Training 2020 Preseason

I hope Birchall works out, i really do. The experience and skills he can bring would be great for the team and great for young blokes like Prior and Smith. I dont think any of us expect a Birchall from 6yrs ago but im sure the club wouldn't have grabbed him if they didnt think he has something more to offer than experience.

If our medical staff can work miracles and get him right we should get a good 2, maybe 3 yrs out of him. Its a bit of a gamble, yes, but one worth taking considering the player and man he is.

Cynically, it could look like his pick up was mates (Fages and Hodgey) looking after a mate. Giving him one last chance to show he still has what it takes. I, however, choose not to think thats the case. Even if it takes 5 or 6 weeks into the season before he gets on the park then a few games to get his sea legs back, if we get a dozen or more above average games out of him and he is an influence at the back end of the season and finals, id say his pick up is a success and he gets another year.

If not and his injuries cant be overcome, ive got a feeling the character of the man would see him retire before the midseason draft or at worst put on the long term injury list. Either way we can replace him on the list come midseason if needed. If he has an ordinary or patchy year (in and out of the team, not really cementing a spot), its a one year and done contract.

I am hoping for the best that can be expected but prepared for the less than ideal outcome. Its up to Birchall, he better than anyone will know how he is going, what he is capable of. I am also sure the club will do whats best for the team.

I hope Birchall works out, i really do. The experience and skills he can bring would be great for the team and great for young blokes like Prior and Smith. I dont think any of us expect a Birchall from 6yrs ago but im sure the club wouldn't have grabbed him if they didnt think he has something more to offer than experience.

If our medical staff can work miracles and get him right we should get a good 2, maybe 3 yrs out of him. Its a bit of a gamble, yes, but one worth taking considering the player and man he is.

Cynically, it could look like his pick up was mates (Fages and Hodgey) looking after a mate. Giving him one last chance to show he still has what it takes. I, however, choose not to think thats the case. Even if it takes 5 or 6 weeks into the season before he gets on the park then a few games to get his sea legs back, if we get a dozen or more above average games out of him and he is an influence at the back end of the season and finals, id say his pick up is a success and he gets another year.

If not and his injuries cant be overcome, ive got a feeling the character of the man would see him retire before the midseason draft or at worst put on the long term injury list. Either way we can replace him on the list come midseason if needed. If he has an ordinary or patchy year (in and out of the team, not really cementing a spot), its a one year and done contract.

I am hoping for the best that can be expected but prepared for the less than ideal outcome. Its up to Birchall, he better than anyone will know how he is going, what he is capable of. I am also sure the club will do whats best for the team.
Fages and Hodgey have been around for a long time and come from the Clarkson stable and we know how much sentiment he has so imo it would be impossible for anything to be involved in the Birchall drafting other than it was expected that he would add good value to the team.

So he can't run or kick any more whatever ,I've seen dozens of great players written off over the years and somehow they always seem to have a way of coming back . If he's not fit right now just give him some time. He was a positive contributor last year coming off an horrific injury run , if we get him up and going again with a young team the guy could get a new lease of life.

It's happened plenty of times before . In recent memory everyone said Rich was a complete crock 2 years ago. They were wrong. Had another 4 left in him . Everyone said Hodge was done ,backward step playing him, they were wrong.

Everyone said Hodge was done ,backward step playing him, they were wrong.

Very wrong.

When just everyone else lost their heads a bit in last years Finals Series, Hodge stood tall and was just about BOG against the Tigers and the Giants.

Even apart from that,he was great value as a player and mentor over the two years.

Retaining him in the coaching ranks this year is an added bonus.

i agree the club wont have made the decision to let some good depth go to bring in birchall to play reserves. They are trying and hoping to get him up and about to be a difference. clearly having these experienced guys around is worth a great deal for the young up and comers we have too.

Birchall's just turned 32 but had barely any football for 3 years . I take on board what others think re his fitness , some guys look like that and can get going by the time the season proper starts . I really don't see why we would've taken him if he was well past his best and half a crock. We hardly need any more leadership ,we've got 9 of them . The games I saw him play last year he seemed to be running in to a bit of form.

Interesting to see how he shapes up.
I totally agree Birchall is an elite half back and has played many games and played in multiple premierships. He came to Brisbane for no cost and is a worthwhile risk although he has been injured. He is a best 22 player with elite kicking skills. I reckon he will be brought on slowly and will get a chance to player later in the year.

