List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch

Current no. of players on the list
Senior list - 34 (2-4 free*)
Rookie (Cat A) - 4 (0-2 free*)
Rookie (Cat B) - 2 (0 free)
Maximum list size of 44. Up to 36-38 senior list, 4-6 category A rookie list and 2 category B rookie list.
* Total of four list spots available, with a minimum of 2 senior list spots needing to be utilised.

List changes
IN: Daniher, Cockatoo, Uosis (R)
OUT: Christensen, Wooller, Allison (R), Skinner (R), Eagles (R), C. Lyons (R), Martin, Witherden, Cox, Hinge.
PROMOTED: Fullarton.
ROOKIED: Birchall, Mathieson, Ballendan.

Current picks
25, 53, 58, 69, 70
(2021 - 1st (MEL), 1st, 3rd (WCE), 3rd, 4th (MEL), 4th (COLL), 5th)

Useful links
2020 trade news compendium
List changes, contract status and key dates
2020 draft discussion thread

I dont think we have the cattle in house to fill the full fwd spot. Mcstay, while he does the right things off the ball, i do expect the ff to nail shots for goal 30-50m from 45deg either side and everywhere in between. I dont think ballenden has the killer instinct/mongrel in him to make it. Id hold on to wooler n fularton, if big O playes fwd more we could use a more mobile med/tall fwd. I do think we will need to go to the market to get a long term partner for hippy.

The mention of daniher is interesting. I dont think the high profile, the cash outlay or the injury history is something the team or the club or the culture needs or wants to deal with. I would much rather a young bloke with long term prospects. If Adelaide have another crap year and morale is shot, id have a crack at darcy fogarty. I reckon he would be a beaut teaming up with hippy and bigO for many a year.

I also think we will have to go out of house for a ruckman to step in for stef. He has this and next year at best. Not time to get a draftee up to scratch and archie wont get the shot for whatever reason. I think we will stick to the 2 ruck system. Big O will keep playing a ruck/fwd role. And we will want that mobile worker like stef. Id have a crack at brayden preuss. He must be sick of playing second fiddle to gawn and now they draft a ruckman that will jump him in the pecking order.

So for me, i think we will go to the market for a young full fwd and a work horse ruckman. If i could get my way it would be fogarty and preuss.

Of he is Gettable for a decent price and his body has come good id be more then happy for the offer him 800k a year for 3 . Would straighten us right up instead of this boundary line nosense we seem to be playing . We also would not have to give up anything in a Trade. I’d say though we want to have some money in the bank for McLuggage melb teams are gonna come for him north likely to offer him some ridiculous amount haha

He is a 26 year old, injury prone player who is going to demand top dollar. If we pay him we prevent ourselves paying other players. With the question marks over him I am more than happy for us to let someone else take the risk.

I kind of get the feeling with Daniher that if he wasn't burdened with the absurd expectations of one of the leagues most self entitled clubs he would be able to just enjoy playing footy again. It's amazing how many players are reborn after they get another start.

If both Sydeny and Essendon are willing to fight for his services we should at least do our due diligence.

I kind of get the feeling with Daniher that if he wasn't burdened with the absurd expectations of one of the leagues most self entitled clubs he would be able to just enjoy playing footy again. It's amazing how many players are reborn after they get another start.

If both Sydeny and Essendon are willing to fight for his services we should at least do our due diligence.
And due diligence would include looking at future cap space and the ability to pay the next contracts of McCluggage, Rayner etc

Hugh only wants to be paid in love from his adoring Lions Fans.

I think as the season progresses it will be much clearer. I’m hoping that Berry makes the next step to add to our midfield depth with Hugh and even have Bailey run through there at times. Even though I’m no NEAFL watcher I don’t know if there is anyone that we can say will come on (last years draftees excluded). The better teams have midfield depth and we can’t just expect Neale to rack up the numbers each week. I feel that we’ve got a lot of pieces already and it will be just adding the right players in the right spots. In January I was speaking to a mate and said KPF and KPD were our greatest needs. I’m hoping that Paine can fill that spot down back and hope to get to see him this week. There isn’t that KPF on our list so either via the draft or trade this year. Mihocek, even though he isn’t a KPF plays a lot taller than he does and might be gettable with the Pies $$$ being used for De Goey and Grundy etc. Zac Williams as a FA is my number 1 as he can play in a multitude of spots. But would be trying to shake another young midfielder out of GWS in Jye Caldwell.

The players that we have traded in that have a good CV have been great for us. I’m leaning against bringing in players that we ‘hope’ come good. So we have to cough up $$$ and/or picks to get it done and with two first rounders this could be very handy.

100% confirmed, we’re recruiting Jeremy Cameron.

:think::p
If we can find salary cap i would have him in a heartbeat.
How other Clubs manage the cap with the players on their list is an unknown to me. Possible 3rd party deals that Queensland clubs can't offer which does not make it a even playing field.

On the Andrews article of concussion and his no hard feelings towards Cameron. He may not feel that way in 20 to 30 years time.

Just trying to think through the implications for trading given the probable decline in income for the club and AFL Over the next year or years. I did a quick check of the contract status Thread in the roster watch. We appear to be in pretty good shape in terms of key players coming out of contract in 2020. (Stef appears the only must keep player coming out of contract). But what happens at the end of 2021? The club will be in debt and sponsors will be hard to find. Will clubs with better financial reserves coming hunting for our key players? Will their be changes to the minimum spend on the salary cap? Etc etc.

hopefully this is an issue the club raises with the AFL.

But what happens at the end of 2021? The club will be in debt and sponsors will be hard to find. Will clubs with better financial reserves coming hunting for our key players? Will their be changes to the minimum spend on the salary cap? Etc etc.
Club's have to use their salary cap (or 95% at least) so it should have no affect retaining / attracting players.

The only big impact could be to losing any of our leading off-field / high performance staff who are probably and rightly paid well given how good they are and other more wealthier clubs coming hard for them.

Club's have to use their salary cap (or 95% at least) so it should have no affect retaining / attracting players.

The only big impact could be to losing any of our leading off-field / high performance staff who are probably and rightly paid well given how good they are and other more wealthier clubs coming hard for them.
There’s still a cap for off field spending isn’t there?

Aren’t all clubs in the same boat spending wise for off field staff. Can’t exactly find a third party gig for a high performance staff member can you?

Not like there are a lot of other sports for them to go to at the moment though.

Aren’t all clubs in the same boat spending wise for off field staff. Can’t exactly find a third party gig for a high performance staff member can you?
I believe it’s just a soft cap?
Meaning clubs can spend over but they then get a further financial penalty if they do?
So clubs have cut back as a result.

You are probably right, but a lot of these high performance guys drift between sports so our competition isn't restricted solely to our opposition AFL clubs.

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Watch