News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

I'm not really convinced that anybody here knows all that much about the decisions that Finnis made. Even if they are familiar with some calls, it's probably a drop in the ocean compared to the work he did day-in-day-out.

And even if people on here DO know quite a lot of details, I'm pretty certain they don't know the extent to which it was his call, or the call of the board/president etc.

But if his directive was to get the finances under control, and to involve the club in various aspects of the community, it seems to me from the outside that he did a really good job.

Admittedly, I knew him a little bit - a long time ago. Not well, but well enough to know that he's the kind of guy who is gonna be bloody good and passionate about whatever he does. Was very happy and confident when we got him on board.

Raw onions have many culinary uses raw potato is inedible...
Doesn't bode well for his bogged out trips in the wild (well maintained community park areas). His safety is my number one concern.

They were just saying how Essendon got Davey to 100 games just to get his sons in the future. St Kilda has ****ed a lot of those up. We always seem to pull the pin at 99. I think Bruce pulled up at 99 too.

With drafting, trading player movement 100 games now is too many it should be reduced to 50 or 40 even that now a days is a good achievement at 1 club.

Mmm yes, thats why we were so successful off field after 09/10. Oh actually we completely failed to captialise on that and suffered heavily for it.

Richmond built a club of 70,000 members before they won 3 in a row and that absolutely was not due to winning games of football.

In 2009 and 2010 you couldn't get a ticket to any decent Saints game at Marvel. Losing our direction and spending 12 years being barely competitive is exactly why we didn't capitalise. Mismanaging our "scandals" didn't help. If we'd stayed competitive it would have been a very different club now.

A football club that doesn't bother with the football part might be in the wrong game.

I'm not really convinced that anybody here knows all that much about the decisions that Finnis made. Even if they are familiar with some calls, it's probably a drop in the ocean compared to the work he did day-in-day-out.

And even if people on here DO know quite a lot of details, I'm pretty certain they don't know the extent to which it was his call, or the call of the board/president etc.

But if his directive was to get the finances under control, and to involve the club in various aspects of the community, it seems to me from the outside that he did a really good job.

Admittedly, I knew him a little bit - a long time ago. Not well, but well enough to know that he's the kind of guy who is gonna be bloody good and passionate about whatever he does. Was very happy and confident when we got him on board.

I've met him too. No attack on his character. Honestly lovely man and the kind of guy that I'd happily socialise with. I used to get to club stuff and hear him talk and his focus was never on the footy part.... which you could argue wasn't his role but there was this seriously removed attitude from the footy department.

They were left to run without any oversight and as long as they promised that it was all on track no-one cared what they did. I had to stop going because it was like watching a long slow train wreck. You could see the low standards of staffing and direction. He might not have been directly responsible but people at the club were allowed to do what every they wanted with no serious KPIs.

If you'd gone to training in those Richo years you would have discovered how amateurish we were. Appointments were made for happy stories not performance orientated. Even if he wasn't directly responsible for decisions he was at the helm when we navigated ourselves down a dead end.

For what it's worth I'm a fan of Finnis. I think on balance he did a pretty good job and gave everything he had to the role. You could tell that by listening to his farewell speech.

Like anyone with hindsight, I'm sure he would go back and change a few aspects of his tenure such as the appointments of Richo, and Ratts and the subsequent backing of them. Funny enough a lot of the criticism he gets here isn't for this it's for his "wokeness" which is neither here nor there and is really just a reflection of people's individual beliefs.

In 2009 and 2010 you couldn't get a ticket to any decent Saints game at Marvel. Losing our direction and spending 12 years being barely competitive is exactly why we didn't capitalise. Mismanaging our "scandals" didn't help. If we'd stayed competitive it would have been a very different club now.

A football club that doesn't bother with the football part might be in the wrong game.
We had 32,000 members during those years and didn't capitalise on our most successful era ever because of shoddy off-field management. Nobody cares that we sold more tickets at games, we were millions in debt when Finnis took over.

It's very simple. Look at the state the club was in when he took over and look at the state it's in now. Do that for all our administrations and rank them. I reckon Finnis is right up there if not the best we have ever had.

• Doubled membership
  • Reduced debt
  • Filled all sponsorship spaces (first time in club history)
  • Brought us back to Moorabbin (the excuses about "oh it was easier because the AFL wanted it" is absolutely hilarious by the way)

You'll see how much of a difference he made to our football club when Lethlean leaves and we weigh up his performance as CEO. Yes made some bad calls but who doesn't? Everyone was raving about Bassat being a hard arse and now even you're complaining about the appointments of Lyon and co.

We had 32,000 members during those years and didn't capitalise on our most successful era ever because of shoddy off-field management. Nobody cares that we sold more tickets at games, we were millions in debt when Finnis took over.

It's very simple. Look at the state the club was in when he took over and look at the state it's in now. Do that for all our administrations and rank them. I reckon Finnis is right up there if not the best we have ever had.

• Doubled membership
  • Reduced debt
  • Filled all sponsorship spaces (first time in club history)
  • Brought us back to Moorabbin (the excuses about "oh it was easier because the AFL wanted it" is absolutely hilarious by the way)

You'll see how much of a difference he made to our football club when Lethlean leaves and we weigh up his performance as CEO. Yes made some bad calls but who doesn't? Everyone was raving about Bassat being a hard arse and now even you're complaining about the appointments of Lyon and co.

