• Adelaide = 35,754
  • Port Adelaide = 34,146
  • West Coast = 33,157
  • Western Bulldogs = 25,614
  • North Melbourne = 24,396
  • GWS = 23,890
  • Gold Coast = 14,435

"Rugby League kicking butt everywhere, crowd wise, ratings wise, no wonder we're the number one code in OZ"

The idiots at LU actually believe their own BS of course pushed by bogan media tart V'Landys and self interested News Corp newspapers.
Meanwhile Crowd comparison for the Easter weekend.

The NRL round #4 202,491 8 matches ave 25,312 and the AFL round #3 and the AFL also had 8 matches at 350,264 - 147,773 more than the NRL at an ave 43,783 so much for the NRL being the #1 code in the Nation for crowds.

But the millions the SA govt pays to have Gather Round helps to pick up the shortfall in crowds and as we know tickets to AO are a lot dearer than many other grounds so I doubt there would be any loss of income to the AFL.!
I don't know what the deal is this year, but last year members got free tickets and the rest were $25. If it's like that this year then there's not going to be much profit on the gate.

I think last year was an experiment to see if the concept was viable and well supported but now that it has proved it has it shouldn't lose money or there is no point putting it on in a heartland state.
Collingwood v Hawthorn and Richmond v Saints if both played at the G would have much bigger crowds and income than at AO and Norwood Oval so I don't see the AFL or the clubs wanting to lose that sort of money.

I think the AFL should also not too into in the future use Gather Round as a vehicle to promote our unique game of Australian Football in both NSW/Canberra and QLD where there are plenty of suitable venues to play matches esp in Sydney and Brisbane and also at the many large regional centres around both of those States that have cricket grounds and I have no doubt it would be successful if done properly and expose our great game to a new audience and encourage more kids to play our game as well.

True … but the $80 million being paid by the SA state government will help the AFL coffers just a bit.

Oh yeah, I'm not disputing that. I'm just questioning if there's any money made on the gate. @ 25 bucks a ticket tops less expenses I reckon thats precisely * all.
You’re most probably right … I wonder if there’s something in the fine print in the Gather Round contract to keep prices low to encourage the maximum amount of footy tourists, in return for the AFL getting the big bucket of SA Gov’t money.

AFL running the show. No SANFL/SMA rorting the gate. It seems to be a direct AFL hire agreement with the Govermnent.

I heard tonight that if you’re leaving after the first match of a double header, you can on sell your ticket to the next match for $10? Similar to the tennis centre court access?

This throws another spanner into the crowd counters’ data.

Yes and all proceeds from the resale are going to charity

For supporters with reserved seats who are attending the first match between Fremantle and Carlton and cannot stay on for the second game that evening, they will be able to return their tickets at the South Plaza Box Office for re-sale to fans who have missed out on the sold-out match to purchase.

Each returned reserved seat ticket will be sold for a $10 flat fee with all proceeds going to the Charity Partner of Gather Round, the Women’s and Children’s Hospital. Returned reserved seat tickets are not eligible for a full or partial refunds by patrons exiting the double header after the first match.

Returned tickets can only be purchased in-person at the South Plaza Box Office and the quantities and location of seats are dependent on those returned by exiting fans.

I heard tonight that if you’re leaving after the first match of a double header, you can on sell your ticket to the next match for $10? Similar to the tennis centre court access?

This throws another spanner into the crowd counters’ data.
What I heard last night you don't get the $10 but the ticket you surrender at the gate on the way out is on sold for $10 to someone else who gets to see the second match with your ticket.

Its supposed official capacity is 53,500 so just a lazy 5480 short of capacity and you could see plenty of vacant seats in the Members section.
It is going to be interesting to see if any AO matches get over 50,000.
Not 53,500 for tonight, they have put the Pepsi collective where there bays would have been so reckon they have lost 1000 seats.

Its supposed official capacity is 53,500 so just a lazy 5480 short of capacity and you could see plenty of vacant seats in the Members section.

With high demand and such low ticket prices, it’s completely expected.

There would be a sizeable number of interstate fans who picked up cheap tickets and then elected against making the trip due to airfare prices/low hotel availability etc.

48,000 is a fantastic turnout for such a unique locked out event.

It is going to be interesting to see if any AO matches get over 50,000.

None of them will, but the AFL is at least making an effort to maximise by allowing ticket reselling between the double headers. Anything above last year’s weekend crowds would be considered a great success.

The AFL will be glad about the timing of the good weather in Adelaide this weekend compared to the amount of rain hanging around the eastern seaboard at the moment. Helps for crowds.

Very poor crowd at the Adelaide Hills venue today looks like even less than last year I would suggest.

I just don't get it if ALL the tickets to ALL matches have supposedly been sold why do so many people waste their money and NOT bother turn up?
Hey I have very cheap bridge for sale!

I still think the AFL in the future would be better off having Gather Rounds in NSW and QLD and promote our national game there instead just taking SAs money.

Very poor crowd at the Adelaide Hills venue today looks like even less than last year I would suggest.

I just don't get it if ALL the tickets to ALL matches have supposedly been sold why do so many people waste their money and NOT bother turn up?
Hey I have very cheap bridge for sale!

I still think the AFL in the future would be better off having Gather Rounds in NSW and QLD and promote our national game there instead just taking SAs money.
Another explanation is that the AFL are telling porkies about all tickets to all games being sold.

Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance