List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition

Pick 1

• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Would be crazy to trade for Cadman end of 2025. We need at least one more draft bringing in elite young talent with multiple top-30 picks. We need to realise that only 3-4 of our selections this draft will become very good or excellent players … at least a couple will be duds.

A few elite youngsters plus Cadman isn’t enough with Tassie coming in. Go hard this draft and next on elite young talent, then see how we are positioned end of 2026.

And regardless, with Lynch gone soon and question marks on all of our other KPF prospects, we need someone else even if Cadman is on our radar - so at least one of Armstrong, Shanahan, Faull or J Whitlock are are an absolute must this draft.

His contract doesn't end until end of 2026 anyway so perfect timing, as long as he doesn't renew earlier.

Gee if we're saying that we don't want to draft to many talls up forward because we're pinning our forward line on Lefau and Bauer then we're farked....

Not saying that. But we don’t need to blow our draft hand on them either, just take 1 and target a cadman type over next few seasons. We’re not Norf we don’t need to find our kpf in the draft which is probably the hardest place to get one, although conversely find one in the draft is probably the highest value return you can get on draft pick.

3 mids, 1 small forward, 1kpf, 1/2 intercept defenders.

Gee if we're saying that we don't want to draft to many talls up forward because we're pinning our forward line on Lefau and Bauer then we're farked....
It’s not just those two
Gibcus, Ryan, Grey, Kozi and Fawcett

Along with Bauer and Lefau plus the guys down back (Blight, Young and Miller

)That’s 7 prospects for the forward line that will be on the list next year already the club needs to make a call on a fair few

If we draft 3 more talls for the forward line that’s essentially a whole qtr of our available list positions on a role that can only really have 2 on any side gameday

It’s not about pinning our hopes on the guys we already have it’s about needing to balance the squad appropriately

It’s not just those two
Gibcus, Ryan, Grey, Kozi and Fawcett

Along with Bauer and Lefau plus the guys down back (Blight, Young and Miller

)That’s 7 prospects for the forward line that will be on the list next year already the club needs to make a call on a fair few

If we draft 3 more talls that’s essentially a whole qtr of our available list positions on a role that can only really have 2 on any side

It’s not about pinning our hopes on the guys we already have it’s about needing to balance the squad appropriately

Yep, reckon we only draft 1 key forward, perhaps a 2nd key position player depending on who is still available, expecting 1 or 2 picks used for Future picks and 4 to 5 mids / runners.

I did not say that you advocated trading 10 & 11 for Essendon & Melbourne F1's, but the end result of your trades was that we gave up pick's 10 & 11 and got Essendon & Melbourne and North Melbourne's F1's. My opinion (and its only an opinion) is that picks 10 & 11 in this year's draft are too valuable to be part of any combination of trades for future picks, particularly if those future picks are only likely to be picks 10 or 11 in next year's draft. My second opinion was that pick's 23 & 24 would be sufficient to get F1's. The thing about using picks 23 & 24 is that we cannot lose, at least from a draft points perspective.
My point was not only were we in that trade scenario picking up Nth, Ess, Mel future pick 1s, we were also upgrading 6 to 2. Good chance all those future picks are top 10. I do also see your point. 10 + 11 could yield very good players.

Yep, reckon we only draft 1 key forward, perhaps a 2nd key position player depending on who is still available, expecting 1 or 2 picks used for Future picks and 4 to 5 mids / runners.
Agree

Personally I think we really should of started to cut some of the speculative talls this year but I can understand where it was difficult given the contract status of guys like Miller and Young and the club wanting to give Lefau and Bauer some more time to cook

Until the club decides to piss off the pot with them it wouldn’t be smart list management to invest in more talls

I’m hoping next year the club makes some tough calls with them

I see in several mock drafts that the general consensus is that we are selecting (before bids).
1. Sam Lalor
6. Josh Smillie (or slider in FOS, Jagga, Draper)
10. Harry Armstrong
11. Bo Allan (if no Travaglia)

People may say that is too tall going for Smillie and Allan as our 2 mids in this draft and that's probably fair. But I'm starting to wonder with most rebuilding sides and what we saw under Yze's first year is that draftees are trialed in different positions or mostly played behind the ball to learn the game at AFL level, If a Travaglia or Tauru is gone by our 10 and 11 picks, do they see Bo Allan as the hole that Rioli has left?

Doing a bit of reading and watching on Allan we apparently like him, he ticks a lot of the boxes that modern coaches love in exiting the defence by foot. Burst of speed, loves a contest, disposal penetration, leadership and versatility. Whilst Smillie can rotate in the Midfield and forward line with his height. Allan can rotate from defence to midfield when Smillie is up forward or resting?

could we see something like this early on?

FB: Vlastuin - Balta - Gibcus
HB: Allan - Broad - Brown
C: Ralphsmith - Hopper - Mcintosh
Foll: Nankervis - Tarranto - Smillie
HF: Lalor - Bauer - M. Rioli
F: Mansell - Lynch - Campbell
INT: Kosi - Ross - Prestia - Short
Not too bad. However that centre line is absolute shite.

People are having a laugh if they don’t think we should be taking at least 1 key foward and defender.

1 - lalor
6 - Langford or smillie
10 Armstrong

Then it gets interesting
musclyarms and hotton, with lalor probably starting his career forward as well. forward line boosted.

Nobody is saying don’t take a key forward, I’m saying Armstrong at 10 is overs.

Lindsay, Allan, Hotton, Berry, Travaglia are far superior prospects at 10/11. Smillie could slide, Draper may slide. Who knows.

Take 1-2 with our late first rounders.