Club membership was much less professional back then and AFL membership has gone up at about the same rate we have I reckon. The sponsorships were absolute bargain basement though. I remember a mate laughing at us because his company had been approached by a whole lot of AFL clubs and we were the cheapest by far for equivalent sponsorships packages. We are still reliant on distribution for most of our income not a financial powerhouse. It's not like attendance is up or we have huge engagement. It's like telling everyone that you are a business genius for getting the dole.

Lethlean is shithouse too. We never appoint decent staff which is 99.95 of our issues.

I'm not really off Lyon by the way. Just frustrated after last week because the campaigners give me anxiety every time I watch them. I still think Bassat has the right drive and determination with all the energy focussed into the footy department. What ever happens in the next few years I think the drivers are there even if it doesn't work out. We were on a road to nowhere before. We are heading in the right direction in a car with a flat tyre and a near empty tank but at least we are going forward in the right direction now.

Club membership was much less professional back then and AFL membership has gone up at about the same rate we have I reckon. The sponsorships were absolute bargain basement though. I remember a mate laughing at us because his company had been approached by a whole lot of AFL clubs and we were the cheapest by far for equivalent sponsorships packages. We are still reliant on distribution for most of our income not a financial powerhouse. It's not like attendance is up or we have huge engagement. It's like telling everyone that you are a business genius for getting the dole.

Lethlean is shithouse too. We never appoint decent staff which is 99.95 of our issues.

I'm not really off Lyon by the way. Just frustrated after last week because the campaigners give me anxiety every time I watch them. I still think Bassat has the right drive and determination with all the energy focussed into the footy department. What ever happens in the next few years I think the drivers are there even if it doesn't work out. We were on a road to nowhere before. We are heading in the right direction in a car with a flat tyre and a near empty tank but at least we are going forward in the right direction now.
Yeah well I've been up all night watching the cricket and tennis and my last reply was the last ounce of energy I had left. Just know you're wrong and that'll do me 😎

its didn't help that we had the scandals going on all around those years.

We weren't a football club during those years, I mean, did you actually try getting to Seaford? I did, took 3 trains and that many hours and I gave up and went home as got hungry and needed to shit something chronic. Moorabbin no problem, Frankston can GAGF.

But at that time we have the guy I think to this day robbed us blind in "he who waits for hamsters" aka Nettleford, who if Finnis was woke, Nettleford was pure apathy to anything that had a monetary value to it. So if we had Finnis then instead of Nettleford, we likely don't have the same issues we faced during those years, unfortantely we followed asleep coke binge pres that the Base said "no thanks" to, with the guy looking for a hamster to run his wheel, and we're then thankful for the short turn around where it only took a decade for people to give a shit about the club dynamic and maybe, just maybe, form voltron with the many lions.

Given we just changed the previous AFLPA pres with the previous maybe 3rd for AFL house in CEO straight from in house, I like to think we actually had plans and means both at the same time for once.

Yeah well I've been up all night watching the cricket and tennis and my last reply was the last ounce of energy I had left. Just know you're wrong and that'll do me 😎
You do seem like a tennis sort of person

I've met him too. No attack on his character. Honestly lovely man and the kind of guy that I'd happily socialise with. I used to get to club stuff and hear him talk and his focus was never on the footy part.... which you could argue wasn't his role but there was this seriously removed attitude from the footy department.

They were left to run without any oversight and as long as they promised that it was all on track no-one cared what they did. I had to stop going because it was like watching a long slow train wreck. You could see the low standards of staffing and direction. He might not have been directly responsible but people at the club were allowed to do what every they wanted with no serious KPIs.

If you'd gone to training in those Richo years you would have discovered how amateurish we were. Appointments were made for happy stories not performance orientated. Even if he wasn't directly responsible for decisions he was at the helm when we navigated ourselves down a dead end.
Credit where credit is due - he seemed to do an excellent job with our finances which was extremely challenging, the great rebuild of Moorabbin facilities and all the soft & cuddly stuff - on balance probably close to an A grade result.

The core football business (which to be fair is partly dependent on money & facilities) - at best seemed an afterthought and sadly neglected leading to the Saints becoming largely irrelevant and supporters losing hope and becoming disenchanted - D grade result.

Umm, isn't it the same train line?

So, Moorabbin, basically two turns from station and you're at location.
Seaford, no direct connection, you can spit out town centre and get told "oh just take a taxi or bus" to get there.

It's a bit like saying oh the Monash might be quicker than Eastlink... if only the Monash didn't have every man and dog going "I CAN ZOOM ZOOM" and having prangs that cause traffic to just cockblock all the things as hey're both just roads. Right?

Seaford, no direct connection, you can spit out town centre and get told "oh just take a taxi or bus" to get there.

It's a bit like saying oh the Monash might be quicker than Eastlink... if only the Monash didn't have every man and dog going "I CAN ZOOM ZOOM" and having prangs that cause traffic to just cockblock all the things as hey're both just roads. Right?
You write like Don Winslow

Loved this.
I'm an 09/10 diehard as that time period holds my favourite memories of football and the real point for me when I was becoming old enough to fall in love with football alongside the old man. Truly devastating these champions don't have a piece of silverware, honestly some of the greatest to ever play for the RWB.

What's the Monash?

Longer would probably still be playing as an elite ruck if it wasn’t for Finnis.

In the VFL for Sandringham? He was pretty good in the ruck contests Billy but he was next to useless around the ground.

He was kind of the opposite to Marshall but Roma isn't as bad in the ruck contests as Billy was around the ground.