List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

Why would they make the Collingwood trade?

Three picks to move up a few places ..
Well, I have no idea what’s intended with 27, we certainly paid overs for it in my view, but whatever the reason we wanted to secure three picks in a row.

Better for using yourself, or more attractive as a trade, I have no idea.

But anyone who thinks they know exactly what our plan is, is dreaming.

Lots of talk that Josh Ward isn't keen to go interstate, which will probably scare off Adelaide and Freo, meaning if the Hawks don't take him (perhaps they go Hobbs?), then I think he'll make it through to our pick.
If that's true, then I hope the Hawks take him, players that are a bit precious about where they go tend to be a bit mentally fragile

Top 10 is starting to really take shape now, though I'm still not sure what the Hawks will do. A lot of media have linked them to Ward, but is that just because its an easy fit with him being a Hawks fan? I could also see them taking Hobbs or Johnson. At least one of those three mids makes it through to us, and I think we'd probably take them rather than going tall for Gibcus/Amiss.

Hobbs real weakness is pace. But he is a competitive beast and I wouldn’t be surprised if that sways the club because Dimma loves that aspect of the game. We really are lucky to be in this position. So many choices. Having said that if one of the Joshs make it to 9, I’d put money on us picking one. Josh Ward, Josh Rachele, Josh Sinn or Josh Gibcus. All of those WILL BE GONE by our second first rounder. So will Johnson and Wanganeen-Milera.

Macrae and Oliver were both bolters (in Oliver's case from basically nowhere), similar to a bloke like Sidebottom. Petracca was always in the number 1 conversation and Dusty was always in the top 5 calculations.

Re sliders, the one that sticks in my mind is Daniel Rich who probably started the year as the consensus number 1 and ended up down at 8. There's one each year, be they tall or small that push the order out and make a club make a difficult decision.

Just from a quick glance at recent history: 2015 - Ryan Burton, 2016 - Will Hayward/Jack Graham, 2017 - Darcy Fogarty/Ed Richards/Jack Higgins (I don't personally rate Higgins but some do), 2018 - Can't see anyone of note, 2019 - Deven Robertson.

In the Rance year we had to take an additional few minutes to toss up between Selwood and him..... You've pointed out a few sliders who are all good players and I think that given the heavy depth of midfielders it's indicative that one will slide just purely because sides will start to reach for the few talented talls. I'm just using Rachelle as an example, I also highly doubt he drops further than the 4-8 mark.
Selwood was selected one spot before our pick.

Petracca was always in the number 1 conversation and Dusty was always in the top 5 calculations.
I'm only going by a vague memory, but I think Dusty at the start of his draft year wasn't considered top 5. So I think he was a bolter. He might have been a top 10 prospect at the start of the year, but I'm not even sure of that.

Dusty's U18 carnival and the draft combine that put to rest any doubt about his endurance saw him catapult into top 3 calculations (thankfully the Melbourne recruiter was close minded and settled on Scully and Trengrove months before the draft).

Selwood was selected one spot before our pick.
Rance went at 18 and Scott Selwood went at 22.
I'm only going by a vague memory, but I think Dusty at the start of his draft year wasn't considered top 5. So I think he was a bolter. He might have been a top 10 prospect at the start of the year, but I'm not even sure of that.

Dusty's U18 carnival and the draft combine that put to rest any doubt about his endurance saw him catapult into top 3 calculations (thankfully the Melbourne recruiter was close minded and settled on Scully and Trengrove months before the draft).
Can't blame the Melbourne recruiter too much. Scully was touted as number one years out and I honestly believe that we would have taken Trengrove if both Dusty and he were available. We were still VERY interested and pursued him further down the line when we did him a favour and discovered he was still injured in conducting a medical!

Feel for Trengrove in particular. Based on his first season, he could have been anything if not cruelled by injury.

Latest Twomey phantom says we’ve met with Rachele again recently. And sounds like Ward and Hobbs are the two we like
As good as Rachele may become I do worry about our height. Most of our mids (no I'm not counting RCD) are in the below 185cm category (Bolton, Prestia, Graham, Lambert, Cotchin). Makes us pretty undersized in the square against teams like Melbourne (Petracca and Oliver both about 187cm) or the Dogs (Macrae and Bont both above 190cm).

I know we're fast and this has been a key pillar of our turnover game, but I worry about that lack of size given that the stand rule has made the game more of a clearance contest.

Cal Twomey's November Power rankings out with comments on which clubs are interested in each player.

4 Finn Callaghan
Hawthorn and Richmond have all been keen to trade up to that pick with Callaghan in their sights if successful. If the Giants surprised and overlooked him, the Suns would swoop but it is hard to see.

5 Ben Hobbs
Gold Coast has interest, while Adelaide has also been linked as have the Tigers. Hard to see him getting outside of the top 10.

6 Josh Ward
Ward is a Hawthorn fan and the Hawks have long been linked as fans of his with their first pick. Could Adelaide jump in first and take him off the board? Richmond and St Kilda also among the clubs with top-10 picks who would likely swoop on Ward.

