Play Nice 2020 Pre-Season Training

Was on 7 news, he essentially said that he could see us finishing last as opposed to explicitly predicting it (I’m guessing it was a clip from his new radio show on 6PR with Spurr and Schofield).

Yeh he it was pretty light and hardly scathing but I think he was trying to make a statement to make the show relevant.

With all our injuries to key players and the Suns form on the weekend who knows but I think we have enough games not to be in that category.

Yeh he it was pretty light and hardly scathing but I think he was trying to make a statement to make the show relevant.

With all our injuries to key players and the Suns form on the weekend who knows but I think we have enough games not to be in that category.

I honestly think we could finish anywhere from the spoon to eighth. So many unknowns this year. Can’t see the issue with Barlows opinion.

Was on 7 news, he essentially said that he could see us finishing last as opposed to explicitly predicting it (I’m guessing it was a clip from his new radio show on 6PR with Spurr and Schofield).
He is entitled to his opinion but with opinions like that he has nailed it to fit in with Channel 7 and 6PR

I like Barlow and definitely think he is footy smart, but he is a journalist now and says journalist things.

What I agree with is that it is all in front of us now. We haven’t shown anything beyond potential. We have some critical players whose availability shapes the outcome of the year, and coupled with our list age profile, that makes us vulnerable. And we are beginning the year with some of our most critical, mature players unavailable.

It will be a challenging year. Another development year. Heaps of opportunity for the list to take big steps forward.

Barlow basically said that a big part of the youth component of the side (ie Cerra, Brayshaw, Darcy, Cox, Logue etc) would need another 20-30 games to become consistent performers at this level and the injuries and unavailability of important KP players this early doesn't help things either.

Reckon Barlow knows a fair bit more about our list than any of us here. He is still close to the group, and not to be conspiracy theorist but potentially could have be asked to set expectations in the media for Fremantle (by Fremantle).

imo I have stated in the injury thread it has been a disastrous preseason. I agree it will be a bottom 4 year, Brad hill won games from his amazing running.

Strap yourselves in......it’s gonna be a long year.

Nah. He’s right. A spoon is not improbable and heading toward unsurprising as more and more of this shit preseason leaves us with a banged-up Nathan Fyfe, Sonny Walters, Rory Lobb and a bunch of kids, has-beens and never-weres.

We will cop some floggings this year as well. Real touchups.

That said, it has the feel of a 2009. A corner turning year.

I am going to hunker down. Enjoy the enjoyable parts and get ready for 2021.
When the good stuff will happen.

We have the best player in the league with what I think one of the best Defenses In the league too, if we can get cerra brayshaw to take the next step we’ll win games of footy this year.
1/3 of that defense is injured.

There is no way we'd finish last with a good injury run but we are already off to a bad start with that.
Barlow basically said that a big part of the youth component of the side (ie Cerra, Brayshaw, Darcy, Cox, Logue etc) would need another 20-30 games to become consistent performers at this level and the injuries and unavailability of important KP players this early doesn't help things either.
I tend to agree with him.

Seeing him yesterday, at worst Young is carrying something minor imo - think load management (ie strength kpis) fits. The good news is he did a heck of a lot this pre-season before he was sidelined from main training so it's probably not the worst thing they've lowered his intensity atm. Even if he doesn't play Marsh, he'll still be an early-ish debut imo.

Watching Pearce and Mundy, they look to both be progressing well. I don't think either are too far away from main training. Early round returns imo - Pearce first, then Mundy. I'm guessing Wilson is next in line behind these two - would be great to have an update on him as it's hard to tell from watching him.

Hamling and Switkowski, later season prospects. Hogan unknown obviously. Is Giro still alive?

After looking at the full injury list in more detail it doesn't seem as bad as I was originally thinking. A few key players missing early but that could turn around quickly a few rounds in.

