List Mgmt. 2024 AFLW trade and draft

Here's a link to the draft profile of Charlotte Riggs, who Gemma Bastiani said is one of two main candidates for us to select with our first round pick: https://central.rookieme.com/afl/pl...assive vertical,the safest hands going around. She does look pretty good, and kind of similar to O'Hehir. She has already played 3 seasons at senior level.

For completeness, here is a link to the other's (Molly O'Hehir's): https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/molly-ohehir/. Based mostly on those profiles, I still lean to O'Hehir but I'll back the club to make the call.

Zoe Prowse also attracted interest from Carlton and Sydney, but is set to stay at the Crows, while Hannah Munyard is another likely to remain in South Australia despite interest from Victorian rivals.

However, Taylah Levy remains a wanted prospect and has attracted interest from Carlton, Sydney and Greater Western Sydney.

An article with more bits of trade related news. The most interesting bit to me is the reference to Hannah Ewings having an "uncertain future" (right at the end of the article).

Ewings was a highly rated youngster, taken at pick 3 in 2022 draft (between Montana Ham and Sophia Hurley). In her rookie season she absolutely shot the lights out. Among other accolades, she won the AFLW Rising Star winner by a wide margin (and in front of her team mate at that) AND won the club B&F! The sky was the limit for her future.

Then, in R7 2023, she was suspended R7 for disciplinary reasons:

Port confirmed Ewings' omission was due to "not meeting performance standards and expectations", with the club saying it would "continue supporting Ewings on and off the field to assist her in returning to the form she is capable of".

PAFC fans had this to say:

Don’t want to shame her, but looked unfit in the two games I have seen this year.

Our most talented footballer at the club not applying herself, unfortunately our professionalism and standards have absolutely dropped off a cliff

As I wrote in the game day thread - when your profession is being a chef, and you aren't a full time professional athlete, putting on weight is a sure bet.

She also missed R8 but returned to play rounds 9 & 10.

Then, before the commencement of the 2024 season Ewings was ruled out for the entire season for "personal reasons"! No other information has been forthcoming anywhere and it's unclear what she's been doing or what the matter is. She posted something on social media about hoping that some time away from the game would help "reignite her passion for the game".

If we lose Ella Heads, should we try to make a play for Ewings to come back the other way? That's assuming, of course, that Ewings is ready to return to footy at all, and there's no reason to suppose that the is (or isn't).

An article with more bits of trade related news. The most interesting bit to me is the reference to Hannah Ewings having an "uncertain future" (right at the end of the article).

Ewings was a highly rated youngster, taken at pick 3 in 2022 draft (between Montana Ham and Sophia Hurley). In her rookie season she absolutely shot the lights out. Among other accolades, she won the AFLW Rising Star winner by a wide margin (and in front of her team mate at that) AND won the club B&F! The sky was the limit for her future.

Then, in R7 2023, she was suspended R7 for disciplinary reasons:

Port confirmed Ewings' omission was due to "not meeting performance standards and expectations", with the club saying it would "continue supporting Ewings on and off the field to assist her in returning to the form she is capable of".

PAFC fans had this to say:

She also missed R8 but returned to play rounds 9 & 10.

Then, before the commencement of the 2024 season Ewings was ruled out for the entire season for "personal reasons"! No other information has been forthcoming anywhere and it's unclear what she's been doing or what the matter is. She posted something on social media about hoping that some time away from the game would help "reignite her passion for the game".

If we lose Ella Heads, should we try to make a play for Ewings to come back the other way? That's assuming, of course, that Ewings is ready to return to footy at all, and there's no reason to suppose that the is (or isn't).
Sounds as if she is not sufficiently committed to footy and that she has a full time job in SA.

SYDNEY is targeting Essendon defender Ash Van Loon in its quest to boost its backline.

Swans coach Scott Gowans has been on the record about his club's bid to recruit defenders this trade period, although Zoe Prowse opted to stay at Adelaide after an approach from the harbour side.

Van Loon, 20, looms as a possible reinforcement, but it's understood both clubs remain quite some way apart in what would constitute a suitable trade.

The out-of-contract defender is seen as an integral part of Essendon's backline, a reliable performer who played all 11 games this year, averaging career-best disposals and marks in her third AFLW season.

Darcy Moloney will join former teammate Laura Gardiner at Sydney, the tenacious Cat on the quest for more midfield time, while the Swans remain firmly in the mix for North Melbourne's Lulu Pullar, who played one game this year.

Sydney is set to pick up former Giant Jas Grierson as a delisted free agent, with Gowans having previously coached the inaugural AFLW player at North Melbourne.

It sounds increasingly likely that we will land Darcy Moloney (Geelong) and Lulu Pullar (NMFC) and we are also pursuing Ash van Loon from Essendon (after failing to persuade Zoe Prowse at Adelaide): https://www.afl.com.au/aflw/news/1262644/swans-eye-bombers-for-backline-boost

I imagine if we get all that done we are going to have to burn most of our draft hand, hopefully preserving our first pick and maybe getting/keeping some very late picks. If we can do better than that - so much the better.

It sounds increasingly likely that we will land Darcy Moloney (Geelong) and Lulu Pullar (NMFC) and we are also pursuing Ash van Loon from Essendon (after failing to persuade Zoe Prowse at Adelaide): https://www.afl.com.au/aflw/news/1262644/swans-eye-bombers-for-backline-boost

I imagine if we get all that done we are going to have to burn most of our draft hand, hopefully preserving our first pick and maybe getting/keeping some very late picks. If we can do better than that - so much the better.
Just probably need a pick around 45 or so to match on Juneja. Reckon we will loose our second rounder but also might have to down grade our first to swap it with Geelong for Moloney?

