2021 Training Reports

Bailey played on the wing all year in 2020. He played more as a defensive winger and Robbo more forward of centre. McLuggage played more on the wing but was both inside and out. Bailey and Robinson mostly outside.

Yeh i thought from watching last year Mcluggage and Robbo were the go to wingmen. Bailey was like the 3rd wingmen off the bench and then moved to either end flanks as required.

I did notice that Mcluggage started going inside a bit more in finals. Maybe my eyes were wrong

Would love to see bailey used a bit more on ball . Has some real pace And acceleration to break away from the contest perhaps he will be used a bit more with Rayner in that role seeing as we are grooming cockatoo in the backline :

It was a very big runour during Voss's tenure. That after a handful of indigenous players didn't work out after the golden era (Proud, Harding etc) that the club decided to put indigenous recruiting in the 'too hard basket'.

Whether or not that's true, it did coinside with a 5-6 year period where we didn't draft or have any indigenous players on the list (bar Ash McGrath). This also carried on through Leppas tenure, bar - Bundy coming in from memory?.

Still not officially confirmed but CLEARLY Fagen/noble noted this (whether intentional or not) and have made it and absolute priority to recruit indigenous players and to make us leaders in indigenous engagement and inclusiveness- all part of a successful cultural rebuild.
reckon it was a behind the closed doors policy... obviously. Bundy was disgraced at the club when he arrived that the organisation didn't even have a RAP. Just goes to show how shit we were on and off the field in those dark days with crazy vossy at the helm.

reckon it was a behind the closed doors policy... obviously. Bundy was disgraced at the club when he arrived that the organisation didn't even have a RAP. Just goes to show how sh*t we were on and off the field in those dark days with crazy vossy at the helm.

Reckon the issue was a lot further up the food chain than Vossy.

Regular court appearances, always highlighted in the Courier Mail, would not have impressed those in command.

That’s a ripper mate. Only thing it needs is a spell check with some of the names
emoji4.png

Yeah they were clearly drunk when they engraved the name plate. Lols. I have another which is way better than that and the names are spelt correctly. Framed proper 2003 Guernsey singed by Leigh Mathews and the 3 Brownlow medalists Simon black, Michael Voss and Jason Akermanis. 😎

reckon it was a behind the closed doors policy... obviously. Bundy was disgraced at the club when he arrived that the organisation didn't even have a RAP. Just goes to show how sh*t we were on and off the field in those dark days with crazy vossy at the helm.

crazy boss... please. I recall Vossdoing extra 1-1 training with Hooper to try and get him to make it. Bloody disrespect to Voss who Took us to a final win with a very average squad. Lay off the Footy Classified cool aid!

Also, the whole make indigenous a priority in list management (mentioned above) is so stupid it ain’t funny. You recruit on talent and talent alone Or you end up picking Cedric Cox types.
Sure build an indigenous program to be proud o

crazy boss... please. I recall Vossdoing extra 1-1 training with Hooper to try and get him to make it. Bloody disrespect to Voss who Took us to a final win with a very average squad. Lay off the Footy Classified cool aid!

Also, the whole make indigenous a priority in list management (mentioned above) is so stupid it ain’t funny. You recruit on talent and talent alone Or you end up picking Cedric Cox types.
Sure build an indigenous program to be proud o
Seriously.

On talent alone, where we drafted Cox, was either Cox or Brandon Parfitt as best available talent available on board.

Seriously.

On talent alone, where we drafted Cox, was either Cox or Brandon Parfitt as best available talent available on board.
There's many people surprised Cox didn't make it. Had all the attributes ,as many do. I didn't have any problem where we drafted him. Easy in the rear view mirror isn't it.

Would love to see bailey used a bit more on ball . Has some real pace And acceleration to break away from the contest perhaps he will be used a bit more with Rayner in that role seeing as we are grooming cockatoo in the backline :
Last preseason it was noticeable that he was focused on providing pressure with Linc through the midfield, in more of a negating way. Ah Chee and Payne added heaps to their games in this area through the season, and perhaps Cockatoo can offer something there too that allows us to be more settled at half back that might support this. I'd like to see it too. When I finally get to see some practice looking forward to seeing how he is going as opposed to last year as he is a jet and real excitement machine. In this market I've always thought we played an attacking, hard at it style that we need to keep the Brisbanites entertained and he embodies that

There's many people surprised Cox didn't make it. Had all the attributes ,as many do. I didn't have any problem where we drafted him. Easy in the rear view mirror isn't it.

fair, more thinking of the outcome I guess.Point I was trying to make that you don’t pick on quotas or you end up with guys you didn’t make it. Cox a poor example I guess

Rayner Bailey, McCluggage & Rich were the best players in the club's match simulation today while Neale, Zorko & J.Berry are all on lighter duties still and did not participate in the match.

I would add Linc McCarthy to the best today. Would have had 25 possession game playing midfield. Dan McStay also looking in good touch. Hippy also doing plenty of work off the ball and lively. Harris much improved from last week. Zac Bailey is getting up for a big year.
Also very impressed with young Harry Sharp. Watched him closely. The kid has excellent skills and football nous.He looks like a real find.
Starcevich landed heavily on the side of his head early on and went off with what looked like a concussion protocol.

On CPH1920 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I would add Linc McCarthy to the best today. Would have had 25 possession game playing midfield. Dan McStay also looking in good touch. Hippy also doing plenty of work off the ball and lively. Harris much improved from last week. Zac Bailey is getting up for a big year.
Also very impressed with young Harry Sharp. Watched him closely. The kid has excellent skills and football nous.He looks like a real find.
Starcevich landed heavily on the side of his head early on and went off with what looked like a concussion protocol.

Concerned that Starc getting head knocked around a bit, we all know he can go hard, hope he doesn't put himself in bad spots and find himself on the sidelines this year

Thanks to all those posting training reports.

A lot to look forward to this year. Hoping zorko can overcome his injury and we see him running free. I like the potential of linc playing more mid minutes. Looking fwd to seeing hippy n joe working together. Lots of midfield/wing competition for spots, strong competition all over the ground i guess. That really is exciting i reckon. Any number of players could have breakout seasons. Some x factor with cockatoo and ah chee up n down the ground. Can lester, birchall and CEY keep their roles in the team or will someone overtake them? Payne or Adams, mcstay or fullerton, blake coleman and charlie fwd together.

The new second tier competition is going to be great for our younger players development. Expecting more than a few to really thrive in a stronger, longer comp. Ely, dev, t berry, joyce, kiddy, fullerton especially. Wouldnt surprise me if Archie's game improves with regular tough opponents.

Cant find anything from the club regarding our injury list at the moment, can anything be patched together by those going to training. Would be really grateful.

Did Archie play after coming off injured in last weeks game

2021 Training Reports