Position 2023 Rucks

If getting run out of Collingwood doesn't fire him up, nothing will.

What's he got, another 5 years on about 1 million per season?

Yes thats his salary and pies are paying some of it. Will be an expensive player for melb to have either forcing gawn out of position or clogging up their vfl team on 700k.

I wanna talk with anyone who's on my level and seriously considering Reilly O'Brien, because I'm seen little to no mention of his name at all over the off-season. 77 games and 27 years old, I feel like he could be on the verge of career best football. He's a polarising player amongst Crows fans, but with his ability to win bulk hit outs, there's no doubting his ability to score. On many occasions he will flirt with 130+ scores but it's a question whether he can leave those occasional 50's and 60's in the past. The biggest red flag is that he was dropped last year, but this I don't think will be a repeat occurrence because the Crows don't have good enough reserve rucks.

I won't be picking Gawn until his role is clear, and Grundy is of no interest to me at all. With so much uncertainty in ruck, I think Reilly as a POD is really tempting. I don't see many rucks with his ability to go huge.

I wanna talk with anyone who's on my level and seriously considering Reilly O'Brien, because I'm seen little to no mention of his name at all over the off-season. 77 games and 27 years old, I feel like he could be on the verge of career best football. He's a polarising player amongst Crows fans, but with his ability to win bulk hit outs, there's no doubting his ability to score. On many occasions he will flirt with 130+ scores but it's a question whether he can leave those occasional 50's and 60's in the past. The biggest red flag is that he was dropped last year, but this I don't think will be a repeat occurrence because the Crows don't have good enough reserve rucks.

I won't be picking Gawn until his role is clear, and Grundy is of no interest to me at all. With so much uncertainty in ruck, I think Reilly as a POD is really tempting. I don't see many rucks with his ability to go huge.
I wouldn't go on the Crows board and ask this question LOL .....his scoring revolves entirely around field play & marking .....he's a terrible tap Ruckman

He's an unreliable player ....had his best score, coming back from being dropped ....he was dropped last year after a string of 4-5 terrible games, where he couldn't get his hands near marks

High risk ....I guess high reward

I wouldn't go on the Crows board and ask this question LOL .....his scoring revolves entirely around field play & marking .....he's a terrible tap Ruckman

He's an unreliable player ....had his best score, coming back from being dropped ....he was dropped last year after a string of 4-5 terrible games, where he couldn't get his hands near marks

High risk ....I guess high reward
I was amused when reading his numbers to see he barely takes any marks at all, yet he's one of the better contested marks in the game. His 2.55 marks per game is absolutely dismal, but his 1.55 contested per game is elite.

He's probably one I'll get cold feet on closer to the season. I don't think I'll start him when English is only 20k more, but at what'll likely be 1%-2% ownership, I think there's real make or break potential.

I was amused when reading his numbers to see he barely takes any marks at all, yet he's one of the better contested marks in the game. His 2.55 marks per game is absolutely dismal, but his 1.55 contested per game is elite.

He's probably one I'll get cold feet on closer to the season. I don't think I'll start him when English is only 20k more, but at what'll likely be 1%-2% ownership, I think there's real make or break potential.
I haven't given ROB a minutes thought ....and I'm a Crows supporter

His game, if he's to score well ....is marking !

He's no value with those marking statistics

Marshlish will probably be the most popular combo.
Though Wittshall and Wittlish might get up there.

Strange to see no more Gawndy or Goldnats anymore. Understandable and expected, but still strange.

Who are the next generation of relevant SC rucks?
Draper likely. Reeves or Meek perhaps?

Marshlish will probably be the most popular combo.
Though Wittshall and Wittlish might get up there.

Strange to see no more Gawndy or Goldnats anymore. Understandable and expected, but still strange.

Who are the next generation of relevant SC rucks?
Draper likely. Reeves or Meek perhaps?
I have started from my first team for this season, some time back in 2017, Marshwitts and that is the plan.

Huge red flag on ROB this year I reckon , he is a confidence player and can turn it on but when his hands go missing you get your 4 or 5 scores in the 60’s . If he’s spudding up a thirty at half time this year I can actually see him being subbed off , Thilthorpe will get more ruck time and Himmelberg has also been rucking a bit at training. He’s no certainty to be solo ruck and could even go SANFL again.

I don’t think this has already been posted – Jack Hayes is out for 10 weeks with a fractured foot – may have a bearing on the Marshall selection.

You will see Roma at R2 and a certain Matthew Allison appearing in more and more campaigner's teams as evidence that contingency plans are afoot.

English - Draper is alllllll you need to know.

When English goes down straight to Roma or the dominating ruck.

Bryan R3. Will pay games +ruck/fwd is priceless. Cameron F3 to swing if required.

Have flirted with Madden but I won't be having a list spot not generating cash.

