List Mgmt. 2020 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals

Oh sorry mate, I thought that trade capital and salary cap management were all part of a "list management strategy" discussion.

Silly, ignorant me.

You are not discussing you are dreamin' and whinging in your hypothetical world.

No problem. I am just discussing your "discussion" and asking questions you cannot answer coz you don't have any clue.
Forgiven:):rainbow:.... until tomorrow when you forget the counter arguments and facts and start whinging again.

In both instances it says GWS were more aggressive in their pursuit of Preuss and Hogan sounds like they wanted them more.
Yeah, maybe. Could be a picks problem I guess, with Campbell and Gulden coming in we have little trade currency to play with this year and who knows what the situation might be like for next year.

I think what might be a bigger concern is that we've seemingly lost the ability to find diamonds in the rough. Most of our signings between Hall and Tippett were far from big names but we either turned them into big names or at least really solid contributors. I am not seeing Ryan Clarke or Lewis Taylor become the next Kennedy, Mumford, Richards or even Shaw.

Yes we lost that ability long before COLA was removed, its a development thing.

Ted Richards, Mitch Morton, McGlynn, Kennedy, Shaw, Mumford.

I think what might be a bigger concern is that we've seemingly lost the ability to find diamonds in the rough. Most of our signings between Hall and Tippett were far from big names but we either turned them into big names or at least really solid contributors. I am not seeing Ryan Clarke or Lewis Taylor become the next Kennedy, Mumford, Richards or even Shaw.

Swans were innovators. The competition studied our actions. The competition got better and our behaviour became common place.

Anyone doing that Zac Williams deal or cutting up one of our firsts for Hogan this year for a taste of trade action? Eh

Preuss or Ladhams would have been swell though

More on Hogan:
@Richmond_FC were in the mix up until early last week.
SydneySwans too - Swans players spoke with Hogan about what it’s like playing in NSW - under the radar lifestyle.
@GWSGIANTS emerged late, were the most aggressive in pursuit and fit appealed most to Jesse.

Devils advocate but Swans players spoke to Bennell as well.

Perhaps they just cut through the wine and dine and just lay it on the line of what the playing group expects and how you get out what you put in if wiling to do the work and knuckle down.

Someone who genuinely wants to turn it around says yep that's for me I really want to make a difference. Someone who just wants a new contract and she'll be right mate will say F that to the Swans.

Probably just what I hope is happening with guys saying yeah nah.

Clarke will be firmly best 22 next time we make top 4

We have lost our competitive advantage there.

Every club now is trying to pick off those fringe players who just need opportunity.

Makes me think of Lloyd Williams. He used to be the only one buying the overseas stayers and then coming here and winning the cups. Now everyone does it.

Another reason that we need to be heavily into the draft.

Its unfortunate the club is to quiet when it comes to trade/draft week would be really interesting to know their thoughts.

Preuss/Hogan wanted to come to Sydney they just chose GWS instead/ Cap should of been no issue fitting those 2 in.
In the last four season GWS have lost the following players to other clubs through trade or free agency:

Treloar, Lamb, Phillips, Plowman, Sumner, McCarthy, Steele, Ahern, Stewart, Hoskin-Elliot, Marchbank, Pickett, Smith, Wilson, Kennedy, Setterfield, Scully, Lobb, Shiel, Tomlinson, Patton, Bonar, Corr, Williams

They have already lost a couple of players this off-season as free agents, and also have Cameron wanting to go to Geelong and Hately and Caldwell requesting trades.

On the other hand, we have lost:
Mitchell, Nankervis, Murray, Rohan, Hannebery, Newman, Jones, Cameron

And then you and others on here wonder why GWS is in a position to make more attractive offers to players? They are desperately filling multiple gaps in their best 22 every single season.

Can you tell us why?

Serious question because all I know is what I see on youtube...
I share the same opinion. My is based off him being the most "project player" type (similar to how I view 2m Peter). Not a great lead out forward, but a decent ruck for under age - but will get dominated by bigger bodies.

Perhaps the 2020 trade period has broken The King!

this thread is absolute rubbish

almost 500 pages of absolute crap and people getting outraged at others crap, no one has a clue , read last years equivalent for proof

Can you tell us why?

