Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance

What a *ing joke Richmond playing at a 10k max capacity stadium while all the other big clubs play at a 50k stadium. Crowd figures never going to fair with fixturing; add to the s**t Sunday timeslots we've been given, going up against the Grand Prix, Easter Sunday and now playing at Norwood holding 10k, joke.

Just take away your marquee fixtures and then you basically have St Kilda, the Bulldogs and North's fixtures every year.

What a *ing joke Richmond playing at a 10k max capacity stadium while all the other big clubs play at a 50k stadium. Crowd figures never going to fair with fixturing; add to the s**t Sunday timeslots we've been given, going up against the Grand Prix, Easter Sunday and now playing at Norwood holding 10k, joke.
Get over yourself, 2 bigger clubs got sent to Mt Barker the previous day.

S..t happens. Essendon, and Carlton in previous seasons been carrying the can of the big clubs in crap slots in smaller venues. The Tigers had a charmed run with the fixture on the back of a fabulous era on field. The era is over, everything balances again somewhat over time.

We shouldn't have played at Norwood Dave. I went last year to gather round and rich v swans was the 2nd highest attendance at AO 42K+ after pies v saints 43K+ (im not including home tenants port and crows games). Doesnt help home and away attendances playing in a max 10K stadium. Even with success we were playing GWS and GC on their home grounds but agree we had fab time slots overall for many years. This year definitely not.

Have no issue even going to GMHBA look forward to seeing the new grandstand. Geelong should request every Vic club to play at GMHBA which I think eventually they will. Wouldn't mind being the first club to play Tassie when they enter the comp. We have many past champions originating from Tassie and have big support there.

Check out this Tassie Tigers team...

B: Chris Bond, Grant Allford, Darryl Sutton

HB: Cameron Clayton, Stephen Mount, Ben Harrison

C: Michael Gale, Ian Stewart, Shane Williams

HF: Matthew Richardson, Royce Hart, Jack Riewoldt

F: Trent Nichols, Michael Roach, Brendon Gale

R: Toby Nankervis, Paul Sproule, Noel Carter

IC: Justin Plapp, Derek Peardon, Mark McQueen, Gary Davidson

We shouldn't have played at Norwood Dave. I went last year to gather round and rich v swans was the 2nd highest attendance at AO 42K+ after pies v saints 43K+ (im not including home tenants port and crows games). Doesnt help home and away attendances playing in a max 10K stadium. Even with success we were playing GWS and GC on their home grounds but agree we had fab time slots overall for many years. This year definitely not.

Have no issue even going to GMHBA look forward to seeing the new grandstand. Geelong should request every club to play at GMHBA which I think eventually they will.
I just think Gather round is a great concept and I take a higher moral (!!) position on this and think it’s not so much about getting fixturing optimised with right club, right venue as such.. It’s more about clubs playing their part for the game and the concept and putting club needs and desires aside for one week. Next year, Essendon probably plays at Norwood. Does it make sense? No. But last year Essendon should’ve played in front of 65-70K against Melbourne at the MCG, not in Adelaide before many less fans. Ditto Collingwood / St Kilda last year or Collingwood / Hawthorn this year.

But this round isn’t about Essendon, Collingwood or Hawthorn. it’s about the carnival, the national game and doing whatever is best for the game.

I’m happy for my mob to be at Norwood next year. I won’t be there either way. I think for this one game of the year it’s not about the clubs.

I just think Gather round is a great concept and I take a higher moral (!!) position on this and think it’s not so much about getting fixturing optimised with right club, right venue as such.. It’s more about clubs playing their part for the game and the concept and putting club needs and desires aside for one week. Next year, Essendon probably plays at Norwood. Does it make sense? No. But last year Essendon should’ve played in front of 65-70K against Melbourne at the MCG, not in Adelaide before many less fans. Ditto Collingwood / St Kilda last year or Collingwood / Hawthorn this year.

But this round isn’t about Essendon, Collingwood or Hawthorn. it’s about the carnival, the national game and doing whatever is best for the game.

I’m happy for my mob to be at Norwood next year. I won’t be there either way. I think for this one game of the year it’s not about the clubs.

I love the concept and hope it travels to NSW, QLD, WA and one day makes its way to VIC.

Yeah mate fair enough well explained you added some clarity to which I was probably thinking (being selfish) on how many of our fans missed out on tickets.

Spot on and I added to my post that I hope Richmond is the first club to play Tassie at their new 20K+ stadium when they enter the comp.

I love the concept and hope it travels to NSW, QLD, WA and one day makes its way to VIC.

Yeah mate fair enough well explained you added some clarity to which I was probably thinking (being selfish) on how many of our fans missed out on tickets.