Bryan is an interesting one. Don't think you can be paying $200k for someone to sit on the bench, but I can see the appeal, because I desperately want to start with 3 available rucks, given all of the ruck shenanigans last year.

It's why I think Cameron is essential at the moment.

Maybe you can run the risk of only having 2 rucks with 36 trades available, but it certainly simplifies things not having to really worry about your rucks all year.

Bryan is an interesting one. Don't think you can be paying $200k for someone to sit on the bench, but I can see the appeal, because I desperately want to start with 3 available rucks, given all of the ruck shenanigans last year.

It's why I think Cameron is essential at the moment.

Maybe you can run the risk of only having 2 rucks with 36 trades available, but it certainly simplifies things not having to really worry about your rucks all year.
DC will be a top 6 forward or I'll eat the snatch nominated by the mods.

Forgive me if you’ve answered this elsewhere, but why are you so confident of his JS?
Doesn’t the addition of mcstay alongside mihochek make it more likely that just one of DC or MC gets a guernsey on any given week?

Forgive me if you’ve answered this elsewhere, but why are you so confident of his JS?
Doesn’t the addition of mcstay alongside mihochek make it more likely that just one of DC or MC gets a guernsey on any given week?
Oh mate, if you watched him from when BG went down, you would not be even asking this question. He had 3 ordinary games, have a squiz for yourself at his numbers when he took the mantle.
His training regime has never incorporated the stamina elements required until this pre-season. He was superb in 2 of 3 finals after struggling home, so has some chol and he is physically and footy smarts another year in.

Mihocek will have a different role. He has had the burden of KPF when not being big enough and I expect to see his mobility used as more of a transition hit-up from defence. Ash Johnson will play FF and McStay will either be next F like when he plays next to Joey D, or fill a hole across HB as 3rd man up. He'll likely be the chop-out for DC as well.
Cox is the one who will find a regular game harder to come by. I think he is the back-up, but we'll see him here and there, depending on the opposition.

With 36 trades this year I'm really starting to warm to this Ruck Combo.
Lycett has Witts from last year written all over him average scoring history then bang jumps up by 25 PPG
He has No competition in the ruck and some young guns at his feet to hit it down to and has the Round 15 bye so perfect time to upgrade if needed.

Capture.JPG

Oh mate, if you watched him from when BG went down, you would not be even asking this question. He had 3 ordinary games, have a squiz for yourself at his numbers when he took the mantle.
His training regime has never incorporated the stamina elements required until this pre-season. He was superb in 2 of 3 finals after struggling home, so has some chol and he is physically and footy smarts another year in.

Mihocek will have a different role. He has had the burden of KPF when not being big enough and I expect to see his mobility used as more of a transition hit-up from defence. Ash Johnson will play FF and McStay will either be next F like when he plays next to Joey D, or fill a hole across HB as 3rd man up. He'll likely be the chop-out for DC as well.
Cox is the one who will find a regular game harder to come by. I think he is the back-up, but we'll see him here and there, depending on the opposition.
I guess what I was getting at is that DC was still in a job sharing arrangement with Cox.

1674640773157.png

By comparison, I expect that McStay’s chop out will be something like 10% of the time?

But you don’t think there’s any question that Cameron can get through entire games with that little assistance?

Attachments

• 1674640580631.png
    1674640580631.png
    17.7 KB · Views: 25
I guess what I was getting at is that DC was still in a job sharing arrangement with Cox.

View attachment 1593601

By comparison, I expect that McStay’s chop out will be something like 10% of the time?

But you don’t think there’s any question that Cameron can get through entire games with that little assistance?
It'll vary, agreed. He'll spend some games more forward, especially when we play Cox - say, against a Grundy/Gawn combo. The SC scores are, I think, of equal relevance. His worst scores coincided with one time Cox took took more than 40% of the main ruck and twice towards the end of the year when he was so knackered he could barely lift his arms over his head. You might even remember that, it was that glaring and frustrating.
He is a year older and stronger. Here is what underpins my belief though: McCrae saw fit to let Grundy go. I think we have seen enough to already rate his footy smarts. Would you or I let BG go without having a concrete idea of what to do without him?
Would any coach worth the name base a squad around a volley ball player and 2nd forward/3rd man up HB?
Of course, the caveat is that there is no issue with a knee, because if he can't jump freely, he is a spud.

Lycett has Witts from last year written all over him average scoring history then bang jumps up by 25 PPG
He has No competition in the ruck and some young guns at his feet to hit it down to and has the Round 15 bye so perfect time to upgrade if needed.

View attachment 1593594
Lycett & forget.

View attachment 1593594
Only reason I’m a bit iffy on Lycett is that I can’t trust Ken Hinkley. I can see him still running with the Finlayson/Dixon combo.

Nah, Hinkley loves Lycett. If he's fit he'll play every game and it will probably piss most Port fans off.

My only concern would be his ceiling. He's only averaged over 100 once, and there's no reason to expect he will increase his output.

Position 2023 Rucks