Speaking purely from a marketing perspective I think the most important thing is Freo don't collapse in the second half of the year again. Brisbane showed a couple years back how if you get a bit of momentum heading into the off season it sets you up well for the following year. They were wooden spooners the year before that, and then only finished 15th in 2018 but the strong finish meant people easily forgave their awful start. The club needs a relatively healthy list by the mid way point imo.

Nah. He’s right. A spoon is not improbable and heading toward unsurprising as more and more of this shit preseason leaves us with a banger-up Nathan Fyfe, Sonny Walters, Rory Lobb and a bunch of kids, has-beens and never-weres.

We will cop some floggings this year as well. Real touchups.

That said, it has the feel of a 2009. A corner turning year.

I am going to hunker down. Enjoy the enjoyable parts and get ready for 2021.
When the good stuff will happen.

Got to admit I feel the same, strange being very optimistic about the the club and our list but also expecting a pretty poor year. Our next wave of key players are just a tad too young, or injured.
Anything can happen though and we still have good enough players to carry us through games.
But regardless the focus should be on exposing the four ND draftees, who all look like really good players, big midfield minutes for the likes of Cerra and Brayshaw, and gelling with a new gameplan because we could set ourselves up for a massive 2021-22 which is kind of a perfect timeframe for the young guys to be stepping up while Fyfe/Sonny are still firing.

I hear you. As much as it doesn't sound it, saying we will get reamed and that a spoon isn't completely unlikely, I am optimistic. We seem to have snagged four or five kids in the last couple of drafts who can really play. If the "reaches" like Sturt and Valente and the "rolls of the dice" like Bewley and Schultz can do more than fill a spot, we are in a decent place list-wise.

Valente wasn't a reach. He slid (probably because of the injuries). Sturt also went in his "range".

I think the list is coming together nicely, but the kids need more experience.

Fremantle Dockers set to claim wooden spoon, says former star Michael Barlow
The West Australian
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 7:20AM

Barlow says Dockers to finish last
1:41 | 7NEWS Perth

Fullscreen

Dockers favourite son Michael Barlow has laid out a bleak prediction for his former club, touting a wooden-spoon finish for Fremantle this season.
Freo enter 2020 with a bright outlook thanks to new coach Justin Longmuir and a host of young stars, including freshly drafted top-10 trio Hayden Young, Caleb Serong and Liam Henry.
But there was no room for sentiment when Barlow - who played 126 games for the Dockers between 2010 and 2016 - laid out his bold call on 6PR.

“It’s against my old team, who I love and adore and do support,” he said.
“But I can see them finishing last.
“Fremantle to finish last is my bold prediction.”
READ MICHAEL BARLOW’S REASONING IN HIS EXCLUSIVE COLUMN AT THEWEST.COM.AU ON TUESDAY AFTERNOON
Former Dockers assistant Peter Sumich was more optimistic on the port club’s hopes for 2020.
“I’ve got them actually between eighth and 12th,” Sumich said.
MORE FOOTY: Count me in for Round 1, says exciting Dockers rookie
“I think they’ll be hovering around there again.
“The reason why is - you’ve got Nat Fyfe.
Michael Barlow doesn’t like the chance of Nat Fyfe’s Dockers this season.
Michael Barlow doesn’t like the chance of Nat Fyfe’s Dockers this season. Credit: Michael Willson/AFL Photos
“He’s going to get them over the line himself in probably three or four games.
“If they get going, win some home games, they can win enough games to maybe look like they can scrape into the eight, but maybe just outside.”
Fremantle finished 13th with their nine-win campaign in Ross Lyon’s final season last year, representing their best year since their minor premiership win in 2015.
Get the latest news from

There is no pressure on Freo in 2020. That stopped when Ross left. Now it's a fresh start with a new coach and young team. I think Freo will do ok. Probably 50/50 win loss. But who knows. At least the expectation and speculation is gone. 2020 will be relatively cruisy. It will be fun watching all our new talent running around.

The pressure will be on West Coast, Melbourne, GWS and St Kilda.

Play Nice 2020 Pre-Season Training