We don't need to match on Juneja. We can add two academy players to our list without going through the draft, a concession that was given to all four expansion clubs at the end of our first season. We were allowed to add three over two years (three seasons, given the retiming of the competition). Thus far we have only added Cooper.

I believe that Juneja has to agree to be added to the list in this way.

We don't need to match on Juneja. We can add two academy players to our list without going through the draft, a concession that was given to all four expansion clubs at the end of our first season. We were allowed to add three over two years (three seasons, given the retiming of the competition). Thus far we have only added Cooper.

I believe that Juneja has to agree to be added to the list in this way.
Don't know if that rule still applies as most of the newer expansion clubs are coming into line with the rest of the comp for list spots and this is the first national draft with no state baloney. Really poor that the AFL hasn't given any outline other than this

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-12-05 at 3.48.57 PM.png
    Screenshot 2024-12-05 at 3.48.57 PM.png
    36.8 KB · Views: 5
I'm pretty sure we have the right to pre-list 2 Academy players this season (only), like liz said.

What do you know about Moloney? I was about to say we got the deal done but we paid a high price. How is that a steal? I reckon pick 22 in this draft will net a very good player. I didn't realise that Moloney was such a vaunted player. But apparently she was taken at pick 10 a few seasons back and has now played 46 games and just turned 22. Good get.

And, I've heard or read that she's mates with Laura Gardiner.

What kind of pick should we be looking at if Ella Heads was to leave?

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app

It seems it's no longer an "if". Ella is following her partner to South Australia and will play for PAFC. Given she's reportedly been offered a 4-5 year deal on big money I reckon we should get Port's first pick. I infer that that trade is being driven by Ella and otherwise we wouldn't lose her.

Just watched the highlights on O'Hehir, Riggs and Rasheed.
Rasheed looks an excellent prospect. Although she had played alot of mid, she actually sees herself as a forward at AFLW level according to a recent interview. She cites her ability to work up the field then beat her opponent back as her strength and she has tried to model her game on Jeremy Cameron. Given our struggles at times to transition from defence and hit the scoreboard, she would be perfect.
The other two are 6cm taller than Rasheed, both at 179cm and capable of playing key position. However, based on the highlights and write ups, Rasheed is a better player. All being equal and if available, we should take her. If she's not available or we opt for a taller prospect, O'Hehir looks a little more polished bases on my limited viewing.

Rasheed looks an excellent prospect. Although she had played alot of mid, she actually sees herself as a forward at AFLW level according to a recent interview. She cites her ability to work up the field then beat her opponent back as her strength and she has tried to model her game on Jeremy Cameron. Given our struggles at times to transition from defence and hit the scoreboard, she would be perfect.
The other two are 6cm taller than Rasheed, both at 179cm and capable of playing key position. However, based on the highlights and write ups, Rasheed is a better player. All being equal and if available, we should take her. If she's not available or we opt for a taller prospect, O'Hehir looks a little more polished bases on my limited viewing.
With the departure of Heads for hopefully pick #15 the two first round selections i would make would be:

#4 (5) - Lou Painter
#15 (16) - Sienna Tallariti

Think we really need some big bodies in the midfield and also a general down back.

It seems it's no longer an "if". Ella is following her partner to South Australia and will play for PAFC. Given she's reportedly been offered a 4-5 year deal on big money I reckon we should get Port's first pick. I infer that that trade is being driven by Ella and otherwise we wouldn't lose her.
We might use that Port pick to break our deadlock with the Bombers.

Well, that's good news, but we have to get it first. I hope I'm not being overly optimistic in thinking that we can get Port's first pick for Heads. It seems reasonable to me but that's largely based on the contract they are reported to have offered Ella (as well as her 2024 season). But I'm mindful that if the player is out of contract and wants out that is not the scenario that leads to getting a great trade return. Anyway, if we can use Ella's departure to pay for our other trades and hang on to our first pick, I'll be satisfied. I'll be even happier if we can keep our 3rd round pick or better and pick up another promising player or two later on in the draft.

I'm delighted to have brought in Moloney because she appears to be a quality player but so far we have done nothing to bolster our tall stocks (which I thought was our priority). Instead, we are losing one of our taller players (Heads) in the area that was already a need.

I pretty much share your thoughts based on the same fairly shallow analysis. However, having watched Rasheed's interview - embedded in this article: https://www.afl.com.au/aflw/news/12...swaps-racquet-for-footy-to-forge-her-own-path - I am happy to skip past her and grab O'Hehir. Rasheed looks like a beast but sounds (a) a little lacking in EQ; and (b) uninterested in moving interstate, openly lamenting that it's switched to a national draft in her draft year when she doesn't really want to go anywhere.

Painter looks great but with Ham, Kennedy and McEvoy already on our list I feel like O'Hehir is much more the player we need. She's my #1 preference for our first pick.

Interesting to see that both Codesports and The Western Australia are reporting that some clubs rate O'Hehir ahead of Fish and might be the first Western Australian selected.

That's the worry for us: that O'Hehir is gone at our pick. Fish isn't really what we need as much as O'Hehir.

List Mgmt. 2024 AFLW trade and draft