2023 Premiership Doco

Ok thinking about going in one of the afternoon sessions - just FYI, stay away if you are going to carry on !

What do you mean by ‘carry on’?☹️

I’m going to a late session this Sunday afternoon and have every intention of carrying on - if by that you mean cheer, clap, swoon, point, elbow the people next to me and generally have a ball.

It's funny you know, throughout the entire 2023 Season I kept saying to my wife "I've got a funny feeling the coaching group suspect we'd be either winning the flag or in with a very good chance to and have probably organised for a documentary to be made and released if we do".

So it was cool to see that was actually the case. Can't wait to watch it tonight

Got more than a bit of a soft spot for you guys, and this looks like it will be an absolute ripper from the trailer. Got myself a ticket to see it at the Norwood Hoyts tomorrow arvo.

Edit:- Apologies for the intrusion. I’ll head back to my own board now.

Got more than a bit of a soft spot for you guys, and this looks like it will be an absolute ripper from the trailer. Got myself a ticket to see it at the Norwood Hoyts tomorrow arvo.

Edit:- Apologies for the intrusion. I’ll head back to my own board now.
You're welcome mate. I hope you enjoy it. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it after you see it. If you're up for sharing them here. :)

Will do, if I can put thoughts into words, or if I can even think straight after watching such magnificence unfold again before my eyes.

Ended up succumbing and going today - loved every second of it.

Expect to watch it 40-50 times.
Once it hits tv/streaming I’ll probably be watching it weekly.

Just came home from watching it

James Franco GIF

Just came from watching it …

We won the Premiership!!! 😃😃😃

There are a bunch of different angles you could do a sports doco - this is a type that captures the rollercoaster emotion of the journey.

Just come out from seeing it, and words really don’t do it justice. My 9 year old daughter suddenly decided she wanted to see it with me (but I think she more initially wanted to be with me rather than actually having any desire to watch the doco itself).

It turned out that she loved it even more than I did, and was trying to pick up tips for how to play better herself once SANFL Juniors get back underway again.

We rode every emotion, felt every feeling. Marvelled at the eloquence and inspiration of Moore, Pendlebury, Daicos, and of course Fly himself. Our hearts were in our mouths at periods, reliving the finals series whenever they fell behind, despite the fact that I knew the result.

She cried with joy and hugged me whenever she saw they won the game. She was open mouthed when the final siren went, ringing in the 16th premiership.

I won’t forget it any time soon (this took me a while to type because I was shaking so much, I had to keep correcting myself). One of the big takeaways, paraphrasing was “Believe in yourself. Give it everything you’ve got and who knows what you could achieve.”.

Something I feel you get a good insight into is how much Fly is a teacher at heart.

A coach could be a master tactician, but it’s all for naught if the message can’t be implanted into the heads of the players who actually do the doing.

Fly uses everything to get the players engaged - props, whiteboard, video, clothes, engagement, ceremony, mood boards.

2023 Premiership Doco