Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Well this has been an emotional roller coaster. Thanks for your company along the way.

Final thoughts:

- brain says draft Draper at 4

- gut says trade up to 2 and take FOS

- balls say trade down to 6 and still get Draper (with Richmond's future second thrown in)
does gut, brain or balls normally win?

It wouldn't surprise me as much, I think Draper is better suited to Carlton's midfield mix but they likely take the sure thing in Smith, who's probably the all round better player. And probably plays round 1 next year too.

Would be very interesting to see what we did if Smith and Langford are both there at our pick.

While I can't see me being unhappy however it pans out, I like the fact we probably don't need to ever worry about Draper leaving for big money or to 'play in front of big crowds' - a phrase that's started to creep into player movement lately. Having said that, he probably gets offered $2M to go play in Tassie, Bock and Davis style.
Yep lots of comfort in Draper , know what you’re going to get etc

We’d take smith over Langford I think but it won’t come down to that

His tone was of disappointment and a bit of confusion as to why it didn’t work , hope it clicks for him.
I’m not sure it was a great idea to put him in the SANFL side, maybe led to some complacency. He did kick 5 goals in a game though, not too many just turned 18 kids do that.

You are right. Draper as a full time mid would be awesome to have and Rankine can float between the two roles. Edwards is a bruiser but perhaps he is taking time. But I was under the impression he was getting close to selection by the end of the season. Competition for spots isnt a bad thing. When we drafted Edwards we probably had not planned on being anywhere close to someone like a Langford or Draper. Getting either to me I dont care. Either one would boost our midfield. Langford being his size will probably take a couple of pre seasons though where as Draper is a straight up round 1 selection.
Edwards is a bruiser? What?

Tony Bamford :

“Tyler had a unique opportunity and it didn’t go that well, frankly Bicks he is just not fit enough”

On radio explaining Welsh’s year and more comfortable at 18’s level and will take time.
Yup, he’s fat and lazy. Kids around the country would do anything for the opportunity he’s been given. Yet here he is taking the absolute piss. That’s on the club, and the kid himself. Pull your heads in.

At this point I'm assuming Lalor is pick 1. And I would be totally happy with any of FOS, Jagga, Draper or Langford. So I am shockingly stress free for Draft day morning.

Probably leaning towards Jagga and Draper as my preference, but not gonna be at all upset if we go another direction. As long as there is no F1 shenanigans at play then I am a happy camper.

A bunch of middle aged fat male slobs sitting on their laptop or phone calling an 18yr old kid spending his first year in an elite sport environment fat/lazy will never not make me laugh.
Tyler had a pretty bad back injury late last year, and into early part of the year where he did very little running.
I suspect he didn't handle that period very well mentally and never really dug himself out of the hole in terms of doing the extras outside games and training.

If he does those extras, stays injury free etc I think he will be the biggest steal of the entire draft.
His talent level is top 10 IMO.

Feel like Draper balances our midfield more, we've been crying out for speed for years. Rankine will likely still play a hybrid mid/forward role - like it when he's at half forward and rolls up into the midfield and back at his own discretion, very hard for the opposition to plan around that and he's still our most dangerous forward. Peatling is quick and Soligo quicker than most give him credit for but I feel like you can't have enough in the modern game - especially as our first choice flanks and wings aren't that speedy. If one of two of those guys are injured, all of a sudden we're a one paced midfield again.

Langford looks terrific too, one of those 'make things happen' players. If we do go for him, you'd think they maybe aren't as impressed with Edwards as they were when we drafted him.

I don't think Edwards factors into the discussion here.

A bunch of middle aged fat male slobs sitting on their laptop or phone calling an 18yr old kid spending his first year in an elite sport environment fat/lazy will never not make me laugh.
Nope, I’m 41 and as fit as a fiddle.

You said it yourself, he’s been in an elite sporting environment for 12 months and he’s gone backwards. Clearly has a poor attitude. This is AFL footy. Not tiddlywinks.

The world needs to harden up.

Who else is planning a pre-draft viewing of Draft Day :drunk:

View attachment 2169726

<ASIDE> Just noticed in the logos bit when you add a smiley - it's our old logo 🤮? :adelaide: Chief can we get an updated on in there please? I see the Devils are covered already :tasmania:
Every year, pre-draft viewing.

Same as Moneyball for pre-trade period.

Nope, I’m 41 and as fit as a fiddle.

You said it yourself, he’s been in an elite sporting environment for 12 months and he’s gone backwards. Clearly has a poor attitude. This is AFL footy. Not tiddlywinks.

The world needs to harden up.
I reckon people don’t realise how cut throat afl is these days

Missing a year of development can skittle a career if you don’t get back on track fast no matter how talented

Seen it many times over hence was concerned when the SA combine info came out

Lots of people wanted to shoot that down but here we are with the SA state program coach being quite honest re the lad which is rare in an interview these days

And people think the club has been foxing 😆 as if we’d be that smart

Kid has talent needs to fire up in year 1 and improve habits and could be a big bonus

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)