2023 - A year of regression before the final ascent...

We need to get Brayshaw out of the Centre Square - he doesn't want to put his head over the pill when it's his turn - he is a receiver - play him on the wing where he can run and flourish. He panics in traffic and slaps it on his boot.

- 17 CBA's on the weekend.
- 1 Centre Clearance.
- 1 Stoppage Clearance

Final vs Dogs

• 17 CBA's
  • 0 Centre Clearances
  • 0 Stoppage Clearances

Final vs Pies

• 18 CBA's
  • 0 Centre clearances
  • 3 Stoppage clearances

This is a pattern and the coaches box needs to stop deluding itself that he is a clearance player.

We will get mauled by the likes of LDU/Simpkin and Cunnington on the weekend - you have to have an appetite to take the hit and win the clearance, it's not Andy's way, and that is fine - but for the love of all things sacred, recognise that and adapt.

Infuriating watching him follow in opposition mids to the contest.

Sly bump of your own thread haha

I share the same sentiment - The Hughes thing is completely bizarre and we missed an opportunity to try Switta/Chapman or Brayshaw on the wing during preseason

Hughes is no good. I've said this heaps. His preseason was just ok and that doesn't cut it. Yet he gets selected. The match committee must want him playing but what is it that I don't see

We need to get Brayshaw out of the Centre Square - he doesn't want to put his head over the pill when it's his turn - he is a receiver - play him on the wing where he can run and flourish. He panics in traffic and slaps it on his boot.

- 17 CBA's on the weekend.
- 1 Centre Clearance.
- 1 Stoppage Clearance

Final vs Dogs

• 17 CBA's
  • 0 Centre Clearances
  • 0 Stoppage Clearances

Final vs Pies

• 18 CBA's
  • 0 Centre clearances
  • 3 Stoppage clearances

This is a pattern and the coaches box needs to stop deluding itself that he is a clearance player.

We will get mauled by the likes of LDU/Simpkin and Cunnington on the weekend - you have to have an appetite to take the hit and win the clearance, it's not Andy's way, and that is fine - but for the love of all things sacred, recognise that and adapt.

Hard to disagree with any of that. He is not an in-and-under player.

Didn't realise we only need one inside mid at a center bounce of four! Genius!
Well if all four of them are in and under who’s hanging off the outside for the receive ?
Who’s playing defensive mid
The balance of skills and roles is good

Our problem is they are all too small

Well if all four of them are in and under who’s hanging off the outside for the receive ?

Small as in, height? You want a taller midfield? Sorry, is the ball up in the air after the tap?

Not sure what you mean
Anyway my point is Brayshaw is fine in the midfield , wouldn’t be a Brownlow contender if he wasn’t

We have a plethora of other wing options

Serong gets bullied in there
I love his skills on the run but at centre tussles he’s easily pushed around

Not sure what you mean
Anyway my point is Brayshaw is fine in the midfield , wouldn’t be a Brownlow contender if he wasn’t

Not sure what you mean

Serong Vs Saints

• 15 CBA's
  • 2 centre clearances
  • 5 stoppage clearances

Final Vs Pies

• 16 CBA's
  • 3 centre clearances
  • 2 Stoppages clearances

Final Vs Dogs

• 18 CBA's
  • 4 centre clearances
  • 6 Stoppage clearances

At some point, you adjust the lens to accept the data, Andy's not an inside mid, we are trying to mould him into one to the detriment of the team.

Let him be a sheep dog runner and burn his opponent up and down the wing.

Serong Vs Saints

• 15 CBA's
  • 2 centre clearances
  • 5 stoppage clearances

Final Vs Pies

• 16 CBA's
  • 3 centre clearances
  • 2 Stoppages clearances

Final Vs Dogs

• 18 CBA's
  • 4 centre clearances
  • 6 Stoppage clearances

At some point, you adjust the lens to accept the data, Andy's not an inside mid, we are trying to mould him into one to the detriment of the team.

Let him be a sheep dog runner and burn his opponent up and down the wing.
Well I can’t see that happening soon
Unfortunately I’m not sure we are in an experimental window right now trying out new midfielders

Chappy, Walker , Freddy, Henry and Clarke could all play wing , so I reckon they go there before Brayshaw

Erasmus still years away from regular midfield role
Johnson maybe closer but still a while away

Switta can definitely do short stints but not full time

Anyway. I. Know nothing so will trust the poets that be 😁

Hughes is no good. I've said this heaps. His preseason was just ok and that doesn't cut it. Yet he gets selected. The match committee must want him playing but what is it that I don't see
this
I said to a mate on Friday,I wonder if Ross is cunning enough to have the ball in Hughes vicinity when the game is up for grabs, knowing he will have a costly brain fade
fats fwd to Q4 and who coughs up the pill in front of goals which caused us to give up our lead ?
Our man Ethan Hughes, I have said for a long time, we aren't winning a flag with Hughes in or best 22

this
I said to a mate on Friday,I wonder if Ross is cunning enough to have the ball in Hughes vicinity when the game is up for grabs, knowing he will have a costly brain fade
fats fwd to Q4 and who coughs up the pill in front of goals which caused us to give up our lead ?
Our man Ethan Hughes, I have said for a long time, we aren't winning a flag with Hughes in or best 22

Hughes has been on freos list in a while....