At pick 18~ there’ll be two of Shanahan, Whitlock, Gerreyn, Faul and definitely Sims. Trainor as a defender might be there too.

His contract doesn't end until end of 2026 anyway so perfect timing, as long as he doesn't renew earlier.
Any interest in Cadman would need to be made clear Now, However, our focus in 2025 should be youth only via the draft and possibly a free agent.
Also pick up an extra draft pick by cap trading in 2025. 2026 at the end of his contract with 2 years of future trading is the time to go hard for him. Tassie in and the draft pool deleted, tigers with a massive cap space. Be patient 2026 - 27 is when we should start to emerge.

Take 1-2 with our late first rounders. Lindsay, Allan, Hotton, Berry, Travaglia are far superior prospects.

At pick 18~ there’ll be two of Shanahan, Whitlock, Gerreyn, Faul and definitely Sims. Trainor as a defender might be there too.
Yup
& wouldn’t take any more over 1 or 2

The game is changing a lot atm as well we have seen teams like the pies win the flag and play very competitive footy with only 1 key forward with a couple of smaller marking medium forwards

Even Sydney who despite how that played in the grand final was probably the strongest side in the comp last season plays a short forward line in terms of key position forwards

I’m still an old school two key forward on field type but it doesn’t mean that’s the way the rebuild needs to be based

Is anyone else concerned by our potential midfield next year being way too slow. With the consensus on here being that we'll prob go with Lalor and Smillie as our first 2 - where's the zip? We have ...
  • Taranto
  • Prestia
  • Ross
  • Hopper
  • McAullifee
  • Sonsie?
  • Banks?
  • Dow
  • Lalor
  • Smillie

Who in the draft best meets our needs in the midfield - certainly not a combo of Lalor and Smillie - I can't see our recruiting team going there. I like Lalor and maybe Smillie if he slides to 10 - but more than anything we desperately need a quality speedster in the midfield. Or do we target that with our later picks - which is risky IMO

I think what your post highlights is why most, if not all, mock drafts have us taking 3-4 talls.

Because it's seen as us having a bucket load of picks, so why not try and address all of the list needs in one fell swoop?

What you and countless others are ignoring is that the draft is just one means of building a list.

We are going to have a massive war chest in 2 years time, where we can bank 10% of TPP's as well as front loading contracts with the huge amount of salary cap that's being made available by the departures. We'll be able to buy any FA in the country.

Pick purchasing and the ability to use two future years of pick trading will give us plenty of draft capital to target contracted players.

I'm sure that Blair & Co. are all over this and unless they see a KPP that projects as being a focal point that a Premiership team can be built around then they won't be taken, we'll just buy them.
Believe me I'm probably the last person that could be accused on ignoring ways to build the list.

If anything I over think the list build scenarios and try to form my opinion around all options.

Earlier this week I posted a depth chart and possible best 23 for next year to highlight where I see holes in the list.

Our best area is defenders where we're quite solid, but there are a few getting towards the end in Vlastuin and Broad who are both 31+ IIRC.

Our midfield is deep in terms of inside mids but light on for outside class. Yet when you look at a lot of the wish lists it's mainly inside mids that people want to draft, where as I've been strong on getting hybrid mids and outside class.

As for our rucks and KPF stocks they're a mess. Nankervis and Lynch are our only proven options and both could be gone in 3 years time. So I'd have no problem if our recruitment team opted to target a genuine ruck and 2 genuine KPFs in the draft. There is no guarantee that we'll land a free agent or trade for a ready made option over the next few years so cover our bases now and get in players that are highly rated without having to decide on getting them or a midfielder

If Bauer is a general forward then so is Lefau.
Disagree
All I'm saying is that it doesn't need to be done all in one year though.
We have every chance of being bottom again next year and we are likely going to end up with another 3 first round picks through trading.

If we need key position players id rather take them higher up the order or simply trade for them. I'd prefer a Cadman within the next couple of years vs a gamble on a tall between picks 18 and 30 this year.

I'm not saying we don't take any key position players, but one or two is plenty for one draft.
I'm not saying we fix everything in one draft. What I'm saying is that we're in position to address a number of list needs without compromising anything.

For me the first 4-5 picks, is where we take the best available talent, which will likely be midfield talent. Then with the last 3-4 picks look to address KPP & Ruck needs over midfield talent and give the depth and quality in those 2 areas a significant boost.

Then over the 2025 & 2026 drafts we can focus on the type of player we're targeting with our picks because we'll have a much better idea of where the strengths and weaknesses are.

Lindsay, Allan, Hotton, Berry, Travaglia are far superior prospects at 10/11. Smillie could slide, Draper may slide. Who knows.

Take 1-2 with our late first rounders.

Agreed, don't take any KPF that projects as a 2nd or 3rd tall, particularly with any of our first 4 picks, if at all.

We do need a quality ruck/forward though, Gerreyn or Sims fit that bill nicely

Is anyone else concerned by our potential midfield next year being way too slow. With the consensus on here being that we'll prob go with Lalor and Smillie as our first 2 - where's the zip? We have ...
  • Taranto
  • Prestia
  • Ross
  • Hopper
  • McAullifee
  • Sonsie?
  • Banks?
  • Dow
  • Lalor
  • Smillie

Who in the draft best meets our needs in the midfield - certainly not a combo of Lalor and Smillie - I can't see our recruiting team going there. I like Lalor and maybe Smillie if he slides to 10 - but more than anything we desperately need a quality speedster in the midfield. Or do we target that with our later picks - which is risky IMO
Besides our pick 1 who are the midfield speedsters? Bo Allen and Draper maybe.

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition