgotten in a week

You can offer to pay more, with a ramp up over time, but good luck getting concensus in your group on that (some will say $10, some $500, it's just how people roll).

You can challenge for the board, but remember Focus on Footy.

I'm a massive fan of democracy in action, but I genuinely don't see your leverage in this negotiation. You don't have a perpetual right to the seat. You have it for a year, and you get first dibs if the club offer it up again.

Heartstrings arguments on this won't work. Youre in a premium reserved seat category, good luck getting ga11 members to sympathize with you.

Lol, they were not. It was two bays before they got confused about what they were doing.

The "protest" is pointless unless you quickly figure out your leverage against the club. You want to keep your seats, fine, but "or what"?

If you cancel your memberships, that will be forgotten in a week

You can offer to pay more, with a ramp up over time, but good luck getting concensus in your group on that (some will say $10, some $500, it's just how people roll).

You can challenge for the board, but remember Focus on Footy.

I'm a massive fan of democracy in action, but I genuinely don't see your leverage in this negotiation. You don't have a perpetual right to the seat. You have it for a year, and you get first dibs if the club offer it up again.

Heartstrings arguments on this won't work. Youre in a premium reserved seat category, good luck getting ga11 members to sympathize with you.

That section on level 2 were all chanting, I didn’t say all of level 2.

not all of it, you have N8 and N9 primarily (I was in N10 last night). You needed all from N1 through to N9 to be on board, because you are all the ones being effected.

I sympathise with those who religiously turn up and take their seat as advertised however there was a fair chunk of level 1 reserved seats from m51-m58 free last night whilst the top of the GSS and PS was chockers..

No reason in this day and age to not have an app where you can return the ticket if not going before the game and them GA members can then upgrade - more cash, better amtosphere. Everyone’s a winner?

Edit - tiger_of_old great minds!

not all of it, you have N8 and N9 primarily (I was in N10 last night). You needed all from N1 through to N9 to be on board, because you are all the ones being effected.

I’m in N5 and we were kind of confused as there was an event on the ground at the same time, by the time everyone clued in it had stopped.

I am 3121 member it doesn't really change much for me. Very small 2.6% rise is fine. It also allows more to join 3121 which I highly recommend. It should also open up more reserved seating options in Olympic stand as RE is moved. Members with reserved seating N1 to N9 seem to be affected the most. I am sure most will be disappointed. Any club with 100000 members is never going to keep everyone happy.

What’s the waiting list like. I was on it end of last year. Want upgrade before next season :( lol

I’m in N5 and we were kind of confused as there was an event on the ground at the same time, by the time everyone clued in it had stopped.

yeah, it had that vibe. the printed signs were essentially for one bay only, and after 20 secs of chanting "save our seats" everyone starting looking at each other with a "what now?" look

my personal five cents (FWIW) is you all need to get on the same page ASAP (meeting Wednesday after all), and you need to figure out WTF your goals are. IMO the seats are gone, so thats a lost battle. They are increasing 3121 by a bay, and the reserved bays means guests passes, so the weight of money kills you. Add to that PC having 50% attendance for years....

Id be pushing for either queue jump rights on 3121, or and extension to the fee reduction on Olympic relocation. its achievable, and something the club can give up without compromising its entire membership reorganization

Looking around the ground last night the two big patches of seats I could see nobody sitting in were seats next to the city end scoreboard which I think is a GA area and the MCC area. The MCC are usually the main culprits in not turning up. Though I don't think there is much the club can do about that.

2019 Membership changes