7 Josh Rachele
Has been in the mix for the Giants at pick No.2 as well as Adelaide at No.4. Hawthorn and Fremantle also interested, and he met with Richmond recently again.
8 Josh Gibcus
The Giants have looked at Gibcus for their first pick. Gold Coast would also consider if Finn Callaghan was gone, while Fremantle, Richmond and St Kilda are all in the mix too.

9 Mac Andrew
Greater Western Sydney has put the most time into him and has considered strongly at No.2. But if it doesn't grab him, the Suns are well placed to swoop on 'Big Mac' at No.3. Hawthorn, Fremantle and Richmond are others in the top-10 who would look if Andrew gets through.

10 Neil Erasmus
Seems most likely to come into contention from West Coast's pick (No.10) onwards. Port Adelaide could have a look, as may Richmond at No.15, while Fremantle later in the top-20 would be a shot in the chance he got through.

11 Jye Amiss
Seems most likely to come into contention from West Coast's pick (No.10) onwards. Port Adelaide could have a look, as may Richmond at No.15, while Fremantle later in the top-20 would be a shot in the chance he got through.

16 Tyler Sonsie
A hard question to answer. Richmond and Hawthorn, where he played for its VFL side this year, loom as possible landing spots with late first and early second-round selections.

17 Darcy Wilmot
Brisbane, Port Adelaide, Melbourne and Richmond have all been linked to Wilmot within the first round. The Lions, with two first-round choices, appear well placed if they want him.

21 Campbell Chesser
Chesser could be a shot late in the first round, with Melbourne, Brisbane and Richmond all linked. Otherwise, he shapes as an early second-round option.

25 Toby Conway
The local lad will be of interest to the Cats, who lost a ruckman during the trade period and could view this as the chance to grab a quality long-term option at a young age. Would Richmond or West Coast consider with picks in the late 20s or could he get through to the Cats' 30s selections?

27 Josh Fahey
The Giants are expected to match a bid for Fahey when it comes. Richmond has been linked as possible bidders but it might not come until late in the 20s.

34 Jake Soligo
Will the Tigers take a look at Soligo after their brief watch of him in the yellow and black this season? Greater Western Sydney has also been linked to the midfielder.

first pick Callaghan/Hobbs/Ward/Rachele/Gibcus/Andrew
second pick Erasmus/Amiss/Sonsie/Wilmott/Chesser
2nd round interest in Fahey/Conway/Soligo

Cal Twomey's November Power rankings out with comments on which clubs are interested in each player.

4 Finn Callaghan
Hawthorn and Richmond have all been keen to trade up to that pick with Callaghan in their sights if successful. If the Giants surprised and overlooked him, the Suns would swoop but it is hard to see.

5 Ben Hobbs
Gold Coast has interest, while Adelaide has also been linked as have the Tigers. Hard to see him getting outside of the top 10.

6 Josh Ward
Ward is a Hawthorn fan and the Hawks have long been linked as fans of his with their first pick. Could Adelaide jump in first and take him off the board? Richmond and St Kilda also among the clubs with top-10 picks who would likely swoop on Ward.

7 Josh Rachele
Has been in the mix for the Giants at pick No.2 as well as Adelaide at No.4. Hawthorn and Fremantle also interested, and he met with Richmond recently again.
8 Josh Gibcus
The Giants have looked at Gibcus for their first pick. Gold Coast would also consider if Finn Callaghan was gone, while Fremantle, Richmond and St Kilda are all in the mix too.

9 Mac Andrew
Greater Western Sydney has put the most time into him and has considered strongly at No.2. But if it doesn't grab him, the Suns are well placed to swoop on 'Big Mac' at No.3. Hawthorn, Fremantle and Richmond are others in the top-10 who would look if Andrew gets through.

10 Neil Erasmus

11 Jye Amiss

16 Tyler Sonsie
A hard question to answer. Richmond and Hawthorn, where he played for its VFL side this year, loom as possible landing spots with late first and early second-round selections.

17 Darcy Wilmot
Brisbane, Port Adelaide, Melbourne and Richmond have all been linked to Wilmot within the first round. The Lions, with two first-round choices, appear well placed if they want him.

21 Campbell Chesser
Chesser could be a shot late in the first round, with Melbourne, Brisbane and Richmond all linked. Otherwise, he shapes as an early second-round option.

25 Toby Conway
The local lad will be of interest to the Cats, who lost a ruckman during the trade period and could view this as the chance to grab a quality long-term option at a young age. Would Richmond or West Coast consider with picks in the late 20s or could he get through to the Cats' 30s selections?

27 Josh Fahey
The Giants are expected to match a bid for Fahey when it comes. Richmond has been linked as possible bidders but it might not come until late in the 20s.

34 Jake Soligo
Will the Tigers take a look at Soligo after their brief watch of him in the yellow and black this season? Greater Western Sydney has also been linked to the midfielder.

first pick Callaghan/Hobbs/Ward/Rachele/Gibcus/Andrew
second pick Erasmus/Amiss/Sonsie/Wilmott/Chesser
2nd round interest in Fahey/Conway/Soligo
so 6 of the top 10 players linked to Tigs,
guess the x-spurt who wrote this will be able to say he called it when we take one of them with our first pick :think:

Hobbs real weakness is pace. But he is a competitive beast and I wouldn’t be surprised if that sways the club because Dimma loves that aspect of the game. We really are lucky to be in this position. So many choices. Having said that if one of the Joshs make it to 9, I’d put money on us picking one. Josh Ward, Josh Rachele, Josh Sinn or Josh Gibcus. All of those WILL BE GONE by our second first rounder. So will Johnson and Wanganeen-Milera.
I’m really warming to Rachele.

Elite kicking skills, and most draft watchers saying he has the potential to play midfield not just small forward

He doesn’t lack confidence either, heard him interviewed a couple of weeks ago and he was talking about doing backflips (no mean feat) after kicking a goal.

Could see him playing early too, good build and pace to play small forward for first couple of years

Hmm i would not mind us trading out a future pick in the 50's 60's for a similar one this year.

If the consensus is we are going for another flag then just Tarrant for Astbury won't get the job done.Our better players are all a year older and not all will maintain the standard.

A big mature ready to go bull of a mid like Greg Clark would go a long way to helping out the midfield same goes for Bailey Rogers.

The other area where depth is lousy is kpd and kpf a mature swingman like Skinner and Schlensog would give us genuine cover. Another one who has been spoken about is Charlie Dean.

The logic is and it seems to be a consensus there are few KPP'S in the draft so why not nab a mature one with a late pick rather than wait for the rookie draft or mid season draft when there is every likely hood they are already taken.

Will say it again Ross RCD Dow Martyn imo have been underwhelming thats not a put down its a comment on what they have produced to date.

Our best inside mid is injury prone and misses heaps of games every year someone like Clark is just plain old common sense in my view.

We go into next yr with premiership plans and only have two genuine Key Forwards 33YR old Riewoldt and 29YO Lynch ffs if we are hunting a flag we need some cover here and we won't get that cover from a just drafted junior.

The same can be said for key defenders as well if Balta goes down again or Tarrant then its down to one gamer Miller who has also been a bit underwhelming to date.

We are either in a premiership hunt or we aren't. if we are we need some mature players in a few key areas other wise we will suffer big time if injuries hit us in these areas it will be even harder than last year

If its a flag and its depth we want in areas that have very little depth then A big mature mid and a few mature swingmen would be ideal.
Rookie list. For one we don't have a pick after 28, doubt we will us 83.
We have a shot at the Premiership only if we have an injury free year. We can lose the odd player but if last year repeats we will have no chance.
So they will back their best side, with all the old players and cross fingers stay injury free.

There is still lots of room in our developing players. You mention lower league players as backup but RCD, Ross and to a lesser extent Martyn dominate the midfield in the VFL when they play. So would a lower league player do any better?

Agree with the key position backup, very thin. I'm hoping Balta plays CHF allowing Miller more games. That is wishful thinking and we will find out if Miller is up to it, otherwise we have Biggy. And that is it. So for sure we need to rookie a few 23-26 year old back ups. We don't even have a ruck in the VFL besides Soldo who might start there to get some game time and if we go with one ruck for a bit, and young Ryan.

We are being super critical of players about their kicking, pace and other; so many players criticised yet no reference of their deficiencies from experts ?

Ok this is all from memory but at one stage Balta was talked about as potentially an early top ten pick. Bolton was supposedly something like the 10 to 12 mark. He got marked down because he was so slight and was considered by some a flight risk. Darling was also considered by some a potential top five. Again from memory the main concern about him was off-field stuff but no-one doubted his talent (I read a lot at the time as it was the infamous Conca draft). All were no-brainer selections in the 20s and genuine sliders, you just had to draft them there.

Anyhow as for midfielders I'm not so sure. What were the draft projections for Zach Merret, Jack Steele, Lachlan Neale or Andrew Swallow? I know James Worpel was a slider and already as a club best and fairest obviously a good pickup at 45. Caleb Daniels was a super slider because of his height. Not sure where I'm going with all of this though, except that I would be surprised especially in this draft if there aren't some very good sliders come our picks in the 20s, and one or two might even be midfielders. We'll see..
Last year Jack Carroll went pick 41 after being expected (by BigFooty) to be top 20.
The year before - Deven Robertson went 22 from possible top 10,
Will Gould (26), Jeremy Sharp (27) & Trent Rivers (32) were probably all considered top 20 - but not a massive slide.

I have this feeling that Hobbs and Ward will both be gone and we will take Rachele.

Not sure how I'd love that pick at 7, feel like a pure mid is the way to go.

But I feel like our preferred (realistic) target is Hobbs
Rachele is a match winner. That's what top 10 picks are for.

Josh Gibcus apparently outjumped the measuring instrument in the vertical jump!:eek:

I must admit Gibcus looks very tasty - draft wise. Aesthetically, not my cup of tea.

I reckon we'll get one of the guys we want with our first pick. No worries.

List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.