We any chance in Ireland? Done well with women not so much with the men.
Brady and team like leaving the cat b rookie list empty :/We any chance in Ireland? Done well with women not so much with the men.
Saving money?Brady and team like leaving the cat b rookie list empty :/
Mate I rate your analysis, but the viking just tested the highest leap at the combine.
191 + 94cm is obviously higher than 200 + 84cm. (Does anyone except for the Whitlocks have a higher reach?)
Add that to Tauru's competitiveness, aggression, and courage, which are arguably class-best among the talls, and its easy to see why we're rumoured to have him in our sights.
I’m with you we should be filling the cat b rookie listSaving money?
In all seriousness, the argument made is Irish players are less effective in recent times as the game is not focussed around athleticism with footy IQ being super important in a fast paced game.
Not saying I necessarily agree but that’s apparently the reason Cat B rookies are less common
I generally agree but reach without jumping is just as important, as you can't always get a clear, max jump. You sometimes need someone who can still impact the contest in non-ideal jumping situations.That’s to their head, it doesn’t take into account their arms or taking into account their hands. Their height plus their vertical is not their reach.
Some players have abnormally long arms and big hands. Curnow and Caddy are examples of this.
Taller players tend to have longer arms and bigger hands on average.
What you are after is the absolute standing reach measurement and abs vertical measurement taken at the combine. This is literally how high up the pole they can touch and isn’t measuring their vertical in their legs in isolation. (Which is the publicised result)
Ruckman, for obvious reasons tend to dominate this.
It was why I was so firm on Duursma’s overhead ability making him a potential pseudo KPF last year, as despite being under 190cm, he had the same absolute vertical reach as Connor O’Sullivan.
Duursma’s abs standing reach was 2400mm and his abs running vertical apex was 3370mm, which basically means he can dunk a basketball at 6”2.
Nate Caddy abs standing reach was 2520mm and his absolute jumping reach was 3350mm
Caddy was 41mm taller than Duursma, but Durrsma had a 140mm higher vertical. Caddy has 60mm longer arms and a 23mm longer handspan. Then there’s other factors like the physiology of their shoulders etc. But the above shows a net +16 to Duursma and the abs ver was +20mm to Duursma. So misc = 4mm (can even be timing)
Will Dawson - 2610mm & 3420mm
Taylor Goad - 2660mm & 3510mm
Logan Morris - 2520mm & 3370mm, Morris arms were even 10mm longer than Caddy’s and handspan 2mm smaller. I think most would recognized now watching them at AFL level despite being undersized forwards, both these guys have big wingspans and long arms. Morris’ arm length was just under a lot of the rucks in last years class, despite being almost 10cm shorter in height.
I generally agree but reach without jumping is just as important, as you can't always get a clear, max jump. You sometimes need someone who can still impact the contest in non-ideal jumping situations.
Massive wrap for Dom:
They’re all similar so I think Lazz gets the nod for another year. IMO he’s a lot more versatile than Drury and Coops. Can not fault Drurys work ethic but he just doesn’t have any weapons. Coops being a fs could save him but I reckon it’s the wrong year to be out of contract with the depth of this years draft. If Coops wasn’t a fs I don’t think he would have been given an AFL opportunity.Regards to Drury, Lazz and Coops it looks like it’s wait and see in relation to list spots, who we recruit, which picks we end up with and which delisted players are available.
They’re all similar so I think Lazz gets the nod for another year. IMO he’s a lot more versatile than Drury and Coops. Can not fault Drurys work ethic but he just doesn’t have any weapons. Coops being a fs could save him but I reckon it’s the wrong year to be out of contract with the depth of this years draft. If Coops wasn’t a fs I don’t think he would have been given an AFL opportunity.
Has anyone done the calculations on our list decisions so far and how many spots we currently have available to fill?
We started two players over - CCJ and Goater were on LTI.Has anyone done the calculations on our list decisions so far and how many spots we currently have available to fill?
What happened to the rumor that Stephenson would retire? Honestly I would have no problem paying him and CCJ out and picking up some players from the State leagues/draftWe started two players over - CCJ and Goater were on LTI.
Then minus the omissions:
Hugh Greenwood
Bigoa Nyuon
Curtis Taylor
Tarryn Thomas
Hamish Free (rookie)
Tyler Sellers (rookie)
Liam Shiels (rookie)
Then add Darling, and at this point, I think we can add Parker too.
I think it means we got three spots free overall, not counting the intricacies of shuffling players to the rookie list.
If we add River Stevens as a f/s on the rookie list, there's only two spots free.
Then whether we get any more free spots comes down to the remaining OOCs: Drury, Harvey and Laz.
We currently have 32 (including Darling) + 5 rookies signed for next year with Lazz, Drury and Cooper unsigned.Has anyone done the calculations on our list decisions so far and how many spots we currently have available to fill?
Would think soWill George be on LTI ?
Where does one get this juicy intel?That’s to their head, it doesn’t take into account their arms or taking into account their hands. Their height plus their vertical is not their reach.
Some players have abnormally long arms and big hands. Curnow and Caddy are examples of this.
Taller players tend to have longer arms and bigger hands on average.
What you are after is the absolute standing reach measurement and abs vertical measurement taken at the combine. This is literally how high up the pole they can touch and isn’t measuring their vertical in their legs in isolation. (Which is the publicised result)
Ruckman, for obvious reasons tend to dominate this.
It was why I was so firm on Duursma’s overhead ability making him a potential pseudo KPF last year, as despite being under 190cm, he had the same absolute vertical reach as Connor O’Sullivan.
Duursma’s abs standing reach was 2400mm and his abs running vertical apex was 3370mm, which basically means he can dunk a basketball at 6”2.
Nate Caddy abs standing reach was 2520mm and his absolute jumping reach was 3350mm
Caddy was 41mm taller than Duursma, but Durrsma had a 140mm higher vertical. Caddy has 60mm longer arms and a 23mm longer handspan. Then there’s other factors like the physiology of their shoulders etc. But the above shows a net +16 to Duursma and the abs ver was +20mm to Duursma. So misc = 4mm (can even be timing)
Will Dawson - 2610mm & 3420mm
Taylor Goad - 2660mm & 3510mm
Logan Morris - 2520mm & 3370mm, Morris arms were even 10mm longer than Caddy’s and handspan 2mm smaller. I think most would recognized now watching them at AFL level despite being undersized forwards, both these guys have big wingspans and long arms. Morris’ arm length was just under a lot of the rucks in last years class, despite being almost 10cm shorter in height and having a standard vertical he takes the ball at genuine KPP height.
Will Dawson had close to the longest arms in last years draft pool, which is part of why he’s such an effective KPD and was so effective against Larkey in training as a fresh kid. He’s only half a finger length off Goad’s standing reach and Goad is 207cm
I agree with him. I have always watched a lot of VFL and can not believe Dom Brew has never been given an opportunity.
I think we have 4 vacancies at the moment assuming we go back to a list of 44?Has anyone done the calculations on our list decisions so far and how many spots we currently have available to fill?
Only counted Darling as it's confirmed and not Parker so it gives us 4 vacancies and if they don't re-sign Coops, Laz and Drury then that makes it 7 spots.we delisted/retired 7
brought in 2 via msd to the rookie list
bringing in parker and darling at the very least
would give us 3 spots still
there is also the 3 blokes still in limbo which are waiting on if daniel, maybe a small forward etc come over