Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Full time is a distraction. There should be a controlling umpire and extra umpires that can pay certain things and be able to communicate with the main guy. 4 umpires has 4 different interpretations and they seem to over umpire sometimes then drop off and miss really basic stuff immediately following it. There can be 4 interpretations of HTB in one passage of play.

It just looks chaotic now. The VFL used to be the worst umpiring, now it looks noticeably better because they really don't over-umpire, there is so much more flow and even interpretation.

They are so one sided now that it looks like match fixing. Nearly every game has one side noticeably favoured.

Oh wow , i'm the fourth umpire, and i haven't blown my whistle in the last ten minutes, they'll think i'm useless, i gotta find something... is that...yeah that'll do... Phhhhhhhhhhtttttt.

Why is the AFL website so inferior in accessibility to stats than the app. Absolute garbage design, can't even click on a player name to see more info like on mobile, no tracker stats. And why is there no where to get players stats by team for the season - a fairly rudimentary function for professional sports. Should be able to just load up the teams player list for team X and filter/sort the stats as you see fit, like season total or average goals/contested possesions etc.

Am I missing something? All I can get in going to their stats page is league leaders and the ability to compare 2 players :/ Thats not even the bare minimum effort there.

We need journalists with half a brain because the obvious follow up question to this comment is "Given your opinion on off the ball incidents, what is your stance on the Nathan Murphy incident against St Kilda that was instigated by your teammate" etc etc

Gotcha journalism is lackluster at the moment, needs less braindead flogs.

umm okay.PNG

We need journalists with half a brain because the obvious follow up question to this comment is "Given your opinion on off the ball incidents, what is your stance on the Nathan Murphy incident against St Kilda that was instigated by your teammate" etc etc

Gotcha journalism is lackluster at the moment, needs less braindead flogs.

View attachment 1681955
Would be worried if I was Daicos, I don't know where Chad's hands have been

Why is the AFL website so inferior in accessibility to stats than the app. Absolute garbage design, can't even click on a player name to see more info like on mobile, no tracker stats. And why is there no where to get players stats by team for the season - a fairly rudimentary function for professional sports. Should be able to just load up the teams player list for team X and filter/sort the stats as you see fit, like season total or average goals/contested possesions etc.

Am I missing something? All I can get in going to their stats page is league leaders and the ability to compare 2 players :/ Thats not even the bare minimum effort there.

google "Player Name" AFL Tables

Got to love how people eager to be outraged jump to the conclusion that that’s referring to it not being for women, as opposed to it not being for boys.
I thought the same as u

Since I just tuned on the TV.

Terrible Tribunal Tuesday Shenanigans!

Geelong argument in nutshell: "This is minimal, you're soft, that's soft, everything is soft! ##$%^ marshmallow."
AFL argument: "Yeah nah"
And the No you's have it as the AFL give themselves a gold star for doing bare minimums.

Into the Demons who do my trick of looking at the book and going "this rule is bullshit, but here it is, let's quote it to show how shit it is and laugh!", went well, until the hand of god spoke and bitchslapped them by stating to the panel.
AFL response: "yeah they might be right that it's shit, but legit, he smacked him in the head, it's still high bitches"
So Van Rooted retained the weeks and Demons now know better than to quote from that abortion of a book and use replays to make a point as the other mob is illiterate and blind. It's the Geesh, use small words and smoke signals.

So now we wait until tomorrow I believe for WTF Wednesday Whackiness as Rioli forgets to wear a suit and rocks up late since South Australia is great like that.

Wonder if Gleeson will once again put the big boy pants on and direct the panel to vote one way by straight rigging it like the potato he is. Or if that's only his Tuesday persona after a poor Monday due to having to speak with MC and read his work.

Edit: forgot
Wayne Knight Laughing GIF

Haha that Melbourne bloke's suspension upheld. Honestly a St.Kilda premiership is the only thing keeping me watching the sport anymore. Once we win one I doubt I'll continue watching. The game isn't fun anymore, saturated with statistics and now trying to remove contesting the footy out of the game lol.

Delaying tactic, they pulled a letter from their arse and Gleeson said GTFO to everyone else so he can ask an interpreter for assistance. Media can stay so lol jurors, EAD.

Edit: Gleeson thinking of a reason other than "eww cooties" for admitting the letter.
Edit2: And a win for the Blues as Gleeson admits he's blind and so the letter is admitted. AKA not enough vision so why not approach.
Edit the third: First strike on calling Lachie, might be doing pi late with Fagan fuming in the background and screening calls.

Haha that Melbourne bloke's suspension upheld. Honestly a St.Kilda premiership is the only thing keeping me watching the sport anymore. Once we win one I doubt I'll continue watching. The game isn't fun anymore, saturated with statistics and now trying to remove contesting the footy out of the game lol.

We've had our share of sh*t handed down to us. This would do me if I were a Demons fan, rubbish. They can't suspend someone everytime someone gets hurt ffs.

The game is in a shocking state and has been for a while. Gill gets praised for all he has done for the competition but he has sent it backwards for the actual spectacle of the game. It's horrendous.

Admittedly they did say that he had every intention to spoil and it was in no way malicious, they just stated that was careless and there was potential to inflict neck damage from that actual action, and in their view it was a bit round arm in nature, thus careless and high with potential.

I totally get where they are coming from, but since I have pre-existing neck issue since tear, I am also biased.

Anywho, Lachie eventually is there, throws shade to secretary with a "no worries" on introductions.

Admittedly they did say that he had every intention to spoil and it was in no way malicious, they just stated that was careless and there was potential to inflict neck damage from that actual action, and in their view it was a bit round arm in nature, thus careless and high with potential.

I totally get where they are coming from, but since I have pre-existing neck issue since tear, I am also biased.

Anywho, Lachie eventually is there, throws shade to secretary with a "no worries" on introductions.

I was watching at the time and while it was playing it looked like he was trying to line him up a bit but sort of half held back. The AFL are shit scared of getting sued in the future so they are heading to a model of punishing players who injure others. I'd say it's going to be more common from now on.

I was watching at the time and while it was playing it looked like he was trying to line him up a bit but sort of half held back. The AFL are s**t scared of getting sued in the future so they are heading to a model of punishing players who injure others. I'd say it's going to be more common from now on.

Yeah with me watching at the time I legit flinched, cause to me that was so close to being a straight clothesline with that angle of approach and "I'm going to literally shove you out of the way with my forearm to the throat as I punch and move". Instead, as late, it's a forearm to the top of the head pushing down to the chest, so compression since you're ceasing the forward momentum as you crash in from the side since physics and walls to momentum.

There's just going to be a lot of half steps and second guessing from the "smart" footballers so we'll go back to say seagulling picking the ball so we can straight tackle the bloke that does again.

And back to tribunal: Blues largely arguing it's a push and not a strike, Lachie stating he was more off balance than anything Newman did.

As they're now deliberating, is a case of;

Blues + Lachie: It's a push, felt nothing, was to the body, why would we intentionally strike in that moment?
AFL: If you intend to punch in the head but miss it's a strike, if you had no inetntion and don't hit the head it's not.

If they find Newman guilty it's straight rigged, there was literally no argument and just statement of fact by the AFL guy. Royal Commission into Gleeson if this gets passed.

Christ that bloke is reprehensible.

He’s the Leigh Fisher of managers.

That's a pretty low thing to say about Leigh Fisher.

Leigh Fisher has integrity.
If Nixon was an ump he'd cheat if we gave him a free beer after the game.

I believe that Leigh is always harsh on the Saints, like some fathers would be harsh on their kids. ( others play favorites and everyone knows it ).