Did he play any of our 2022 finals?

• 17 CBA's on the weekend.
  • 1 Centre Clearance.
  • 1 Stoppage Clearance

Final vs Dogs

• 17 CBA's
  • 0 Centre Clearances
  • 0 Stoppage Clearances

Final vs Pies

• 18 CBA's
  • 0 Centre clearances
  • 3 Stoppage clearances

Interesting numbers but I would say Brayshaw doesn’t seem to be the target man for hitouts very often but is there to work off Brodie and Serong

Probably has high 2nd possession numbers or whatever they call it

Still should be doing better sharking some oppo hitouts though

I appreciate this, each team has designated first receivers and extractors.

That's on the assumption the tap is handed on a platter, or placed in the immediate vicinity.

The issue with Brayshaw, is he stands off even when it's his turn to go - ie the ball lands in his lap, he waits for someone to hand it to him.

Kills us out of the middle and around the ball.

There is 0 reason we dominate the hit-outs with Darcy, yet lose the clearance battle, unless someone isn't pulling their weight...

Well I can’t see that happening soon
Unfortunately I’m not sure we are in an experimental window right now trying out new midfielders

Chappy, Walker , Freddy, Henry and Clarke could all play wing , so I reckon they go there before Brayshaw

Erasmus still years away from regular midfield role
Johnson maybe closer but still a while away

Switta can definitely do short stints but not full time

Anyway. I. Know nothing so will trust the poets that be 😁
Agree with your post, but I think we should be in an experimental window as you put it. Johnson isn't that far off and is a point of difference for our midfield. He needs game time.

Erasmus also needs time despite his kicking issues. We lack power in the midfield.

These guys have the qualities we currently lack and getting them to being automatic best 22 players (along with Amiss) should be a priority.

Agree with your post, but I think we should be in an experimental window as you put it. Johnson isn't that far off and is a point of difference for our midfield. He needs game time.

Erasmus also needs time despite his kicking issues. We lack power in the midfield.

These guys have the qualities we currently lack and getting them to being automatic best 22 players (along with Amiss) should be a priority.

Agreed.

I don’t think we’re good enough yet for the all out push.

Hearing you Gav but it smells like 2016 era again where we are just a middling team and all our good young guns get fed up and poached .
Fans run out of patience and then around we go again
I reckon we have got the players

I’m starting to question whether we have the coach to bring the best out of them and

We really , really should not have played that poorly last week given everything we should have worked on over the pre-season after that humiliating loss to Collingwood in the final

I’m not normally a coach knocker because I’ve been in coaching roles over many years and there are some days where no matter how much time and knowledge you’ve put into the players , they are just not clicking and it falls apart .

Bring in Amiss and Drizzle though I say
I like watching those boys play!

Hearing you Gav but it smells like 2016 era again where we are just a middling team and all our good young guns get fed up and poached .
Fans run out of patience and then around we go again
I reckon we have got the players

I’m starting to question whether we have the coach to bring the best out of them and

We really , really should not have played that poorly last week given everything we should have worked on over the pre-season after that humiliating loss to Collingwood in the final

I’m not normally a coach knocker because I’ve been in coaching roles over many years and there are some days where no matter how much time and knowledge you’ve put into the players , they are just not clicking and it falls apart .

Bring in Amiss and Drizzle though I say
I like watching those boys play!

I think there's a clear difference that most fans/players would be perceptible of between 2016-19 and now.

Finishing fifth and making a semi-final last season arguably carries more weight compared to the 2015 prelim which felt like an exhausted boxer throwing one last punch at the of the 12th.

The original premise of this thread was valid and while I don't want to see us lose like that again this season, I'm fully prepared for a year of treading water with some indifferent results mixed in. We aren't the finished article and you just have to look at the age profile to confirm that. It's a list laden with talent and potential but it's probably not quite at the stage where that converts to being a genuine premiership threat.

Agree there are serious questions on Longmuir if the style of play we saw on Sunday becomes a pattern as the season progresses. He'll always be inherently conservative at the selection table from the looks of it (although he did pick Jye Amiss for an elim final off virtually no footy) but that's not going to be a coach killer.

I think there's a clear difference that most fans/players would be perceptible of between 2016-19 and now.

Finishing fifth and making a semi-final last season arguably carries more weight compared to the 2015 prelim which felt like an exhausted boxer throwing one last punch at the of the 12th.

The original premise of this thread was valid and while I don't want to see us lose like that again this season, I'm fully prepared for a year of treading water with some indifferent results mixed in. We aren't the finished article and you just have to look at the age profile to confirm that. It's a list laden with talent and potential but it's probably not quite at the stage where that converts to being a genuine premiership threat.

Agree there are serious questions on Longmuir if the style of play we saw on Sunday becomes a pattern as the season progresses. He'll always be inherently conservative at the selection table from the looks of it (although he did pick Jye Amiss for an elim final off virtually no footy) but that's not going to be a coach killer.
Good point on the average age Shined
AB790A17-A89F-4D94-B1F6-11D5C0232565.png
You’re right , we need to be patient but Geez it’s tough after 28 years

2023 - A year of regression before the final ascent...