Spot on and I added to my post that I hope Richmond is the first club to play Tassie at their new 20K+ stadium when they enter the comp.

yeah it´s a great club. Just hurry up and move to a city that doesn´t shut down at 5 pm, has a vibe, great nightlife, food, bars, quality strip clubs (kittens, mens gallery), revs, wild casino, great live music and a ton of options 24 hours.

So we can be spared of the same bullshit about bus tours to vineyards with pensioners to sip wine, pick strawberries, and check out 2 silver balls in a mall.

yeah it´s a great club. Just hurry up and move to a city that doesn´t shut down at 5 pm, has a vibe, great nightlife, food, bars, quality strip clubs (kittens, mens gallery), revs, wild casino, great live music and a ton of options 24 hours.

So we can be spared of the same bullshit about bus tours to vineyards with pensioners to sip wine, pick strawberries, and check out 2 silver balls in a mall.
We had the most amazing lunches at D'arenberg and Tapa Nappa and lvoed the ability to go to wineries before going to games. Both places were full of football fans.

We now have the full reported crowd figures for Gather Round, including Freo vs Carlton. 43,158 is the reported crowd for the 1st game in the double header.

2024 g.png

Largest Carlton vs Adelaide game in Melbourne was 44.7k in 2013 but at the MCG. Ticket sales are looking very good for this weekend’s game at Marvel and hopefully a large member turnout should mean this gets beaten. Although we all know how difficult it is for crowds to exceed ~45k there under any circumstances these days so we will have to wait and see.

A massive "eight" point game at Marvel on Friday night after last weekend's poor performance and the Bulldogs loss to the Cats. Should hopefully get a large roll up of Bomber fans and Doggie supporters.

Really?! I reckon 25% of the Bomber throng became disengaged after last weeks performance. Not just the loss, the way they lost and subsequent injuries. Yes it’s round 4 but it’s the ‘Same Old’ Essendon.

I like your enthusiasm but it feels like the season for Bomber fans lost its air last week. I doubt it will draw much beyond 40,000. Bulldogs should win comfortably on paper.

Really?! I reckon 25% of the Bomber throng became disengaged after last weeks performance. Not just the loss, the way they lost and subsequent injuries. Yes it’s round 4 but it’s the ‘Same Old’ Essendon.

I like your enthusiasm but it feels like the season for Bomber fans lost its air last week. I doubt it will draw much beyond 40,000. Bulldogs should win comfortably on paper.
Crowds are usually slower to excite or deflate compared to bigfooty expectations

Thinking 35-37k tomorrow night hopefully. But wouldn’t surprise me if less.

Attracted 38k last year on a Friday night which was a record for two sides and 37k in 2022 on a Thursday night.

However, Brisbane likely to bring a little less than what they have in the last two games.

I don’t think the Bomber fans are that fickle. It’s early in the season and we played away. This weekend we’re “home” and ready to make the Dome loud against a fellow VIC club. Should be good! 43,000 + for mine..

Let’s just wait a few hours. Showers to reduce in frequency. You’d certainly hope it draws high 30’s. School holidays noteworthy.
Its one of those games that is going to rely on a big Melbourne GA turnout. The MCC have decided to close level 4 in the GSS and Ponsford so its going to look terrible on TV but the Olympic and MCC will be full.

A Medallian Club Docklands seat costs around $10k per year for the AFL. If it was more easily resold, than they couldn't artificially hike up the price for something that individuals don't tend to purchase (as it tends to be corporate purchasing).

It's not unique to Australia. If you isolate a minority of games, you'd be able to find plenty of empty seats everywhere. NBA teams flog tickets for the cost of processing in years that they're not going to make the playoffs.

If you saw how much the afl make off the medallion club each year you'd be shocked. It's more than the rest of the entire crowd attendance per year. Similar to with air travel, airlines break even on economy, only make profits off the first class.

Small club small venue. The big 4 still played at Adelaide oval.

Largest Carlton vs Adelaide game in Melbourne was 44.7k in 2013 but at the MCG. Ticket sales are looking very good for this weekend’s game at Marvel and hopefully a large member turnout should mean this gets beaten. Although we all know how difficult it is for crowds to exceed ~45k there under any circumstances these days so we will have to wait and see.

Thinking 35-37k tomorrow night hopefully. But wouldn’t surprise me if less.

Attracted 38k last year on a Friday night which was a record for two sides and 37k in 2022 on a Thursday night.

However, Brisbane likely to bring a little less than what they have in the last two games.
I'm thinking 33-35K given the weather and Brisbane being underwhelming so far this season.

Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance