Position 2021 Forwards

Are the ruck minutes due to Lycett being out of the side? Im also considering. May go with Taryn Thomas. Really need a cheap option that isn't Heeney.
Have looked at Thomas
Only thing that worries me is his low disposals even with the midfield time. Playing for north helps as there really isn’t people taking points away from him bad cunners hall and ziebell and occasionally Simpkin and goldy. Thomas is breaking out before our eyes but would probably prefer Dixon if the two.
Yes to lycett being out changing the role to a degree. But looking at hit out stats Dixon had 6,10 and 6 in Lycetts last 3 games so was still sharing duties there.
He’s spent considerably more time in the ruck with Lycett as ladhams isn’t a great tap ruckman which has definitely helped Charlie. I still think he’s worth a shot and can go 95+ in the back half of the year. They have some easy games where he may kick bags and like Hawkins he has a big ceiling. Averaged 93 last year and going 107 his last 4 games. Not the worst shout especially getting an extra game as his bye will be done after this week!

Have looked at Thomas
Only thing that worries me is his low disposals even with the midfield time. Playing for north helps as there really isn’t people taking points away from him bad cunners hall and ziebell and occasionally Simpkin and goldy. Thomas is breaking out before our eyes but would probably prefer Dixon if the two.
Yes to lycett being out changing the role to a degree. But looking at hit out stats Dixon had 6,10 and 6 in Lycetts last 3 games so was still sharing duties there.
He’s spent considerably more time in the ruck with Lycett as ladhams isn’t a great tap ruckman which has definitely helped Charlie. I still think he’s worth a shot and can go 95+ in the back half of the year. They have some easy games where he may kick bags and like Hawkins he has a big ceiling. Averaged 93 last year and going 107 his last 4 games. Not the worst about especially getting an extra game as his bye will be done after this week!
Very detailed and well researched reply. Cheers mate. Might go rewatch some North games and take a look. Any round 12 bye would be gold for that extra score no doubt. Thomas's TOG also quite low which is a worry being being only halfway through the season. Dixon has that huge ceiling too as you point out. Either way I think I'm grabbing one of these players and keeping a spot for danger.

Lerl.gif

1622534620411.gif

Anyone ballsy enough to pick Tarryn Thomas? Avg 100 since moved into midfield

Definitely considering post-bye, really thriving in the new midfield role and still hitting the scoreboard.

No point following the herd (no offence intended to anyone) unless you're mostly focused on league wins, which I'm not at all.

He’s got some serious skills does tarryn
The only problem is that north won’t win many games so their share of the pie won’t be as great as port who will genuinely demolish some teams in their run home!

Hed be great for a keepers league but I have never got into those haha

Definitely considering post-bye, really thriving in the new midfield role and still hitting the scoreboard.

No point following the herd (no offence intended to anyone) unless you're mostly focused on league wins, which I'm not at all.
Hawkins Dixon Thomas all decent forward shouts off the bye providing Whitfield is the first priority of course 👌🏻

He’s got some serious skills does tarryn
The only problem is that north won’t win many games so their share of the pie won’t be as great as port who will genuinely demolish some teams in their run home!

Hed be great for a keepers league but I have never got into those haha
If league wins was your only goal, and you already had Whitfield, who would you take out of Dixon and Thomas?

Could end up being a cripps and Dixon vs neale and Thomas kind of situation. I may abandon the Danger fantasy altogether and get both of Thomas and Dixon which leaves me 4 trades instead of 3.

Thanks for the input mate.

If league wins was your only goal, and you already had Whitfield, who would you take out of Dixon and Thomas?

Could end up being a cripps and Dixon vs neale and Thomas kind of situation. I may abandon the Danger fantasy altogether and get both of Thomas and Dixon which leaves me 4 trades instead of 3.

Thanks for the input mate.
Ideally super premo Neale and Thomas if it was an x and y scenario

yet with Cripps turn around in form and Dixon’s new role that could be equal

complete guess in the run home
Neale 115 Thomas 85

Cripps 105 Dixon 95

Cripps potential to go higher so flip a coin

danger is the fantasy for us all but who knows what he will look like when he gets back in the team
Greater onus on team play at geelong over the last two years has made him a pawn in a system over the king he was for so long. Duncan Guthrie Selwood all been massive this year Menegola parfitt higgins smith all having good moments
Factor in Stewart Hawkins and flashes from blics Cameron and thuoy they have a big points scoring team.

the danger fantasy of a 120 finish may yet end up being a 100-105 which is still great but not what we were thinking

Ideally super premo Neale and Thomas if it was an x and y scenario

yet with Cripps turn around in form and Dixon’s new role that could be equal

complete guess in the run home
Neale 115 Thomas 85

Cripps 105 Dixon 95

Cripps potential to go higher so flip a coin

danger is the fantasy for us all but who knows what he will look like when he gets back in the team
Greater onus on team play at geelong over the last two years has made him a pawn in a system over the king he was for so long. Duncan Guthrie Selwood all been massive this year Menegola parfitt higgins smith all having good moments
Factor in Stewart Hawkins and flashes from blics Cameron and thuoy they have a big points scoring team.

the danger fantasy of a 120 finish may yet end up being a 100-105 which is still great but not what we were thinking
I think its one of those 'he will be keen to play out of his skin and chase that flag' but as you point out he may have become a simple role player. Still the ceiling is tasty!

Hawkins Dixon Thomas all decent forward shouts off the bye providing Whitfield is the first priority of course 👌🏻

Yep, I suspect the game will be won or lost this year mostly with forward decisions.

Besides the rookie upgrade targets, a gutsy sideways or two with players like Impey, Martin or even Ziegull could net a ton of extra points over the rest of the comp, while deciding on holding the likes of Daniher will be crucial.

The more unique the better and better to try some hail mary's and fall flat on your arse than not try, IMHO, assuming league wins are not your priority.

0c91511f915f43e9282470d6adea134b72ce6006.jpg

North board highlight his tank being an issue, that and is low disposal count for a mid is the only thing keeping me from getting him in

Yep, I suspect the game will be won or lost this year mostly with forward decisions.

Besides the rookie upgrade targets, a gutsy sideways or two with players like Impey, Martin or even Ziegull could net a ton of extra points over the rest of the comp, while deciding on holding the likes of Daniher will be crucial.

The more unique the better and better to try some hail mary's and fall flat on your arse than not try, IMHO, assuming league wins are not your priority.
Marshall and Danger both available approx same time .....Marshall cheap, Danger to drop $55K and be a $550K +

Who do you take ?

North board highlight his tank being an issue, that and is low disposal count for a mid is the only thing keeping me from getting him in

Fair points, but his class and ability to hit the scoreboard do make up for these things.

Doesn't hurt to play a lot of games under roof this time of year either.

Marshall and Danger both available approx same time .....Marshall cheap, Danger to drop $55K and be a $550K +

Who do you take ?

I'll definitely look at Marshall because I've held Campbell in case something like what happened to Grundy on the weekend went down and I suspected CCJ would get games to activate Campbell's loop and give me some welcome security on two lines.

Danger I'll probably pass on - after his record of really flat finals series performances and how well they've done without him, I reckon the Cats would be mad to play him the way they have in past years, maybe even give him a week or two off to freshen up pre-finals.

Does he routinely score well in a mostly forward role with the addition of Cameron and their smalls performing pretty well?

Maybe, but too many unknowns and risk involved, IMO.

Who do you take ?

Danger's the ultimate flog. He'll find a way to screw people over 3 times this year. But seriously, a 450k Marshall in Rd15/16 for mine.