I think some are put off with him labelled as a fwd/ruck, in not being able to own and dominate one of those. He also hasn't had as big a year (along with his injury concerns) as say McDonald (who surely will be gone by #3) or DGB. I'm hoping the Crows take a punt on him being local and take him off the board. Early on I was on the DGB train, but have been swayed by the Phillips advocates.

Can you tell us why?

Wasn’t as dominant as Logan McDonald was in the WAFL. Just held his own (which is still good).

What position is right? Ruck or Fwd?

Not an accumulator.

Injury history - including groin which is a worry.

Posted this on another thread a while back, but thought I'd post here for your thoughts:

Trade
Preuss is most likely to go to the Giants, but a part of me is still hopeful we're in with a shot. If not, I hope we take a punt at either Peter Ladhams or Sam Hayes from Port. Hickey is the worst possible option, not sure he'd be better than Sinclair or Aliir at the centre bounces to be perfectly honest. Probably more durable though.

A big bodied mid is something that is needed too, seeing as we most likely won't get one in the draft and Kennedy isn't getting younger. Riley Collier-Dawkins, Constable, Will Brodie, and Sier would be my preferred options in order.

Cox can stay far away from Sydney, thanks. A 29yo who only has a couple of good quarters per game? Nah.

When it comes to who we could trade out, the big name already there is Aliir. I love him, he's very good at playing that zoning big defender role ala McGovern, Rance, but unfortunately we haven't had the personnel to let him do that, and his versatility in defending roles isn't that great. Him playing ruck is tragic, although he does help in the centre contest. I'd be ok with trading him to Port, but only if we get one of their rucks, ideally with a draft pick upgrade for good measure to grab the Academy boys.

Another big one on my list is Sam Reid. Wouldn't get a heap, but a mid to late third rounder would be helpful. Others who could be traded out with a wee bit of currency are Ronke, and possibly, very slightly maybe George Hewett.

Draft
So we're definitely getting Campbell and Gulden with bids between 5-12 for Campbell, and 15-30 for Gulden. The talk of us maybe not grabbing Gulden terrifies me, so I just ignore it basically. Keeping pick 3 is great, any of McDonald *fingers crossed*, Tillthorpe (most likely to be able to play ruck), Phillips, or Grainger-Barrass would be very helpful for our list. Given that Campbell and Gulden are coming in, I don't really want Elijah Hollands, who is a similar type of mid/fwd.

Trading that pick 3 for a "star" would be a huge mistake, unless that player is 24 or ideally younger. Our list as it stands is the third youngest in the comp, and probably won't be pushing for Grand Final contention for three to five years. Given our attempts at getting Daniher at the end of 2019, and Franklin's contract finally expiring in a couple of years, our salary cap should see us able to get at least one star in that three or so year period.

In terms of rookie draft, well it all runs in the family. Young Will Papley could end up being a clone of his brother. If Paddy McCartin does want to give it another shot with us, the rookie draft is where we'd probably grab him for peanuts. Either that or a very late pick in the National Draft. Otherwise Sam Thorne is another Academy kid who could be useful. Was at least on par with Campbell and Gulden in the midfield in the few Academy games played this year.
Pretty good summation.
I would not trade Hewett(turning 26) though. He is the first of our younger mids (after Kennedy(33), Parker(29)) just entering their prime. We can't trade out good young experience.
Not sold on Amartey. Though he is still young. May rookie another ruck and Cat B one of our academy rucks.

Yeah, maybe. Could be a picks problem I guess, with Campbell and Gulden coming in we have little trade currency to play with this year and who knows what the situation might be like for next year.

On this note the more we go into a "buy now" mode this year effects the ability to be able to draft both academy players above and effects our draft currency for next year and any chance of "buying" next year.

The fact we were/are considering trading Aliir just to get a ruckman into the club tells you that our trade currency is not helpful for a "buy now" mode this year.

We have got a lot of players 22 and under coming into the first team.

It becomes about future salary cap management. So that if any of our youngsters do develop into good players, then we have a better chance of keeping them. You look at clubs like GWS struggling to re-sign players or even Collingwood having a mess of salary cap.

At the moment it seems like we are looking for a journeyman ruck and keeping our eye out for a key forward. Apart from that I don't think it is wise to go out looking for expensive players in other positions just for the sake of it.

I don't want to get into a situation where we lose players we want to keep in the next few years because we brought in a 800k 28yo midfielder that we did not need.