List Mgmt. 2023 National Draft prospects

What a player he was..
zidane GIF

I doubt either of these guys will make it on any AFL list.
My strike rate on rating players is very good/excellent.

Re: Murphy, WHE, Markov, McStay, Cox.

Next to make it will be ..
Edward
Fin
Reef.
Harrison
Dean

Carmichael only if he improves disposal.

Steene going to be a player..

Richards, Murley, Ryan. No from me although I hope I'm wrong.
They deserve another shot.

Just a Rant. Coaching staff know what they're doing.

You've gone a bit early on Ryan I reckon

He's got a bit of bont about him but why isn't he rated higher. Could be a steal with our second pick

I can sort of see why Edwards isn't rated higher. His highlights look great, but I watched the Coates league final and I came away thinking he isn't that real natural footballer you get with other kids. Doesn't mean he can't make it, but stuff like innate balling winning ability and basic skills just don't seem to be his strength. I got a bit of "athlete more than footballer" vibes from him.

That said, he did a few things that were so unbelievably good that were definite AFL standard moments where you can't help but be interested. If he's still there at 24, there wouldn't be many players who can do the stuff he does left on the board so I reckon you might take a punt and back your development.

I can sort of see why Edwards isn't rated higher. His highlights look great, but I watched the Coates league final and I came away thinking he isn't that real natural footballer you get with other kids. Doesn't mean he can't make it, but stuff like innate balling winning ability and basic skills just don't seem to be his strength. I got a bit of "athlete more than footballer" vibes from him.

That said, he did a few things that were so unbelievably good that were definite AFL standard moments where you can't help but be interested. If he's still there at 24, there wouldn't be many players who can do the stuff he does left on the board so I reckon you might take a punt and back your development.
Thanks for that mate. It's always hard compared to seeing them live. Did you get a good look at at Riley Weatherill and what do you reckon

Yeah probably and this is why I say he deserves another year.
Doubting he will make it though.

Has another 3 years. Same situation as Allan. They extended Ryan before he played a game so club clearly rates him. Have a little faith.

Ryan is probably the hardest player on our list for me to rate.
Sitting on the fence and happy to be wrong.

Players rate him. Beau and Carmy joking about his hair at the players sponsors evening, then swiftly stating that his football does all the talking for him…

Probably needs a couple more pre seasons but he should play a bit more senior footy next year. Had some eye catching performances in the VFL this year

He's the one I'm most confident becomes a decent player.

More confident of Ryan.
Over Allan, Reef and McRae?
Yes. I just think he's going to be a very good athlete with neat skills and excellent game sense. I can't see him not making. I think he's a sure thing to become an AFL player.

I agree, he has only just turned 19, he'll be a ripper for sure.

He looks like a loper with a bit of knocked knee running gait for mine.

Haven’t seen any great intercept marking or desperate defensive plays and his kicking seems chippy, diagonal & safe.

But I must be missing something cos the club and everyone else seem to rate him highly.

Here’s hoping he turns into a combo of Clement, Heater and Magro.

He looks like a loper with a bit of knocked knee running gait for mine.

Haven’t seen any great intercept marking or desperate defensive plays and his kicking seems chippy, diagonal & safe.

But I must be missing something cos the club and everyone else seem to rate him highly.

Here’s hoping he turns into a combo of Clement, Heater and Magro.
STAN the MAN reference!!!
Kudos!

I'm not sure Allan actually 'slid'. He was rated late first round, and he went late first round...

And either way, the definition of a 'slider' is just a kid that the pundits on bigfooty rated higher than the collective professional recruiting managers...

Each draft board is different though and a slider could of been a team who picked early, then had them at thier next choice, but the player went at 18.

Likewise bolters like Pendles which at the time was laughed at by Richmond's recruitment team for being taken in thier opinion too early.

Even the pros don't always see eye to eye.

Provided he has the ability, his kicking will improve “in game“ when has the confidence.
Not many would’ve thought when Bruzzy started he would be one of our better kicks.
PS: You’ve now got an excuse to watch his kick to Howie (2nd qtr) that lead to Bobby’s goal 😉

Provided he has the ability, his kicking will improve “in game“ when has the confidence.
Not many would’ve thought when Bruzzy started he would be one of our better kicks.
PS: You’ve now got an excuse to watch his kick to Howie (2nd qtr) that lead to Bobby’s goal 😉

I definitely don't think Bruzzy is one of our better kicks. He might flush one here and there, but overall he is average.

That comes down to coachability for me. In the AFL system with access to the type of development coaching we can offer (he’s one of 3 maybe 4 U21 recruits if he joins us) going from hundreds of touches of a footy a week to thousands that can improve. If you’ve got the right mindset.

IMO, this is where the reduced FD soft cap hits hardest. We’ve got Pendles effectively being paid as player and on field development coach. It’s a massive bonus compared to say a North where the likes of Ziebell, Cunnington and Goldstein burn out so you lose the IP right when they’re bringing in 5 odd top 20 picks.

That’s my side theory on the reduced draft numbers. Why bother taking 4 picks in a ND if you don’t have the FD spend to effectively invest in them? You’re better off with 2 or 3 at the most then taking a flyer on mature types through SSP or pro scouting. Until that cap bounces back we might need to rethink what’s considered a “good” draft. It might have once been 2014 or 2006 for us, but moving forward 2020 or 2021 type drafts are considered strong.

That comes down to coachability for me. In the AFL system with access to the type of development coaching we can offer (he’s one of 3 maybe 4 U21 recruits if he joins us) going from hundreds of touches of a footy a week to thousands that can improve. If you’ve got the right mindset.

IMO, this is where the reduced FD soft cap hits hardest. We’ve got Pendles effectively being paid as player and on field development coach. It’s a massive bonus compared to say a North where the likes of Ziebell, Cunnington and Goldstein burn out so you lose the IP right when they’re bringing in 5 odd top 20 picks.

That’s my side theory on the reduced draft numbers. Why bother taking 4 picks in a ND if you don’t have the FD spend to effectively invest in them? You’re better off with 2 or 3 at the most then taking a flyer on mature types through SSP or pro scouting. Until that cap bounces back we might need to rethink what’s considered a “good” draft. It might have once been 2014 or 2006 for us, but moving forward 2020 or 2021 type drafts are considered strong.
Great point about Pendles, wonder if he'll get a Godfather deal from Suns/North say $2m+ over 3 years in a role as a playing coach - would get him past the games record and he'd be a great pickup (might even net us a end of FR pick too!).

List Mgmt. 2023 National Draft prospects