- Aug 10, 2005
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
Gee they get into it straight away....only arrived today didn't they?
Most other clubs draftees started Monday or earlier
Gee they get into it straight away....only arrived today didn't they?
I've got no problem with media types having opinions and standing out from the crowd. I just have a problem with Cornes, because I believe he does it entirely to make headlines and build a media career. He's the Piers Morgan of AFL - says inflammatory things that he doesn't even really believe because he knows he can build a career as the 'controversial' type that way.
Good for him, doesn’t lower the flog level and he’s not running sub 2.20 marathons unless he’s ranked top 10 in Australia.Might be a flog but TBF since he's retired, he's turned himself into a high quality (sub 2.20) marathon runner and could probably beat half our squad in the 2 kms time trial running at his average marathon pace let alone running flat out - so I doubt he'd be quitting
Did you include the dog? and my daughter?Massive supporter turnout this afternoon.
I think we hit double figures
Did you include the dog? and my daughter?
There was also the 4 ladies on the hill. So easily a dozen+ spectators.
lol I wasn’t counting Mrs Robbo or Robbo jnrette.Roll call (to the best of my memory):-
You
Your 14 month old daughter(cute)
Me
My son Steve
My other son Pat's friend Lewis
Doug
Doug's wife
Shane
The other Doug
Jason (pm)
MRobbo's wife
MRobbo's daughter
and the 4 Ladies on the hill
16!!!! *
*with apologies to the dog
lol I wasn’t counting Mrs Robbo or Robbo jnrette.
I think you’ll find this is new tatt mate. No issue with his calf.Attended training session this afternoon, it was good to chat again luthor and to meet you briztoon
- They started with about 30 minutes of stretches/injury prevention routines.
- The whole group (46 on the list I think) did a running drill near the start of the session and I counted 42 players, there was 1 not doing it which was Daniel Rich and then the 3 new boys in Deven Robertson, Jaxon Prior and Brock Smith were later doing quite a few laps leaving 46 players although Bruce Reville was there as well. Marcus Adams the odd one out who I didn't spot at all, he was apparently on a stationary bike most of the time.
- Standard type drills eg. contested work, leading patterns and run run run.
- I thought the players who looked like they were still running on the top of the ground towards the end of the session were > Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage, Corey Lyons, Dayne Zorko, Tom Fullarton.
- Struggling near the end > Alex Witherden, Cam Rayner(still a big improvement on last off season though), Eric Hipwood.
- Connor Ballenden really does have a great kick on him.
- Sam Skinner looked in peak physical condition.
- Stef Martin trains at a very high intensity.
- Chris Fagan did a lot of laps, didn't see him give any instructions, session run by others.
- On the whole they all looked keen motivated and very fit and healthy, only strapping I recall was Charlie on his calf, it didn't hinder him though, he took part it all the session.
GO LIONS!
Yeah, just the vibe watching the three new kids, I reckon Robertson pushes to be included in the team drills ASAP.Robertson looks like he has the chassis to mix it on the inside at the level just about.
Really?! They are both inside mids, Smith is bout 4-5 cms taller than him. What wpuld you say are Robertson's strengths and weaknesses over SmithYeah, just the vibe watching the three new kids, I reckon Robertson pushes to be included in the team drills ASAP.
I said it at training this arvo, I reckon Robertson debuts before Ely Smith.
And talking about Smith. Brock Smith has more than a touch of Ely about him. Both of them look like the quiet, serious, stoic type.
Even though he’s a year younger and not as physically big, Robertson has a more advanced game than Ely.Really?! They are both inside mids, Smith is bout 4-5 cms taller than him. What wpuld you say are Robertson's strengths and weaknesses over Smith
I saw a interview of Brock Smith who said he loves to joke around with team mates. Didn't seem like the quiet type at allYeah, just the vibe watching the three new kids, I reckon Robertson pushes to be included in the team drills ASAP.
I said it at training this arvo, I reckon Robertson debuts before Ely Smith.
And talking about Smith. Brock Smith has more than a touch of Ely about him. Both of them look like the quiet, serious, stoic type.
Even though he’s a year younger and not as physically big, Robertson has a more advanced game than Ely.
Not sure how you can say that based off seeing them run laps? Ely has had a year of development at an AFL club and Dev just completed his draft year. He may well overtake Ely, but can't see how his game is more advanced than Ely.
I reckon Ely was played out of position last year as from memory he was played mainly as a flanker. To me he is an inside mid and hopefully will be trialled in that spot in the reserves. I wasn’t really that impressed with him but see him more as a project player.
I think briztoon would be making that assessment off form in the championships where Deven got the Larke medal as the player of the tournament as well as reviews by draft watchers like Callum Twomey and afl draft central.Not sure how you can say that based off seeing them run laps? Ely has had a year of development at an AFL club and Dev just completed his draft year. He may well overtake Ely, but can't see how his game is more advanced than Ely.
Rick, I have a different opinion of what constitutes a mature response.I disagree - I think it is better to embrace criticism or implied criticism and deal with it constructively. I think this is a very mature approach by the Club and better for us to be seen as open to the media. I am sure we embedded Fish into our camp last year - a very different scenario but we allowed him open access nevertheless.
Jason mp covered most of it.Not sure how you can say that based off seeing them run laps? Ely has had a year of development at an AFL club and Dev just completed his draft year. He may well overtake Ely, but can't see how his game is more advanced than Ely.
I guess the easiest way for me to put it is, do you believe Matt Rowell is ahead of Ely in terms of game sense, skills and ability to impact games?I think briztoon would be making that assessment off form in the championships where Deven got the Larke medal as the player of the tournament as well as reviews by draft watchers like Callum Twomey and afl draft central.
No doubt at this time last year Ely was rated lower than Deven is now, Deven being rated by most as an elite inside mid with his supposed weakness being his disposal by foot.
Ely is a beast so is more physically developed, it remains to be seen who if either steps up and grabs a senior spot in the early rounds of the season, personally I don't think Ely or Deven play seniors early in 2020 unless there are a few midfield injuries.
Might have public persona and a private persona.I saw a interview of Brock Smith who said he loves to joke around with team mates. Didn't seem like the quiet type at all
Jason mp I don’t believe any of this years draftees or last years draftees who are yet to debut will get a go before the mid season break.
Maybe Keidean as a small forward, but even then Ah Chee and Cedric Cox probably get a look in up forward before Keidean.
Ellis-Yolmen, Mathieson and CLyons should be the three fighting it out for a spot on the bench, as a travelling emergency and first in if there’s an injury.