2019 Training Reports

Ape and Cerra running laps today. I'm impressed with the way Cerra's physique has developed in 12 months and I recon he's a bit taller too.
Hamling did the full session with the boys and was a standout in most drills.
Ross seems more engaged in the drills than I remember him doing this time last year and gave Luke Ryan a bit of a bake at one stage.
Hogan made a brief appearance outside doing walk throughs in the sand pit for 15-20 minutes then went back inside.
Wouldn't be surprised if Cerra and Brayshaw ended up a few cms taller than their draft height. Both late birthdays, Andrew would be the shortest Brayshaw at their respective drafts. Not unheard of for men to continue growing until 21

Well Banfield said yesterday he’s grown 2cm, and he’s what, 22?

Wouldn’t mind seeing fatty Sean Darcy lose a few kegs. It’s been two years and he’s still overweight. I mean cmon, it’s not that hard to drop 5-10kg.

Oh hang on, he’s a good bloke so probably gets spared the critisism.

Harley is one of the hardest trainers at the club. To maintain his body whilst being perma-injured has been a great effort. If he doesn’t get up to play games, I’m pointing my finger at our S&C team.

As for players returning early - stuff that. It’s already the longest preseason in world sport. There’s plenty of time between now and round one to make an impression on team mates and coaches. I’ld prefer the club kept it to only 1-4yr players to start with, let them feel a sense of ownership and driving their own standards. Integrate the senior boys when it’s time.

I will happily join in the chorus of ragging on players once they return if they aren’t in good nick (looking at Cam Mac here, again). But being disappointed, upset, or angry because they haven’t returned early is just fans impatience of wanting their new toys before Christmas.
Are you taking the piss? Sean Darcy has lost a ton of weight since joining the club and got stronger at the same time. Actually met him and Sandy at a school footy clinic and Sandy described Sean as one of the hardest workers he has come across for such a young player while introducing him to a group of school kids.

The ridiculous Darcy point aside. Id love to know how Harley could be considered one of the hardest trainer at the club? He hasnt even joined in any of the torterous running, that occur at the end of session in the extreme heat during the hot few months before the season going by the last three years of training reports. Maintaining your body is far from exactly training hard considering the fitness resources and dieticians at his disposal. He has one of Australia's most high tech gyms with heaps of equipment that allows participants to build fitness wiithout putting weight on the leg as well. Look at Logue (there are plenty of others in the squad) as an example of someone with a better work rate then Harley. He improved his endurance while being out injured for most of the year. If Harley's doing well by staying in shape then how well must he be going by improving his distance running.

Im still hopeful that Harley can return to full strength before his contract is up, but it is pretty ridiculous to expect a quick fix. Coming back a week and a bit early certainly couldnt have hurt his chances of a successful return to afl football in 2019.

the amount of AFL players who grow after the age of 18-19 is really high and doesn't align with the general population at all. It does however align with people who have an abnormally high amount of HGH... :)

To the people who have seen a few of the training sessions over the years and have watched a few this year, does there seem to be more emphasis on skill than previous years?

Yes, but we are only 2 weeks into pre-season so to say whether it is more of an emphasis or not is difficult. Ask again in February.

S Hill and Sonny doing run throughs and laps before the main group trained today.

They then did some kick to kick over about 35 metres. After his twentieth pinpoint pass in a row Sonny turns to one of the support personnel and says "I reckon you could kick five in an AFL game leading out of full forward with me kicking to you."

Imagine how many Lobb and Hogan are going to kick...

Do you go into work on your annual leave to show your colleagues you're part of the team and build comradery with them? I get what you're saying but holiday time is holiday time. If Bennell or McCarthy fail, it wont be because they took their annual leave and didn't go back to work early.

I've ended up working during annual leave, yes. For me, it wasn't out of love or professional pride but because I reckoned having Delivery Managers owe me a favour will be worth it down the track (this was when I was doing IT consulting in Perth)

There is probably not one thing in particular that defines whether Bennell or McCarthy reach their potential or not. I have more faith in McCarthy getting there, simply because he is more available-to-play than Bennell. But you would think both need to have strong pre-seasons as a first step to maximising their footy careers.

I have been to all training morning and todays training was by far the best run the boys have had, be it 1st to 4th year with a few exceptions coming back early.
Long kicking and quick ball movement was good, the larger then normal attendance by supporters and members was also great to see. Ross was out in the middle shouting instruction with everybody committing. The boys look fit. Logue in particular is a big boy and I would love to see him develop into a midfielder, he has all the attributes being size, pace and endurance. It may take a season or two but I see a huge future there. There is a old saying you are only as strong as your reserves and Freo with their exceptional draft selection are now in a great position. I am predicting a great year for our club and supporters

Peter Bell has already stated that Harley looks in “ Ripping Nick “.
He is probably following instructions about returning on time. ....not early.
I have personally seen him at the club last week.
great another pre-season of getting our hopes up before he does a calf sometime in February.

To the people who have seen a few of the training sessions over the years and have watched a few this year, does there seem to be more emphasis on skill than previous years?

Significantly more ball work.
Today was the fourth session of the pre-season ; three of them have been almost entirely ball work.

Only part of preseason that is crucial to Bennell is staying injury free. I'm not worried about his behaviour, with his current girlfriend, his 'rock', only chance he acts out is if he gets significantly injured and in that case he's done regardless.

2019 Training Reports