To get that kind of experience in the door for free is fantastic. When you bring in these guys who are on the last couple of years, you are getting them in for more than just their output on the field. He brings new IP, a heap of experience as well as giving us some depth in our back half. We will back in our medical department to get him up, but really he could play 16 games a year for a couple of years and it would be good.

Considering his experience and the fact we are playing finals now as well, it would be handy having him there for another finals compaign.

Off topic but following on from my post a few pages ago...

On our travels the last couple of days, have spotted a few large bill boards on side of the road showing rugby players (got no idea which teams, but they looked familiar)......made me realise and wonder why we don't do the same for both us and the SUNS.

Both are Qld teams, flaunt them around the roads too. Mostly our boys of course, they're more handsome.;)

Off topic but following on from my post a few pages ago...

On our travels the last couple of days, have spotted a few large bill boards on side of the road showing rugby players (got no idea which teams, but they looked familiar)......made me realise and wonder why we don't do the same for both us and the SUNS.

Both are Qld teams, flaunt them around the roads too. Mostly our boys of course, they're more handsome.;)
They do around the Gabba precinct, during the footy season.

Good, but I'm talking about right up north around Bowen/Proserpine areas.....doesn't hurt to remind people the Lions are there too. Give them a choice.

Take the NRL head on.

Good, but I'm talking about right up north around Bowen/Proserpine areas.....doesn't hurt to remind people the Lions are there too. Give them a choice.

Take the NRL head on.

Might be a bit like the Top Gear lads driving through the deep south of the USA in those gay pride cars. Not sure Cowboy territory is ready to embrace AFL yet.......haha

I just don't think people are interested. A mate lives in Bundaberg, only 4 hours-ish north of Brisbane, I tried to buy a Lion's beanie when I got there but there was no AFL merch anywhere. I could buy plenty of Broncos or Cowboys merch, even Melbourne Storm stuff, one of those weird tobacconist/gift shop things had two aisles of NRL stuff, not a single AFL product.

Who cares about advertising to northern Queensland? We've got enough population down in SEQ to convert first. Besides northern Queensland is supposed to be Suns country. Let them throw money down the drain in Cairns/Townsville

Wouldn't say it's down the drain when it's helped to produce the below over the past 5 years.

Jack Bowes (Cairns) Top 10 draft pick
Jacob Heron (Cairns) Senior AFL list but probably not a long term player
Caleb Graham (Cairns) Senior AFL list, debuted in 2019.
Drik Keenan (Townsville) Academy, was very close to getting the list spot that Graham got.
Alex Davies (Cairns) Top 10 draft talent for 2020 draft

Ellie Hampson (Townsville) 2019 u18 AA
Lauren Bella (Mackay)
Kitara Whap-Farrar (Cairns)

Im not entirely familiar with our women's squad so may well be more players, also possibly across the league.

I thought I read somewhere that AFL is doing well up north ,at least at the grass roots level
Cairns has one of the stronger grass roots leagues. However it's pretty much on its own.

Wouldn't say it's down the drain when it's helped to produce the below over the past 5 years.

Drik Keenan (Townsville) Academy, was very close to getting the list spot that Graham got.

Lauren Bella (Mackay)

Im not entirely familiar with our women's squad so may well be more players, also possibly across the league.
Even before the academy Dixon, Charman, Harbrow, Dempsey and the Cockatoo-Collins boys all spent time in the Cairns league (as well as names less notable by familiar to us like Sam Michael and Jason Roe, both of which I lifted off Wikipedia right then :p).

Lauren Bella (Mackay)

And the Cazalies club in Cairns was Queensland's fastest growing club for a few years in a row, a rather magnificent place. The league is pretty good up there and does some great work out into the Gulf Country among the communities there. Yes it will never support national team or even a NEAFL team but still well worth looking after.

Really looking forward to the 1st official practice match this coming Sunday v Port Adelaide, it will be a good indicator to our round 1 side, IMO we will select our best possible/available side, expecting all the locks who didn't play last night to play.

Bring it on!

Same here, imo Ah Chee is the one that adds to the 2019 22, not Birchall, in Hodges spot. Omac might have to make way for Ballenden he covers the ground well and just kicks his goals, and by golly do we need a talisman, man. T Berry may demand Christensens spot. Footy is here can't wait to see us get a bit of ruthlessness out of all this hype, the groups got the right kind of character to step up and make something of this opportunity

Training 2020 Preseason